Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Fields of Grace

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Fields of Grace

With their eldest son about to be drafted into military service, Reinhardt and Lillian Vogt decide to immigrate to America with their three sons and Reinhardt's adopted brother, Eli. But when tragedy strikes during the voyage, their hopeful dreams turn to dust. Can they maintain the faith of their fathers in a new land?
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fields of Grace
Review 1 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good book

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gracie
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed this book very much. Had a hard time putting it down. Many unexpected twists and turns through out . The author depicts what honor and commitment are all about. Again enjoyed learning about different cultures and nationalities. Christian values woven through the story. I am very pleased with novels this author produces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Fields of Grace broke my heart many times, but I found the book to be one that compelled me to want to keep reading anyway. I thought that Lillian and her family were hardworking, God-loving people who weren't afraid to get their hands dirty to accomplish something great. Having chosen to leave their home in Russia, Lillian, her husband, her three sons, and her husband's foster brother venture to America. The decision is made out of a desire to not have Henrik (who will turn 18 soon) be forced to serve in the military. Being Mennonite, they don't agree with fighting, etc. What ensues after they leave Russia is not an easy ride across the ocean and a path paved with all the dreams that were hoped for. Instead, many sad events occur which cause many changes in the characters in Sawyer's story. I found the story to be heavy in many places, but overall it was an interesting historical novel. The year is 1872 when the book opens; a year we can only dream about and try to imagine. Sawyer paints a picture of the journey of this family in that time that is very different than many historical novels I have read. She is an enjoyable read, if you like something a little more substantial.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal
The book was great! Through our trials there is always a field of Grace to keep us going!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Reinhardt and Lillian Vogt are living a peaceful life in their Mennonite village in Russia, but their oldest son is soon to be of age to be drafted into the military. War goes against the Mennonite faith, so Reinhardt and Lillian do the only thing they can do to protect their family. They leave everything they know and love and head to America to start over to keep their family safe. Reinhardts adopted brother Eli accompanies the family with hopes of working his own land.When the unthinkable happens on the voyage across the ocean, Lillian and Eli join together in a marriage of convenience so Eli can accompany Lillian and her family to Kansas and help them get settled. This new family faces many trials and amid the trials, love blooms between Eli and Lillian.One of the most interesting aspects of this story is the Mennonite history that is involved. The concept of this story is based on the history of the authors ancestors, which makes the story much more interesting. Overall, this is an enjoyable love story, although, there was a bit too much of a roller coaster between Eli and Lillian. I really enjoyed the bond that formed between Lillians sons and Eli. Those moments were very heartwarming. There are many nice moments in this story that make it easy to keep reading. The writing is very good and flows well from start to finish. The journey to grace was a long one, but it was well worth it and this book is well worth reading. I found Fields of Grace to be a relaxing book and enjoyed it very much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Fields of Grace by Kim Vogel Sawyer is a gentle love story with Mennonites in 1872 Kansas. Lillian and Reinhardt Vogt must leave their home in the steppes of Russia to protect their son, Henrik, from forced military service. Traveling with them is Reinhardt's foster brother Eli Bornholdt, who will use his farming know-how to help them prosper in their new home in Kansas. But two tragedies aboard their ship forces Lillian to radically change her view of the future and will challenge the faith of the entire family. Sawyer creates a realistic and moving story of facing your worst nightmare and living through it. Her portrayal of pioneer Kansas makes the grassy plains come to life. She keeps the conflict for the most part within the family instead of external. They have to overcome their own struggles and fights while the outside world rarely intrudes, which was probably very true for families who would have been so incredibly isolated during this time in history. A small complaint: the woman on the front cover doesn't look anything like Lillian who is 38, and this young woman is barely twenty. Sometimes the characters seem to change their feelings 180 degrees too quickly, but for the most part Sawyer does an admirable job showing how God works good through all circumstances for those who believe in Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carey Harrison
This is Kim's best novel yet. I absolutely loved it. I felt like I was right there every minute and could feel their grief and happiness. The language barrier, the loss of loved ones due to epidemics, moving to a new country and leaving friends and security, building a new home in a strange land makes one thankful for our present day freedoms.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Reinhardt and Lillian along with their three boys and Reinhardts brother Eli decide to flee Russia to enjoy religious freedom in the U.S. Henrik, their almost 18 year-old son, will be drafted in the military which would violate their Mennonite faith if they stay. The voyage across the ocean is much worse then expected. Without Reinhardt, Eli and Lillian must decide what to do when they arrive. Do they return to Russia or press on with their original plans? When they decide to continue to Kansas to farm, Eli couldnt be happier, he loves his family and does everything to provide for them. Henrik has his own ideas of the new life he wants for himself that does not include farming in the middle of nowhere. Lillian is heart broken with his decision but must put her feelings aside and truly embrace her new life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Wow! What a great book! This book was so well written that I felt like I knew the characters. Through this book I traveled with them to America, witnessed the pain, heartache, and conditions they faced on that boat. As the characters set up a farm and built sod houses, celebrated birthdays and searched their hearts, I felt like I was there. I also enjoyed the information that was given on building the sod house, and other things the people did daily. I enjoyed learning about the food the characters were used to, and how they adapted to the new environment. If you read this book, make sure you take time to read the note from the author. It was really neat to see how she used inspiration from her family history to create this work of fiction. I was also excited to see that this author has 14 other novels! I look forward to reading more from her and would particularly enjoy a continuation of Fields of Grace, so I can visit these characters again and see how they are doing. I would like to thank Bethany House for providing me the opportunity to review their books and the free copy that I received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
I wish I would have read the note from the Author at the end of the book before reading the actual book. It would have helped a lot. To be honest, I had a bad attitude about reading this book. I've never been into this "type" of book. Reading the author's note at the end of the book helped put a perspective on the story that I wish I had while reading it. All that aside, I did enjoy the story. I liked how Kim Vogel Sawyer switched between characters to give the reader all sides of the story. I loved the setting of the book. I recommend this book to someone that enjoys historical novels and doesn't mind looking past some of the "religious" traditions that they might not follow. I received this book free to review through Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Helen
When I read this story I felt like I was listening to my mother's stories about her family leaving their home and coming to America for a new start. The characters seem very real and the story kept my attention from the beginning to the end. I read it in two days because I wanted to see what would happen next. I also liked the letter from Mrs. Sawyer at the end of the book. I read a lot and this is one of the best I have read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sue Crow
It was a riviting story. I live in a Mennonite and Amish neighborhood, so I know many of the customs. Maybe others can find the better qualities of their ways. I honor their beliefs but glad I do not have to abide by them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
When their eldest son nears the age when he can be drafted into the Russian military, Reinhart and Lillian Vogt look to a new world which offers them freedom and opportunity. Along with their three sons and Reinhart's adopted brother, Eli, they immigrate to America. But on the long sea journey from Russia, tragedy strikes, ripping apart the family as it was and joining them together in ways they never expected.Fields of Grace is another moving historical novel from beloved author Kim Vogel Sawyer. It's obvious that Sawyer spends a great amount of time researching her stories to get the details just right. From the way a sod house is built to mouth-watering descriptions of traditional Russian foods, the historical details add depth to the story. But Sawyer does more than get the facts right. She gets the characters right.On the wild Kansas prairie, Eli must fight to keep the promises he made to Reinhart and to Lillian. For her part, Lillian has more to deal with than any woman should in one lifetime. And her sons struggle to find their own place in the new world and their new life. Through it all, the family clings to their faith in God, sometimes wavering, but always returning to it. In the end, they discover that God uses bad situations to make beautiful things, and that He always gives us more than we need, even when we don't know to ask for it.Full disclosure: I received a copy of Fields of Grace from the publisher for the purpose of reviewing. I am not a paid reviewer. The opinions expressed in this review are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kaye Whitney
I just finished Field of Grace. Kim developed realistic characters, the plot moved forward well, and the suspense kept me reading. The Note from the Author, telling the family connections to the story, made the most impression on me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Herman
In 1872 Russia, Mennonites Reinhardt and Lillian Vogt fear their oldest son will be forced into military service, which is against their religious beliefs. Because of this, they decide to immigrate to America, where they will be free to practice their faith. Joining the couple and their three sons on the journey is Eli, Reinhardt's adopted brother. The journey that should have been the start of their new life ends in tragedy, however, when Lillian's husband and youngest son die on the sea voyage. In order to protect Lillian and her surviving children, and to keep the family together in America, Lillian agrees to marry Eli in a marriage of convenience. But as the family settles on a homestead in Kansas, Eli's feelings towards Lillian change from obligation to love. Fields of Grace is a sweet, inspirational historical romance that is sure to appeal to fans of the genre. The story of Mennonites immigrating to America for freedom of religion is an interesting one, and the message of faith, hope, and love in the face of tragedy is a positive and uplifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
LeaD
Every time I read one of Kim Sawyer's books, I say that it's the best yet. So, here I go again ..... Fields of Grace is her best yet! It was hard to put this book down because of the believable characters and the heartaches and challenges they endured. You just had to finish it to see how it all turned out. Thanks, Kim, and keep writing for God's glory!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
In Fields of Grace, Kim takes us to a Mennonite village in Russia in 1872 as a family is immigrating to America so their soon to be 18 year old son, Henrik, does not have to join the military which is against their religious beliefs. Tragedy strikes on the voyage over and lives are changed forever. Henrik feels guilt over everything since he views the immigration as his fault in the first place. Lillian, the mother, adjusts but then deals with guilt, anger, abandonment and betrayal by God and those around her. Is it possible to experience a fresh start in America? To have their slate wiped clean? Can God make good things out of horrible circumstances? This is a beautiful story of grace and God's provision as He never abandons us, even when we turn our backs on Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wanda Moncrief
Kim Vogel Sawyer has written a wonderful story. Fields of Grace is a historical novel about a Mennonite family who comes to America from a Russian village called Gnadenfield. Along the way tragedy strikes and the remaining members of the family struggle to stay together and remain strong in their Faith. They learn real-life lessons about God's love, Grace, Faith and being thankful. This heartwarming story demonstrates to it's readers what having a true relationship with God is like. No one who reads this book will be disappointed and everyone who reads this book will be enriched by the lessons it teaches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
I have thoroughly enjoyed reading ALL of Kim Vogel Sawyer's books, and her latest book is no exception. Kim's style of writing keeps me so involved with the characters--I truly feel as if I'm "right there" watching each event. FIELDS OF GRACE has some quite touching chapters filled with emotion, and the story's ending doesn't disappoint. I am happy to give this book 5 stars, and happy that Kim Vogel Sawyer continues writing wonderful Christian fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2009
I loved this book. It is sweet and heartbreaking. Reinhardt and Lillian Vogt's oldest son Henrik is about to turn 18. Unfortunately in Russia that means he will automatically be enlisted in the military. Frightened at the thought of losing their eldest son, they plan to immigrate to America. Reinholdt's adopted brother Eli has no other family so he decides to immigrate also. During the ocean voyage an unthinkable tragedy occurs, leaving Lillian with two choices. Return to Russia where her son will certainly be drafted or marry Eli her only hope of settling in the new land.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fields of Grace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
I love Kim Vogel Sawyer's books, so I was excited to get to read and review her newest, Fields of Grace. We meet Lillian and Reinhardt Vogt in the spring of 1872, right before they immigrate to America. Their plan is to escape their homeland of Russia before their oldest son, Henrik, is drafted into the military. Devout Mennonites, they cannot bear the thought of Henrik and his younger brothers being pressed into service. Reinhardt's adopted brother, Eli, decides to make the journey with them.Their U.S. destination is Kansas, where others from their Russian village plan to make their home, too. But tragedy strikes while crossing the Atlantic, leaving Lillian and Eli with some unexpected choices. Do they continue on to Kansas and fulfill Reinhardt's dream, or do they return to Russia? How will their decisions affect Lillian's sons? And how will Lillian's heart fare through these trials? Sawyer is one of my favorite storytellers, and there are no disappointments here. I liked Lillian immediately, and empathized with her trials - leaving her homeland, protecting her children, suffering hardship. The story, full of adventure and bittersweet moments, was a pleasure to read. I found a few surprises within these pages, but that's what made it so much fun to read. These surprises were all part of the plan for the heartwarming and satisfying conclusion Sawyer offers her readers. If you are a Sawyer fan, I think you'll like Fields of Grace. And if you've never read her books, I recommend that you give them a try!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>