Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Through the Fire

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Through the Fire

Firefighting burns in Aidan O'Neill's blood. The son of a fireman, O'Neill has a sixth sense about fire and often takes dangerous risks. When one act of disobedience nearly gets a rookie killed, O'Neill is suspended. His weeks off are supposed to be a time to reflect but instead he escapes to Mexico, where another rash act of bravery actually kills him. But only for a few minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Through the Fire
Review 1 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Knew Who Dunnit Right Away

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
nelle
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew who Dunnit right away, but changed my mind three times and was still wrong! Very well written book...a real page turner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intense

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a good book with lots of action and suspense. The story was quite intense at times but moved along very quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book. Will read it again.

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lynette
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fiction exceeded my expectations. It kept me riveted to the pages. The ending was unexpected and great. I would recommend this to anyone who loves our first responders and the risks that they take. It is also for those who love a great mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great read

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerry
Location:Three Hills Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr. Grady wrote excellent book and I look forward to reading many more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed this read!

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
D. Snider
Location:Sudbury, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Once I became involved with this story and the characters I hated to see the story end. It was an interesting read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good plot but a lot of firefighter jargon

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
EagerReader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The plot and premise of the book is good, but the author consistently uses terminology related to fire fighting without explaining the words used. This leads to decreased understanding of the imagery he is trying to convey and lesser enjoyment for the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Through the Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read, would read more by this author.

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
LORRIE
Location:Yonkers, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking forward to reading more by this author. He conveys
feelings and story very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Through the Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vivid firefighting details

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Through the Fire" is a Christian suspense novel about firefighters and a serial arsonist. The fast-paced, non-stop action mainly involved fighting fires. The details about firefighting and firefighters were expertly woven into the story in a way that brought the job vividly alive in my imagination without slowing the action.
The characters were interesting, but I felt like we only "got to know" Aidan. Even him, we didn't get to know very well. I also never understood why anyone at the station would suspect Aidan of setting the fires since he was right there at the station when most of the fires were set. As to "whodunit," I had wondered if the person who turned out to be the arsonist was the arsonist, but it also could easily have been another character. The story was more about action than clues.
Aidan was a Christian who apparently rejected God for letting his father die and refused to listen when the other Christians in the story told him the same thing again and again. Then, suddenly, he listened, said a prayer, and started heavily using Church-speak. The change seemed abrupt to me, especially since I didn't quite understand what was different that time that made him listen--unless it was never God he was actually mad at.
There was a minor amount of "he cussed" style bad language. There was no sex. Overall, I'd recommend this book to Christians who enjoy action-packed firefighting stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
khimje
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a nice read,entertaining and educative. builds christian values
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great quick read!

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
sahm2000
Location:Crystal MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great quick summer read! Grady did a good job with pulling you into the story. Also enjoyed the way scripture was woven throughout the story. Looking forward to reading more from Grady.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
terrylady
Location:Ardrossan, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I downloaded this book to my pc but was unable to put it on my ereader. What is the point of giving free ebooks when you have to sit in front of your pc to read them. What is the point of having an ereader???
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice book

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
lchacanaca21
Location:Bishop, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I am home bound it makes getting books and reading them so much easier. The book kept me interested even when I was tired and wanted to go to sleep.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
guardgirl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was sosososososososo good!!!!! Shawn Grady wove suspense, mystery, and romance together so well, I couldn't put the book down!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Through the Fire
This review is fromThrough the Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first time I have read a book by this author, and I found the book to be a great read! I got caught up in the characters lives, and the plot zinged along. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Through the Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put the book down!

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ronnie
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised to find out this book was Shawn Grady's first novel. I enjoyed it immensely and thought it was well written. He did use a few words above my head that I didn't know the definitions for, but overall it was a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Through the Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
A J Hawke
I hadn't planned to be a firefighter when I picked up Shawn Grady's debut novel, Through the Fire. But that's what it felt like as I plunged into the action with firefighter, Aidan O'Neill. Wow! This guy can write. And are you serious? This is his first novel? I look forward to the next offering by Shawn Grady.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Through the Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Through the Fire by Shawn Grady is a powerful debut novel about the power of redemption and letting go of the past. Aidan O'Neill has firefighting in his blood. His grandfather, father, and uncle all served the Reno Fire Department with honor, but he blames himself for the death of his father in a fire several years ago. A.O. has become almost self-destructive in his quest to find the truth about his father's death and to prove himself as worthy. His recklessness leads to his dismissal from the department, but they are forced to bring him back when a series of fires are started by an arsonist that are unpredictable and frightening in their intensity. Working with fire investigator Julianne, the two of them create their own sparks while trying to bring down arsonist. Grady writes every scene involving the fires with frightening intensity. The reader can practically breathe in the smoke and feel the heat of the flames. The mystery isn't as tautly rendered. While the culprit makes perfect sense when all is revealed, it felt like there were a few too many loose ends. That said, Grady is fantastic with his characterization of a man who goes from living like there's nothing to live for to understanding the true value and Giver of his life. I look forward to more of Grady's writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Through the Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
You wouldn't believe that this was Shawn Grady's debut novel. You will, however, believe that Shawn Grady IS a firefighter and is writing about something he knows about.Aidan O'Neill is a firefighter who has a gift for what he does. But after the death of his father, his gift starts slipping away. And it happens at the worst time -- when a serial arsonist is on the loose. Everywhere Aidan goes, a fire is sure to follow. His life spirals out of control and he feels at a loss for what to do. He learns, through the help of a friend/mentor, where he needs to turn to put his life back together.The book is predictable in spots and sometimes a little over this non-firefighter's head (perhaps a small "dictionary" in the back of the book with firefighting terms described would help??), but overall a very good book. A favorite that I will recommend to friends for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Through the Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
The author pulled me into the fire fighter life. In the scenes at the fire station or fighting fires, I was completely planted in the environment. There were enough details to make it feel real, without bogging down. I could easily imagine the firehouse, the trucks, even smell the smoke and taste the fear of being surrounded by the flames. There is a hint of romance, a layer of faith, and plenty of great supporting characters.There was one part of the book that almost became a stopper for me. The problem was that it was early in the book, and I had to fight to come back to it. Once I did I was incredibly glad I did. But beware that theres what appears to be a detour in the first quarter of the book that becomes key at the end. Thats all Ill say because you need to read the book for yourselfjust keep reading!Even with that detour, I look forward to Mr. Gradys next book. His attention to detail, twisting plot and way with words will have me buying his next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Through the Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Aidan ONeill is a firefighter in Reno, Nevada and very good at what he does. At least he has been until recently. But now, driven by the distraction of his fathers death, an arsonist like none hes seen before, and a gnawing sense that the fires he faces have a personal grudge against him, Aidans tough exterior is beginning to show signs of falling apart. Add to that, he is losing the woman he thought he would marry and making some serious mistakes in a job where the smallest error can cost lives and we have a man in deep need of regrouping.This story has everything needed to make for good suspense. The hero is nowhere near perfect yet determined to do the right thing. The action moves along nicely with only a few scenes that sag just a bit. While there is a surprise twist along the way the real villains are the fire and the darkness threatening ones mans emotional, mental, and spiritual moorings. Through the Fire is Shawn Gradys debut novel but it is obvious he is no probie when it comes to firefighting or writing. His descriptions are vivid and the action entirely believable. While some may find themselves a bit overwhelmed by the technical details of firefighting, Grady uses those details to offer the realism needed to put ones self in the boots of his main character. But in the end, the real hero of this story is not Aidan but the one who sees though all the smokescreens of a wounded mans life and conquers his soul. In the words of Aidan ONeill, I felt a warmth inside me. A timeless, familiar, and wonderful presence. And in my heart I yielded. A hard place to come to a wonderful place to find.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>