Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Watch Over Me

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Watch Over Me

Deputy Benjamin Patil is the one to find the infant girl--hours old, abandoned in a field. When the mother can't be located, Ben and his wife, Abbi, seem like the perfect couple to serve as foster parents. But the baby's arrival opens old wounds for Abbi and shines a harsh light on how much Ben has changed since a devastating tour in Iraq. Their marriage teeters on the brink and now they must choose to either reclaim what they once had or lose each other forever.
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Watch Over Me
Review 1 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great book

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lyne
Location:Ohio
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. It is messy, but life is messy. It is about an Afghanishtan war vet, an opinionated woman, a deaf boy and a girl who thinks she has no choices. It is about the people around them who know that something is wrong, but have no idea how to help. it is about choices, their consequences and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not just fluffy fiction, but genuine literature

Date:December 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarosa
Location:Wellsville, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One reviewer wrote that she could not relate to the charaters, but I love reading about people who are different than I, who come to Christ in different ways, who remind me that not everyone thinks or learns as I do. I have waited too long after reading the book to remember precisely all that I loved about it, but I will certainly be rereading it, and plan to keep looking for new titles by Christa Parrish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not What I Was Expecting

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book was well-written, and the author's gift as a writer is evident.
I have very mixed feelings about the book. The storyline was engrossing. The pain Ben and Abbi feel is palpable, and the strain on their marriage is both believeable and heart-wrenching. The way the author connects the various characters in the story is well done.
However, this was a very difficult book to read. As a work of Christian fiction, I didn't expect it to be as edgy as it was. Like another reviewer stated, I had a difficult time relating to Abbi, as her liberal views and hippy lifestyle are the complete opposite of mine. I couldn't relate to her, and as such didn't really sympathize with her.
Quite frankly, I found the book to be extremely depressing. It's one of those books that haunts you, and not in a good way. After I finished it, I kept trying to push it out of my mind. Despite being a well-written book, I did not like it and would not recommend it to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debb
Location:Watertown, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book got ahold of my heart right from the start. It makes you look at your marriage and see if you can improve on your part. Wow. Highly recommend it. Loved it! I love Christa Parrish. Please write more books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beatrice Rice
I enjoyed the book very much. It was thought provoking and I hope I'm a better person for having read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jan Roach
Since I am a voracious reader, it really bothers me to rate a book this low. And I really tried to read it, since books are not inexpensive, but I finally conceded defeat about 1/3 of the way through. It had become more work than pleasure. Sorry to the author.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
This a powerful story of two people whose lives have been broken not only by war but by their own destructive behavior. Ben who is a police officer finds an abandoned baby in a field only a couple of hours old. He and his wife Abbi become her foster parents. Little Silvias arrival begins a process of Ben and Abbi facing their broken marriage. Abbi befriends a deaf teenager who also needs to be rescued from his situation as much as Silvia. Ben must keep searching for the babys mother, even though part of him never wants to find her. Although this book was a little hard to read at times it worth reading to watch two people face their issues and decide to rebuild a life together. I received a copy of this book free from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal
This is a story about a couple that could exist anywhere in America today. The story opens with the discovery of an hours old infant in a plastic bag, who is rescued by Deputy Benjamin Patil. He and his wife, Abbi, are register as foster parents in the county. Both Abbi and Benjamin have issues to deal with in this book as they care for the foster baby and work to salvage their marriage, which has suffered since Benjamin was in the war in Afghanistan. There is also another story inter-twined in this one about a young boy named Matthew, who lives with his Aunt and cousins. He has a serious illness, and uses a pad of paper to communicate since the progression of the illness has left him mute.This story was really realistic and very modern in its approach. It touches on many issues plaguing todays average American besides the marriage problems the main couple face due to him being a soldier and her being a pacifist, and the challenges that their marriage faces since it is interracial. Other issues include eating disorders and bareness for Abbi and emotional trauma from the war for Benjamin, and other issues for some of the other characters that would give too much of the story away. I would like to thank Bethany House for the opportunity to review their books and for the free copy I received.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mie Mccaffrey
It was exceptionally wonderful. Reminded me of George MacDonald's stories. It described a struggling road of practicing love and gaining faith quite realistically. Because of the depth of faith the story tries to deal with, it may not appeal to some people, but I loved it. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
What a sweet read this was! We have our police officer who is a war vet, a hippy, who he has fallen for, and a deaf boy who come together in this novel and that grabs our hearts. Deputy Benjamin Patil finds a baby left for abandanment. This precious baby girl is not wanted by one, but is wanted by Benjamin. He comes home to his wife Abbi, who is not so excited about having the little stay with them. Abbie is going through struggles of her own as she battles an eating disorder she is still trying to find herself in her faith and she is lost in her marriage wanting and needing and not really understanding how to share with Benjamin. As they bring the baby home, thinking on adoption, Abbie's heart becomes stirred and she learns to love this little one pulling her heartstrings. In the midst of their lives, we meet Matthew, who is living with his aunt and is not wanted. He is living with dialisis. He is in need of a kidney and in need of finding his father he has never met. His search becomes less the need of a kidney and more of the need of knowing his father. This young man is full of love and honesty. Christa knows how to bring us right there in their living rooms, in their emotions, and place them in our hearts. We see through this story how God is growing them and that is a beautiful sight to witness. As the little one comes into their lives, they name her Silvia, and we find Matthew helping out. They are becoming a family, but God has different plans before them. Little Silvia has a daddy who wants and needs her, so we see them go through loss, but see this young man come to gain in this tiny baby girl. Although the picture changes for them, healing begins and God shows them the way. We see Benjamin heal from the dreams of war, and we see Abbie grow out of herself and learn to open her heart. Matthew grabbed hold of my heart and will remain there as a gift of hope.This book was a gift from Bethany House Publishers for its review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
sandypath
This book was about a marriage, learning and living through relationships and touches on small town community. Benjamin takes a job as a deputy after returning from serving time in Afghanistan and his wife, Abbi, is a stay at home wife. The two are very, very different in belief and lifestyle and struggle for their strengths and weaknesses to compliment each other instead of tearing into their bond as husband and wife. They take in a newborn baby after Ben rescues the abandoned infant and she becomes a huge part in their attempt at healing. Matthew is a character I tried to hurry through at first so I could get back to the marriage story but that totally changed by the end of the book. I felt he was one of the main characters by the end of the book and I loved him. Sometimes, I felt I had to force myself through some of this book. I did have a lot going on making me stop and start more than I would have liked. Over all, it was not page turning great but definitely chapter turning good. I loved the one interaction shared between the Mother in Law and Abbi and felt it was a very "real" scene. Some other places in the book gripped me ---like the interaction between Abbi and her friend, Lauren and the one between Ben and his best friend's parents. I also cried when I read about that best friend, Stephen. My son served in Afghanistan and came home to a wife and a lot of this book is very similar to how things have gone with them. It hit very close to home . . .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
When Deputy Benjamin Patil finds a baby girl only a few hours old abandoned in a field, he and his wife Abbi are chosen to be foster parents for her. But, their home is filled with stress and disagreement and may not be the ideal home for this baby. The source of the tension is Benjamins trauma while serving in Afghanistan. Their lives intersect with a young man, Matthew who suffers from several medical issues and comes from a troubled family. As Abbi and Benjamin continue to take care of the baby, more and more pain is revealed and their marriage struggles to survive. I have to say I have mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, Christa Parrish is a very gifted writer and storyteller. She is definitely an author I am interested in continuing to read. I found this book to be a bit too edgy for my liking. Now, I usually like edgy books, a lot, but this one just did not agree with me entirely. One reason for that is possibly because of the sexual presence in this story. Dont get me wrong, this book was not trashy or smutty at all, but I just felt it was a bit much for my liking. I also had trouble relating to Abbi and her more liberal tendencies, especially her anti war stance. I really liked Matthews part in this story. He was my favorite character and I felt he was a strong presence in this story. His persistent faith and determination were inspiring. Overall, this book is well written, the story is interesting with very real characters. If you like edgy fiction, this is definitely the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patty LeBlanc
I really liked the writing in this book. I had not read a book by Christa Parrish before this, but I enjoyed this one so much that I plan on reading Home Another Way also. Abbi as a character was sometimes a person I loved tremendously and also struggled with her thoughts and ideas. I understood her reasoning for the choices she made, but didnt always agree with them. Abbi struggles with the changes in her husband and their relationship, and they have many things to work through to get their marriage back to functioning. Will having a baby arrive in their home be the thing to make things right or will it destroy what is left of their flailing marriage? I was drawn into this story by many aspects of it, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. I look forward to reading another one of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Watch Over Me is a powerfully written story that pulled me in from the end of the short first chapter. There are so many layers to the story: a marriage in trouble, an abandoned newborn, a disabled and seriously sick teenager nobody wants, a town that's not sure how to respond. At its core though, this is a wonderfully crafted story about abandonment, the pain it causes, and the road to healing. About crawling from the lonely places we hide, and risking to reach out and love...again...and again...and again. And the writing is beautiful, lyrical, and engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will return to its pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
I love this author! Christa Parrish does an amazing job, she had me from the beginning. This story of Benjamin and Abbi Patil is not only realistic and touching, it also sticks with you long after you've finished reading this book. This is a story about love and commitment. Abbi makes me want to be more creative. Ben makes me want to know more about the effects of war. Overall I found myself encouraged and challenged through this book and highly recommend it. I received a review copy from Bethany House. I would love to read more from this author, she is excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rockie
I would recommend this for adults only as parts of it I found offensive. There is no spiritual emphasis until the last chapter. Without that, the book is very depressing. I did not enjoy, but read through to the end hoping for improvement.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
SuperMom
This was the first book I read by Christa Parrish. Christa can tell an amazing story, and for that I will be adding her to the list of authors I will keep up with in the future.In Watch Over Me, we follow a young married couple who are struggling, a deaf teenager who is independently defying the odds against him, all who have fallen in love with the newborn baby who was left to die in a field.As Ben, who is struggling with the aftermaths of serving in Afghanistan, works the case of putting the few clues together, Abbi devotes her life into caring for this unwanted baby girl. It's no secret that Ben and Abbi are having marital problems. Abbi suffers from a poor self-image and struggles with her weight. Ben is so lost and mad at God for the things he did, saw and lost in the war. Their life is falling apart, is this baby the answer they need to put this marriage back together?In comes Matt, a deaf teenage boy who have been left deaf and in kidney failure due to a rare genetic disease. In this small town, Matt is looking for odd jobs to earn some money. He begins to spend a lot of time with Abbi and the baby, mowing the lawn, babysitting while Abbi naps, showers and catches up on her hobby of pottery making.The twist that happens as the case is cracked is somewhat predictable, still the journey was worth the ride. Parrish does an unbelievable job of capturing the heart of the character and drawing you in. Her characters are real, almost tangible. I'd love to sit down for coffee with Abbi and know more about her, what drives her, what challenges her, what helps her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janalyn Voigt
Deputy Benjamin Patil finds a newborn baby who has been left to die in a plastic grocery bag in a field. He transports the infant girl to the hospital and returns daily to check on her. When the time comes to place the baby in foster care, Benjamin and his offbeat wife, Abbi, unable to have children of their own, offer to take her in. But can their crumbling marriage stand up under the strain? And what will happen if Ben's search for the child's parents yield results?Watch Over Me by Christa Parrish tells the story of two people faced with the choice of ending their marriage or giving it the effort and sacrifice loving requires. Each must choose to trust not only one another, but also a God who seems distant. Illustrated with true lines and colored in vivid hues, Watch Over Me paints an intimate portrait drawn from real-life realities.Those who enjoy contemporary fiction will enjoy this book. I also recommend it for teens because of its honest portrayal of the issues teens face and its emphasis on practical morality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon B
I am a regular reader, not an "official reviewer", and the content of the book has already been well-summarized in the other reviews. Therefore, I'll just say that this book grabbed my heart - I fell deeply into caring about the characters and wanting things to turn-out right for them. Ms. Parrish does an excellent job of connecting the intricacies of the plot. This was a very well-written book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Watch Over Me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Ben and Abby were having marriage problems before he was sent to Afghanistan. When he returns from tour, he is physically and emotionally scarred. His best friend was killed and Ben blames himself and withdraws. While working as deputy sherrif, Ben finds a newborn baby girl stuffed into a plastic bag. As police search for her mother, Ben takes the baby home to foster. Abby feels sad at the reminder brought by the baby but comforted also. As their marriage seems to crumble more each day, Abby and Ben realize their time is running out to reconcile before it is too late.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>