Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1

Bethany House The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1

Rose Kauffman, a spirited young woman, has a close friendship with the bishop's foster son. Nick dresses Plain and works hard but stirs up plenty of trouble too. Rose's sister cautions her against becoming too involved, but Rose is being courted by a good, Amish fellow, so dismisses the warnings. Meanwhile, Rose keeps house for an English widower but is startled when he forbids her to ever go upstairs. What is the man hiding?

Rose's older sister, Hen, knows more than she should about falling for the wrong man. Unable to abandon her Amish ways, Hen is soon separated from her very modern husband. Mattie, their young daughter, must visit her father regularly, but Hen demands she wear Amish attire--and speak Pennsylvania Dutch, despite her husband's wishes. Will Hen be able to reestablish her place among the People she abandoned? And will she be able to convince Rose to steer clear of rogue neighbor Nick?

Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Review 1 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
This review is fromThorn, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose is the youngest child and daughter of the Kauffman family, and a spirited young woman. Best friends with the bishop's foster son, Nick, and being courted by a good Amish boy, Rose thinks she has almost everything she wants in life. With the exception that her mother is an invalid, Rose finds joy in her family, friends, and faith. But she soon discovers that life is not a bed of roses, and is caught betwixt and between two lives and two loves. Will she ever be able to make the right decision?
Hen left her Amish family and faith behind when she married a man of the world. Brandon was good to her, until Hen decided to go back to her Plain life and the Old Ways. Taking their daughter with her, she tries to find her way among the People she abandoned. Will Hen and Brandon ever be able to make peace with their lifestyles and love - before an imminent separation tears them apart?
The Thorn was a wonderful beginning to the Rose Trilogy by Beverly Lewis. So many conflicts surround the Kauffman family, and it reminded me that the Amish are just life us - plagued by fears, and followed by the same troubles we are. It's a tale that will take you to a time and place that is only ever weaved into words by a really good author. A sweet story that entertained me and I enjoyed it immensely as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose is the youngest child and daughter of the Kauffman family, and a spirited young woman. Best friends with the bishop's foster son, Nick, and being courted by a good Amish boy, Rose thinks she has almost everything she wants in life. With the exception that her mother is an invalid, Rose finds joy in her family, friends, and faith. But she soon discovers that life is not a bed of roses, and is caught betwixt and between two lives and two loves. Will she ever be able to make the right decision?
Hen left her Amish family and faith behind when she married a man of the world. Brandon was good to her, until Hen decided to go back to her Plain life and the Old Ways. Taking their daughter with her, she tries to find her way among the People she abandoned. Will Hen and Brandon ever be able to make peace with their lifestyles and love - before an imminent separation tears them apart?
The Thorn was a wonderful beginning to the Rose Trilogy by Beverly Lewis. So many conflicts surround the Kauffman family, and it reminded me that the Amish are just life us - plagued by fears, and followed by the same troubles we are. It's a tale that will take you to a time and place that is only ever weaved into words by a really good author. A sweet story that entertained me and I enjoyed it immensely as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gram
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice story. Love to read Beverly Lewis books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Trilogy!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first Amish trilogy and let me tell you, I loved it! Beverly Lewis is so talented when it comes to really showing her readers Amish life and I will most definitively be buying more of her books! Besides the fact she showed me so many things about the Amish life I didn't know, the whole story was great and really grabbed me! As soon as I read the first book, I ran and purchased the second which led to the third. Amazing is definitively the word for this book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Reading!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Rose Trilogy is the best Beverly Lewis series I have ever read!! Wish there were more books in this series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good, it finished almost as I had expected.

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cornwall
Location:Devonshire UK
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good holiday reading, curl up in a chair and forget the world, transport yourself over 3,000 miles to Lancaster county and what could be better!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A solid story with a few flaws

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beverly Lewis is a gifted storyteller. I enjoyed the story line about Rose who was a young woman with a love for her lifestyle and family. She has a heart for her sister who left the community and went into the world and was now facing marital issues that are heartbreaking to her family. The only real problem I had with the book is that it would seem, thus far, that the only faith real is Amish faith. Yes, one growing up in the Amish community would believe this. However, this idea is sadly not true. There are many Amish communities that are legalistic and live by separate rules made by man instead of the Bible. Many of the interpretation the Amish live by are poor. There is also the variety of modern things allowed or not allowed. Rubber tires on their bikes, versus no rubber. For a story that is stressing the love of God and community these things would be best omitted. There was a time in previous stories that authentic faith was always separate from Amish religious life. Sadly this is a new angle and seems to be a corner one would not want to go to. Aside from these things this story is an easy read and the characters are enjoyable.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rosemary B.
Location:Utah
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Thorn" was a wonderful book as well as the final two! I would definitively recommend this to others. It is an intruding story and is a top favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

haven't read any of the books yet

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
chris hartman
Location:st joe, in
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't read any of the books in my order yet, but knowing the authors.....I'm sure they are just what I want. Looking through catalogs & finding lots more that I'm wanting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimmy
Location:Cumberland, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading Beverly Lewis books and I like reading her stories in sequence. I always pass them onto a friend for reading. I actually had read "The Thorn" last year and then "The Judgment" this spring and I am awaiting the next book, "The Mercy" which is to be released in September, 2011.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very professional survice

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shari-anne Stone
Location:Brattleboro, VT.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
definately would order again, it was fast prompt and professional, als great low prices is always a plus for me... thank you :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
jay jay
Location:MN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was any amazing book. I love to read Beverly Lewis books, but i think this is the best book she has written so far. When i finished this book i couldn't wait till i read the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very wonderful Amish novel!

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book far exceeded my expectations! I truly enjoyed this Amish novel and I cannot wait to read the second book! Lewis brings all the characters to life and my heart goes out to Nick! This is my first Amish novel as well as the first book I have read by Beverly Lewis! Can't wait to read more! :) A great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Cliggett
Location:Philadelphia PA
I enjoyed the twists and turns in the plot. I enjoy reading
whatever Beverly Lewis writes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great Amish series

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The Thorn is the first in this series, but I had read The Judgement first so I was really glad to get this book so that I could see what happened to Rose's mama and why she was in a wheel chair and I also wanted to see how Christian died. Rose was all the way Amish so much so that she didn't even want to have her running around time as a teen and went ahead and was baptized into the church. She had her boyfriend Silas but she was also very good friends with the Bishops' adopted son Nick. Nick was a down beaten boy that was so alone when the Bishop adopted him and he had been into a lot of trouble and did not want to be an Amish.
Hen, Rose's older sister had left the community during her running around and married an Englischer.
She is now missing her old way of life and hates this her husband does and the things he watches on TV while their little daughter Mattie is in the room. Divorce is something that is just not heard of in the Amish community but she is beginning to want to leave her husband and go back home. She had never been baptized into the church so she was not shunned. But when she and little Mattie shows up at her parent's home, they are worried and begin to push Hen and try to make her see that her place is with . They push Hen and make sure that she knows her place is with her husband and that she need to go back to him.
As always Beverly Lewis turns out a great Amish book, and she was the author of the first Amish book I ever read.
Thanks to Baker Publishing Group for sending me this book to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Story!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Wow ... a foster child in the Amish community! It was a neat new twist in this genre.
I found this story very interesting; make that fascinating. I really enjoyed seeing where things would go with Nick and Rose. I look forward to book two in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Thorn

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose Kauffman is sure she will always be Amish, in fact she is so positive, she did not have a rumschpringe. She joined the church without having one. Will she regret doing that? She is positive that she will not regret it, she loves her life, and she loves being Amish. Rose is stretched a bit thin with all the things she has to do, taking care of her mother, and her regular chores. Plus working for Mr. Browning cooking and cleaning, time often is not a commodity that is plentiful for Rose, but she takes time to read, and takes time for her friend Nick.
Nick is the bishop's adopted son, he has not joined the church, and seems rebellious.While he does seem unappreciative of the fact the bishop took him into his own family, Rose knows that he is really a good guy down deep. They spend alot of time together cleaning in the barn, working with the animals. They also like to go horseback riding together, but not everyone is seeing their friendship as a good thing.
Hen, Rose's older sister left the community during her running around marrying an Englischer, but now she is looking back and missing her roots. She does not like the stuff her husband watches on tv, and lets little Mattie watch. However divorce is not something you hear about in Amish families, so when she and little Mattie shows up at her parent's home, they are worried. They push Hen and make sure that she knows her place is with her husband.
A great story of friendship, regrets and life decisions, this is a great book. I know this will surprise alot of people, but this is the first Beverly Lewis book I have ever reviewed. I totally enjoyed the book and do look forward to book two of this triology which is due out in April. 344 pages US $14.99 5 stars.
Thanks to Jim Hart at Bethany House, for providing this book for me to review!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
This review is fromThorn, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
jml709
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome book depicting the Amish life. Also very specific in sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read for lovers of amish fiction!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2read
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great read for lovers of amish fiction and fans of Beverly Lewis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Thorn, Rose Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
mixedberry
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was given as a gift. My mother in law enjoyed reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>