Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Accused - eBook

Tyndale House Accused - eBook

Truman Wiley feels as if his life dead-ended as a news reporter and his gambling is out of control and the hospital bills overwhelm him...until his estranged wife gives him the chance to write a story about a death row inmate convicted of murder. This man also wants has chosen donate his heart to Truman's son, when he's executed.

After digging through the details of the trial, Truman discovers that this man who is scheduled to die and save his son's life, appears to be innocent!

Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 3494%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Accused - eBook
Review 1 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

gripping story

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bookboss
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written. It has good action and holds your attention. Good Christian message as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Same thing over and over

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The story of Carly and Nick was good. Nick apoligized for betraying Carly. But, the author just made Carly so whiny. It seemed like their divorce was all about her. The author just kept repeating that same thing over and over again. When she wasn't doing that the book was really good and the story moved along. I got this book from my local library I'm glad I didn't pay for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great New Series

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book when it first came out. Janice Cantore was a new author to me. I loved the book from the first page! I loved her how she developed her character, Carly, from the very beginning. Couldn't wait to read the 2nd book. Janice Cantore is an author that I will always look for her books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but Not Great...

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I finished it, but could have probably put it down for good and not missed it. I wasn't shocked or offended by the straight-forward writing at the beginning, but I think the book could have been written in a way that got the point across without being offensive to some.
I wasn't surprised by the outcome. And not really convinced about the main character's conversion to Christ.
I don't know... I wouldn't recommend this book to friends simply because there's other books that are better. It was an "OK" read.
Got this book FREE for my CBD Reader! Thank you, CBD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Police suspense story by a former cop.

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
alfamania
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Accused" is the first book I have read by author Janice Cantore, who I can safely say from having discovered her material, is like the John Grisham of police suspense thrillers. Ms. Cantore is herself a veteran police officer and her knowledge and presentation of police matters is excellent in this fictional work. Given the Christian undertones in the book, the focal crime is given a tamer presentation than what one would encounter in a secular suspense book. In this particular case, it is the murder of the mayor of the the town in which the lead character, Det. Carly Edwards, is employed. Having been recently assigned to work in the juvenile division as a result of a police-involved shooting incident, which by all accounts is presented as being put out to pasture in her mind, Det. Edwards is tasked with finding the truth about the crime, given a young man who was found to be a passenger in the mayor's stolen car, while the late mayor is in the trunk of the car. The detective's credo is "once a dirtbag, always a dirtbag," and although she initially believes the juvenile to be guilty of murder, she begins to question that assessment, given the juvenile's denial of involvement in that particular crime, and his sincere acceptance of responsibility for what he has done, which pales in comparison to a capital crime. Det. Edwards does some soul searching and the world she knows is shaken as she encounters not only out of the ordinary circumstances concerning the suspect of the crime, but an apparent change of character for her ex-husband, who is also a police officer. The story is fast-paced and is quite effective as a means of exploring the life of a police officer, personal issues and all. It also is a worthy submission in terms of a book which keeps the reader guessing, and has twists and turns along the way as well. Ms. Cantore has written a winner with this book, and I am glad I discovered her material. I look forward to following through and reading the next book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accused is about a female cop who uncovers corruption in the police department she works for. Betrayed by a cheating ex-husband, she wonders if she can trust him when her life is in danger and his best friend (who she knows is innocent) has gone into hiding to stay alive. The mayor has been murdered and a coverup is underway, framing a newly reformed teenager and young adult who is more involved than not. The good cops are being portrayed as bad in the media, risking their lives to uncover the truth and put the correct murderer and corrupt cops behind bars. I enjoyed the book so much, I immediately bought and downloaded the next ebook in the series, Abducted.
The product description for this book is totally wrong, please fix it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great start to the series!

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Cantore, a retired police officer, shares her experiences and knowledge and brings to life her characters in her Pacific Coast Justice Series.
Book 1, "Accused," will pull you right into the midst of action and have you reading page after page as it is high-energy, full of drama - both on the job and in the character's personal lives, and real-life action. Carly is not pleased with having to work in the juvenile department; however one case really tugs at her heart and Carly puts her all into finding the answers. Nick is determined to show Carly that he is a changed man, and is on her side both professionally and personally. However, there are past hurts and Carly is not sure whom she can trust; will she follow her heart and will that be enough or will it ultimately place her in further danger?
Carly and Nick are both characters whom I found myself rooting for throughout the book. They were very "real" and Cantore has done a great job with creating and developing her characters in the series. I found this book to be very easy to read and follow and it kept me wondering and guessing all the way throughout; therefore my attention was held and I wanted to keep on reading! This is an excellent start to the series and a must-read in order series as well! You do not want to miss out on the drama!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
ReaderMom29
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accused is a suspenseful, engaging read. The characters are believable, and the story is interesting. It is definitely a page-turner. It includes action and intrigue but won't give the reader nightmares. I didn't find the twists in the plot to be very surprising, but neither was I able to predict exactly where the story was going or tie up all the loose ends on my own. The protagonist's struggle with belief in God and with her relationship with her ex-husband give some food for thought in terms of relating to non-believers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting action

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accused is a Christian detective suspense/mystery novel. The police-action part of the story was very exciting and interesting. The details about the job and setting were vivid enough to immerse me in the story and didn't slow the fast pacing. The suspense was created by not knowing who could be trusted and by the physical danger to anyone who questioned how the case was being handled.
Carly was an engaging character who reacted in realistic ways to the situation she was in. There were a large number of characters and most were so similar that I had trouble keeping track of them. Luckily, the author usually worked in cues with the name so I'd know who was being referred to.
During the story, the suspense and police work periodically paused so that Carly could be preached at. The Christians were initially cookie-cutter Christians: they all acted the same, had the same lines (which you do hear preached at non-Christians all the time), had the same level of complete and perfect faith no matter how long they'd been a Christian, and had the inability to ask Carly what her problem was with God so they could actually address her issues. Understandably, Carly didn't react well to this, and I was not particularly interested in it, either.
Carly's hostile attitude toward Christians was so built up that I had trouble accepting her suddenly changing attitude. Later in the story, a lawyer and a roofer both came across as more realistic, living Christians, and they did talk with instead of talk at Carly. I think I would have liked the overall story better if the initial Christian scenes had been fewer and less cookie-cutter.
There was a lot of God-talk: prayer, true but cliche phrases, etc. Carly's main question seemed to be, "What good is a god that will let me and the people that I love suffer and die?" While the various characters did touch on some related issues (like the world was not created to be this way, people have the choice to do bad things, etc.), I was disappointed that the main issue was never really answered (since there is a good answer to it).
There was a minor amount of "he cursed" style of bad language. There was no sex. There was no graphic wound or dead body descriptions. Overall, I'd recommend this exciting suspense novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth Hanging in There to See What Develops

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the book, "Accused," by Janice Cantore, though it was hard to get into at first. It’s the story of Carly, a recently divorced police woman who is trying to earn her way back to patrol after being sent to work in juvenile because of negative publicity from a shooting incident. Because of all she’s suffered, including her father’s death to cancer, Carly has a very cynical attitude—she doesn’t trust anyone—especially not the teenage boy who has been accused of murder and has asked for her help.
This is why the book was hard to get into. When the main character seems tough and unreasonable and starts taking out her frustrations on the innocent, well, it’s difficult to care what happens to her. But God cares about the tough and unreasonable, even when they’re taking out their frustrations on others. He is faithful to work in, and even through, their lives. Cantore shows her readers this as Carly’s story unfolds.
Along with watching Carly change and mature, I enjoyed the conspiracy-theory mystery of the book. By the fourth or fifth chapter, I was hooked. Halfway through, I couldn’t put it down. And now I’m looking forward to the sequel, "Abducted," due to come out soon. I’m happy to recommend this book. (I obtained it on my own to participate in Tyndale House Publisher's summer reading program.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accused, Pacific Coast Justice Series book 1 By Janice Cantore was great! It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time wanting to know what happened next. I can't wait to read her next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Police Thriller With a Christian Twist

Date:July 30, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After her partner shoots an unarmed man during a police call, Detective Carly Edwards finds herself working the Juvenile Dept., desperate for a way to return to patrol duty. At the same time, the popular mayor shows up murdered in the back of a car trunk, Carly's ex-husband seems to want a reconciliation, and there are rumors of other police officers involved in smuggling drugs. All Carly really hopes is for her life to return to normal, but with the town and police department in turmoil, normal may not exist any more.
The writing is adequate. I felt the plot was too easily discernible and that there were some plot holes. Perhaps the plot holes will be accounted for in the next book in the series. There is violence, but the descriptions are not overly graphic. No language. No sex. Mature themes abound: drugs, infidelity, prostitution, murder, embezzlement, money laundering, and so on; but they are treated with a light hand. God does make an appearance in this story, mostly in the people who surround Carly. But this is not a theology driven story.
This book is entertaining enough to warrant reading. It's not terribly thought provoking, and it's easy to see where the plot is headed. Otherwise, it's an okay choice. I'd recommend this novel primarily to fans of mystery novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:July 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book in the Pacific Coast Justice Series by Janice Cantore. We are introduced to the main female character of Carly and her ex-husband, Nick. Carly has divorced Nick due to his affair that he had during their marriage. Oh, and did I mention they are both policemen in the same precinct? That's what makes this book interesting. We are provided with the storyline of corruption within the Mayor's office and possible corrupt police officers on the force. Carly is the main driving force in the investigation to uncover the corruption, so we get to see alot of police procedural elements during the investigation. With this book being written by a retired police detective, everything seemed so realistic through-out the book. Does Carly uncover the secrets in the Mayor's Office, are there really crooked cops? What will become of her relationship with Nick?
This was a good first book in the series. I'm going to be interested to see what happens with the relationship with Carly and Nick going forward. This wasn't a particular deep book, I read it in a couple of days. I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in procedural books, adventure books and investigative stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just the kind of story I love.....

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ann Mcmullan
Location:Hattiesburg, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just the kind of story I love....a little suspense....a little mystery....a little love!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Will keep you guessing

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carly Edwards always knew what she wanted to do. To be a cop, working patrol, out where the action is. However, after things go wrong one night Carly ends up working juvenile, no action, stuck inside, the last thing she wanted and Carly can't seem to find her way back to working patrol.
The mayor of the city has been found murdered, two people are in custody, one being young Londy Atkins, a friend of Carly's mom, who also swears of his innocence, homicide is convinced of his guilt and against what Carly would normally say she believes that Londy is telling the truth and that some things don't seem to add up with the case and Carly suspects a cover-up, and the only person she is able to turn to is her ex-husband, Nick, who she is not ready to forgive let alone talk too. Now Carly is being targeted and there may be something a lot deeper to this investigation.
Janice Cantore keeps you guessing with Accused, never quite sure who is innocent and who is guilty until the end she keeps you pulled into the story. It did take a few chapters to really get into this book, but I encourage you to push through and keep reading. You won't want to miss how this story turns out. Is you are searching for a suspenseful story that will keep you on the edge of your seat this is the book for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Read

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Police officer Carly is involved in a shooting and sent to work in the juvenile department. She looks for a way to get back to her old job in patrol and the mayor's shooting might be the answer. She finds a cover-up and doesn't know who to trust, especially when her ex-husband offers to help.
I thought this book was very good and an authentic read from a retired police officer. Corrupt people seem to be everywhere and it was interesting to find out at the end who was dirty and who wasn't. I do think the spiritual side of the book was a bit overdone in parts. Several characters preach at Carly, which makes her turn away from God instead of toward him. Overall, a good read and I'm looking forward to the second book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great plot

Date:June 26, 2012
Write what you know! Janice Cantore does it in awesome fashion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book worth the time to read

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
tabby
Location:Fort Wayne IN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got done reading a great book by Janice Cantore called Accused. It is about a lady cop who is trying to find out who murdered the mayor of her town and was willing to frame a young teen to get away with. Carly Edwards "the cop" is determined to find out who did it even if it means her own life. The book has a lot of action and mystery in it and keeps you asking your self who did it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast-paced cop drama!

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They say "write what you know," and author Janice Cantore definitely did that! After learning that Ms. Cantore served more than 2 decades as a cop, I decided to give this contemporary fiction novel (not generally my preferred genre) a try. And I'm glad I did! I really enjoyed the reality and accuracy of this novel, which follows a few action-packed weeks of the fictional policewoman's life.
In the book, police detective Carly Edwards faces betrayal, mystery and corruption in both her personal and professional life, all of which causes her to question all she has previously believed and held true in her life.
Overall I enjoyed the story quite a bit, and the only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars is that I felt there was a bit too much foreshadowing and a lot of the twists and turns were predictable. However, it was a very enjoyable read and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series when it comes out.
If you're intrigued by the world of law enforcement, enjoy stories of restoration and spiritual healing, or are just looking for a fun, interesting read, I would recommend this book to you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Accused - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a definite must read!

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
mustlovetoread
Location:Newport VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accused
By: Janice Cantore
I loved this book! Janice Cantore does a great job of pulling you into the story and not letting you go. Detective Carly Edwards is a patrol cop. She is part of an officer-involved shooting and is reassigned to a desk job in juvenile. She doesn’t understand why God would do this to her. She loses her patrol job, goes through a divorce, and is left wondering where God is in her life. Nick, her ex-husband, is also a cop and has become a Christian since their divorce. He has been spending time with Carly’s mother and she has introduced him to a personal relationship with God. Carly has to figure out who she can trust and who is out to kill her. When the mayor is killed, Carly must find out who is part of the conspiracy. Carly wants to do everything herself; it’s safer that way. However, she must learn to trust God and learn to forgive. You will not want to put this book down once you start!
By the time you finish this book your faith will be strengthened and renewed. Follow Carly as she questions God and see if she surrenders to God, or stays on the same path resisting God. If you love a good mystery, this book is for you. The suspense and intrigue will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very last page. Nick is there with her every step of the way, but is he part of the conspiracy? Pick up this book today and be ready to be swept away!
Janice Cantore is a retired Long Beach police office and brings her background into her novel. The scenes are depicted realistically and the characters are believable and lifelike. I can’t wait to read another novel by Janice Cantore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>