Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2

Bethany House Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2

Lauren Eldridge had avoided returning home to Daily, Texas, until her father confesses to being in over his head. Paying back an old favor, he's invested in a horse that's supposed to be the star of a new Hollywood movie. Only the horse won't behave. And Lauren is the best trainer in the state. Convinced to return, she soon finds more than she bargained for when the movie's screenwriter turns out to be leading-man handsome.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
Review 1 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
This review is fromWord Gets Around - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable!

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I didn't have high expectations going into this book. It was my first by Lisa Wingate and I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed it more then I thought I would and the plot kept me turning the pages, (rather quickly I might add) and I enjoyed it enough to say that I would read more from Lisa. She's a good writer, although I found she had the characters explaining quite a lot of stuff in their thoughts...
Altogether, I don't think I'd read it again, but I would recommend it to fans of contemporary fiction who like a little Hollywood thrown into Texas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
This review is fromWord Gets Around - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Lisa Wingate

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
sherry
Location:Central TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, I was totally involved with the characters and read the book almost straight through. I did have to sleep some. The Daily, TX characters seem like friends that I don't see often and I find myself wondering what they are doing now. Maybe the next book will tell me if the ranch for children materializes. I hope this series continues on and on. But, I will say that the covers don't really do the stories justice. They look like the typical, shallow romance, but there is so much depth there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
suzyQ
Location:Kelso, WA
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The story was cute, but I didn't like how each chapter kept bouncing back to the other main character.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
I just finished reading this book and it is a steal at $2.99! I enjoyed the way Lisa Wingate took you in and showed you how great everything could be. I laughed and I cried. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
This novel was my first experience with Lisa Wingate, and it was a great one. As I mentioned in a previous review, Lisa does Christian overtones without hitting me over the head with a Bible, which I always appreciate and try to emulate in my own writing. However, more importantly, in Lauren and Nathan, Lisa has given us two real people with fabulous jobs, personalities, and conflicts to deal with. Nathan, in particular, was easy to identify with because we're both writers, though I don't do screenplays. I also liked how Lisa handled Lauren's guilt without overblowing it, as some authors tend to do. The realism of these characters, as well as the unique backdrop in which they find themselves (on a movie set, but without stereotypical glitz), makes for a great romance. I'd have liked to see more time spent on the actual movie, but otherwise, this was a thoroughly enjoyable book. I'm hoping Lisa can give us at least one more visit to Daily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Very well written - both funny and very easy to follow. Quite believeable and the story moves in a logical order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Lisa Wingate did a fabulous job creating complex characters with very believable internal conflicts. When I read a story I want to be emotionally invested in it. Not only is the cover of Word Gets Around gorgeous, but the story is beautiful as well. I was so caught up in their story world that several times tears welled in my eyes. I love it when I feel so connected that I cry with characters when they overcome something they have battled for years. That makes this one powerful book, IMHO. And while the spiritual component was very subtle, when it did come out in the story it was deep and meaningful. All that Texas lingo and those hilarious sayings like "Well butter my backside and call me a biscuit" made for interesting reading as did the funny tales the relative shared about Lauren when she was a kid. The author did a great job getting in a man's head, too. The hero, Nate, was incredibly hot and his crazy internal thoughts made me laugh. And Lauren's reason for keeping her heart closed from others was very realistic. I totally understood her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ed Stevens
Lisa Wingate's "Word Gets Around " is the latest of this author's incredibly great books! We're taken back to Daily Texas and another chance to visit the Beulah Suite and Elvis's room. We're reunited with Amber Anderson, Justin Shay, Donetta and others from an earlier book"Talk of the Town".Lauren Eldridge, a young college teacher is called back to her Dad's ranch to help train a hurt horse, Lucky Strike and a troubled movie star, Justin Shay to make a movie. Events in the past color Lauren's expectations for the future. She fights her fears and leaves them in the creek where those fears began.This book is a wonderful story about Justin, Lauren, and Nate and others rising from the ashes of disappointments to work a common project.Lisa Wingate is an extraordinary motivational writer. One very moving moment "who would have predicted that the little girl from the trailer house down the road would win a TV talent contest, make big money friends and come back to reclaim the homestead that had been left for dead"."Word Gets Around" is an outstanding book! I enjoyed reading it so much!Ed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
A movie star, a screen writer, a horse trainer, a washed up race horse, a small town... what's not to like? In Word Gets Around, Lisa Wingate goes back to that old Hollywood premise, "Hey kids, let's put on a show!" But this isn't just any show. Nate Heath has to put aside his doubts and make something out of a stinker of a script that's been passed over for years. Lauren Eldridge has to face a painful past in order to come back to her home town and train the horse that's supposed to be the star of the show. Justin Shay is facing a career that's almost over and sees "The Horseman" as his ticket to respectability as an actor. And to top it all off, half the town's been put up as collateral on the hopes that the film will get a green light. The stakes are pretty high.I found this to be a really fun, engaging book. There are some truly deep, moving moments, but it's mostly a great visit to a place you've never been. (At least I've never been there... I'm sure folks who've lived in a small town are going to recognize one or more of the colorful characters.)I particularly enjoyed Wingate's writing style. She chose to write the book in first person, and alternates between Lauren and Nate. So the first chapter is Lauren's point of view, the second is Nate's, the third Lauren, and so on. Her writing is so spot on that even if she didn't start each chapter with the POV character's name, you'd still know whose head you were in.This is the second book in the Daily, Texas series. If you didn't read Talk of the Town (I didn't) you'll still enjoy this book. But you might want to pick them both up and read them in order. Why not stay in Daily a little longer?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Word Gets Around, Daily, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
First there was a book for the American Idol fans, now this book focuses on the movie making industry. Daily, TX is becoming the IT spot for celebrities to visit! While I enjoyed Wingate's previous novel, Talk of the Town, that introduced us to life in Daily, I found this book much more to my liking. The characters are more likable as both Lauren and Nate have secrets in their past they don't want to share. However as they get to know each other better they find that they're drawn together and slowly begin to reveal those secrets. I really liked the chemistry between them. Right from the beginning, you knew they were going to hit things off. Being a movie fanatic, I always enjoy novels that take place around the movie making business. This book was refreshingly realistic and didn't come off as a magical showing of how a movie gets made. It actually showed that screenwriters have a hard job trying to make a good story into movie material. I liked how the POV came from a screenwriter as opposed to the actor, as I find the writers the true stars of entertainment. Horse fans will also enjoy the book as the tricks of horse whispering are demonstrated in what I felt to be a realistic way. My only qualm is that I still don't like Amber. She comes across as being too perky and still too good to be true. I'm still trying to figure out what her exact relationship with Justin is. Her character just seemed very one dimensional. I'm hoping that the next book in the series will either focus on her to flesh her out or at least make her character grow. That being said, I am looking forward to the next book in this series. I would love to visit Daily and see the hotel with the Elvis room. And man, I wish I could go to one of their picnics, the food sounds absolutely delicious! That small town, everyone knows your name feeling in these books sure is addicting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.