Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Sixteen Brides

Bethany House Sixteen Brides

In 1872, sixteen Civil War widows living in St. Louis respond to a series of meetings conducted by a land speculator who lures them west by promising "prime homesteads" in a "booming community." Unbeknownst to them, the speculator's true motive is to find an excuse to bring women to the fledging community of Plum Grove, Nebraska, in hopes they will accept marriage proposals shortly after their arrival! Sparks fly when these unsuspecting widows meet the men who are waiting for them. These women are going to need all the courage and faith they can muster to survive these unwanted circumstances--especially when they begin to discover that none of them is exactly who she appears to be.
Average Customer Rating:
4.403 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sixteen Brides
Review 1 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really enjoyed it!

Date:November 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
tappyc
Location:Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book delivered. The characters were well-drawn and interesting, and also believable. I was able to get a feel for the cultural climate and the history of Nebraska in the early 1870's. Knowing people whose ancestors lived in Nebraska around that time made it even more real. There was humor as well as heartache, and I enjoyed every page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sixteen Brides
This review is fromSixteen Brides - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kooks
Location:Bedfordshire England (Great Britain)
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book. The sort of book I am happy to read in the company of my children and will most definately let my daughter read when she is of an age.
Each story was a delight and I very much enjoyed this book, just the sort of romance I have been looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sometimes Predictable is great!

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lis P
Location:New England
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tend to enjoy reading historical fiction/novels in general, and this book was no exception. I appreciated the look into the circumstances of these women, homesteading "Creatively" shortly after the Civil War. However, what I enjoyed the most was the drawing of the characters. I think it was no small accomplishment that Stephanie Grace Whitson was able to weave a romantic story with not just 2 main characters but 4 fairly solid couples. It was a delight to read, with each chapter heading relaying a corresponding Scripture verse that added to the action of the story. Although somewhat predictable, there were a few surprises. I enjoy a fresh, clean, interesting read, and sometimes predictable is a nice change. ;) *Note~ I received a free Copy from Bethany House for the purposes of Review. I also downloaded the ebook version, and am happy to say that it is of the same quality as the print book~ cleanly written and edited! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sixteen Brides
This review is fromSixteen Brides - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"16 Brides" means lots characters (My fault)

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
John 3 16
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I should have realized (duh) that the title Sixteen Brides would translate to LOTS of characters. But, I finally had everyone identified. Well written; interesting. Would like to read something else by this author. rs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sixteen Brides
This review is fromSixteen Brides - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick, easy read

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
smrozier
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a quick and easy, entertaining read! Great for weekend reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sixteen Brides
This review is fromSixteen Brides - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Story Ties Nicely Together

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna777
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Historical fiction is my favorite genre. I really looked forward to reading this. The storyline looked like it had a lot of potential. The story threads of each character were woven together well. I enjoyed reading this book. It got just a wee bit obvious how everything would wrap up at the end though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sixteen Brides
This review is fromSixteen Brides - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
joan
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fun read and a book both my daughter and I enjoyed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sixteen Brides
This review is fromSixteen Brides - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More then I expected in a free ebook.

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
kerinsue
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a nice story. A bit of adventure, a bit of romance, and a bit of God. As it was available for free, I was expecting it to be a poorly written book. I was pleasantly surprised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sixteen Brides
This review is fromSixteen Brides - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

super!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
moonmist
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved it so much!Sent my sister to get it also. Great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sixteen Brides
This review is fromSixteen Brides - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
reader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An enjoyable light read, great for a quiet summers day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

could not stop reading so good!

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Belinda
Location:Tulsa, Okla
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy historical fiction with Christian values imbedded in the text. Books that tell details of survival for the day to day experiences are so enjoyable to read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dana
Location:Spicer, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love spunky women, you will love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Hope

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mrs K
Location:Midwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sixteen Brides by Stephanie Grace Whitson follows the saga of sixteen widows from St. Louis to Plum Grove, Nebraska. Some of them are running from a haunting past, some are running to hunt for husbands, and still a few others are just looking for a fresh start. The ladies have been promised the opportunity to homestead in Nebraska and though they are not quite sure what that entails, for most of them it is better than any prospect they had in St. Louis. After they arrive in Plum Grove they discover their group leader had an ulterior motive and has promised a cargo of war wives. When several of the women find this out they part company with the Ladies' Emigration Society and decide to strike it on their own, no matter what befalls them. The ladies who stay behind end up falling in love with each other and becoming fast and forever friends. Ella, the strong, sturdy one of the bunch comes up with the idea to homestead on the intersection of four plots of land, with a main living area smack in the middle and four bedrooms that jut out, so that each lady would legally be sleeping on their own land, part of the land contract requirement. As we witness the ladies build their house, "Four Corners", we also witness them rebuild their lives. With lots of surprises, laughter and even a few tears, we rejoice as the ladies of Four Corners and several of the residents of Plum Grove find hope. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers, all comments and opinions are mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sixteen Brides
This review is fromSixteen Brides - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book with historical basis

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
VintageHippie
Location:Rural countryside
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really fun book. It has a historical basis, but isn't filled with history to the point that the average reader wouldn't enjoy it. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and if you like historical romance fiction, I'd recommend it. This review is the for the ebook version, in case that matters to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It keeps you interested.

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:IA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this book was very interesting. I had trouble keeping track of the main "brides", and was going back to the first chapter frequently, so I made up a card listing them. I left the card in the book after I carded it for the Church library. I was unable to lay down the book and read late into the night to finish it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

16 Brides

Date:October 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adrienne
Location:GA, U.S.A
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a lively read with twists and turns throughout. I definitely enjoyed this book and would recommend it for anyone wanting an unexpected getaway. I was a little disappointed that the end had a few loose strings that needed to be tied up to make the story complete, but I still had a smile on my face after reading such an entertaining adventure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
CFesler
Location:Kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Oh my what a whirlwind these 16 ladies ride when they in one way or another join up with the Ladies Emigration Society run by Mr. Hamilton Drake. They are promised free land that they can own in their own names, quite an opportunity for women in the time period where the Civil War has recently taken place.
I liked this book. Each woman came to join this group for different reasons. But they must all rely on their wits and each other if they are to survive. Imagine their surprise when they find out that the ‘Ladies Emigration Society’ is really a way to get single and widowed women out West for the lonely men of Plum Grove to marry! There are so many good stories intertwined in this book it is impossible to fit them in this review. You my dear reader, will have a good time getting to know the characters in this book, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
I would like to thank Bethany House for the opportunity to review their books and for the free copy that I received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sixteen Brides

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is one of the books I took with me to Red River to read on our trip. It was a fun book to read. Of course, I've always heard of Mail-Order Brides of the 1800's, but never stopped to consider there were men who totally took advantage of some of those women and their situations.
That's the premise of this book. One swindler takes advantage of these women--mostly widows--promising them claims of land in the West but actually has plans to make money by bringing brides to men who've been in the West for some time. I agree with my sister who read the same book in that it was hard to keep up with the 16 women, their names and their stories in the beginning, but it soon narrows down to focus on a handful of the women which makes the story move along better. You wanted to cheer them on for their unity of spirit as they faced great odds in actually laying claim to the homesteads promised them.
I think Stephanie did a great job in telling a story I hadn't even considered before. The characters she focused on were well-developed and she deals with issues common to women in the 1800's and now. I recommend this book to you!
I give the book 4 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
I enjoyed reading this book but felt like the author didn't end well. I was disappointed that I didn't know more about how Caroline, Ella, Sally and the others ended with this story. It would have been great for the author to add another few chapters closing the stories of these characters and explaining what happened to their homestead. Sally was one of the main characters but it seemed the author missed describing her. Maybe a part two would be a good idea? I would love to read more about these characters and how they rebuilt their lives with their soon to be husbands. I am only giving it 3 stars because of the missing details, otherwise, I enjoyed the storyline and writing style of the author. I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sixteen Brides
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Hamilton Drake has promised land, homesteads, and freedom to sixteen eager and willing widows. Each one embarking on her own personal journey to start a fresh start in the world. What they don't realize is that while it is legal for women to homestead in Americas new territory out west, that is not at all what Mr. Drake has in mind. Men will be lining up to marry these women once they get to Nebraska, and he plans to line his pockets from the matches.The women find out his plan just in time, and while some don't mind the idea, marrying is the last thing the others have in mind. Teaming together, these brave women build their own homesteads, form new friendships, and even find love out in the wilderness of Nebraska.I thought this was a great look into this interesting event in history. I really grew to love the characters and cheer them on as they faced obstacles and worked so hard to achieve their dreams. It was a little hard for me to learn all their names, especially when it switched back and forth from their formal names to their Christian names, but besides that I have no complaints. I loved learned each woman's individual personality, history and goals and watching them all come together!Thank Bethany House for a free copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.