Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Stuck Study Guide - eBook

Thomas Nelson Stuck Study Guide - eBook

This study guide accompanies the DVD Bible study. If you're stuck in an invisible struggle of heart or mind, this 8-session DVD study will help you get unstuck. Author Jennie Allen provides a safe place to take a deep look inside yourself, expose it, deal with it, and find the freedom God intended for you. The study is intended to lead women to consider the truth and how it applies to their lives by using story-driven teaching, Scripture Study, and interactive projects. Included is a leader's guide and conversation cards.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stuck Study Guide - eBook
Review 1 for Stuck Study Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
unstuck
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
challenging emotions and how you can see God through them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stuck Study Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not for the linear thinker

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
jlsche00
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the concept of this book, but as a linear thinker, reading it has been a huge struggle for me almost every day in the two chapters I have completed so far. That's not due to the ideas, as much as it is due to the writing style. Jennie is clearly not an ISTJ! She uses imprecise/arguably incorrect language (for example, using the term "rights," instead of "silly perceived entitlements," which is what she really means when she's describing things like "the 'right' to a fast-moving grocery line," and then saying all "rights" must be surrendered). Because of this kind of ambiguity, I have had to look up the Bible verses she cites to try to figure out exactly what she means, and in doing so have discovered numerous things that bother me. She makes some logical leaps in some of her Biblical interpretations, saying that Luke 6:28-30 means we should let all attacks/injustices "wash over us without a fight," when in context of Luke 6:27-36 (the full discussion), what Jesus is talking about is loving your enemies and responding to them in loving ways -- not necessarily being passive in the face of every single attack. Her use of Galatians 2:20 in chapter 2 (Mad) is also out of context. She uses it to support the idea of surrendering our "rights," but what that full passage is actually talking about is justification by faith vs. justification by observance of the law. Again, I've only made it through two chapters -- perhaps I can ignore this kind of thing to make it through the entire study, but as an extremely linear/logically minded reader, I'm not sure whether I can or if I should...
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stuck Study Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than other studies I have done

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelli b
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I teach bible studies in my home to women who just want to know God more. I have taught other studies like Beth Moore. What intrigued me about Stuck was the fact that it was something different from the rest. My favorite part has become the discussion cards...I love how my group is opening up and letting God into their lives so that they can become unstuck...We are already looking forward to starting Jennie Allen's next study called Chase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stuck Study Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the video segment.

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Emmy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The video segment is a good jumping off place and the cards included are good discussion starters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stuck Study Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stacie Lynn
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study is inspired, fresh, and relevant. After my bible study group worked through each portion of the study, I felt like I was back at high school summer camp when I realized that Christ, prayer, and God were very real and very present in my life. One of the best parts of this study is the honesty that it requires - we can all read the Bible, go to church, talk about Christ, and yet never really permit our faith to grow beyond a certain point. This study is modern without compromising the integrity of the faith. It does a good job of presenting the tough questions in life, all the while communicating the underlying message of God's love. I can't wait to see what Jennie comes up with next!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stuck Study Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unlike Any Study I've Seen

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
acgifford
Location:Coeur d'Alene, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stuck is fantastic! First of all, I love the versatility of this study. The language is simple enough to be done by a new believer. The content is deep enough to challenge the long-time Christian. It speaks to those who have simply lost the joy of their salvation, and those who are trying to get the hang of the whole thing altogether.
The whole premise for the study is living the abundant life God intended for us by leaving behind the less abundant things we’ve been holding on to….things that have no eternal value.
I love Jennie's casual style in the videos, and I also love that they are short enough to leave a lot of good discussion time in a group session. The study guide itself is unlike any I’ve seen. Jennie mixes digging into Scripture passages with introspective journaling and actual service projects. This isn’t just a head-knowledge type of study. The homework is short enough to do the whole lesson in 30-45 minutes. It also worked great for me to keep in my purse and do in paragraph chunks as I found myself in a waiting room or a carpool line.
Overall, I’m really excited about this study. In fact, I’ve added it to our women’s ministry Bible study list for this winter…and I’m anticipating more work by Jennie Allen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stuck Study Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Deep Insight to Self

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
cjdoppler
Location:Anthem, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a study for women who are serious about letting go of past hauntings in their lives. You must be willing to be honest about where your heart stands on certain matters and once you can do that, you'll be on your way to freeing yourself from bondages. I really liked.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stuck Study Guide - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deep Biblical Teaching for all Generations

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monica
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did this Bible study last year with a large diverse group of women. We had women ranging from their late teens to early sixties attend. We were divided into groups of 8 for discussion, accountability and prayer. The conversation cards would get us all sharing and then we would listen to the teaching. That led us into deeper discussion. The way the homework is designed is to draw out each type of leaner and thinker. You have opportunities to draw how you experience God, make lists of God's attributes, journal and dig deeply into Scripture. I found that this study helped me connect to the heart of God in a unique and personal way. It also helped each person to process with their group and build relationships. Whether you are looking for a study to do with college students, friends, or with your church at large, you will be challenged and encouraged by the depth and honesty of Jennie's teaching.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.