Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Vigilante

Bethany House Vigilante

Nolan Gray is an elite soldier, skilled in all forms of combat. After years fighting on foreign battlefields, witnessing unspeakable evils and atrocities firsthand, a world-weary Nolan returns home to find it just as corrupt as the war zones. Everywhere he looks, there's pain and cruelty. Society is being destroyed by wicked men who don't care who they make suffer or destroy.

Nolan decides to do what no one else can, what no one has ever attempted. He will defend the helpless. He will tear down the wicked. He will wage a one-man war on the heart of man, and he won't stop until the world is the way it should be.

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vigilante
Review 1 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vigilante is Robin Parrish at his best. The story centers around war veteran named Nolan Gray. When evil begins to spread out of control, Nolan can no longer sit by and watch while innocent people suffer. Known only as "The Hand" and aided by two trusted friends, he begins his crusade to bring the bad guys down while giving hope back to the people of NYC.
The book is set in the future, (but not so far into the distant future, I think) and blends a superhero element with a human element. While we get to understand the basic technology that give's Nolan his "superpowers", such as the ability to swing from building to building like spiderman, or the ability to deflect gunfire like superman, and all of the gadgets that Batman is known for, at the end of the day he is just a normal human.
I truly liked Nolan. He was a man who tried to follow what he thought was God's plan for his life. He didn't always make to right or best choices, because humans rarely do, but he (and please excuse the pun) soldiered on. He is man hoping to make a difference in the world in which he lives, to inspire people to step up and help their neighbors. Here is a character that I believe everyone could relate to on some level.
I could have done without the scenes where our villain disposes of his enemies, ( to descriptive for me). The story line was fresh well written. I think that anyone looking for something different would like this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting characters and premise.

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
lukeandlibby
Location:Prescott, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The United States is struggling against crime lords and corruption that is ruining everything that is good. A highly decorated soldier who survived brutal conditions as a POW is ready to show the country "a better way". The Vigilanty is a story of good vs evil. The plot is interesting and kept me turning pages with anticipation to see who would be victorious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought Provoking

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Robin Parrish always writes stories with interesting premises (though there is one in particular that I did not appreciate), so I was excited to read his latest – Vigilante. Once again, Parrish certainly doesn’t disappointed with a cookie-cutter plot or one that has been rehashed too many times in Christian fiction circles.
Instead he delves straight into the action with a military hero – Nolan Gray – who stages his own death and sets up his own hidden, secret underground lair that he sets out to use to not only enforce his views of justice and righteousness. He also uses this base and his support personnel to wage carefully planned publicity aimed to stir up the general populace to set things aright in a society gone wrong.
With plenty of super-hero action, high-tech gear, and intrigue, Parrish also manages to add just the lightest hint of romantic interest without it being inappropriate or taking over the storyline. While the story may not provide an open and shut case for any specific position, it does encourage readers to ponder questions of justice, revenge, punishment, and others.
Like quite a few of Parrish’s offerings Vigilante makes a great read for men and anyone who enjoys high-action reads. While holding to the clean writing style of Christian fiction and encouraging readers to think about God, it never bogs down in overt sentimentality or the strongly romantic themes that can often be prominent in the Christian marketplace in general.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I did not enjoy this book.

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Dowling
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found it strange, far fetched. I read part of it, decided I was through. Later I read the end and then skimmed the rest of it.
For a Christian novel, I could find nothing inspiring or satisfying in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Make it into a movie!

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Sometimes you read and book and the whole way through you are just thinking - "Has anyone in Hollywood picked this up to make a movie out of it yet???" Vigilante is one of those books! The entire time I was reading it I felt like I was in the middle of an action hero movie - fast paced, unique characters, evil bad guys, good guys getting misled on their journey and finding their way back. So many twists and turns and some unexpected demises. I actually cried at a couple parts and got mad toward the end when the author made the right choice but I didn't like it (the sign of a good author, not taking the easy way out). This book is so worth moving to the top of your must read pile. I really enjoyed it and hope that maybe the Vigilante comes back for more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Robin Parrish Creates a Unique Read!

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Normally, I don’t read the type of stories Robin Parrish writes. But thinking I’d try something a bit different—I normally read Inspirational Regency Romance—I chose “Vigilante”.
I must admit, this book makes me wish Hollywood would make it into a film. I’d truly like to see this story play out on screen. And goodness! Which star would assume the role of the hero, Nolan Gray? Now there’s a thought-provoking question.
After suffering unimaginably in his past, the hero, Nolan Gray, determines to defend the defenseless in a world run amuck with evil. I see Nolan’s need to defend the helpless as an admirable quality. And for that quality alone, I liked Nolan Gray. But how can a mere mortal being defeat evil? Such a task would require superhuman strength and capabilities. In transforming himself into the Vigilante Nolan Gray does just that! But does he go too far? How can a man take on the superior nature of God?
Heavy with the dark reality of crime, in a story world filled with evil, this book is not a light read. But it is a good read. Will Nolan Gray overcome evil? Or is that a job for God alone? Read the book and learn for yourself what becomes of Nolan Gray and his faithful team of superhero creators.
In Vigilante, Robin Parrish weaves a good story with lots of action and finely-developed characters. I give Vigilante two thumbs up. Great job, Mr. Parrish!
I received this book free from the Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great action book

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great action book. Nolan Gray is a Christian man who wants to make the world a better place by doing good. He is well trained in many martial arts which he learned in the armed services. He is not afraid to live his Christian beliefs. He has friends who have made him a special suit which give him the ability fling an attachment to walls or ceilings then zip up to them in seconds which allows him to move quickly to where ever he needs to go. He also has special shoes that allow him to run faster. He also has a building which has all the high tech materials he needs so that his friends can moniter the city and send him where he can help the most. Like Superman he has enemies who plot to bring him down. This is a book that young boys and men I think would love. Parrish writes a good action book and shows how "There is a better way".
I would recommend this book. I read it in a weekend. I couldn't put it down.
I recieved this book free for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vigilante by Robin Parrish

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am generally a reader of Christian chick-lit, but every once in a while a girl needs something a bit different. For a while now, Robin Parrish has been an author that I like to read when it’s time for that something different. While I liked Offworld and Nightmare better than Vigilante, this was still quite a terrific read. Offworld and Nightmare are very different books than Vigilante in that they are more supernatural and Vigilante is more superhero, a difference I respected and kept in mind while reading. I prefer to keep my reviews based on the book I am reading rather than comparing to previous books. I like authors who write books that stand on their own rather than feeling like the same book recycled. Robin Parrish’s imagination keeps his books interesting and unique, which is the biggest reason I consider myself a fan and loyal reader of his.
I read some other reviews of Vigilante that compare Nolan Gray to Superman or Batman. I can see that for sure, but I also saw a little bit of Jack Bauer and perhaps a bit of John Galt and maybe Robert Hawkins too. Those are the “superheros” I relate to more readily than Superman or Batman. That is what I loved about this book. Each reader, I’m sure, is able to have his or her own unique experience. Aside from that, this book moves very fast and is never boring or slow. It also provides a practical, spiritual message that fits very well into this world we are living in right now. Those things and Robin’s writing and vivid imagination are what keep me coming back for more. So, I hope Robin is busy on his next book because I am definitely going to be looking forward to seeing what he comes up with next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good solid book

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Millard
Location:Oregon
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nolan Grey: tortured prisoner of war, national war hero, impassioned for cultural change, one of the deadliest killers the military has ever produced.
These aren’t exactly the ingredients expected for run-of-the-mill Christian fiction, then again, Vigilante by Robin Parrish, isn’t run-of-the-mill.
In a society drenched in drugs, violence, and commercial grade evil, Nolan Grey goes AWOL from a heroes’ life to make a difference. Fighting crime under the moniker “The Hand”, Nolan appears around New York City and fights for righteousness.(For a complete synopsis see the author's site here: http://www.robinparrish.com/books/vigilante/)
I was very impressed with the moral writing quality found in this book by Mr. Parrish. Instead of soaking his readers in depraved situations to enforce this broken picture of society, he showed the sewer with refraining from giving a guided tour. By the way he handled it's content I felt respected as a reader and as a Christian in my reading of this book Major kuddos!
Vigilante lacks nothing in the category of a main character; Nolan Grey is interesting, compelling, and has plenty of the cool-factor to go around. Nolan is also character you can immediately identify with and he bonded readily to this reader.
The sidekick characters in Vigilante are comprised of an old wartime commander, a young gadget-and-brains wizard, and a woman named Alice, whom Nolan rescues at the start of his crusade.
Vigilante had a lot of things going for it, and still does. My solitary complaint against the book was the sometimes not-so-subtle information dumps and “telling” writing style of the book. I would have much preferred a more “shown” picture of a character’s background or reaction, rather than having it tossed on me in a paragraph.
I refuse to give away the ending of this worthwhile read, but I will say this: the ending drove me to reconsider the story and to probe the plot with my own viewpoint and measure that against the written ending.
Well done Mr. Parrish! Best of luck in your future endeavors.
This book will definitely go on my list of recommendations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Concept

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ldgermany
Location:Ridgeland, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not good at reading books like this. I am just going to admit it right now. Sci-fi is just NOT my thing! However, to be fair I thought I should sit down and read something out of my normal genre because (1) it was the only way to do the review and (2) that is the only way to stretch yourself in reading. Who knows when you may happen upon a new type of book or author?
Robin Parrish is an amazing writer. This book is one that my boys will definitely LOVE to read because it has such a super-hero feel to it. How else do you explain it when your main character is called "The Hand"? Only "The Hand" isn't fighting Batman characters like The Joker, but he is fighting drug lords and even the President of the United States.
This book can be very intense and even borders on graphic at moments so I definitely would recommend this book for a mature teen and adult. However, I am sure compared to a lot of the video games that some teens play the violence portrayed might seem mild.
Vigilante has all the right action for future movie possibilities, and with the above endorsement from the Grey's Anatomy producer, it seems Parrish might have some of the right connections. If they do make it into a movie, I hope they get Terri Serpico to play the role of "The Hand". That is who I pictured as I was reading the book so obviously he seems to be the perfect choice to me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vigilante
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful story about a Christian superhero

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vigilante by Robin Parrish is a thought-provoking look at just how far a man can be pushed. Nolan Gray earned a reputation as America's hero after his actions while a captured soldier helped bring his men home. It was Nolan's faith in God that carried him through the incredibly dark time, and in the end, he and friend Thornton Hastings made a vow to each other that when they got home they would try to fix what was broken in the world. In the years since they made that promise, Thornton has gone on to become president, but the American has continued to devolve into a violent, crime-ridden place. New York City is the epicenter of the violence, and it is there that Nolan has decided to take a stand. After faking his own death, Nolan has taken on the persona of a masked crime fighter, with the specialized tools of friend Arjay, he appears almost superhuman. The country becomes entranced by the Hand's fight against crime, but crime boss Yuri Vasko has marked the Hand as his nemesis when he believes that Nolan has murdered his wife and daughter. The stories of these two driven men: Nolan to bring justice to the world and Yuri to bring justice to the death of his family will bring the city of New York to its knees and maybe, just maybe, change it forever. Think Batman with his nifty gadgets and tortured personality against the Kingpin (yes, I know they are two different universes!) with his wealth, power over New York, and the fear he inspires. Nolan is a bit of an enigma with his brutal past and dark secrets, but Parrish has made him more than a cardboard cut-out tough guy. Nolan agonizes over whether his choices are right, and his relationship with Alice becomes an opportunity to peek at his soul. Parrish includes newspaper articles and transcripts of TV and radio conversations that bring up vital questions about how Christians are to respond to violence: with the OT view of an eye for an eye, or with the NT view of turn the other cheek. Parrish gives both arguments merit and allows readers to make their own decisions. Parrish's stories always begin with a "what if" premise that he carries out with a fresh and unique world view. His stories are never cliched or predictable. I do feel however, that this novel doesn't have the ending he originally wrote. The climactic scene is shocking in the questions it raises about whether the ends justify the means and how far can a good man go, but then he pulls back just a bit, and it feels awkward. I'm curious to see if a sequel is in the works, which would explain the strained resolution. I wouldn't mind a sequel to follow up on Coral, Nolan, Thornton and Arjay. I look forward to see whatever Parrish produces next; he's one of the freshest and brightest voices in Christian fiction today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vigilante
This review is fromVigilante - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jmaloha
Location:Honolulu, hawaii
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin Parrish does it again. Vigilante is a fast paced, action packed, hang on to the edge of your seat read. Keep them coming my friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.