Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Hopeful Heart

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House A Hopeful Heart

Soon after enrolling in a 19th-century school for ranchers---and aspiring ranchers' wives---Tressa's convinced she'll never have what it takes to brand a calf, ride a horse, or "cook up a mess of grub." Kansas-born Abel Samms would have to agree---but there's something about Tressa that attracts him anyway. Is she the partner he needs? 352 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.96 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Hopeful Heart
Review 1 for A Hopeful Heart
This review is fromHopeful Heart, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Fantastic Offering From Kim Vogel Sawyer

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always, Kim Vogel Sawyer has based her story on historical fact and shown us inside Hattie Wyatt's Herdsman School, where young women learn to become useful rancher's wives in Kansas in 1888. We focus on the "mis"adventures of Tressa, who slowly learns to handle a horse, milk a cow, cook a meal and so on. She also comes to a faith in God, and deals with issues of rejection, forgiveness and many more. It is also the story of neighboring rancher Abel, who has his own issues to deal with. There's humor, serious challenges, mystery, drama, a wonderful rural community, and a gentle romance, all working together to make for an excellent story, which I would recommend to any lover of historical romance books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming.

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
RainyInWA
Location:WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed reading this heartwarming story. God's love for us and that He has a good plan for us came through well- without being preachy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A.H.H! (A.Hopeful.Heart)!!

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A.H.H! (Sigh) Sweet Saints, how I LOVE happy endings!
And if you do too, then you'll enjoy reading a Hopeful Heart.
Tressa is a shy, beautiful young woman who eventually become strong, courageous and hardworking, as the story unfolds. We also get to meet Aunt Hattie; a firm believer in God, a funny and tender woman who seeks the best for everyone around her -- including her neighbor Abel Samms, a stubborn, pigheaded rancher :) whom God eventually redeems, and open his eyes to the greatest gift of all : LOVE! So many beautiful lessons, such as knowing God as a Father, trusting Him to have the best plan, even when things are not working out, and of course, learning to forgive whoever has harmed us -- even if it should be the last person we've expected to do so. Sometimes, it's good to remind ourselves of such things, through stories such as this one! --I liked it. The love stories are too cute! and I've even written down some inspiring, encouraging words I've gotten from this book. Keep up the good work Mrs Sawyer!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amzz
Location:Brisbane, QLD
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing book! Great story and very well written. I simply couldn't put it down !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jean Nadler
Location:Orangevale,CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoy always , Kim's writing. She gets my interest right from the start and it does not wander through the whole story line. I feel like I am living right at the time. I enjoy her historical novels very much
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Heartwarming Tale

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim Vogel Sawyer created a delightful cast of characters with whom I enjoyed spending time. Six young Eastern women head to Kansas to attend a special school, one designed to teach them how to become successful rancher’s wives. While the focus is on reserved Tressa and rugged rancher Abel Samms, the reader gets to experience added fun as multiple matches are made under the watchful eye of the school’s founder, Aunt Hattie, a warmhearted woman who adds much to the story. Sawyer is a gifted storyteller, and I savored every moment my nose was buried between the pages of A Hopeful Heart.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Kim Vogel Sawyer has done it again--written a book I LOVED!! A HOPEFUL HEART was a delightful, heart-warming read that I didn't want to end. The characters and events in this story kept me very interested, and there was even a bit of "surprise" in this plot---I LOVED it!! I definitely recommend reading this book---especially if you're a fan of historical fiction. Five stars!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann Shorey
A Hopeful Heart is a gentle story of healing and forgiveness. The protagonist, Tressa Neill, is sent west to Wyatt Herdsman School as a dowryless girl. Her aunt and uncle believe that second best is good enough for their orphaned niece. The events that shape Tressas life, as well as the lives of the other girls at the Herdsman School, run full spectrum from cooking for ranch hands to branding cattle. Sawyers novel captures the essence of Kansas ranch life in the late 19th Century.Since Aunt Hattie Wyatts purpose in starting this school is to train girls to be ranchers wives, theres plenty of matchmaking going on while the girls learn ranching skills.In A Hopeful Heart, Sawyer has woven a tale of a loving Gods plans for each girls future. The reader gets to participate in Aunt Hatties faith as she shares her beliefs with those around her. This novel is a sweet romance with a strong Christian element, suitable for tween girls as well as their moms and grandmas. My thanks to Bethany House for providing me with a copy for review.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kassy Paris
Kim Vogel Sawyer hit another home run with A Hopeful Heart. Always easy to read, Kim's writing style allows the characters to become "real" to the reader. I stayed up most of the night to finish A Hopeful Heart because I just had to know what was going to happen to Tressa and Abel. I've loved every book I've read by Kim, but I think this is my favorite of them all so far. I've tried to analyze why and I think it is because A Hopeful Heart is more of a western historical in topic. The characters are ranchers instead of farmers, and, since I'm from Texas, I identify more closely with cowboys. Way to go Kim. I hope there will be more books about the Wyatt Herdsman School.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
I was excited to get to read this book and it did not disappoint. I couldn't put it down. Tressa was a good person from the start. She was just missing one thing and that was Jesus. She had a good heart, it just wasn't whole. And she needed that to forgive those who has wronged her. And Abel he needed to return to Jesus so he could be blessed with the blessings God had in store for him and his farm. I took away from this book. We need God's mercies so we can show mercy to others. No one can live a full life with unforgiveness in their hearts. It eats at the very core of a person. I pray everyone enjoys this book as I have. Keep these kind of novels coming Kim Vogel Sawyer. I will read more form this lady. She can weave a great story with Godly wisdom to boot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
A J Hawke
In A Hopeful Heart, Kim Vogel Sawyer intertwines a good fiction story with a little know historical fact. Set in Kansas in 1888, six young women arrive at Hattie Wyatts ranch to enter her herdsman school to learn how to be the wife of a rancher. Her aunt and uncle force Tressa Neill to leave her home in the east and join the group. Shy, afraid, and easily intimidated, she endeavors to succeed in this foreign environment. Abel Samms, a bachelor rancher, who wants nothing to do with these eastern girls, does what he can to avoid them. Sawyer, author of 14 novels, has written an intriguing and enjoyable tale. Full of humor, suspense, and plot twists, this story is full of interesting characters. The interweaving of the characters beliefs and sometimes struggles with God is well done. I found this to be a satisfying read. I look forward to the next novel from Kim Vogel Sawyer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Howard
Great character development, well laid mysterious clues, nice blend of romance and adventure. Meandered a bit at the end adding too much to continue to the story. Very well done when it came to presenting Christ as the answer to the real hurdles each character encountered - especially in the area of extending true forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2010
Once again Kim Sawyer has captured my heart with her characters and delightful story. Take a group of women who want to marry, a woman determined to train these ladies, the men who would like to marry them, and one who insists hell never marry and you have the recipe for a funny, heart-warming story of Tressa Neill and her journey to become a ranchers wife. Add in a little mystery with disappearing cattle and the story gets even better. Tressa arrives in Barnett, Kansas to attend a brand new Herdsman School for training women to be wives and helpmates for ranchers. What she learns about herself and the people in Barnett, especially Abel Samms, is a tale woven with a great setting, endearing secondary characters, and just enough tension and conflict to keep you reading. This is another great book from Kim, and I hope she keeps them coming
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Lesire Brandmeyer
Unexpected treat!A Hopeful Heart is a fresh twist on the prairie brides theme. This time brides have to go to school and learn how to be a rancher's wife before they can even court. This fun read has a bit of suspense and comedy mixed throughout. The characters spring off the page with life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
This book was great and comical. I loved it. I love Kim Vogel Sawyer's books and have all of them. She is a gifted writer. This book is full of adventure, excitement, funny, lots of humor, romance, mystery, and beautifully written. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
A Hopeful Heart by Kim Vogel Sawyer is a delightful romance full of faith and charm. Tressa Neill is one of the first students at Hattie Wyatt's herdsman school for girls. Rejected by her aunt and uncle, she wants to learn how to be a good wife on a ranch in hopes of finding a husband, just like the rest of the women in the school. Abel Samms doesn't have much faith in the school or the women, he just wants to figure out who has been rustling his cattle in such quantities that he's being forced to consider selling his ranch to his wealthy neighbor. Sawyer is a talented writer, and I've read several of her other books, but this may just be her best one yet. I absolutely adored this novel! Tressa is a delightful heroine who is initially unsure of herself but learns from Hattie to learn to trust herself and the Lord. I love books like this where the reader knows from the first page that everything is going to end happily, but the journey there is so much fun. Sawyer has created a vibrant group of characters here, and I hope that the Wyatt Herdsman School isn't through. There are more stories to be told! If you're looking for a sweet romance, you couldn't do any better than this book.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
I absolutely loved this book! Kim Vogel Sawyer is a master of making you feel the emotions her characters experience. So I expected to be drawn into the story of Tressa Neil, a city girl who's way out of her element on the Kansas Prairie. What I wasn't expecting was such a completely engrossing, entertaining read. In A Hopeful Heart, Kim takes what could have been your typical historical romance and deftly mixes in elements of comedy , mystery, and a journey of faith. The result is a book that was hard for me to put down, even to the point of missing sleep. Anymore, it takes a lot to keep me reading late into the night, but this book did. Thumbs up to Kim! I can't wait to see what's next. NOTE: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melanie Dickerson
I very much enjoyed this book, A Hopeful Heart, which is the story of Tressa, an Eastern girl whose parents died a few years ago and left her to live with an aunt and uncle who didnt love her or want her. They send her west, to a school that will teach Tressa to be a good wife to a rancher, as there are lots of eligible ranchers in the area but few prospects for wives. I was drawn in by Tressas plight. Shes shy and rather incompetent at tasks shed never had to learn while in her wealthy relatives home. I could sympathize with her not wanting to be thrust upon some man she barely knew to be his wife, feeling almost like she was being auctioned off. But she had little choice. She had to marry because she had no family or means to support herself. Such was the plight of many women of that time.Kim Sawyer writes gentle love stories with tons of heart and true-to-life characters. I enjoyed this book very much and recommend it to fans of sweet historical romance.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann
This was a very sweet book. A different slant on the 1800 books. A western school for Eastern girls where they could learn how to function as women of the west. An interesting read. Enjoyed it very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Hopeful Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Witemeyer
When I first read the premise of this book, I knew I had to read it. I had never heard of a herdsman school, but what a wonderful idea! I love historical romance, and so many times I'd wondered what it would be like to travel back in time. Well, if I ever did, I would definitely make Aunt Hattie's school my first stop. Teaching ignorant town women like me how to cook on an iron stove, tend a garden, milk a cow, drive a wagon - all essentials for surviving and finding a mate in the world of Kansas ranchers. This sweet story is full of characters that are easy to relate to and ones who stir your heart...and your suspicions. The leisurely pace at the beginning picks up about halfway through, and the adventure really takes off. I flew through the second half of this book. I cheered for Tressa as she battled her insecurities to become a self-assured woman who depends on God for strength. And the reluctant Abel captured my heart as well. Try as he might to avoid it, love still comes knocking on his door. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and would recommend it to fans of Christian fiction who enjoy sweet romances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>