Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband

Thomas Nelson The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband

You've heard of the "love dare." Now it's time for the "respect" dare. Written for women, The Respect Dare challenges women to commit 40 days to building a deeper connection with their husbands and with God. Author Nina Roesner leads you toward "unconditional respect" through her storytellling and thought provoking questions that accompany each of her 40 dares. As you start respecting God's way in your marraige, you will experience your marriage the way God originally intended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Review 1 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is a great challenge!

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stef
Location:Eaton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Respect Dare is a book that has challenged me in my faith with God and in my marriage. My husband and I were struggling in our marriage and this book showed me how to appreciate him, submit to him, and respect him all without losing myself in the process. I would recommend it to any woman who is married, whether for 40 days, 40 months, or 40 years. Grab a friend and study it together for even more growth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A mixed bag

Date:April 23, 2013
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ephesians 5:33 says, “Nevertheless let every one of you in particular so love his wife even as himself; and the wife see that she reverence her husband.” Paul's advice essentially explains some primary needs in a marriage. Most wives want to feel loved and most husbands want to be respected. Simply concept, difficult application. What does it really mean to respect your husband? Should you respect your husband even if he's lazy? What about if he's irresponsible and the electricity gets turned off? What if he doesn't deserve your respect? Nina Roesner challenges wives to take 40 days to learn to respect your husband – whether he deserves it or not.
The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband by Nina Roesner is similar to The Love Dare, popularized by the Christian movie, Fireproof. It's hard for me to review The Respect Dare because I feel like it is a mixed bag. It has some awesome marital advice. There are things that I absolutely agree with and things that I want to implement into my own role as a wife. However, I felt like some of the example stories didn't resonate with authenticity. I don't doubt that they are true, but maybe in the retelling some of the genuineness got lost. I also didn't agree with some of the advice and the small snippets of Scripture supporting those pieces of advice weren't enough to convince me. I needed more explanation and to see how those verses really related to my marriage and personal walk with God.
I also felt like there were some mixed messages. One one hand, the author made it very clear that a wife does not need to stay in an abusive situation or become a doormat. On the other hand, there were several times that it seemed like the message was to respect your husband no matter what he does.... even if it means leaving your child with someone you don't feel is safe, or letting the power get turned off, etc. I understand that people sometimes need to learn by experiencing consequences, but I also believe that the wife's role as helpmate does not mean that you have to let yourself and your children suffer because of your husband's poor choices. In fact, I believe a wife has the responsibility to help her husband grow by being the “iron sharpening iron” and likewise for the husband.
Like I said, The Respect Dare had some great advice and some not-so-great advice, in my opinion. For that reason, I give it three stars – it's okay, but I just don't believe/agree with some of what's said.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this ebook free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better then expected

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
MelVT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My friend and I wanted to start do a women devotional but wanted to start with something small and simple. This book has been great because the chapters are small and easy to read. The exercises at the end are very thought provoking and are easy to discuss with someone else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some Good Some Bad

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
detweilermom
Location:Lancaster, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been married for 28 years and my husband and I have had our ups and downs. The premise of this book is a good one. My one concern though is that if a newly married or soon to be married woman gets this book and thinks if they do everything in this book and they are still having problems in their relationship they will think that it is all their fault because after all they did everything in the book. What this book doesn't really cover is that it takes two for a relationship and if you are working hard on your marriage but your husband isn't or vice versa the relationship will suffer not matter if you are following the advice of this book or not.
We are to respect our husbands and this book helped give me some new ideas of how I could show that respect. I would use this book as just that an idea book to use as a springboard. Don't use it as a how to book.
I received an ebook review copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion from Booksneeze review program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Latina
Location:Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book to every married lady, no matter what her age is, or how long she has been married.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Short and sweet

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
JayJ
Location:Inman, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Newest book read: The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband" by Nina Roesner. This book, though seemingly large, is set up to be read individually or in a group setting and each day is only about two full pages long, with a scripture, short introduction, relative story, and a "So What About You?" section for application. I did not take the 40 days to read through nor follow all the suggestions to improve my relationships: I read to review and thus read the entire 206 pages in one setting. That being said, this book is very easy to read and follow the simple instructions given. As Roesner points out, the husband loving his wife is important but equally so is the wife respecting her husband-her reason for sharing the 'dare' with women.
I have few "beefs" with this book, mainly on account of my own preferences. I tend to resent books that sell other products or organizations. Many of the stories laud the benefits of being part of "Daughters of Sarah," a women's group begun and currently facilitated by the author. In my opinion, if the book has any merit of its own, readers will seek to find more of the author's products or outreaches. I also do not like what feels like canned examples to comprise the majority of a work(I never finished Josh Harris' I Kissed Dating Goodbye for the this reason), though, to be fair, these are told as testimonies by women attending the Daughters of Sarah groups. Those petty points aside, there is a fair amount of great advice given by Roesner and I will be using much of the application points and conversation topics in building the foundation of my upcoming marriage (May 2013!). I would recommend to any woman who would like a quick but in-depth way to build their relationship with their husbands.
I received this book from Booksneeze.com in exchange for an honest review. All opinions stated are completely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tool for bring out the best in your marriage

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angell
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title of this book just caught my attention. The Respect Dare. And THEN the subtitle totally did me in, "40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband." I mean, who doesn't want THAT?!!
This is an excellent book. It talks about man's greatest need being respect, which I think most Christian women know, but don't REALLY know...if you know what I mean lol. This isn't a book to rush through. You need a journal to go along with this. I flew through the beginning part of the book and once I got to the dares I just could NOT rush through them. I am reviewing this book, but I really want to follow the 40 day plan. So here is my review and then I'm off to get this dare started!!
Each day starts off with a verse from scripture. Then it goes into explaining how that verse applies to us, following that is a true story of a married couple that went through something similar to that days dare. After you read all that good stuff, you go onto some questions you write in your journal, a little more explanation on what to do, and lastly you have a prayer to read or suggestions for prayer.
I highly recommend this book!!!
I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review from Booksneeze. All my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Married Woman Needs This Book

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carla Coroy
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the book without doing the dares. Then I read the book and tried the dares. Then I led a group and we did the dares together. Now I lead more and more women who are either doing the Respect Dare or leading it. I LOVE this book.
For those who are concerned that this book is going to make you subservient to your men, make you feel like a doormat, or send you back to the dark ages - this book is NOTHING like that! You will not find a book that has such a beautiful view of women, of mutual submission and true love.
This book changes marriages. It changes wives. It changes men. It changes families.
You should not just read this book, but do every single dare. Even if it takes you longer than the 40 days, it's worth every ounce of effort you put in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dare to take the challenge

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
mom2maria
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband by Nina Roesner
While I have just started on my journey through this book I am already captivated by the idea of claiming a closer relationship with both my husband and God. I think growing both relationships will have a double blessing in my life and cause me untold happiness.
The book is set up with 40 dares to work through. I suppose one could do them daily, or weekly, depending on how much time you intend to spend on each dare. Some are more intense by nature and would lend themselves to spending more time on. Others may not require as much time. Each dare starts with scripture that goes along with the dare and then the challenge or dare itself. To wrap up the dare you are asked to reflect on your dare with some challenge questions.
So far, I have found that the dares are indeed challenging me in my relationships and I will indeed get as much out of the book as I put into it. I could see doing it multiple times as I find myself drifting in my relationships. I would recommend this book to those who find they are distant and further from either spouse and/or God and would like to reconcile their relationship.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

40 days to a deeper marriage

Date:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was able to review The Respect Dare by Nina Roesner. This book is set up in two ways. The first is the do a 40 day devotional and daily challege, and other is the take it more slowly and focus with an accountability group.
Over all, I found this book to be very similar to other discussions about respecting your spouse, and the reality is, we can only have control of our own actions, so we need to focus on changing ourselves first.
I really liked how this book was set up, it allowed for each day to end thought provokingly, but also was not overwhelming in the sense that I couldn't go on the next day.
I would suggest this book for either independent or group study, and I think it would be great for Christians at any point in their life journey, or those seeking to have a deeper marriage relationship regardless of religious affiliation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Challenging not Overwhelming

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen1356
Location:NYC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
In The Respect Dare: 40 Days to a Deeper Connection with God and Your Husband, Nina Roesner's premise is that a wife's relationship with God is in direct correlation to her relationship with her husband. The book focuses on the importance of a wife respecting her husband and the consequences is she does not.
The author starts each dare with a Bible verse, small synopsis of it, and a relatable story. Although I was not able to identify with a lot of the women in the stories, I did appreciate the real life application of the principles being taught. The author did overdue it a bit by mentioning her online course quite frequently. After the story, there is a Bottom Line which summarizes the main points. Then there is the 'So What About You?' section that focuses on the wife's heart condition. This section includes a few introspective questions that help to assist the wife identify problem areas and solutions. Finally, each dare ends with a concluding paragraph. Although the sections are pretty much the same throughout the book, often times, I had to reread certain sections to find what was the actual dare. It was not as clear cut as it could have been.
The topics covered ranged from finances to intimacy which made the reader look at the big picture--respect is not limited to any one specific area but must be a key component in each marriage. This book did not present itself as a quick fix for marriages or wives but rather a deep look at one's heart in order to submit to God's mandate to respect one's husband. It was about lasting changes as opposed to surface changes.
Whereas I think that certain things such as a decrease in the mention of the author's ministry, highlighting the dares, and the exercises to imagine, which I thought were inappropriate, this book is a good starting place for women interested in learning about respecting their husbands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.