Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2

Bethany House The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2

Twenty-one-year-old Grace Byler longs to find her missing mother and to uncover the secret that drove her to leave them three weeks before. Grace suspects the reason has to do with her father and his reserved, uncommunicative ways. This conviction led Grace to break off her betrothal to her quiet, staid beau, and she is now resigned to remain single. But when the young Amishman she thought was courting her best friend takes a sudden interest in her, Grace is befuddled and wonders if he can be trusted.

"Englisher" Heather Lang has come to Amish country to relive fond memories of her mother and to contemplate a grave medical prognosis of her own. While in Bird-in-Hand, Heather meets Grace Byler and the two young women strike up a fast friendship, amazed by how well they click.

Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Review 1 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
This review is fromMissing, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lettie Byler is still absent from her family, but she is no closer to finding what she seeks on her journey. Grace is convinced that her father Judah's uncommunicative, silent manner is what drove her Mamma away. Breaking things off with her now-serious beau, Grace seeks to find the answers to her mother's disappearance. Grace's grandparents are mysteriously mum about what could have caused their daughter to leave, and while Judah's heart breaks every day for his missing wife, Grace pulls the family together during the busiest time of the year, lambing season.
Heather Nelson strikes up a quick friendship with Grace, and finally tells her of her grave diagnosis. Grace is supportive of Heather seeking natural, alternative methods before seeking conventional medicine. While Heather has lost her adoptive mother to death, Grace has lost hers to an unknown reason that she has yet to discover. The girls seek solace from each other's company, all the while seeking answers to their big questions. Is Lettie ever truly planning to return? Or has she run away for good?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christin
While the first book in the series “The Secret” left readers with many unanswered questions, this book answers many of them for the reader. Unfortunately many of these questions are still unanswered for the characters in the book. Lewis does a great job of painting the frustration felt by each of the characters. Grace is frustrated by not being allowed to go search for her mother and having little to aid her in her search, Lettie encounters many difficulties in her search for the midwife, and Heather has a lot trouble trying to convince her father to her use the natural healing method. As a reader you cannot help but sympathize with each of the characters, what they are going through and wanting to help them with their situation. I particularly felt this way about Grace. I wanted to enter into the story, put my arm around her and tell her where her mother is.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A more realistic view of Amish life.

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Location:Fredericton, NB Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the fact that the book(s) is/are realistic, that not all is "rosy" all the time in this series of books and I feel it is imperative to get all 3 books in the series to understand just what is happening. I read every chance I get and try to guess what is going to happen next. It's keeping me on the edge of my seat wondering...is it going to turn out like I expect?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Burton
Had trouble putting this one down. I can't wait for the next one to come out. I already have it on order. I really do enjoy all the Beverly Lewis books that I have read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Helen Hevener
Every time Beverley Lewis writes a book- I almost run to the book store to purchase it- and I must say I have NEVER been dissapointed. Beverley has a beautiful way with words- and her amish stories are so intrigueing you can hardly wait for the next book!!! I am anxiously awaiting book number 3 in this series!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
While I wasn't crazy about "The Secret", this book held my interest better. I felt like this book held its own, apart from the first and regardless of the third. I do look forward to the conclusion and resolution for the Byler family. Oh, and hopefully a little love for Miss Grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Ashburn
I have enjoyed everything I have read from Beverly Lewis. Her portrayal of Amish America is refreshingly accurate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mildred Tatum
Was really good reading, can't wait forthe next one in the series, to see whathappens...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lauri Gordon
Again, a wonderful book. Mrs. Lewis has a unique way of looking into people's hearts and souls, even if she has never met them. I have truly been touched by this series, not to mention many of her other books. I look forward to the next book in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Armstrong
Wonderful book. Can't wait for the next one to be released. I am wondering if the "Englisher" is Grace Byler's sister? I am anxious to find out. Loved the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Theresa Bailey
both books of the series are wonderful. The first was a gift from a friend and I purchase the second and can't wait for the third to come out next April.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lorrie Ringleman
I really enjoyed this book - it is well written and interesting. It arrived quickly and in good shape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Ruwet
Another great book. Couldn't put it down and can hardly wait for the next book, to see the conclusion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristen
Another great book from Beverly Lewis! I can not wait for book number three to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barb Mckenzie
The story of Grace and her life as an Amish person has been interesting and informaative. I am thrilled when a new book about an Amish family is written. The clean, wholesomeness of the books that tell the story of the everyday life give me a look into their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Neese
What a great author in Beverly Lewis. She continues to keep us captivated and now we have to wait another year for the next book in the series. It is always like getting a Christmas gift when we order her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gloria Schilling
I really liked this story! I thought, surely, that this book would have the reason for 'the missing', but, alas, I need to anxiously await the next book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
R.jill Teske
Beverly Lewis creatively weaves what appears to be unrelated people and their lives into a quilt of love and compassion for them. I can hardly wait for the rest of their stories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sue Johnson
Another wonderful Beverly Lewis story with the detail and character development that make her books hard to put down. Her unexpected turns in her characters add so much interest and depth to her stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Missing, Seasons of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jacqueline D Fallucco
I FELT BOTH BOOKS WERE VERY INTERESTING...THEY BOTH HELD MY ATTENTION RIGHT TO THE LAST PAGE, AND I WAS DISAPPOINTED WHEN THE BOOKS ENDED...IS THERE GOING TO BE A SEQUEL TO BEVERLY LEWIS' BOOK, OR IS SHE JUST GOING TO LEAVE US HANGING, WONDERING IF LETTY BYLER WILL COME HOME OR NOT?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>