Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1

Bethany House A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1

Eighteen-year-old Astrid Bjorklund has always dreamed of becoming a doctor. She had intended to study medicine in Chicago or Grand Forks, but when a disaster wiped out a major portion of her family's income, Astrid stayed home instead, receiving hands-on training from Dr. Elizabeth.

Joshua Landsverk left Blessing two years ago, but he's never forgotten Astrid. Returning to town, he seeks to court her. Astrid is attracted to him, and when the opportunity unexpectedly opens for her to go to Chicago for medical training, she finds it difficult to leave. Love blossoms through their letters, but upon arriving back home, she makes a heartbreaking discovery. Will she have to give up love to pursue her dream?

Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Review 1 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
This review is fromMeasure of Mercy, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great and inspiring story!

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elaine
Location:La Pine, OR.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the story and didn't want to put it down. Kept my interest all the way through! Would like to read others she has written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
This review is fromMeasure of Mercy, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trypanosomiasis
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lauraine Snelling books are always good, but i like it better to read a "real" book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
This review is fromMeasure of Mercy, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
radiant
Location:New York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The storyline and content was good but there was no finality at the end to the story....i know it's a series but I still expected some kind of ending to the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
This review is fromMeasure of Mercy, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Read

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evelyn F
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first time reading a book by Lauraine Snelling, and I actually enjoyed it. When I read reviews about it, some people said that it was hard to understand w/o having read the previous series about blessing, but I don't completely agree. Yes, there were tons of characters, I had to stop sometimes to think who's the uncle, son, dad, grandad, etc. I guess the author talked about them on previous books, but after getting it straight who was who I understood everything pretty well. I'm not sure that I'm pleased with the ending, but I guess I'll need to read the next book so it can make more sense.
I was able to identify a little bit with the main female, specially when she had to make decisions that will affect her future and knowing that's what God wanted for her.
I wouldn't say this is a master piece, but it was an enjoyable one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
This review is fromMeasure of Mercy, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very intruguing and thoughtful book. I wish the

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evie
Location:Washington State
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the continuation of another Series. I was delighted in finding the next era. I was diappointed that it did not end but continued on into the next book which is not available in e-book form.
the story line follows many of the struggles we all have in real life. A delightful story and believable story-so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
This review is fromMeasure of Mercy, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Refreshing, interesting, heart-warming

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As soon as I saw this offering in ebooks, I ordered, as I have always enjoyed this series by Lauraine Snelling. Her writings are refreshing stories of the innate goodness of the open-hearted pioneers of the mid-west! In addition, the introduction of American women into the field of medicine is fascinating. Snelling always has a good mix of adventure, uncertainty, love and faith--with an emphasis on faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE BLESSINGS

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
susie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all the books written by Lorraine Snelling from the first one before Blessing was even named. Have the complete set plus several series since then. I love following a familythrough the years and was happy when I ran across the Home of Blessing series and am on book 2 of that series. Just as interesting as the earlier books. iggit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Measure of Mercy by Lauraine Snelling

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
sandypath
Location:U.S.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of Lauraine Snellings since someone gave me a copy of Sophie's Dilemma some time ago. I ended up starting from the beginning and have now read a total of eight of the same author's books!
I read the Red River set and the above mentioned book and the latest is the present review.
This book did not disappoint and I found myself wanting to read more and I hope to eventually read every one I can.
A Measure of Mercy starts out on the growing community called Blessing set in North Dakota in 1903. The characters from past books are blended in but one can read this book easily even if it is a first read in any of the series.
Astrid Bjorklund is eighteen and studying to be a doctor and faces many life forming decisions. The book chronicles her thinking process as well as her medical practice and perspectives and plots from many other characters keeps the reader busy.
My favorite part is reading about the many meals prepared, work done each day and relationships lived out. The best part though is the biblical truths penned so smoothly in and not preached or lectured on.
Great book!
Bethany House publishers sent me this book at my request and at no charge and I agreed to review it after reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
**I just wanted to say to Amanda & Patricia who posted below, I know you only read this book late in the series but as I died hard book lover, go back and get the first book of this series or better yet go back to book one of all of this series!! You will NOT be disappointed! Another reader gave me this exact advise about 2 years ago and I did it and WOW what and adventure you will go on. From then on I have passed on every book from L. Snelling to anyone I can & no I am not paid to read her or anyone else's books. Its just that her books are THAT great. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book but you need to know the Blessing story

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Sturgis, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Without being familiar to the Blessing series I felt a little bit lost reading this book by Laurine Snelling. There were a lot of missing pieces to this book which would have been filled in had I read more of the series. That being said, I did find myself enjoying the story of Astrid Bjorklund and her adventure traveling to Chicago for formal training as a doctor. The side stories about Joshua Landsverk and the town of Blessing were intriguing as well. I would recommend future readers of this book read the books written previously about the town of Blessing first. In the right order, this book would be excellent. I plan to read more in this series to find out the rest of the story about Astrid and Joshua. I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Astrid Bjorklund knows she wants to be a doctor, and she has all the love and support she could want from her close nit family, including her sister in law who is already an accomplished physician in their growing town. The plan is set, Astrid will attend medical school in Chicago and then return to Blessing, North Dakota to open a new hospital with Elizabeth. But when a particularly difficult case goes wrong, Astrid begins to question whether she is cut out for the medical world. When a guest speaker comes to their church service, Astrid feels herself compelled toward a future she never expected. How can she consider going to Africa when she can't even imagine going to Chicago?Snelling's novel starts out at a quick pace and keeps the reader interested. The story is centered on Astrid, but includes the usual characters from Blessing that I'm sure readers of the books have come to know. Unfortunately, it felt like as a reader I was only getting the surface of each character. This could be a result of not having read any other books from the same group. As for the overall plot, it is only book one and so nothing can be summed up completely. There are some satisfying conclusions, but a lot left open. It is possible to get through the novel without having read any other books from Snelling's Red River Valley. However, I did feel bogged down and confused at times. The family tree at the front of the book was helpful, but stories, occurrences, and relationships were often referred to without explanation. Overall, this new installment to the Red River Valley stories is a good start to what will be an exciting new direction for the new generation of Bjorklund girls. The story is interesting and the characters are entertaining. *book provided to the reviewer by Bethany House Publishing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
bonnie leon
This gentle, moving tale about the Bjorklund family, the town of Blessing and Astrid Bjorklund captivated me right from the beginning. Once I started reading I couldn't wait to get back to the story. I'm so glad that I have book two on hand because I've got to find out what doctor Astrid Bjorklund decides to do with her gift of healing. Will she go to Africa or return to Blessing and Joshua Landsverk?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
The story is set in North Dakota in the early 1900s. Astrid Bjorkland is studying medicine under her sister-in-law Dr. Elizabeth Bjorkland. Elizabeth wants her to further her studies in a medical school in Chicago. Astrid is scared to leaving her small and safe town of Blessings. This becomes an increasing hard decision when Joshua, a man she once knew returns to town, and they have feelings for each other. Astrid reluctantly leaves for Chicago. She is very unsure of the direction that God has for her life. A missionary from Africa tries to persuade her to go Africa where medical training is so desperately needed. When she doesnt hear from Joshua except for one letter and is told by her sister that is has left town, she decides to go to Africa. The book leaves us with her heading to Africa but does she really go? Is she making the right decision or just being influenced by what other people think? I received a copy of this book free from BethanyHouse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal
What an interesting book! We begin the book in the town of Blessing, where we join eighteen year old Astrid Bjorklund on her quest to become a doctor and serve in her little town in North Dakota. Astrid is reluctant to go to Chicago to further her studies. She loves her community and doesn't want to leave her friends and family so far behind. Astrid's decision is further confused by the arrival of a missionary to Africa who speaks to their church about the desperate need for doctors there. And then to further complicate matters, handsome Joshua Landsverk has returned to Blessing. Where does her future lie? What direction will Astrid chose? You will have to read to find out! I have never had the pleasure of reading a Lauraine Snelling book before. I am so glad I did! This story, the first part of the new "Home to Blessing" series is definitely worth a read. As the series shows, we are going back to a place that the author has already created, to characters that are well developed. I was a bit lost at first, but curiosity encouraged me to read the first book in the Red River of the North series, and now I am really hooked! The author has created characters that are so vibrant and real! I await the next book in the Home to Blessing series with great anticipation.I would like to thank Bethany House for the opportunity to review their books and for the free copy I received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sally Leath
My mother grabbed this up as soon as it arrived and has been reading it every day since. I am sure she will begin book #2 as soon as she completes this one. Must be good. I will share it with my daughters, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Astrid Bjorklund has always wanted to be a doctor, that is, until a really bad day causes her to think twice. Add to that Joshua Landsverk has returned to Blessing, North Dakota after a two year absence with plans to court Astrid. But Astrid has an opportunity to continue her medical studies in Chicago and a medical missionary comes to town and wants Astrid to join him on his mission work in Africa. All these confusing choices cause Astrid to make some very difficult decisions.A Measure of Mercy was one of those books that I just did not want to end. I am very surprised how much I enjoyed reading this book. Astrid was a very easy to like character whose life is at a crossroads. I really liked seeing what the medical system was like back in the early 1900s. Its hard to believe that an eighteen year old could be a doctor and perform surgeries with such skill. I think the author did a really good job with this book. There was just enough tension to keep the book interesting, but I also found this to be a very relaxing read. I really like books like that. The characters were all likeable and the setting was peaceful with a strong sense of community. I think I am going to really enjoy reading more books by Lauraine Snelling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Salema Grant
I love the continuing story of the people of Blessing. The book is filled with the goodness and the trusting of having God lead you in your daily life. The author has written a wonderful series I won't like to see end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandi Jasso
Lauraine has written an entire book just to serve as the introduction to this new series. Not the norm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky Frank
I love this author, I love her books, love the series, can't wait for the next one to come in the mail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Measure of Mercy, Home to Blessing Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janice Mccrimmon
Excellent book. Well written and the characters really come alive. It will keep you guessing how it will end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.