Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3

Bethany House The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3

Rose Kauffman pines for prodigal Nick Franco, the Bishop's foster son who left the Amish under a cloud of suspicion after his foster brother's death. His rebellion led to the "silencing" of their beloved Bishop. But is Nick really the rebel he appears to be? Rose's lingering feelings for her wayward friend refuse to fade, but she is frustrated that Nick won't return and make things right with the People.

Nick avowed his love for Rose--but will he ever be willing to sacrifice modern life for her Meanwhile, Rose's older sister, Hen, is living in her parents' Dawdi Haus. Her estranged "English" husband, injured and helpless after a car accident, has reluctantly come to live with her and their young daughter during his recovery. Can their marriage recover, as well? Is there any possible middle ground between a woman reclaiming her old-fashioned Amish lifestyle and a thoroughly modern man?

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 out of 4898%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Review 1 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
This review is fromMercy, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose Kauffman is still living in the past with only the memories of Nick Franco to keep her going. After Nick is suspected in his foster brother's death, he leaves the People, which leads to the silencing of his bishop step-father. Known by the community as the "rebel" instead of a grateful son, Nick knows he doesn't have a chance with either Rose or his family. Rose is left with the hope that he will someday return to them, and her feelings for Nick refuse to fade. Will Nick ever come back and make things right with the People, or will she always have to wonder what could have been?
Hen and her husband, Brandon are at an impasse. He insists she will be happy as a modern wife, and she tenaciously clings to her old-fashioned Amish upbringing. When Brandon has an accident which incapacitates him for a time, Hen brings him back to the Dawdi Haus to temporarily live with her and their daughter Mattie. Will they ever resolve the conflict between opinion of lifestyles, or will they loose their marriage to difference of convictions?
This final installment of the trilogy was good despite the rushing of the last 20 pages with Rose's intended. Lewis wraps up everybody's story in this final book, and not everyone has a happy ending. I was actually pleased that not everything turned out the way I expected, which is different from mainstream Amish culture media that exists today.
Lewis has a way of giving us a story that is full of twists and unexpected turns, and even though the end may be relatively happy, it is more realistic to real life in that it's not all sunshine and flowers the whole book through. It has just enough dose of reality to make it realistic. A thoroughly good read, and recommended to anyone and everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hislovechild
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As common with this particular author, the book was full of suspense. There were more than enough twist and turns in the storyline to make the reader find it difficult to put it down. Just when you think you know what will happen there is a turn of event. Great reading as always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Feina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I realy enjoyed reading this book. The only word that keeps coming to my mind is awesome!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am very happy with THE MERCY.

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
frandi
Location:PHOENIX, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am throughly enjoying this series by Beverly Lewis. I have read several different Amish book authors and still enjoy Beverly's writing the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose Kauffman is still living in the past with only the memories of Nick Franco to keep her going. After Nick is suspected in his foster brother's death, he leaves the People, which leads to the silencing of his bishop step-father. Known by the community as the "rebel" instead of a grateful son, Nick knows he doesn't have a chance with either Rose or his family. Rose is left with the hope that he will someday return to them, and her feelings for Nick refuse to fade. Will Nick ever come back and make things right with the People, or will she always have to wonder what could have been?
Hen and her husband, Brandon are at an impasse. He insists she will be happy as a modern wife, and she tenaciously clings to her old-fashioned Amish upbringing. When Brandon has an accident which incapacitates him for a time, Hen brings him back to the Dawdi Haus to temporarily live with her and their daughter Mattie. Will they ever resolve the conflict between opinion of lifestyles, or will they loose their marriage to difference of convictions?
This final installment of the trilogy was good despite the rushing of the last 20 pages with Rose's intended. Lewis wraps up everybody's story in this final book, and not everyone has a happy ending. I was actually pleased that not everything turned out the way I expected, which is different from mainstream Amish culture media that exists today.
Lewis has a way of giving us a story that is full of twists and unexpected turns, and even though the end may be relatively happy, it is more realistic to real life in that it's not all sunshine and flowers the whole book through. It has just enough dose of reality to make it realistic. A thoroughly good read, and recommended to anyone and everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beverly Lewis never dissapoints.

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoanneG
Location:Centereach, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Typical Beverly Lewis. Her characters leap right off the pages and grasp your heart.
Rose new from the very first day she met Nick Franco that he was kind and gentle. She believed in him when no one else did. When he didn't believe in himself!
Leaving Lancaster County to find himself, he returns to make right all the things he beieves he'd done wrong. To declare once again his love for Rose.
Rose had given up on love. She knew that Nick had captured her heart and she could never love another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book from Beverly Lewis!

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Mercy" by Beverly Lewis is Book Three in The Rose Trilogy. The main characters of this book are two Amish sisters, Rose and Hannah, better known as Hen.
Hen has returned to her Plain life with her daughter, Mattie Sue in tow. She is taking care of her Englisher husband until his sight returns, hoping they can mend their differences.
Rose's chance of finding love in their community is becoming increasingly low. She keeps busy taking care of their family home for Mamm and Dat since Mamm's accident. She does not have a lot of time left for herself.
Bishop Aaron is still on probation or silencing as the Amish call it, removed from his ministerial duties due to his son's behavior. Rose has had a hard time understanding why the bishop's son Nick just up and left town after his half-brother's death.
Will Nick return to Lancaster County and explain his involvement? Will Hen and her husband work their problems out or will they go their separate ways? Will Mamm always be in extreme pain succumbed to a wheel chair? Will Rose ever find true love? The answers to all these questions can be found in "The Mercy," by Beverly Lewis.
This was a wonderful book. I love Beverly Lewis' style of writing. She makes you feel like you are part of the story, seeing in first hand. I highly recommend it to anyone that likes a good clean novel. It can be read alone or in sequence with the other Rose Trilogy books.
I received this book free from Bethany House a division of Baker Publishing Group as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy Fassnacht
Location:kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I bought this for my teen daughter. She read it in about two days and loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
capeislandgirl
Location:Petawawa, Ontario
Age:45-54
User submitted photo
Very well written. A wonderful ending to the trilogy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nana
Location:Bloomsburg PA
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly unexpected ending until 3/4 of the way thru then you begin to think along the lines you would like to see the story go. Wonderful and sensitive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
grandmaofksjjh
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the whole series. I really enjoy Beverly Lewis's books and this seriers is another good one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miriam Matthews
Location:Rocky Mount, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Mercy is an excellent story about the Amish life. It gives us a view of what it would be like to be Amish. Beverly Lewis gives us an insight into that life like no one else. I loved the book and am looking forward to the next book. My daughter, my sister and I have read nearly everything Beverly has written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprising Miracles

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy Beverly Lewis books. She is a great writer. This is the 3rd book in the series. Excellent. A few wonderful miracles take place in this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite Amish writer

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Merry
Location:Lincoln, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe I've read all of the Beverly Lewis books. She never disappoints. I love her characters, and how they all eventually play an important part in the story. I've really enjoyed learning about the Amish lifestyle. Her books always hold my interest from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love her books. Good series

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deee
Location:Bradenton, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited a long time for book 3 to come out, but it didn't disappoint. It is well worth it. All three books in the series are page turners!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nicely Done!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes you can't imagine how a character will find resolution to the problems they are facing in a story. Things are so bad for Hen and Brandon that you can't imagine things can work out for them.
Isn't that just how life is too? Things go wrong and wrong and wrong and you stay on your knees hoping for a reprieve. Finally, somehow, God works it all out ... even without your help most of the time.
I thought this book conjured hope for the hopeless situations out there and set a great example for working things out in a marriage; something so few even attempt to do these days.
Nice wrap up to the series. I think this author does a great job of changing her stories while keeping them in the Amish genre so many of us really enjoy. Looking forward to exploring Hickory Hollow in 2012!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A little disappointed!

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really have enjoyed this entire series by Beverly Lewis, but I have to say I was a little disappointed with this last book! I felt like it was pretty predictable for me! Overall I enjoyed the story and I am glad that everything worked out for both sisters, but it could have a few more twists and turns to spice it up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beverly Lewis is always a wonderful writer.

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Wooster,Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nicve finish to the story. Mostly I liked the series but am getting a little tired of the same themes in the Amish books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darlene Klischer
Location:Douglasville PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend it as it is the third and final episode of this series.
I do not plan to read any more of this authors books.
They have become to predictible and all follow the same trend.
There are many authors of various styles writing about the Amish now.
Some much better than others
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Mercy, Rose Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't wait for the next one in the series!

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This review has been written by my wonderful wife, Ann.
I thoroughly enjoyed Beverly Lewis' book "The Mercy." It is very fascinating to see into the everyday lives of the Amish. Beverly Lewis has created real life characters that draw you into the story. These characters are faced with the same kind of crises that any of us might encounter (although set in an Amish culture).
Rose longs to be a wife and a mother. Hen, her sister, longs to see God work in her marriage. Brandon and Mamm long for physical healing. Bishop Aaron Petersheim longs to be restored to his ministry. Nick longs to be a part of the Amish community he grew up in. With all these different longings of heart, how will God work? Rose stated it best: "You throw everything on the mercy, on His purpose for your life. Trusting that He knows best is the hardest part of all."
I have so many favorite characters in this story. However, the unexpected Jeb Ulrich was a highlight for me. Jeb is an unlikely vessel that God uses to carry out His plan, as well as bestow mercy on so many through the truth that is revealed.
I love the book and would highly recommend it. I was challenged in my faith to be dependent on God through prayer and being in the Word. Above all, God can be trusted no matter what happens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.