Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1

Bethany House The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1

In the quiet Amish community of Hickory Hollow, Pennsylvania, time has stood still while cherished traditions and heartfelt beliefs have flourished. But a secret lies buried that could shatter the tranquility its inhabitants have grown to love.When Katie Lapp stumbles upon a satin infant gown in the dusty leather trunk of her parents' attic, she knows it holds a story she must discover. Why else would her Amish mother, a plain and simple woman who embraces the Old Order laws, hide the beautiful baby dress in the attic?On the eve of Katie's wedding to widower Bishop John, startling news staggers out of her anguished parents, and nothing prepares Katie for the devastation their confession brings. Feeling betrayed, Katie watches as the only life she has ever known begins to unravel, leaving in its wake a furrow of pain and a future of hope.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Review 1 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

like

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
mom Bev
Location:Palisade, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I watched the movie and wanted to know if the movie followed the book. I liked the series better than the movie.You have to read all three books to find out what happens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daughter could not put it down

Date:December 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Whitfield
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave "The Shunning" to my daughter on her 16th birthday 3 weeks ago, and she has LOVED this book! She cannot wait to get the next two in the series. She also wants to see the movie that is based on the book. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Created4Purpose
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book because I had seen the movie. A fabulous story - much better than the movie (but that's just me - I love my books!). I could not put the book down - I just had to find out what was around the corner for Katie Lapp!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The beginning of my reading Beverly Lewis

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book by Beverly Lewis I read. I enjoyed this story and was able to read all of the series quickly since I was a late comer to the series. It started me reading all of her series. I enjoyed the series and found it well written and highlights the best in a people. It is definately written by someone who has a great love for these people. I have to say that it is a simpler lifestyle that resonates with me most and I acknowledge that I prefer a slower pace. I will keep going back to this simpler life in books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robby J
Location:Smithfield, VA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beverly Lewis weaves together a captivating story about freedom of choice, religion, and redemption in the Amish world. It begins with the story of Katie Lapp, a young Amish woman who discovers a hidden secret from her past. As the secret unveils itself, Katie's small Amish world is turned upside down. I was surprised at how much I loved this book. It is the first Amish fiction I have ever read, and now I'm craving more from Beverly Lewis. The story was captivating and moving, and I anticipate reading the next two books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Sawyers
I'm still reading the book, but I can say I love it. I will be buying more in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lois Gibson
I really enjoy reading about the Amish, they have such interesting customs. Most of all I enjoy Beverly Lewis' writing and the story-lines she creates. She has become my favorite Christian author and I do plan on reading all of her Amish works. I have read The Shunning, The Confession, and am almost finished with The Reckoning. I would highly recommend this series to all who enjoy reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlene Dalrymple
This book, as all on the Amish life series, is very well done. You live with the characters and they become family to you, the reader. Anyone who enjoys this type of literature will surely enjoy the first book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheila Blais
I truly enjoyed every book in the series. Beverly Lewis has outdone herself once again.I feel like I am a part of these people and I look forward to the next book .I had this series but didn't realize because they have changed the covers
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Shunning, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beverly
I began reading Beverly Lewis books after I purchased one from a resale shop. Upon reading what the book was about it really caught my attention. However, when I began reading it, I realized that I was on the 3rd volume and refused to read it without reading the first two. Had the library been open at that late hour I would have gone. The next morning I was at the library when it opened to get the first 2 books. I had never read any of her work, but since that day, I have thourly enjoyed reading her books. As far as The Shunning goes, it was a very heart-felt book. I fininshed reading it while sitting in the classroom and my students wanted to know why I was crying. They are high school students and all I could tell them was to check out any and everything by an author named Beverly Lewis, but to be sure to get the books in order. Keep up the GREAT work, Beverly!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.