Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Though Waters Roar

Bethany House Though Waters Roar

Harriet Sherwood has always adored her grandmother. But when Harriet decides to follow in her footsteps to fight for social justice, she certainly never expected her efforts to land her in jail. Nor did she expect her childhood enemy and notorious school bully, Tommy O'Reilly, to be the arresting officer.

Languishing in a jail cell, Harriet has plenty of time to sift through the memories of the three generations of women who have preceded her. As each story emerges, the strength of her family--and their deep faith in the God of justice and righteousness--brings Harriet to the discovery of her own goals and motives for pursuing them.

Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Though Waters Roar
Review 1 for Though Waters Roar
This review is fromThough Waters Roar - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was very easy to read.

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeanne
Location:United States
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was an interesting book that followed the trail of desegregation and prohibition. It was interesting that not every generation got along with the next one; but, they worked on the same or similar public issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Being the devoted reader of Lynn Austin that I am, I have to admit this book was very hard for me to get through. The author wrote from three different character perspective and there were times I had to go back and reread one perspective to clarify another's. This was not the authors first time writing in this style and I did not have any trouble with the first one, so I'm not sure why this time it through me off so much. The characters did not seem to interest me and I did find myself putting this book down to read other things.
But not every author's books are going to be a winner to everyone, so with that being said, her writing was solid as usual and I did not find any plot holes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous read!

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I love the way Lynn Austin allowed us to interact with each woman throughout that family line. Being able to feel and see what each generation had to go through really made the book for me. It was sad to see what they had to go through but it also gave me something to think about and I felt a whole lot closer with the characters because of it.
The connection with the characters was actually what made it so hard for me to finish the book. I didn't want to leave Harriet or her grandma behind! I absolutely loved those two characters which was something else that kept me enthralled by the book. They were just so real, fun, and quirky! Especially the grandma! They are definite favorites!
I also loved how God was weaved throughout the story. It was gentle but I liked how He helped give the characters hope and strength to do what they knew was right. And especially when they were struggling. That gives me hope and strength.
Anyway, this is a definite 5 out of 5 and I totally recommend it! You won't be sorry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great read!!!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first book by Lynn Austin, but I will certainly be getting other books by her! This was a great book! I loved the way we interacted with different women in this family throughout the generations--watching how each generation dealt with their own struggles and hardships! I really didn't want to put this book down. I hope you enjoy it, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christin
I really enjoyed the way Austen weaves together the stories of four generations of women which makes for an entertaining story. While Harriet’s story is the main focus of the book the other stories are just as important to the overall plot. All four stories help the reader understand why Harriet was thrown in jail but we are not given the full explanation until almost the end, which keeps readers wanting to read more to find out just why. Since there are three separate narratives within the book at times the story can be hard to follow. First of all there is Harriet in jail and all that is happening to her there; second flashbacks to various important events in Harriet’s life where she first heard the stories about her Great-Grandmother, Grandmother and mother, and third accounts of the events in the women’s lives. The book jumps from one narrative to the next often with little or no warning; and some readers may find this confusing at times. Fortunately, while the narratives are separate from each other for the most part each is told in chronological order which helps clarify things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darci
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never read a Lynn Austin book that I haven't loved. I truly enjoyed this one. If I had the time, I would have read the whole thing in one day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
This book is enjoyable though I must admit I felt that she rushed the ending so you sort of feel that you are left hanging wondering is this really the end? All in all the story was thoroughly wonderful and again a wonderful job on Lynn's part with the history. I always learn so much about history from reading Lynn's book. A definite must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lover of Books and Art
This book surprised me in many ares. Some of the characters I originally didn't like, I ended up loving. I cried throughout most of it. It was an amazing book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Harriet never thought she would find herself in a jail cell, but there she was. To keep herself from agonizing over how disappointed her family will be, especially Grandma Bebe, Harriet recalls her history and where she came from, creating a spider web effect traveling back to her Great Grandmother and through three generations of amazing women and American history. It is hard to pin point a plot in the novel, but in this case that is not a bad thing. The overall plot is all at once simple and complex. Moving in a nonlinear fashion the novel is more of a group of stories strung together keeping it interesting and engaging without feeling epic and overwhelming. With a particular emphasis on women's suffrage, it shows the lives of women before they were seen as viable citizens. From Hannah's bravery in the face of slave hunters, to Bebe's strength to run the family business and more to walk away from what she really loved, the women in the novel show strength in a way that never feels forced. The author works to draw distinctions between heroism, what truly makes someone a hero. It also gives a new perspective of the prohibition movement and what drew so women so such extremes. Austin has filled the novel with imagery that aids in bringing each different woman together as the family they are, making for an imaginative, interesting, and overall well written novel. I was disappointed with how Harriet's part of the story was handled. The characters and story were so well written up until her story, which ultimately felt rushed, as though the author was running out of time or inspiration and simply finished the book (not the story). *Book provided to the reviewer by Bethany House Publishing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Harriet never thought she would find herself in a jail cell, but there she was. To keep herself from agonizing over how disappointed her family will be, especially Grandma Bebe, Harriet recalls her history and where she came from, creating a spider web effect traveling back to her Great Grandmother and through three generations of amazing women and American history. It is hard to pin point a plot in the novel, but in this case that is not a bad thing. The overall plot is all at once simple and complex. Moving in a nonlinear fashion the novel is more of a group of stories strung together keeping it interesting and engaging without feeling epic and overwhelming. With a particular emphasis on women's suffrage, it shows the lives of women before they were seen as viable citizens. From Hannah's bravery in the face of slave hunters, to Bebe's strength to run the family business and more to walk away from what she really loved, the women in the novel show strength in a way that never feels forced. The author works to draw distinctions between heroism, what truly makes someone a hero. It also gives a new perspective of the prohibition movement and what drew so women so such extremes. Austin has filled the novel with imagery that aids in bringing each different woman together as the family they are, making for an imaginative, interesting, and overall well written novel. I was disappointed with how Harriet's part of the story was handled. The characters and story were so well written up until her story, which ultimately felt rushed, as though the author was running out of time or inspiration and simply finished the book (not the story). *Book provided to the reviewer by Bethany House Publishing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal
An interesting book to be sure! This book by Lynn Austin is really the stories of four generations of remarkable ladies. We begin the story with Harriet, who is in jail. For what, the reader will have to be patient to find out! As she is in jail, Harriet has lots of time to think. She takes us back in time as far as the civil war when her Great-Grandma Hannah becomes involved in the Underground Railroad. Her Grandma Bebe and her praying at the saloons and marching for prohibition is another part of Harriets musings. Harriet is desperate not to become like her mother and sister, ladylike and helpless. We get to see how the lives of these lady relations shape her life as she struggles to do something meaningful and special. I hope you as the reader will find as much enjoyment out of this book as I did. There are eleven discussion questions that follow the story that would be ideal for book groups. I would like to thank Bethany House Publishing for the opportunity to review their books and for the free copy that I received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
I am a new fan of Lynn Austin. "Though Waters Roar" is a great historical novel. Although it took me a few chapters to get into the novel, once I was hooked I couldn't put it down. The story is about Harriet Sherwood and the significant women in her life, specifically her Great Grandmother Hannah, Grandma Bebe and her mother Lucy. Austin takes the reader through several different generations, from the Civil War to Prohibition of Alcohol to Women's right to vote. I recommend this as a great read and an encouragement to women of all ages. I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
This book starts with Harriet Sherwood in jail in 1920. She reflects back on stories her Grandma Bebe had told her growing up. The story weaves back in time covering four generation of women who fought for great causes. In Bebes childhood she assisted her mother in hiding and transporting slaves on the underground railroad. Bebe tells of her life doing her brothers work on the farm while they are fighting in the civil war. Bebe battles an alcoholic husband even stepping in to run his business and keep it afloat while he is on a series of drinking binges. Bebe joins the temperance movement and fights until prohibition is the law. Harriets mother Lucy leads an incredible pampered life but realizes she must be involved in something bigger than herself. She joins the fight for a womens right to vote. Harriet reflects the heroines in her family and must decide what a difference she can make in society. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Ireceived a copy of this book free from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2010
I enjoyed this book immensely. In fact, it will probably be one of my favorite books for awhile. It spans three generations, similar to Eve's Daughters, and was filled with Lynn Austin's usual insight. The main historical themes were slavery, prohibition laws, and women's rights. I was a little disappointed that the ending was cut short but I guess the gist of everything had already been revealed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Sears
I have been receiving books from Bethany House Publishers to read and review. This is my next book review, Though Waters Roar by Lynn Austin.This book was very slow in its development. The time periods were Civil War and Abolitionist, with some Sister suffragist mingled in. The Author wrote jumping from one time period to the other and sometimes it was very hard to remember what character had done what. I couldn't get into the book I felt it was to slow. I am usually fond of historical fiction but this was a hard book for me to read and enjoy
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Pike
Just finished reading this book. Could not put it down because I wanted to know how things turned out. This book did read a lot like Ms. Austin's other book Eve's Daughters (ie. grandmother, granddaughter, mother). Still, Ms. Austin's research and attention to details is astounding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
I have such respect for Lynn Austin as a writer. Each book, including this one, is a multi-layered adventure. No flipping of pages here. There is too much that could be missed. I was totally engrossed in the history of this book, not to mention the characters. I have never before appreciated the freedom that I, as a woman, enjoy, nor what it took for me to have it! I just hadn't considered it! I am not a lover of history, but Miss Austin made me one...at least for the duration of this book. What an admirable group of heroines we read about, who are quite different from one another. Out of each woman's separate struggle and hurt came passion to make a difference. Whereas some books give the reader instant gratification on each page, this book is a process...and a worthwhile investment, in my opinion. The beautiful strand beginning with the title that Miss Austin weaves through the entire book is both brilliant and moving. And that's just talking about the water! The book is wonderful. It's the type that you read and ponder...not the words, but the ideas. It's a book of substance. And, on the off chance that I haven't made it clear, I recommend it. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Beekman
I love Lynn Austin and I own every book she has written but I found "Though the Waters Roar" to be a little boring and hard to read compared to her other works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Howard
Not what I expected. Interesting play between generations, some highs, some lows. As always beautifully written; just not a great fit for me personally
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Though Waters Roar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lazuardi
I really enjoyed this. This was enjoyable. I enjoyed that her family women were different than other women of the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>