Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook

B&H Books Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook

When her doting father dies, Lady Kendra Townsend is given a choice: marry the horrid man of her cold, money-grubbing uncle's choosing or leave England to risk a new life in America with unknown relatives. Armed with the faith that God has a plan for her, Kendra boards a cargo ship and meets American sea captain Dorian Colburn. But the captain has been wounded by a woman before and guards his independent life. A swashbuckling man doesn't need an English heiress to make him slow down, feel again, or be challenged with questions about his faith-or so he thinks. It is not until Dorian must save Kendra from the dark forces surrounding her that he decides she may be worth the risk.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book, and author!

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris Dickenson
Location:arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I had difficulty downloading this ebook to my Ipad however. The two products don't connect well. My husband was finally able to get it loaded. I love CBD products, but now I'm using the Ibooks app for my Ipad. I am now on her 4th book and she is an excellant author!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance, Adventure, Mystery

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
NYbooklover
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pirate of My Heart by Jamie Carie was a great read if you enjoy romance, adventure, and mystery. I really enjoyed the book. I couldn’t put it down. I have read other books by this author and have thoroughly enjoyed them.
This story takes place in England during the seventeen hundreds. Kendra’s mother died at her birth but her loving father adored her and took care of her throughout her life. Her uncle made a bad business investment and went to her father for financial help. He agrees to help him. Shortly after this, her father had a terrible carriage accident and died during a storm.
Kendra’s uncle then decides to move in and take over the responsibilities of her father. Her uncle gives her the choice of either marrying or going to America to live with her aunt and uncle. Kendra doesn’t want to marry the man her uncle wants her to so she decides to go to America.
While on the ship going over to America she falls in love with the captain of the ship. She calls him a pirate when she first meets him and later on calls him the “pirate of her heart” (in other words he has captured her heart). She ends up marrying the captain and becomes pregnant. She returns to England because she thinks her husband doesn’t love her.
You will have to read the novel to find out what happens in the end. It will be worth your time.
This unbiased review was based on an electronic copy of the book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorian Colburn may not be a real pirate but Lady Kendra Townsend says he is the pirate of her heart because he has taken it, but neither one of them realize the extent of their true feelings for most of the book. Lady Kendra has been sent away by her uncle to America to live with family she has never met because she won't marry the man he picked out for her. The problem is that there is much more to it then Kendra can even imagine and her uncle will do anything to get his hand on her tiny inheritance that is coming to her from her mother's said. Dorian Colburn is the captain of the ship that Lady Kendra is on and is bitter to the idea of love and marriage after what happened in his first marriage. When trouble comes to Kendra will Dorian feel that she is worth the risk both physically and emotionally?
Wow, after reading this book it made me wonder why I had never read any of Jamie Carie's books before. I really have been missing out on a great author, but not anymore. Like many of us do I read the back of the book and kind of made my predictions of what I thought would happen, well I was wrong on most of them and that made the book so much better. This book is a page turner that was so hard to put down. I ended up reading the last half of it one night because I couldn't wait to find out what will happen. With romance, danger, suspense and adventure there is a little something for everyone. A solid 5 star book!
*I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

......Breathtaking!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this story so much! It kept me going and I couldn't put it down! It was most definitively worth my money and I will be buying more of Jamie Carie's work! This book was more then I could ever imagine it to be and I was sad when it ended. In a good way though. I was sad that the story had ended but loved the ending and it left me dreaming for days after... it was a wonderful story and I highly recommend it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

catches your interest and then keeps it!

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gail
Location:Montrose, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always looking for new Christian Fiction authors to try out and this one did not dissapoint! I could hardly put the book down! I will definitely read more books from Jamie Carie!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A True Gem!

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kendra Townsend is the only child of Edward and his late wife Eileen In a era where future spouses are chosen by parents or caregivers she is content in the reality of that she will have a choice. Her uncle Andrew pays a most unexpected visit to her father Edward with an urgent matter that must be addressed.
Dorian Colburn, American captain of the sea falcon Angelina on shore in England is looking to command his own fleet in the future and is quite eager to get back to the sea. With his first mate John by his side and an able bodied crew sea missions go very smooth for him. His love and heart lie at sea and he does not want anyone to be held accountable to. Will the longings of another melt his reserve?
When Edward Townsend dies, Kendra's uncle Andrew gives her two choices: Either marriage to an undesirable man of his choosing or travel and live with her uncle and aunt in America. As she prepares on the journey of her life to America her heart is filled with sorrow. She is to travel on the Angelina in the care of John first mate. What she finds when she arrives on the American shore is not what she has expected. She is looking for love but will love be hers to claim?
Finally, an original novel that expertly blends swashbucking and sea adventure with the grounding and excitement of the shore! I was drawn into this book from the beginning and admit I could not put it down! This book offers it all: Romance, Deception, Humor, Valor and everything in between. Lots of adventure and action will hold you captive to your seat right up until the very end! Excellent character development, dialogue and scenery come together in this highly entertaining and inspiring read. You will want to make sure and grab this novel and become a part of history! I highly recommend this book! Thanks to B&H Publishing Group and Netgalley for the ARC copy for my review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A page turner

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
ausjenny
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first book from Jamie and it won't be my last. As I have mentioned before I do love history and this era is one I enjoy. It is set after the revolutionary war when America is still in its infancy. Kendra is a great character who had a loving father, when her uncle comes on the scene he gives her two choices go to America or marry a man she doesn't love. She chooses America. Dorian is the captain of the ship that transports Kendra to America and I have to say I do enjoy drama on the high seas. Dorian isn't happy having a passenger and particularly a female. Once in America all is not as it seems either. Dorian delivers Kendra to her relatives in America but its not the last he will see of her. This book deals with issues of trust, acceptance, assumptions. This is a riveting read and although I was sick while reading I couldn't wait to read more as soon as I was feeling up to reading. If not for illness I would have read this alot faster.
I was sad to finish the book I wanted more.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Witty & Fun

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I thoroughly enjoyed this lively story about Kendra and Dorian. There's plenty of witty dialogue and tension between them. The pace never lags. Around every corner you can find something to keep you turning pages. Action, adventure, betrayal, and most of all romance!
Kendra is a very committed Christian and even through the most daunting of circumstances continually prays and seeks God's will for her life. She's got a hat fetish so watch out! You might find yourself wanting to go out and buy a flamboyant hat :)
Dorian has faced disappointments and betrayal in relationships and is understandably leery of becoming involved with another woman but he is drawn to Kendra like a moth to a flame, or maybe he likes her hats ;)
Together they wade through misunderstandings, adversity and deceit but gain trust and love in each other. They really are an irresistible couple. I recommend this book to any fan of Jamie's and historical fiction lovers.
Special thanks to Julie Gwinn, B&H Publishing Group, A Division of LifeWay Christian Resources for sending me a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Romance

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome action packed story! I really enjoyed this fact paced read! It is set in England and early America.
Lady Kendra Townsend has lost everything and her Uncle has sent her to America to live with her Mother's Sister and Husband. She is traveling on a ship owned and Captained by Dorian Colburn. You will see sparks between them, but is he in Love with the namesake of his ship?
I enjoyed that no matter how hard things became, and they surely did, they turned to God for their answers. You will find there is some kind of action at every turn, and just when you think the story has ended....whoops NO!
Your attention will be kept from coast to coast and in between! I highly recommend this book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from B & H Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Riveting Tale!

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Holly Smith
Location:Charleston, SC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pirate of My Heart is a riveting tale filled with charm, adventure, comedy, and romance!
After the death of Lady Kendra Townsend's father, she is left in the care of her ruthless uncle. He gives her the choice to marry the man he chooses for her or leave England to live with relatives she has never met, in the land called America. Believing God has a plan, she boards a cargo ship to start a new life. On the voyage, she meets American sea captain Dorian Colburn. Dorian felt an attraction to the Englishwoman the second she stepped on the ship . . . but he's not about to let some heiress slow him down from his sea adventures. He's been wounded by women before and he enjoys his single life. When Kendra is threatened, will he change his mind and take a risk on her?
Pirate of My Heart is a charming story that sparks with romantic tension. Jamie Carie creates delightful characters full of wit and humor. I thoroughly enjoyed watching the hero and heroine spar with each other. Even when they aren't arguing, their humor and quick wit around one another is just as amusing. There are moments in this story that are priceless!
The writing in this novel is absolutely stunning and brilliant. Jamie Carie pens clever descriptions of characters and their moods.
The historical approach in this novel is also very accurate from the early English point of view. It is in this historical accuracy that we find the title of the novel. While the cover, title, and back-cover description may lead one to believe this story is about pirates, the truth is that pirates make a brief appearance in this story. While at first I felt as though the misleading information should have decreased my rating, I truly found the reason behind the title too clever and endearing to do so.
I found an instance when I disagreed with one of the heroine's decisions. That being said, this story is not about me or anyone else. It's about this character. Though the author gives us good enough motivation to justify the decision, from a biblical perspective, it's not one I'd feel comfortable with if a real-life friend made that same choice. I do, however, believe the varying feelings on this decision would make an excellent discussion in book clubs!
This is the first book I've ever read by Jamie Carie. After reading Pirate of My Heart, not only do I look forward to her next title, but I'm ready to go out and purchase all her other books. I loved every moment of this novel and highly recommend Pirate of My Heart.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from B & H Publishing, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pirate of My Heart: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromPirate of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect when I pulled Pirate of My Heart by Jaime Carie out of the stack on my nightstand, but I was more than pleasantly surprised! Lady Kendra Townsend has lost everything and the only uncle that she knows kicks her out of her home and sends her to America to live with relatives she didn't know existed. While trying to find her way in the world, she meets Captain Dorian Colburn, a man who has been burned by love and has sworn off women forever. Both are shocked by their feelings for one another and must learn to trust in God as one thing after another comes between them.
It's not often that a story grabs my attention so completely, but I was hooked by the second page. The characters were intriguing and the story offered twists that were unexpected and kept me guessing. Carie is a masterful writer and I can't wait to read more of her books! Ignore the (somewhat) cheesy cover and pirate-y title and read this book!
I received a free copy of this book from B&H Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.