Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3

Bethany House The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3

Grace Byler leaves Bird-in-Hand in a fancy car to search for her mother in Ohio. But what if Lettie Byler doesn't wish to be found? Meanwhile, Lettie continues her private quest to find the missing piece of her life. As clues take her from state to state, she is increasingly torn between the family she has left behind and the yearning for her long-lost child. Struggling to come to terms with a grave medical diagnosis, Heather Nelson is determined to forgo traditional medicine--to her father's chagrin--in hopes of finding answers and healing in Amish country. But first, she offers to drive her Amish friend, Grace Byler, to Ohio Amish country. Will mother and daughter, and one seriously ill graduate student, find the answers they long for? Or will "the telling" cause them all further pain?
Average Customer Rating:
4.83 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Review 1 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
This review is fromTelling, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When word arrives in Bird-In-Hand that Lettie Byler was spotted in Kidron, Ohio, Grace Byler makes a bargain with her father Judah, to go seek her mother and bring her back. His only stipulation was that she had to go with somebody, preferably not a sibling, so he could have help during the tail end of his lambing season. Heather Nelson graciously offers to drive Grace to Ohio and see if they can't find Lettie and bring her back to her family.
In the meantime, Lettie is desperately trying to find answers to her own personal quest, and coming up woefully short. Every time she thinks she is closer to the truth, another door slams in her face. Finally spent and missing her family, Lettie makes plans to return home. But how will the brethren react to her mysterious disappearance and subsequent re-appearance? Will her family be able to forgive her and understand why she had to leave them for a time?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When word arrives in Bird-In-Hand that Lettie Byler was spotted in Kidron, Ohio, Grace Byler makes a bargain with her father Judah, to go seek her mother and bring her back. His only stipulation was that she had to go with somebody, preferably not a sibling, so he could have help during the tail end of his lambing season. Heather Nelson graciously offers to drive Grace to Ohio and see if they can't find Lettie and bring her back to her family.
In the meantime, Lettie is desperately trying to find answers to her own personal quest, and coming up woefully short. Every time she thinks she is closer to the truth, another door slams in her face. Finally spent and missing her family, Lettie makes plans to return home. But how will the brethren react to her mysterious disappearance and subsequent re-appearance? Will her family be able to forgive her and understand why she had to leave them for a time?
While I found this story to be enjoyable and thoroughly entertaining, my only gripe was that it was somewhat repetitive. Yes, we know Heather is sick, yes, we know Lettie up and disappeared, and yes, we know it's not typical for Amish mothers to do that. We've also read multiple times that Judah is not a man of many words, and I understand the concept.
But all trivial things aside, this series kept me up all hours, reading way into the night, wondering what would happen to everyone in the end. I was actually taken by surprise at one point, because I didn't see a plot twist coming and got completely blindsided by a major element in the story. While it wasn't the best of the best, it was a solid read, and well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

enjoyable book, wish there were more

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lexi
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sure, the average reader could figure out the ending by the second chapter. That made no difference to me though!
Lewis' warm, comfortable and easy-going style is always a joy to read; this book was too. It would be great if there were more books to come; following Heather's health & Jim, Heather's Dad & Naturopath, Grace & Yonnie, as well as Grace's siblings and best friend's relationships, too.
This was a delightful book! I always enjoy reading about the Amish life and Beverly Lewis brings her stories to vivid life in her. The Amish have all my sincerest respect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
This review is fromTelling, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the series...

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Caren Collis
Location:Warren, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an exceptionally good series. I just wish there was a book 4. I would like to see what happens to Heather and also Grace. Love Beverly Lewis's writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was great

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan Simpson
Location:Garnett, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such a moving story it got me in the first chapter and I read it straight through. I always feel closer to God after I read a book like this. It makes you put your life in the right order. Thank you Joan
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
This review is fromThe Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beverly Lewis knows how to fill out the story.

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane Ford
Location:the corn fields of OHIO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They are a set of books you can't put down! The charactors are real people. You find your self concerned and careing and wanting things to work out for good. The showing the plain and the fancy worhing out in one story keeps your interest. loved the endings!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
This review is fromThe Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I appreciated being able to purchase this book in a set. My daughter loves this series and went to reading it right after she received it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
This review is fromThe Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent conclusion to the series

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Cain
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best book of the series. I loved the emotion and description within it. A very worthwhile read, I would recommend the entire series because the Telling is worth it. Great novel Beverly Lewis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alberta Kenworthy
I enjoy Beverly Lewis" books and was anxious to read the final book in this series. I found the ending very predicatable about half way through. It was a little disappointing in this respect, but the series was good.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise Martin
I can't remember when I first "met" Beverly Lewis, but I can hardly wait to read about her characters as books are released. I was very anxious about Lettie Byler, and had to remind myself that it is "only a book".When I read her kneeling confession, I was trying to hide my tears from my husband so I wouldn't have to explain what I was bawling about. When Mammi Adah repented about taking Lettie's baby from her and when she confronted Heather about her history, I was elated!Please tell Mrs. Lewis that she cannot drop the story of Heather and Grace. I MUST know how the story ends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
I love Beverly Lewis books and have all of them. I love her walk with the Lord and how she brings in the salvation message and closer walk with the Lord. The Telling was a great book. I have the series and my heart ached for Lettie's search for her daughter. I'm the mother of 5 children and can't imagine having to give up one of my children. Lettie's heartache and search were understandable. I lost a child thru a crib death and without the Lord I would have had a difficult time going on. The way the Lord sustained not only Lettie, but Grace, Judah, the grandparents, and Heather in her search for healing in her body was beautifully writen. I loved how God took care of all the families involved and how the Lord helped Lettie thru her confession but Judah's love for her was priceless in the end. I highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret Besler
An excellent book and good finish to this series. The story is very poignant and draws on ones emotions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Baroun
I really enjoy reading all of Beverly Lewis' books. This series was really good. I had read the first two in the series and couldn't wait for "The Telling" to come out this spring. It was worth the wait,really had problems putting the book down as I wanted to find out how this series would end. Every series of her books I have bought have been past on to several family members and friends who enjoy reading these books as much as I do. I always look forward to her new series of books coming out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lauri Gordon
A great concluding book in the series. Mrs. Lewis writes with such thought and love to convey a wonderful message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Knox
It was so interesting from the beginning to the end. So much of it is helpful and can apply the lessons to our own life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vickie Oaks
I loved this book...only bad thing, I wish there were going to be more in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
A nice, totally predicatable closing to the series. Interaction between Roan and Heather, Mr. Byler's forgiveness of his wife, and Lettie's kneeling confession - something modern churches might benefit from; were engaging. All three books could have been one nice stand alone novel. Too much filler.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
This book is good and was not a disapointment. I had kind of figured out some of what would happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Rosel
Loved the first two books, and could hardly wait to read the last book, and wasn't dissappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Telling, Seasons of Grace Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Hallock
Excellant finish to that series. Love the ending. The book kept you guessing on how it was going to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.