Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition

Bethany House The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition

The King James Version has been trusted by Christians for generations. Today it's the center of a debate where critics charge that contemporary translations have changed essential Christian doctrines. In this revised edition of his noteworthy book, James White refutes the claims of those who believe the KJV is the only true translation of the Bible. In addition, White explores the differences between the NIV, NASB, and other translations while addressing some of the complex issues surrounding textual criticism. Sound reading for anyone engaged in, or intrigued by, the "King James Only" controversy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Review 1 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

King James Only Controversy

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larry
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a real eye-opener and a breath of fresh air. It's very well thought out and not a difficult read at all. After doing battle with the King James Only people , I really appreciate the positive reviews here. I do understand that not everyone agrees with James White and that's fine but to be attacked because I read not only the KJV but also the NKJV, NIV and NLT just doesn't make sense to me. There is a lot of anger and hostility in the KJV only camp. As Mr. White states, Christians led a pretty enjoyable life in the 1500 years before the KJV was published. I wonder if the KJV people were attacked when that Bible came out? Anyway, I highly recommend this book, even if your a KJV person. God Bless!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book, well done. A good read.

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
busdriver72
Location:Texas
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some have commented that they don't like how the author makes claims about those in the "KJV-only" camp, but one must not ignore that the criticism toward them has been largely deserved by them. He does not engage in name-calling nor hateful language...he simply states what he has seen, heard and experienced. One must also not ignore the horrible condemnations and criticsm that he has gotten from them because he disagrees with them. He is far more courteous and polite than they are. While he is able to back up his case with facts, the KJV-only camp will usually resort to name-calling and claims of secret conspiracies. He also presents his case very well. He doesn't argue against the 1611 KJV...he is pro-KJV...just not KJV "only." He presents things from history that are plain and self-evident...things that can be discovered by anyone willing to take the time and actually take a look for themselves. The end result is a new appreciation for the Bible and the sacrifices and work it took for us to have an English translation so that even a "plowboy" can understand it.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

REVISED

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
GADHOUSER
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please notice this is revised and really it needs to be revised again.
-17points
1of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excelent Work

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Forgiven
Location:Western NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book presents both sides and is very helpful in the personal resolution of this issue. I gave one to my friend too!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
David Wise
Location:berwick pa
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Even if one doesn't agree with White's support for the Alexandrian N.T. manuscripts over the "traditional" Byzantine, the book is a wonderful tool to educate people on how we got the Bible. I used to be very sympathetic to the KJV only position but it was merely because of a lack of knowledge. White lays the foundation of the Hebrew and Greek being inspired and not our English translations. This is crucial . . . so much good stuff in this book and written in a very gracious spirit.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative reading.

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
polarbear599
Location:Glen Rock, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mr. White is both knowledgeable and reasonable in his presentation. Information is precise in detail and presented in an
easy to understand format.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Conclusive study and resourced

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ronald Lynden
Location:Las Vegas NV.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The "Old King James" controversy has been around the 5 some odd decades I've been alive. My Grandmother and Grandfather were of two different "denominations" so I had access to the Gideon as well as the KJV. Since than I've read at least 15 or more "versions" of the Word. None differ from the mainstream content, which is simple message of salvation and knowing who our Father truly is. There is no one version you should be "Tied by." Better to understand a newer translation that never read it for lack of understanding. The Apostles original message was by most accounts spoken not read; as most couldn't read. The first day 3000 gave up themselves to the Lord, without any King James, scripture numbers; or chapters. Ancient Greek as well as Hebrew were often written without break, line; nor periods; without exclamation points and it thrived. If any Book or version of the Word brings you to the Feet of Jesus; the inspired writer has performed good works in the Name of the Lord. Period. It is than, and only then, you can reproof and rebuke the scriptures. After all, if it were only the King James the need for apologetics and dogmatism would have ceased to exist. . . .Buy the book and share with a friend, you'll be glad you did. . . . Rev. Ron
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
I found this book to be very informative and educational. Having no knowledge of the KJV Only controversy before reading the book, I became very informed very quickly. I found the first few chapters to be especially interesting, insightful, full of information, and helpful. I learned about text types, variants, manuscripts, etc. There is a history, of sorts, of the Scriptures in this book that I imagine many people (even Christians) are unaware of. I thought that Mr. White did a good job of informing the reader of the basics of what he was discussing so that even those of us who know nothing of Greek or Hebrew could understand his points and explanations. The book enlightened me about the issues of translation that arise in all versions of the Bible, whether KJV, NIV, NASB, RSV, or any other version. It really is amazing that there are those who would stake their whole Christian walk on one version of the Bible so blindly. I was glad to have the opportunity to review this book and be informed about so many aspects of God's Word that I never knew about before. I highly recommend this book for those who want to learn more about this issue and Bible translation in general. The book is somewhat tedious to get through at points for the uneducated, but overall I found it very intriguing and, as I've said, educational. I feel that the Bible version you choose to read is your own personal choice between you and your Savior, and I also think that this book is a good jumping off point for those who want a more in-depth knowledge and understanding of Bible versions in a very general sense.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marlene Fitzgerald
It is a very good book. I have enjoyed reading it. I have to really study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Saville
I found this book to be very informative. He exposes the methods used by "King James Only" people which are not always honest in order to support the King James Bible. The grand irony is, as he points out, the King James Bible was well translated and misquoting authorities and other methods are not ncessary in order to support it, it only makes the King James Only writer look less than honest.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annmarie
I have been following the King James Controversy for sometime. I have not been convinced that a certain version is superior to another. While I do prefer reading one version, like others, I often read several version of a verse or chapter to see it from a different perspective. It is better for the bible to be read and understood then for a translation to sit on a shelf unread because the person finds the language archaic.Mr. White does an excellent job of presenting the position of the KJV only group and refuting their objections to other translations without being derogatory to anyone. He gives suggestions on how to choose what version is best for you. If you enjoy the KJV he does recommend you stay with it. He does, however, explain that he is a conservative and does not recommend every bible version out there. I find him sincere in his quest to present his information truthfully. Information is stated clearly and lay people will be able to understand this book. Part two of the book includes an advanced chapter for those familiar with Koine Greek and want a deeper discussion of this topic.Mr. White uses charts and many scriptural comparisons to state his arguments clearly. He also includes a chapter on problems with King James Version translation as no bible scholar know matter how hard they try, is infallible. The history of the bible translations also makes this a very interesting read. This would also be an excellent book for those doing bible translating.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristen H.
The King James Only Controversey gives background information explaining the various beliefs of those who are a part of the "King James Only" movement. It provides an excellent exposition for the lay person of both the process of translating the Bible from the Greek text, and the process of compiling the Greek text from various manuscripts. The author methodically details the translational differences between the King James and other versions of the Bible, explaining the reasons for different word choices. Also included is a detailed examination of the differences between the Greek texts used to translate the King James version, and those texts used for modern translations.I found this book enlightening in several different ways. First, though I was familiar with the fact that some people believed that the KJV was the best translation and chose to use it exclusively for their study and preaching, I did not know that some of those who are King James Only believe that the modern translations were intentionally corrupted by translators who did not believe in the deity of Christ. The book provides evidence to the contrary, showing that the translators had no such desire. In fact the modern translations do not diminish Christ's deity, but in some places actually give testimony to His deity where it is lacking in the King James version. In addition, I learned about the methods used to determine the inspired words from the various Greek manuscripts.I would recommend this book to anyone who is seeking to understand how our versions of the Bible came to be. It is also a valuable resource for Christians on both sides of the King James Only Controversy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The King James Only Controversy, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul ThinkingOutLoud
When James White first released The King James Only Controversy in 1995, he probably never figured there would be a need for him to be releasing an updated edition in 2009.My take on this book differs from others in that I see the book as having value beyond its stated subject. It's a great window in the Bible translation process and it's also an excellent study on key scriptures, many of which are taught on as they appear in the KJV. So you don't have to have a friend or co-worker who is KJV-Only to appreciate exhaustive study that went into producing the original work and this updated edition. (Counting two complete reads of the first, this marked my third trek through this title!)<br /><br />Although the average layperson may be intimidated by Greek and Hebrew words, most of the book can be appreciated without formal theological training; though there may be times when one needs to simply pause to take in the finer nuances of the various translation comparisons. White himself is very balanced and fair in this treatment, admitting that sometimes the KJV serves us well, but pointing out where more recent translations have provided us with greater clarity. He resists the urge to retaliate against the KJV, though later on devotes a shorter chapter to some familiar KJV passages which are cause for concern. He focuses on the larger message of a passage, thereby avoiding the danger of getting hung up on phrases isolated by verse numbers.<br /><br />The new edition mentions newer translations -- particularly the ESV -- and the update also cites many online sources in the expanded footnotes. It also references the challenges to the Bible's authority that have come from the intellectualism of groups like The Jesus Seminar or the fiction of books and movies like The DaVinci Code. While the book is clearly not for everyone, those drawn to this topic will be well-rewarded.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.