Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books Surrender the Dawn - eBook

Barbour Books Surrender the Dawn - eBook

During the War of 1812, Cassandra Channing will do anything to provide for her family---even if it means hiring rogue Luke Heaton to bring them supplies. But he's being blackmailed by the British into outfitting their ships. When the bombing of Fort McHenry begins, can Luke and Cassandra protect all they cherish?
Average Customer Rating:
4.879 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 33100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Review 1 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Finale!

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
DanielleJ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good book. I am glad that it incorporated all the characters from the series! The characters were fantastic! Luke and Cassandra came from different worlds but there goals were really the same. The way the history of the war of 1812 was played out in this book really made it come alive. The drama and suspense were palpable! I love how MaryLu Tyndall takes a story and make it so intriguing that you can't put the book down because you want to know what will happen next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another terrific Tyndall novel!

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacey
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
M.L. Tyndall’s “Surrender the Dawn” is a wonderful read filled with lots of seafaring action, suspense and intrigue, romance and the struggle to believe in God because of tragedy. Cassandra is trying to provide for her family: her mother and two sisters. Taking their last bit of money, she wants to invest in a privateer but no one will take on a woman investor. Luke Heaton just won a ship gambling. It is a broken-down vessel that needs lots of work and he has no money to fix her up or he would endeavor to become a privateer. Destiny brings these two together and it seems to be a perfect business arrangement.
Cassandra has a difficult time trusting Luke because he is a drunk, a gambler and a womanizer. She is also wounded spiritually by her father’s death. But Luke actually makes strides in changing his ways and has some success as a privateer. And it doesn’t hurt that her heart flutters whenever she sees him or hears his name. So, when her money is stolen, Luke saves the day once again, endearing himself even further.
Luke, on the other hand, feels that he is worthless. He feels responsible for his parents’ deaths. He believes that he is so far beneath Cassandra that he shouldn’t even entertain thoughts of a future with her. But he can’t get her out of his mind. When his circumstances change for the worst, he struggles mentally, emotionally and spiritually.
Will both come to terms with the fact that their struggles should bring them closer to God? I absolutely loved how this story is intertwined with the previous novel in the series. Although this can be read as a standalone novel, it is more enjoyable when you already know the supporting characters. Also, the dramatization of the inspiration for the Star Spangled Banner brought tears to my eyes. The plot led me to discover deeper ideas that I used in prayer as well. So, I am praying that Jesus will continue to give M.L. Tyndall ideas for books and that her writing will reach people for Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Location:NH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Surrender the Dawn is the third book in the Surrender to Destiny series.
Cassandra Channing has been driven by desperation to hire a privateer with the last of her family's money. Luke Heaton is the "town rogue" but deep down he is a good man. Cassandra ends up hiring Luke as a privateer. But the British do everything to stop Luke from succeeding. Cassandra starts to fall for Luke, and Luke has always admired Cassandra.
This book is amazing. I've read it twice. Some things I missed the first time, which actually had me confused. This book, and the second book in the series, happen at the same time. Also, I don't know who the woman on the cover is, but it's not Cassandra Channing. Cassandra has RED hair. Anyway, if you read any of MaryLu's books, this is the one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Pleasure!

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassandra Channing has known affluence and comfort, both of which are rapidly slipping away. When she is refused the opportunity to invest in a privateer, and what she feels is her last chance to obtain a return on her money (and support for her widowed mother and her siblings) she turns to the town rake. Cassandra resists God's pull at her heart, angry that she has been loaded with burdens that are not of her own making.
Luke Heaton struggles with a desire to prove himself worthy as he also tries to kick his reliance upon alcohol to solve his troubles. He has provided for his younger brother and refuses to give God the credit for any of his successes. But an error in judgment endangers those he holds most dear.
Against the backdrop of the War of 1812, these two all-too-human characters find that they must surrender to God and His will for their lives before their love can be realized.
Luke is a very appealing hero. I loved his dry wit. This may be MaryLu's best hero yet (once he kicked his bad habits!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Would highly recommend!

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daisy
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryLu Tyndall is one of my favorite authors to read! I have read all her books. And have enjoyed each one. She does not let us down in her current book, Surrender the Dawn.
Surrender the Dawn is the third book in her Surrender to Destiny series. It takes place in 1814 and revolves around the lives of Cassandra Channing and Luke Heaton. Cassandra is trying to find ways to support her mother and sisters and does not want to be forced into marrying a man whom she does not love or admire.
Luke has a reputation of being a rogue and a deadbeat. Obviously, sparks fly whenever Cassandra and Luke are together. I really enjoyed reading this book. I love the Christian influence that weaves its way throughout the book; yet, at the same time, it does not turn you off. You truly are rooting for the main characters and the changes that they make in their lives.
A GREAT read for those cold winter nights!! Grab a cup of hot chocolate and enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessie G
Location:Post Falls, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It amazes me how authors like MaryLu Tyndall can take a small piece of history and reproduce it in such vivid and imaginative detail. The amount of research and practice that goes into a book like this must be incredible.
I enjoyed the other books in this series and couldn’t wait to get my hands on this one.
The hero had me laughing until tears came to my eyes. With his inebriated swaggering and snide comments I couldn’t help but picture Jack Sparrow. But never fear, Tyndall’s characters always learn their manners. So hang on for the ride and see how the heroine gets this handsome womanizer to sober up.
From the back cover:
Baltimore’s Cassandra Channing will do anything to provide for her family—even if it means hiring the town rogue as a privateer. Luke Heaton is a handsome rake with a tortured past who is blackmailed by the British into selling supplies to their ships just off the coast. Cassandra and Luke’s worlds collide as they are drawn into danger, secrets, romance, and war. But when the British begin to bombard Fort McHenry, how long can they protect their love—and each other?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow MaryLu has done it again folks!

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surrender the Dawn… By MaryLu Tyndall
With her father and brothers gone from home, Cassandra Channing is taking care of her family. She wants to invest her money into something reliable, but no one wants to take investments from a woman. That is until Luke Heaton comes into the picture. Luke won a ship while gambling and he needs money to restore it, but with his drinking and gambling, can he be trustworthy? Will Cassandra turn all of her money over to Luke for the ship fixer upper? And it doesn’t help matters when Cassandra and Luke start having feelings for each other as they spend time together. Read this wonderful historical story to find out these answers.
In Surrender the Dawn, MaryLu Tyndall writes another page-turning historical romance. The unique characters were so real I felt like I knew them personally. And I love that she so professionally weaves the characters from all three book together in this last book in the series. I will miss reading about these charming and fun characters.
This is my first series by MaryLu to read, and I am hooked! I love the passion she has for writing historical fiction, and the way that passion comes to life in her writing. Another thing I almost forgot is the message in her stories of the importance of living Godly lives. Of course these characters are just like people today, they struggle daily with difficult issues, causing them to turn their backs on God, but MaryLu so consciously teaches through her writing that when we let God control our lives, things are not perfect for us, but God will be there for us, carrying us through our difficulties.
I highly recommend this book to those who enjoy Christian Fiction of any kind. You will not be disappointed in either book in this series!
A huge thank you to the author MaryLu for providing me a copy of this book to read and review. I was not expected or required to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are my own honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OH, MY—SWEET SURRENDER!!

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie Lessman
Location:St. Louis
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just when I think MaryLu Tyndall cannot possibly get any better, she writes a new book, and sweet surrender, this one is simply over the top!!
Surrender the Dawn is the story of a headstrong upper-crust lady, Cassandra Channing, who butts heads and hearts with Luke Heaton, probably one of the biggest heartthrobs I’ve ever seen in Christian romance. Luke, the town rogue being blackmailed to sell out his country in the War of 1812, was such a great hero that just writing his name actually races my heart, and of course, the bewitching Miss Channing races his. With rich historical threads throughout a plot that chases your pulse, Surrender the Dawn is a love story with more sparks and fire than the rocket's red glare and bombs bursting in air during the British attack on Baltimore. An attack, by the way, witnessed in the story itself by none other than Francis Scott Key in this truly outstanding historical romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Browneyes
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book!!
I think it might have been my favorite of the series...I think all of the books were my favorite!:)
It was really interesting, I learned more about the war.(1812)
M.L. Tyndall's books are all so amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another awesome read by MaryLu!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady Katy
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love a good, swashbucklin' adventure set on the high seas! Recently, I've found a gem of an author in MaryLu Tyndall. While Surrender the Dawn doesn't spend too much time ship-side, there's still plenty of adventure, tension, and romance packed within these pages. Hold onto your hats--there are rough waters ahead! But rest assured that all will come to a beautiful and satisfying conclusion with Captain Tyndall at the helm!
Cassandra Channing was a really strong character that I grew to respect and admire. She had a pretty big independent streak in her, but if it weren't for that, her family would've suffered much more than they did. Cassandra is what held them together. After getting to know Luke Heaton in Surrender the Heart and again seeing him briefly in Surrender the Night, I was really excited when this book came out. He was a deep character that needed his own story! The things he hid so well behind a smiling face and amiable manner in Surrender the Heart were laid bare in this newest book, Surrender the Dawn. I loved watching Luke grow and change!
With realistic characters, complex situations, and heart-stopping moments, Surrender the Dawn was a very easy read for me. From the first pages, my attention was grabbed and I flew through the book. One of my favorite scenes is probably when Luke and Mr. Crane both had dinner with Cassandra and her family. Oh boy! The banter and insinuations that bounced back and forth had me laughing out loud!
Not only did the storyline and characters hold my attention, but MaryLu's writing style made it easy to get lost in the story. From the difficulty for a woman to hold a business position to the attack on Fort McHenry, she vividly brought the scenes to life and transported me back in time. And besides a few heated kisses, Luke's problem with drinking, and a comment or two of loose women in the taverns that Luke visits, there is nothing I need warn readers about!
For those who have read the first two in this series, Surrender the Dawn is a wonderful and satisfying conclusion. Though it is kind of sad to say goodbye to this fun cast of characters! I am really looking forward to reading more of MaryLu's wonderful adventures in the near future.
I reviewed this book for the publishers, Barbour Books. It was not required that I give a positive review, but solely to express my own thoughts and opinions of this book, which I have done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Have A Destiny!

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lil Coop
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally read the last book in "Surrender to Destiny" series "Surrender the Dawn", MaryLu Tyndall has brought this book to a fantastic thrilling end! Cassandra Channing, a determined woman, who tries to find a way to support her family without marriage, though finds it extremely hard for a woman as herself to hire a privateer, to only finds herself she hires the town rogue. Luke Heaton, the town rogue, who spends his time drinking and gambling, because he carries around an enormous guilt from his past which feeds into his insecurities and traps him in a cycle of uneasiness, that is until Cassandra walks into his life.
Reading through "Surrender the Dawn" this books showed me between two characters how one did not believe anymore that God existed and with the other that God basically left like a few other family members left. Luke has grown up through life with nothing going right for him. His parent's died by Indians burning their home down of who they ministered to, though him and his younger brother made it out of the home. Now tending to his brother who has a disease called Rickets, which crippled the boy. Luke doesn't blame God for all that has happen, just can't believe He exists in a world he is living. Cassandra has grew up in a family where her parents were unhappy in their marriage leaving her to run wild as she pleased. She became independent with a hint of temper and rebellion within herself. When her father now long dead and her brothers off fighting in a war, she felt it was her duty to take care of her family. She starts to feel abandoned by her father and brothers, which she puts blame on God, which she feels He has left her as well. Read and see how God works through the two lives and their relationship grows. How Luke just didn't see how God could help him through his life, that you can't do things on your own strength, and with Cassandra that God never abandoned her, that she just needed to allow Him to guide her through life. Plus this book is filled with lots of action, adventure, drama, and a love story that truly made me want to keep reading more to see what happened next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Read!!!

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Broadwayphan902
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent book! It was an exciting ending to the Surrender to Destiny series. I was very excited throughout the whole story to see if Cassandra and Luke would surrender to their own destinies. I loved Cassandra's character; she was a brave fiery heroine, and Luke was an awesome character. When I read it, I noticed I was feeling the similar emotions to the characters, so I know it was beautifully written. I liked Luke's little brother a lot. I definitely couldn't wait to finish this book to see what happened to all of these exquisite characters and I COULD NOT put it down. I would certainly recommend this awesome read to all of my friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really captivating

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
princesslizzie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading and I am sitting here numb. With every book of MaryLu Tyndall's that is published, there seems to be a better story line, more defined characters, and more of a biblical pull.
Luke and Cassandra are so much like me, and everyone else our there. They have flaws, but in the end they embrace those flaws and five them to God rather than use them as a barrier to stand in between us and a relationship.
Whether the thought of someone we loved leaving, causing us to doubt in God, or our own failures staring us in the face, God shines through. We can all find forgiveness, no matter how bad our sins are. This was shown beautifully in this novel.
The romance to me seemed real, I felt the connection. The pain they felt I could feel lashing through my chest. A stunning novel, one that I will read many times over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MaryLu's best book yet!

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
sarahjmcb
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was so hard for me to put this book down to work on other things! It is definitely my favorite of all of MaryLu's books.
Set in 1814 Baltimore, this story has everything from action to romance, tavern brawls to full-on battles, sailing and plundering to attending balls and entertaining guests over dinner.
This book is the perfect conclusion to the Surrender to Destiny trilogy, as it brings together the characters from all three books, and ties up all the loose ends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Ending to Series

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tyndall had me captured with the first book in the series, Surrender the Heart. I would highly recommend reading the second book in this series because this book takes place a few months before the second book.
Set in 1814, the handsome rake Mr. Luke Heaton lost his position working for Captain Brenin and is need of funds to repair his boat. Miss Cassandra Channing needs to invest in a privateer in order to save her family from poverty. It is only natural that they both seek each other out.
They both struggle with their faith. Tyndall does a beautiful job weaving faith and history in the series.
I personal would have enjoyed even more scenes and interaction with the hero and heroine. A book I would recommend even to my young daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
ausjenny
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the final of the Surrender to Destiny series and a great final book. We are still in Baltimore during the war of 1812 and this time Cassandra is needing help to provide for her family. Her father has died and her brothers are missing after going to Canada to fight. Her mother has no concept of managing money and its left to Cassandra to find a way to provide for her family. Luke has his own demons to fight and is the town rouge. He has a ship but its needing repairs. When a encounter happens they end up partners when Cassandra hires Luke as a privateer. As mentioned in the blurb Luke ends up being blackmailed by the British and this leads to some interesting happenings. I do love this story and the way we learn about history. Cassandra is a strong, determined lady which can sometimes get her into trouble. Luke is caring a lot of guilt from something that happened when he was a child but children often find a way to blame themselves for things that are not there fault. I love how Mary Lu deals with this issue and shows why Luke feels like he does. Great read and I really wish there were going to be more in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-paced, romance---a fun read.

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christine Lindsay
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed another tender romance set on the high seas by MaryLu Tyndall. Surrender the Dawn is an excellent example of this author’s talent for telling a fast-paced and romantic tale. She always manages to fill her stories with realistically flawed characters who live and breathe and that you begin to root for from the very first page.
Cassandra Channing is a head-strong heroine who has to care for her family of younger sisters and her mother who prefers to bury her head in the sand, or in this case a bottle of laudanum. Cassandra takes a huge chance when she invests the last of their family money with a privateer sailor, Luke Heaton. She figures she has to take a chance or the family will starve.
Everyone is outraged that Cassandra would trust their few last dollars with the town rogue who has a penchant for the rum bottle. And her mother continues to push
Cassandra into the arms of a man who has the money to support them.
But things seem to be going well when Luke makes good on Cassandra’s investment. That is until he’s forced into treason against his fellow Americans in The War of Independence. The tables turn quickly and the stakes get higher.
What I love about MaryLu Tyndall’s stories is the real struggles her characters face that people face today, such as alcohol addiction in the face of great stress. I also love the families she sets her heroes and heroines in. Altogether a delightful fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Inpirational Read!

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
raegansmamma
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surrender the Night is an interesting, romantic, and historically informative read. Emotion filled and inspiring.
Great work MaryLu! She has once again come out with a great "pirate book".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tingles, Chills, Passion and Thrills!

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Location:Breesport, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chemistry as dazzling as the bombshells busting in air, and a history as rich as Baltimore's during our nation's second war for independence, this novel concludes MaryLu Tyndall's series on the War of 1812 with a fitting bang. Surrender the Dawn not only sizzles with the fire and spirit of a young nation, but also the tenderness and zeal of young love, of human longing for redemption and the divine intervention of a loving and Almighty God.
Luke Heaton hides a deeply scarred past behind a dashing and cavalier facade. Utterly charming, he manages to gain the confidence of cynical Cassandra Channing who is on a mission to save her family from poverty. She hires Luke's services as privateer, investing her family's last money in her desperation. Will the town rogue make off with her fortune, hopes and heart, or can redemption prove true and her trust, merited?
I could read this through again, just to recapture the nuance of dialogue, the wonderful historical events that show a divine orchestration, and the subtle mastery with which it is written. This book is a treasure. Indulge yourself with a copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Surrender the Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Natalie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful story for many reasons. The journey to faith was wonderfully told. It wasn’t forced, or rushed; it progressed naturally even though the characters struggled against it. This story was very well written and full of action and even a bit of intrigue. I could smell the ship, the sea and the gun smoke. I could hear the waves crashing against the hull and the bombs over Baltimore.
Besides this novel being full of rich detail, a great job was done in weaving the other two novels from the Surrender to Destiny series into Surrender the Dawn. The romance in the story was the added bonus. You'll have to read the book to find out how the town rogue can be such a true gentleman. It's a story of second chances and believing in others even when the odds are stacked against you.
With rich detail, heart-warming romance, inspiring faith, breath-holding action, and brilliant writing, this story has all you need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>