Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life

Thomas Nelson The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life

No one parenting method works for all kids - so here are 50! Culling biblical strategies from thousands of families, Turansky and Miller help you distinguish between firmness and harshness; teach children to add energy to your family life; deal effectively with sibling conflict; and develop a personal framework for success. With strategic thinking and planning, you'll be able to face daily challenges with more perspective, greater motivation, and confidence they're moving in the right direction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Review 1 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall great nuggets for parenting needs

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
alisa
Location:Utah
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, I felt this book was a little nugget of great ideas. Each little idea is just a few pages, which helped in reading it. If you just wanted to find one little nugget, you read a few pages. I was impressed at the all-reaching topics the author came up with. I found myself thinking, “yes, I need to try that!” with many of the suggestions.
One downfall was some of the concepts weren’t developed quite enough to really find some answers. For example, one idea was to use discipline over anger, but there wasn’t as many hands-on or concrete ideas as I would have liked to implement the concept.
I loved the idea that you need to change your child’s “heart” as you parent. Many of the problems your child gets tangled in, or you find as a parent, if you work on changing the inner core of your child, you will find more success. This is definitely a book I would go back over and read again, especially certain concepts. It lends itself to reading slowly so you can implement different ideas. The authors also specifically want you to read the book and take notes of what you can do in your own parenting strategies. Good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A parenting must have!

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the encyclopedia of biblical parenting! It is a great read and you will want to keep it handy for quick reference! I love the heart based approach. Real life ideas for real families.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heart-based Parenting

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan@CreativeBibleStudy.com
Location:Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Christian Parenting Handbook offers more than a list of 50 dos and don’ts for parenting; it offers a philosophy of parenting that goes beyond the outward actions of a child and gets to the “heart” of the matter.
“Heart-based” parenting is a Biblical philosophy of parenting. The authors, Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller, refer to it as “a way of thinking, a framework of ideas and theories.” It covers a wide selection of parenting topics including discipline, instilling godly character, working together as parents, learning the uniqueness of each child, and others.
As an example of “heart-based” parenting in addressing discipline techniques, the authors distinguish between the well-known “time out” method and what they call “taking a break”. They point out two main differences. In “taking a break”, the child knows the first objective is a change of heart and then they are also included on the decision of how much time they may need to calm down and allow this change to take place. This slight twist changes the role of the parent from police enforcer to the loving parent waiting for reunification. This picture brings to mind the image of God the Father welcoming back the prodigal son.
Throughout each topic though, this Christian parenting handbook also instructs us to keep the main thing, the main thing – pointing our kids to a relationship with God through faith in Jesus Christ and then helping them abide in Him!
Written in short two to three page segments, this book could double as a devotional. Scriptures are included throughout as each area is discussed, and the topics could lead to specific areas of praying for our children.
It also is an excellent reference tool to quickly get counsel on certain areas that may be occurring in the lives of our children and family. The index in the back includes both Scripture references along with a topical reference list.
I would recommend this book to parents of children of any age as well as those that work with children in other areas such as school or church settings. Not only will you find sound practical suggestions, but also Biblically-based answers to fifty different parenting questions.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource for parents!

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lydia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fabulous book for any Christian parent that seeks to be intentional in passing faith. I love the fact that you don't have to read the entire book from beginning to end-as that is often overwhelming for parents that don't have the time. It is written is such a way that a parent can go directly to a particular issue or topic and get very practical and biblical teaching/training when they need it most. Would definitely recommend this resource to other parents.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Parenting Book to Refer Back to Often

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
knowltonnest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Lifeby Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller is a practical guide for parents with 50 strategies to implement in the home. Scott and Joanne gathered the most common questions and answered them with true to life stories, biblical principles and hands on exercises to help parents practice ways to engage their children to turn their hearts toward the Lord. Some topics discussed are teaching responsibility, difference between tasks, problems and conflict, how not to argue, teaching kids how to communicate wisely, solving instead of whining, and addressing anger in children. These are just a few topics from the 50 short chapters packed with good information you will refer back to often.
I respect and admire Scott and Joanne for their hard work in developing this useful book. I agree with the principles shared in this book. I see where I need to work at managing myself better as a parent and how to relate to my children in a more positive way. This book might be the catalyst to changing both my life and the lives of my children. I was so excited to read this book and share this wonderful resource with you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally...A Manual

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
freeindeed
Location:Upper Marlboro, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
“Children don’t come with a manual”, goes the proverbial saying. Well now they do if you purchase the Christian Parenting Handbook. This book gets to the heart of the matter; pointing children’s hearts back to Jesus. Laid out in 50 easy to read chapters, the book addresses topics such as communicating emotions, sibling rivalry, punishment vs. discipline and more. The book inspires hope by turning the parents attention away from annoying behaviors to developing action plans that address deeper heart issues in a way that encourages and motivates the child and parent. A major nugget of truth from the book is “Instead of viewing discipline times as annoying detours on the path of life, they see them as opportunities to further develop character in their kids. A small change in perspective can make all the difference.” Because the book is comprised of 50 different strategies, it does not need to be read straight from over to cover, you can go to the table of contents and find the strategy most applicable for your current situation. This is a book you will revisit again and again as your children move through their ages and stages of development.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

bravo!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
erchickyrn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The authors give wonderful and useful advice on parenting that is good for parents of all age children. Its never too late to buy this book and get to work shaping the hearts of your children. Biblical foundations to help you shape your childs heart, to create a happier environment, a happier family, less stress- who doesn't want that? You wont be sorry you invested in this book- even your kids will thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Resource

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
mama2dibs
Location:Dubuque, Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't wait to own a hard copy of this book so I can mark it up to my content! All 50 principles gave me something to think about and work on in my disciplinary skills. Choosing to use these principles WILL make me a better parent to my three beautiful children!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of wisdom for parents!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
JuleenB
Location:Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I would have had this book when our kids were young! It is full of wisdom and addresses the uniqueness of each child God gives us. Influencing the heart instead of outward behavior has always been the focus of Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller in previous books, which is an approach that I believe encourages lasting godly character. The book has short, practical chapters with real life stories, and it also has an index at the end of the book so specific issues can be looked up easily. I'm recommending it to all the parents I know!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-have!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
SamK
Location:Ky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book is a must-have for all parents. It gets to the heart of the issue, literally. The quote that made me know this was a keeper? "You probably have more ideas now than you can use. What you want to know is how." Don't miss this great help for parents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

6 stars if I could...

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Dillon
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book, aptly titled a handbook, has changed the game for me as a parent. Short, digestible chapters with content so fresh, common-sensical and straight forward that I've found my mouth a gap more than a few times. Solid biblical explanations for ways to touch and influence the *heart* of our children for a purpose way beyond themselves. I can't speak highly enough about this book - the authors have, and share a remarkable insight that enables parents to be effective in making lasting, impactful changes in their relationships with their children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart-transforming parenting

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
StevenBourque
Location:Sarnia, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Joanne and Scott say in the introduction, "You're holding a book of ideas," they aren't kidding! If you're looking for a treasure trove of parenting ideas that goes beyond clever quips and coy research to truly heart transformational truth, you're going to want to pick up this book. As the title says, it's a handbook. You'll want it close by for reference relevant to almost any situation or any question you'll face as a parent.
As a parent, you're also looking for more than a plethora of ideas, you're also looking for an overarching way of thinking that breathes vitality into your family life. Scott and Joanne provide the Biblical foundations that are essential for looking beyond the parenting pressures of day-to-day life and into eternally valuable insights that will sustain and energize your journey.
The authors don't sugar coat their principles or try to make parenting seem easy. They acknowledge the difficulties, but provide more than adequate inspiration to accompany many truths that will equip parents well. They often suggest things that may take a little more work on the surface, but will greatly improve the results and increase the satisfaction and sense of purpose along the way.
Oftentimes, we as parents feel we're constantly in the corrective mode and trying to "get kids to behave." This book offers a refreshing approach that focuses on building relationships, the joy of great character, building on strengths and a life of wisdom leading to success. I feel a sigh of relief coming on and see the sun of hope rising on the horizon!
This book is super-charged with practical and easy to find advice and, more importantly, it is infused with a Christ-focused way of thinking about the parenting journey. It is a proactive versus reactive approach that will empower you to be a great parent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julianna0415
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent resource for all parents to use regarding biblical based parenting. Fifty easy to read chapters that allow you to quickly flip to the right topics for the immediate issue in your child's life. You can find wonderful ways to relate to your child, ways to discipline your child, ways to encourage heart-based behavior that will CHANGE their behavior, and scriptural references to be able to relate to. I highly recommend this book to all parents with children of any age!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
karclark
Location:Columbus, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christian Parenting Handbook is a book that you will want to read and reread as your children grow and go through different stages of life. I have college age children and still find this material helpful! It’s easy reading, practical, biblical advice that I will recommend over and over to the parents I come in contact with.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent guide for all parents

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
BMelton
Location:Westminster, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You do not have to be a Christian to use this book, any parent who wants to encourage internal motivation instead of just correct behavior (which flows from internal motivation but isn't really the end goal), positive character qualities like respect, honor, empathy, initiative, and kindness, and who wants to have ideas to actually use instead of just theories must read this book.
I have read this book multiple times and learn something new every single time. I have three children and can adapt these approaches for each one of them at each of their ages. They aren't one size fits all, more like one idea fits all and you adjust the overall idea to fit each particular child. My oldest child deals with very explosive anger issues and these approaches have really helped us to give him the tools he needs to help manage his anger and express himself and what he needs. It's given us tools to help respond to him with the big picture and his development in mind instead of our own anger.
All our kids deal with sibling conflict and this book talks about dealing with siblings and teaching that our reactions are our own and can't be blamed on someone else.
My favorite chapter deals with a technique called the "wise appeal" and this one thing has saved us from so many arguments that that alone is worth the cost of the book!
I love that the chapters are really short; I can look up a particular topic that we are struggling with and read it in a few minutes and immediately be able to apply it. I won't say our family life is perfect, no one's is, but I can tell a definite difference in the tone of our family when I use the techniques described in this book. We are able to work through situations instead of getting stuck in endless arguments and find solutions instead of complaints. Even my oldest smiles when he is able to use the wise appeal to confidently ask for what he wants and express his desires in a way that more often results in a positive conclusion than our old way of complaining, fighting, and punishment. And that smile is priceless. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book1

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kirk Weaver
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the short chapter format of the Christian Parenting Handbook. In just a few minutes I can learn a new tip or be reminded of an idea to improve my parenting skills! I especially love the flexibility and encouragement to make changes if one particular strategy stops working or doesn't work. Start with one skill until it becomes instinctual then work on another skill. Well done! Kirk Weaver, Family Time Training.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE BEST parenting book I have ever read!

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks to Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller for yet another excellent book! “The Christian Parenting Handbook” is truly one of THE BEST parenting books that I have ever read! I am a huge, long time fan of all of their other resources, highly recommend them often, and even buy them as gifts for other parents! Our nation desperately needs Moms and Dads that raise their children Biblically. The 50 short, practical chapters make it easy to incorporate Bible-based parenting that aims at changing the heart of my kids, not just their behavior. Scooping up several copies to give as gifts…
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wise, Digestible, Practical Handbook

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Graham Scharf
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have all the time in the world to read parenting books, this is NOT for you. If guilt is your motivation in parenting, you won't like this book. If you want a theoretical missive, you'll be disappointed. However, if none of those describes you, you may well love this book.
The Christian Parenting Handbook is:
1. Wise. The authors draw on their knowledge of Scripture, of children, and of parents from decades of practice in parenting - and of coaching and guiding parents. Their deep experience shines through with deep confidence in Scripture AND a sober view of human persons and the challenges of parenting.
2. Digestible. Written in 50 short chapters, this is the kind of book that you can easily read a chapter a day. (Most chapters you can read in less than 5 minutes.) It is perfect for busy parents who want to grow in wisdom, and need a nugget that isn't buried in a 30 page chapter.
3. Practical. The authors share actionable counsel from their wide experience. I found my imagination quickened by their practices and suggestions. Their encouraging (rather than prescriptive) tone helped me to latch onto the particular practices I needed to adopt rather than feeling overwhelmed at all that I'm not doing.
In my estimation, this is the kind of parenting book that CAN be used as a handbook. It is the kind that you can and will return to again and again for wise counsel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great comprehensive book

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
scrappyautie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful resource for parents in any stage of the game...I have toddlers right now, but this book is just as relevant to a parent of teenagers. The authors are i intentional and skilled at dealing w/heart issues. They also do an excellent job of giving practical, loving & biblical strategies, on how to deal w/the issues they discuss. That's so encouraging, to have the "how-to". Most authors only discuss the problems we face as parents, yet completely side-step giving solutions....This is a common quality I've found to be true of them in each book of theirs that I've read. I'm never disappointed, and you won't be, either : ) Great read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous tool for parents!

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becky Danielson
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Christian Parenting Handbook: 50 Heart-Based Strategies for All the Stages of Your Child's Life is a fabulous resource for parents who desire to raise children with a heart for God. Dr. Scott Turansky and Joanne Miller tackle parenting children today with experience and love. Parents will find this book a tool to use throughout the parenting journey. Whether there is a baby or a teenager in the house, this insightful, encouraging, and enjoyable guidebook is a necessity for every Christian parent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>