Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2

Bethany House The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2

Katie Lapp, a young Amish woman who questioned the strict rules of her upbringing and even her own identity, has been shunned from her Amish community. Katie--now known as Katherine Mayfield--sets out to find her birth mother, and a life, she has never known.

Her birth mother is seriously ill and Katie must struggle to find her, and prove her own identity, before it's too late. But in the world of electric lights, telephones, and fancy things, Katie stumbles into a web of greed and betrayal where the garb of the Amish is misused to disguise an evil conspiracy. Meanwhile, unknown to Katherine, her long-lost love, Daniel, has returned to the Amish community to find her. Can they ever be together again? Find out in The Confession.

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Review 1 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unbelievable

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia Newcomb
Location:MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the first book in the series, bur this second one was too unbelievable. It dragged out the finding of her birth mother too long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Created4Purpose
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started this book the moment I finished "The Shunning" and could not put it down. Beverly Lewis is such a fabulous story-teller; she had me turning page after page. This book is a journey depicting the struggle Katie goes through to discover her "true" identity - something we can all struggle with from time to time. A wonderful plot ... I stayed up waaay past my bedtime to finish it in hopes of the story concluding - of course, it didn't. So on to book three I went :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
dbe9618
Location:Texas City, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just recently started reading books by Beverly Lewis
and am addicted and can't wait to finish one and start the next one. I assure you there will be no disappointment in reading any book by Beverly Lewis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Sunning

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorothy
Location:Monterey, Tenn.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I have read this first book, and can not wait to read the 2nd and 3rd bookes. The amish really interest me. Dorothy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
I read the first book in this series, "The Shunning", over a year ago and as a result of this had forgotten a lot of the details. I've also read several other Amish-themed books between then and now and have established my views on who the best authors are in this genre and which series is my favourite. Unfortunately, this book isn't among them. As much as I enjoyed the first book and all of its drama and angst, this one just seemed unnecessarily over-dramatic and cliched. Although I wanted to read about Katie meeting her birth-mother and being reunited with her lost love, I didn't feel so connected to her and there were several passages devoted to the points of view of the servants in her birth-mother's house - many of whom were, bizarrely, English. Was it typical to have English servants in an NY home in 1997? Particularly ones who appeared to have stepped out of an Agatha Christie novel? I did enjoy reading about the "imposter" and wondering whether Katie would ever get to meet Lydia face-to-face (although considering the predictability of this novel, it was rather obvious that this would eventually happen) but I felt that this series lost its charm once it was no longer based in Hickory Hollow. I tend to prefer the Amish novels that focus on people who embrace their beliefs, rather than those who escape the lifestyle. I will read the last book in the trilogy as I checked it out of the library last week, but I definitely prefer Lewis's "Abram's Daughters" series to this one. But to give the author credit, this trilogy was her first and it's obvious that her writing has grown immensely since this was published.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gloria Klein
Great book, great series! Beverly Lewis does a wonderful job of weaving a story (stories) together. Makes me want to visit the Lancaster area and countryside. She weaves the love of God & forgiveness throughout her stories & it just might help us weave that into our own lives and stories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
April Carter
Beverly Lewis' knowledge of the Amish and her ability to weave several stories into one kept me absorbed in each book from start to finish. This book, the second in a 3 book series, was not available at my local library. I went right home from the library and ordered the book so I would not miss any of the story. A very engaging read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlene Dalrymple
Once you meet "Kathy" she will endear herself to you. And when you find that she may not be whom you expect her to be, you will want to see if she finds her true identity and then see if her new life is what she wants.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda Barsell
i give it five stars, it was nice to read a book with out all the sex and such.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Confession, Heritage of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sally Riman
I like this writer. Her insight into the Amish way of life is interesting and I have found myself glad that I did not grow up in that culture. I have read Book 1 (The Shunning) also and am looking forward to Book 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.