Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First

Thomas Nelson Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First

Based on the life-changing stories from I Am Second by Dave Sterrett and Doug Bender, the devotional Live Second offers 365 days of readings with powerful stories, prayers, action steps and Scripture to help you make following Jesus every day a reality.

Organized into 52 topic-related weeks, you'll focus on real-life issues such as Relationships, Success, Community, Failure, Identity and more. QR codes throughout the devotional readings unlock further content online.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3097%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Review 1 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product didn't meet my expectations

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Laguna, Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Live Second, 365 Ways to Make Jesus First is a devotional book by Doug Bender, published by Thomas Nelson. This book consists of 365 daily readings and is divided into 12 sessions. The whole book challenges you to make Jesus your number one priority in your life. It includes topics like Discover God, Pass it on, Jesus Says, Go Local, Go Global and I Commit. Each week starts with a video that you need to watch over the internet and is followed by reflecting how you identify with the person on the video. The people in the videos come from all walks of life (actors, athletes, musicians, pastors, politicians, and more); Every testimony is powerful as we get to see how God has transformed their lives. Then there are a series of questions which helps you understand what it says, what it really means, talk with God and followed by action items under the live it, tell it and practice it sections. The book is meant to challenge one’s thinking and present way of life, so it is best if it is used for group discussions and accountability sessions.
The book was unlike most devotionals I had seen. Every chapter is short but it contains many questions about your life which needs answers. If you are ready for some life changing answers, this is the book you should read. I personally didn’t like the book very much because it wasn’t what I normally would read. I feel that the book is suited for new believers and non-believers as well. Though it certainly challenges me to really look into the different areas of my life and to put Christ first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Live Second? How About Live Last!

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Live Second is a devotional book born out of the I Am Second movement which is all about placing Jesus first in our lives. The book contains 365 daily readings divided into 12 sessions of 52 weeks covering various topics such as Discover God, Grow, Lead, Jesus Says, and Go Global. It challenges readers to live second each day as they put Jesus first and guides them through Scriptures, prayers, prompt questions, and links/QR codes to "I Am Second" videos. Live Second is a unique devotional since it includes film-watching and social media interaction (you can tweet your thoughts or prayers by using specifically given hashtags on Twitter). I found the "I Am Second" videos very interesting and inspiring. I really enjoyed listening to so many different ways which God has used to draw people to Him...to get their attention. These people come from all walks of life (actors, athletes, musicians, pastors, politicians, and more); each testimony is powerful on its own because God's power of transformation is evident in their lives. On the other hand, the book itself is somewhat disappointing to me. Each day's reading is quite short (it does point readers to read more from the Bible which is good) and too simple (for me...I guess I was expecting something deeper...more meat). Besides, according to the Bible, I am not supposed to be second; I am called to be last. Jesus wants us to honor others above ourselves (for example: Romans 12:10b, Philippians 2:3, Mark 9:35). Live last, not second :)! Anyway, I think this book is still a great tool for new believers and/or non-believers.
~ I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Live Second: 365 Ways To Make Jesus First, written by Doug Bender, is a year long devotional designed to guide its readers into placing Jesus first within their lives, first above all others, first above all other things.
To the Christian, devotionals are an essential tool for spiritual growth. But within a market flooded with options, which ones are more beneficial? While most devotionals are centered around carrying their readers into a deeper, more personal relationship with Christ, there are not many that desire to teach us how to become second to Christ. That makes Live Second an important tool.
Live Second is packed with positive Biblical lessons and brilliant modern additives. Not only is there an available daily devotion, each week begins with a video segment that can be obtained and observed through a moment on the web or the use of a QR reader. These videos present real life people, many well known and powerful, sharing their reasoning for becoming second and placing Christ first. These videos set the tone for each week.
Because of its usefulness, because of its innovative approach to studying, this devotional is a recommended product for all who desire to Live Second, while placing Christ first.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Live Second

Date:January 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Live Second” is a devotional-style book to accompany the popular “I Am Second” movement. The idea is to have the reader reflect on what the Bible has to say about us and our relationship with God. Are we putting Him first? How can we practice putting God first?
The book consists of 365 short readings. It is broken up into 12 sessions, each with 4 or 5 weeks of lessons. Each session begins with a quick overview. Day one of each week begins with the reader watching a video testimony of a person who has chosen to live second. There are a few questions that follow. Days 2-7 for the rest of the week begin with a key verse, then you are asked to read from your Bible a section of scripture from which the daily reading’s lesson will come. The key questions for each day follow as you decide how to “live it” and “tell it.” There is also a section of prayer. You will often see a short statement to get you on the right path with what the focus of your prayer should be.
Overall this is a good book. In all honesty it is more suited for group setting than individual reading, though a person reading on their own will still be able to take a great deal away from it with honest, personal reflection. I say that it is more suited for a group because it doesn’t offer much in the way of suggestion for the “live it” and “tell it” portion. It simply asks “How will you live more second today?” and “How will you share what you have learned?”. A group discussion would probably be beneficial here to exchange ideas. Day 1 of each week is also geared toward group discussion with the questions presented.
What is good for the person using this book as an individual is the scripture reading. It differs from the average devotional which offers only 1 to 2 lines of scripture. “Live Second” will ask you to read larger portions of scripture… sometimes a chapter or more. It keeps the lesson for the day in a clearer context.
What some people may not like are the video testimonies. While they are wonderful videos that share some amazing stories, some may find it a distraction to go online to watch them. If you have a QR reader on your phone (or another device) you can scan the code on the page and watch the video that way.
I received a complimentary digital copy of this book for review purposes from BookSneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for discipleship or personal growth

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
pastormatte
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am definitely a fan of the I Am Second movement!
Powerful videos.
Fantastic book.
Moving testimonies.
Life-changing stories.
What’s not to like?
So when I heard that they were putting out a year-long devotional,
I jumped at the chance to get it!
Let me say, that it has been quite a while since I’ve read a daily devotional book, where the book is meant to provide short readings each day that will last you an entire year (though, for the purposes of this review, I skipped ahead so that it didn’t take me one year).
This devotional book does not disappoint!
It is the perfect companion for those who are watching the videos, reading the other book, going through an “I Am Second” small group, or just want to enjoy a simple, daily reading that will bring you closer to God.
Each daily reading might only take 2 minutes to read (and that’s if you are a slow reader like I am), yet they also provide personal reflection questions, corporate discussion questions, and even prayer suggestions, to make sure that each short reading has an impact on your life.
Two things jumped out at me in this devotional that I particularly enjoyed.
First, the reflection/discussion questions are often the same.
Now that may not seem like a positive thing, as it could get repetitive, boring, and easy to go through the motions.
But in actuality, the questions are typically worded like this:
“Live It. How will you live more Second today?”
“Tell It. How will you share what you have learned?”
And so each day it is up to you to reflect on how the teaching can be applied to your life,
and how it will affect how you relate with others.
And so even though these questions are repeated over and over throughout an entire year’s worth of reading,
they allow you to personally get out of it what you put in.
It doesn’t have a magical cure.
It doesn’t have a quick formula.
It only asks you to take a simple step each day to grow closer to God, and to be a better witness of His glory.
The second thing that I really like about this devotional is how intentional they are with the flow of the book.
Each week starts with a video.
Each week has a theme.
Every 4-5 weeks has a larger theme.
And the entire book walks you through the Gospel message, and into how it transforms the lives of believers.
Moving in a clear direction, you could easily use this book as a discipleship tool for someone who is new to the faith,
or give it to a strong believer who simply wants to grow closer to God.
In short, Live Second is a fantastic devotional book, and whether you use it alone, or with a small group of friends and family, you are sure to learn more about God, grow closer to Him, and be better equipped to share your faith with others as you read it.
—–
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book went Above and Beyond my expectations!

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patti Creek
Location:Comanche, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading books, but this one kept my attention and made me look inside myself and be challenged to be a better human being and put Jesus Christ first, just as He should be. I've known this principle all along, but I kept feeling overwhelmed when I would fall short. This book taught me in baby steps, just how to do it.
"Live Second is more than a Devotional, more than a "Spiritual Growth. It gives us the tools we need to enhance our way of thinking and yet not be overwhelmed by the change. It is geared for anyone whether you are a scholar, or have never picked up a Bible. It starts with a biblical scripture, then refers us to a biblical passage pertaining to the topic, (which are broken down into days, weeks and months) and then steps out a little farther with Mr. Bender's commentary. He also provides an example of a small, short prayer for our guidance in learning how to put ourselves on the "back burner" and put God First.
He then asks the BIG QUESTIONS: How will we LIVE SECOND today, and secondly, how will we SHARE what we have learned .
He provides hashtags for us to tweet our thoughts to others on Twitter, and provides even more tools to help us on the iamsecond website.
This is such a WONDERFUL BOOK. I think everyone should own a copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jesus is first, and #iamsecond

Date:December 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are wanting to start a new devotional for the new year, this is a perfect choice. Neatly divided into 12 Sessions with 4 (or 5) weeks per session, there is a daily reading part to cover your entire year. Day 1 of each week gives you a video from the I Am Second Official Channel . (The book has the QR code for these videos, but since I own no device that uses them, I'm really not sure how they work.) Each video, usually by a well known actor, athlete. speaker, etc., allows a person to tell where they were before and where they now are after making Jesus first in their life. The sense of community derived from watching these videos will definitely make you realize that you are not alone in your failures and struggles.
Day One has the video and scripture to read. You then have What It Says, What It Means, Live It, Tell It, and Practice It. The other 6 days have the scripture reading and Talk With God, Live It, and Tell It. Each day is only one page and you get out of it what you are willing to put into it. This would be excellent for a group of friends who meet weekly or monthly, but is also appropriate for personal study and growth. This book, your Bible, a journal, writing implements (I personally love colored pencils when I make notes in my Bible) and a desire to make Jesus your priority is all you need. (Well, if you want to watch the videos, you need more.) This is the book I intend to use during 2013 as I desire for Jesus to be first in all aspects of my life. #Iamsecond
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Live Second

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
tg35
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book contains 365 daily readings that challenge you to consider what life would look like if Jesus were first. This book is for anyone looking to discover meaning in life, your mission on this planet, or the cure to life's difficulties. You do not need to believe in Jesus to start this journey, but I think you will be challenged by his message before you trek too far. I believe the power of his love, the vastness of his forgiveness, and the strength of his presence will inspire you to rethink your relationship with God.
Wherever you are, let this book take you one step further in your journey with God. I believe and hope this book will be more than a daily reading, that it will be a guidebook for travelers, a handbook for seekres, and a motivational manual for the uninspired. This book may not always soothe your soul, but I think it will always insire your reflection and challenge your daily routine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Book!

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
ALE33
Location:Princeton, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally recommend this book! I urge you to pick it up because you will not put it down! You will absolutely love Live Second!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
uk lady
Location:New York state
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great inspirational devotional book. It helps you put God first and helps you read the word also. The I am second movement is an encouragement to me to see ordinary people along side famous folk, telling how Jesus changed their lives more people need to hear this. I would recommend this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliantly Simple, Simply Brilliant

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tim O
Location:Springfield, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know about you, but I struggle to realize my place in all of this mess we call life. Between work, family, hobbies, church and all of the rest, my priorities are sometimes, ok, a lot of the time, out of whack. In Doug Bender's new book, "Live Second, 365 Ways to Make Jesus First," he tackles a 365 day reminder on how to make sure, or in a clever and well written way, show us the importance, reward and peace that comes with Jesus Christ. The I am Second folks have put out some incredible material over the last few years. I've spent hours watching video on their site. I highly recommend spending the money and examining the content of this as well as scripture, to remember how much God wants us to be close to Him. Please buy this book, you will be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Devotional!

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
oilerslover
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender
Live Second by Doug Bender is a wonderful daily devotional that helps put God first in your life, and yourself second. There are 365 daily readings and prayers that guide you on the right path every day of the year. It is time to live only for God, it is time to Live Second!
Book Description
365 Ways to Put Jesus First
Athletes and actors, models and musicians, pastors and politicians … many have stepped forward, looked in the camera, and proclaimed, “I am second.” But most in the I Am Second movement are not celebrities. They are ordinary people—and they’ve come to the simple realization that when God comes first in their lives, everything makes sense.
But living second is not easy. It takes grit and humility, submission to God’s will, a willingness to listen and serve, an openness to God’s healing and call.
Live Second is a daily guide to help you. With 365 readings, prayers, actions steps, and an invitation to join other Christ-followers online, what you hold in your hands is a tool built with truth, scripture, and a sure path to put Jesus first every day.
The Christian life is not meant to be easy, just worth it. Live Second is exactly what you need as you become the new, inspired, God-honoring creation he made you to be.
My Thoughts
Live Second is a great and inspirational devotional that can be used every day of the year. You can start at any point, not necessarily January 1. If you want to open the book to a random devotion and use that day’s devotional, you can do that as well. The important thing is to read the book and apply what you have learned to your own life.
Putting God first in your life isn't always that easy to do, especially in the society we live in, where people often think about themselves before anything else, including God! It is a difficult path for some to take, but the path of following God is so rewarding! Learning to put God before yourself and following his lead is what true living is all about.
To Live Second is what the world needs! This book will guide you on that wonderful journey and will deepen your relationship with our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. I highly recommend it!
* Thank you to the publisher, Thomas Nelson, for providing me with a copy of this book for review as part of their Book Sneeze program. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect devotional for our times

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
dinsmoregirl
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First is a daily reader that takes you on a yearlong journey of putting yourself second to Jesus in all aspects of your life. The book is divided into 12 sections that have 4-5 weeks on a similar topic. Day 1 of the week is the video and the remaining days 2-7 are reading through scripture and applying those scriptural concepts to your life.
I admit, I was a little wary, having searched high and low for a devotional that wasn't the norm or didn't just scratch surface issues. However, I was really intrigued with this idea. First of all, if you are not familiar with the I am second movement, you really should check it out. [...] Each week of this devotional starts with a video testimony from the i am second website. I love this! Testimony is so powerful! Hearing others' stories about their struggles and how God shows Himself into their lives is inspiring, touching, and life changing. Each video sets the tone for the week's study. What a great concept!
Then, each day there is a portion of scripture to read and reflect on and then there is a short message that helps bring that concept home. There are reflective questions to think about every day that point you toward making Jesus number one in your life. It's not deep study but it does bring the issue back to you - how are you doing in this area (based on Scripture) and how are you making Jesus #1? Perfect for a daily devotion.
But this is not your typical devotional. I love the use of media with this devotional. In addition to the video testimonies, there are prompts to share your thoughts and findings using #hashtags in Twitter. If other readers have read that daily entry and tweeted about it, you can search the #hashtag on Twitter and see other insights on the topic you're currently on. How cool is that?
Not only is it a great daily devotional that is not too time consuming but the integration of media and social media makes it a unique way to study for yourself AND get insight from others on the same topic. I think this will be the next big thing. I hope so. I tell everyone I know about the I am second videos and I look forward to sharing this book with everyone I know as well.
DISCLOSURE: I received a free digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own. I wholeheartedly enjoy this book and plan on purchasing it and suggesting others to the same!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book will change your walk for the better!!

Date:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
jbj74
Location:Piqua, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great!! It is well written, and well put together!! This book covers all sorts of issues that we may face in our lives, and teaches us that if God is first in our lives these issues will only help to strengthen us and further our relationship with God!! Live Second isn't just a book, it's a handy tool to use on a daily basis that helps us step right over the enemy's so called stumbling blocks. A must read, a journey that is worth committing yourself to!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second Changes Everything

Date:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems like many of us have grown up in a culture that tells us we should put ourselves first. We should strive to be in charge of our own future, to make first place on teams, to go after the promotion at work, to focus on me and what my needs are. Many of us have fallen into this trap of putting ourselves first, of never asking for help and relying on ourselves to get the job done, to provide for our families, to get to the next step in our lives, we lean on ourselves and see asking or seeking help as a sign of weakness.
Live Second tells you just the opposite. To go against the grain of what culture will accept as the norm, and look to someone else to provide, offer guidance, someone for you to lean on in time of trouble. Live Second will challenge you to step back and not put yourself, your family or your job first. Live Second is a daily reminder to instead of putting things of this world and ourselves in first place, to change positions and place ourselves second and put Jesus first everyday.
Live Second is not your normal book or devotional, it is a daily reader that will challenge you to put Jesus first in every circumstance, but unlike other daily devotionals Live Second also uses social media to continue the discussion of what you learn each day and to share with others what being second means.
Live Second is broken down into different sessions with an over-arching theme and focus, each daily reading will provide you with Bible passages, questions to help you to dig deeper into the passage as well as questions to encourage you to implement what you learn into your everyday life.
Live Second is a book like no other that combines a daily devotional with social media to help you to grow in your walk with God and to teach you what it means to be second. This is an amazing book that will change who you are and how you respond to the world around you. Be prepared to see a change in your life and take the steps to becoming Second, I am Second, are you?
I received this book complimentary from the publisher in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Perfect Resource for Your Spiritual Journey

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Travis Hart
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking to find out more about who Jesus is, read this book. If you have recently placed faith in Jesus Christ and want to know how to take those next steps, read this book. If you are looking for a Bible reading plan for the next year, read this book. If you have been a believer for 35 years and looking to go deeper in your spiritual walk and knowledge of God, read this book. I am a pastor and, after reading this book, our church has made the decision to buy a case of these, in order to hand out to visitors and new believers. Having said that, I’d add one more to the list above: if you are a pastor and looking for a way to enhance your personal devotion and study of God, read this book.
Authenticity has always been something I have valued among people, and when it comes to authors, particularly Christian authors, this is certainly true. Thus it gives me great pleasure to recommend Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First by Doug Bender. Doug has been a friend for several years now, and I was waiting to see his unique imprint on this book, that part where I read it and say, yep, that’s definitely Doug. I’ll be honest – I never saw it. The entire time reading this book, all I ever saw was an call to make Jesus first in your life, and 365 different ways in which we can live out being number 2. It is refreshing to see that the only message the author pushed was not his, but God’s. Doug Bender’s book teaches how to be second to God, and it is refreshing to see that authenticity lived out by the author. If you only buy (and read!) one book this year, make it this one.
NOTE: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Its not a book, its a journey!

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Bry
Location:Burleson, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first want to start out by saying this is not just another Christian devotional. Live Second:365 Ways To Make Jesus First is not merely a book you read. It is an interactive daily experience that will draw you nearer to Christ. This book is a practical guideline for a personal journey! In order for my review to be of value I feel you should know a little bit about me. I am 43 years old and have only been a believer for two years. I went to church as a child but as a lot of us I turned my back on God as a young adult and my life had to come crashing down for me to fully understand our need for a Saviour. For years people in my life people tried to get me to go to church and influence me, but it is not something that can be forced onto a person. It has to be a personal revelation. That is why I love this book so much. It allows for such revelation, reflection and growth. Based on my experience I would recommend this book to Christians and non-believers alike, regardless of where you are in your walk with the God.
One thing I love about this book is that its author Doug Bender is one of the founders of the I Am Second movement. Just like the movement, this book shows you how to have an experience with God and not just read a book about people who experienced God 2000 yeas ago. Jesus is alive today and this book encourages you to fully come to know Him and how that relationship will change your life forever. Through a mixture of scripture exerts, Bible passage reading assignments, self and group discussion topics, watching testimonial films on IAS and social media interaction you actually see how Jesus has changed peoples lives while you are leaning how He will change yours.
The book is a 365 daily read to be looked at as a marathon and not a sprint. Its uses daily Bible reading as a foundation. The best part is it doesnt provide the passages your for you. You actually have to pick up the Bible and find the passage yourself. If you prefer the NIV version versus the King James edition, go for it! That way you can have the best understanding of what it is you are reading. The book helps you to understand what your reading by presenting you with questions such as; What does the passage say? What does the passage mean? etc...It instructs you to talk with God though daily prayer. On some days it even suggests a daily prayer. Then it encourages you to live and tell and practice what you are experiencing and learning!
This book is for anyone trying to figure out the meaning of life, trying to fix their messed up life or just trying to find "themselves" (that can only be revealed to them by God through Jesus). To quote the author Doug Bender; "Wherever you are, let this book take you one step further in your journey with God. I believe and hope this book will be much more than a daily reading, that it will be a guidebook for travelers, a handbook for seekers, and a motivational manual for the uninspired." No matter what you are looking for, what you will most definately find in this daily experience is love, hope and inspiration!
I encourage you to get this book, then TELL IT, PRACTICE IT and LIVE IT. Its one thing to know about God by reading about people who had an experience with him. Its something completely different to actually have a relationship with him yourself in your life today! Thats what Live Second will help you do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Live Second: 365 Ways to Put Jesus First
By Doug Bender
Book Description
Athletes and actors, models and musicians, pastors and politicians … many have stepped forward, looked in the camera, and proclaimed, “I am second.” But most in the I Am Second movement are not celebrities. They are ordinary people—and they’ve come to the simple realization that when God comes first in their lives, everything makes sense.
But living second is not easy. It takes grit and humility, submission to God’s will, a willingness to listen and serve, an openness to God’s healing and call.
Live Second is a daily guide to help you. With 365 readings, prayers, actions steps, and an invitation to join other Christ-followers online, what you hold in your hands is a tool built with truth, scripture, and a sure path to put Jesus first every day.
The Christian life is not meant to be easy, just worth it. Live Second is exactly what you need as you become the new, inspired, God-honoring creation he made you to be.
Live Second is simple. It's kind of casual. The page layout is easy on the eyes and inviting. When you open it up to Day 1, your first thought is "I can do this!" Still, you will be challenged. It's organized into 12 sessions of 52 weeks (7 days a week). On Day 1 of each week there is always a QR code and link for an I am Second film for that entry. The book does not correspond to months or days, so if life gets the best of you, and you miss a day or two, you can pick up where you left off instead of skipping entries to catch up.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

365 ways to Live Second with Jeeus first

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DaveT
Location:Port St. Luicie, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each day there is a videos and scripture to read or a combination of both; with stories. The daily reading is short but gives you a lot to think about. You will learn new stuff about your life as you listen to these videos and read the stories.
I recommend the GREAT book it anyone who is looking for a jouney with GOD in life. Also great for small groups.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed above are completely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:United States
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has been eye opening for me. In our world today where we find ourselves struggling to put God first, the author reminds us just how easy and rewarding it is. He uses everyday examples to show us what should be most important in our lives.
It reminds me daily that I'm second and God is First.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>