Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Dead Whisper On

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House The Dead Whisper On

A thriller from the author of Waking Lazarus! When Candace MacHugh hears her dead father's voice speaking from the shadows, she's drawn into a conspiracy linked to murder---and spontaneous human combustion. Is Candace really communicating with departed spirits? If she doesn't find out fast, she and thousands of others may literally go up in flames.
Average Customer Rating:
2.364 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
2 out of 450%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Dead Whisper On
Review 1 for The Dead Whisper On
This review is fromDead Whisper On, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

another great read by T. L. Hines

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am surprised by some of the reviews on this book. It is supernatural thriller fiction. FICTION! Not every book has to quote the Bible and scriptures. If you want that read non fiction. No, you cannot talk to the dead as one reviewer wrote but satan can deceive the unbeleiver with things like this. I love that Christian Authors write books like this. I love this genre and refuse to read non christian authors because of language and explicit sex. I loved this book and the characters. Canada's father has been dead for 11 years and has come back as a shadow and talks to her. She so badly wants to have her father back she agrees to join his group of shadows and operatives to fight evil in the world. She finally feels she is doing some good in her life. But who is this mysterious being named Keros that is hunting her down everywhere she goes? Things happen and Canada starts to question what is the truth and what is a lie. There are so many twists and turns and freaky scary things going on I had nightmares one night. It didn't stop me from reading. This is the fourth book I have read by this author. He has me hooked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a "Christian" book!

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Trenton, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this book thinking it would be a good suspense read. There was nothing "Christian" or good about this book. Save your money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
V Oz
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A definate page turner. One does not want to put the book down, even to go to the restroom! Yes, it's that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This book was too strange for me

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
sheepherder56
Location:orland, ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maybe it should be in the science fiction category. Read all of it hoping there was something more. Maybe I just didn"t understand it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
narrowgate
I am glad that other people found this book lacking. I buy Christian fiction for elderly people to read. This book is one that I will not share with them, because I didn't find anything Christian in it. I am disappointed that Bethany House published it. I certainly will not buy anything by this author again.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
susan
I found this very entertaining. If you take into concideration the secular authors out there that write this genre' it is refreshing to just relax with a good book...especially one that keeps you turning the pages...and not have to be concerned with the language...thank you...i'm looking for more work from this author...GOD BLESS!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristi Lucas
I realize that this book is a fiction work, but it just absolutely didn't make sense. It does not come off as a Christian work at all - I'm not sure why Bethany House published it. I guess they (The author and Bethany) were letting it ride on the success of Waking Lazarus, but the quality of the read is not a 10th of that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
H.r Greene
The book started with so much fiction I had to read on to see if it would change, but in the end it was still so much unbelievable fiction.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
I had to remind myself that this was a book of fiction. It had a good story line but the attitudes of the main characters did not impress me as being Christian. It seems they had no close relationship with God. It did not bother me that the dead were communicating because the devil uses thoughts against us. I just felt it wasn't close to being a Christian book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dr. L.E. Wagner
This book was a great disappointment to me. It taught that the dead can communicate with us which is something the Bible speaks against. Scripture also urges us to avoid seeking to communicate with the dead since this is not a possibility (Luke 16.19-31). There are no Christian principles shown in this book. Although it may be a good work of fiction a la Stephen King.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Dead Whisper On
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim
It's a real stretch to say this is a Christian book! It mentioned praying and had some partial scriptures, that's all. It was a fairly good mystery story but not what I'd expect from a Christian type book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.