Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1

Bethany House Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1

When her father disappears in war-torn Mississippi, Hannah Dandridge finds herself responsible not only for her younger siblings but for the ranch her father recently acquired on the Texas plains. Though a marriage of convenience could ease her predicament, she determines to trust God for direction.

Wounded soldier William Barnett returns to his home only to discover that his family's ranch has been seized. Though angry and bitter at this turn of events, he's surprised to discover that it is a beautiful young woman with amazing fortitude who is struggling to keep the place running.

Hannah, desperate for help, and William, desperate to regain his family's land, form an uneasy truce. But nearby Comanche tribes, the arrival of Confederate soldiers, and a persistent suitor all threaten the growing attraction that builds between them. Will they be able to set aside their own dreams and embrace the promise of a future together?

Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
0
38 out of 4290%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Review 1 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"Chasing the Sun" by Tracie Peterson is her first in the "Land of the Lonestar" series. Set in Civil War-era Texas, the story focuses on a young woman named Hannah Dandridge. Her widowed father's disappearance leaves her young siblings in her care along with a ranch to run. William Barnett is a soldier returning after being wounded to reclaim his ranch which had been seized due to his family's loyalties in the war. Her father's law partner, Herbert Lockhart, adds intriguing complications to the story.
Overall, the characters are likeable and flushed out. Hannah's strong will and determination made her a compelling character. The compassion that she sought to demonstrate was remarkable as well. In some instances, it really took a bit of courage but the payoffs were well worth it. The story flowed well and the plot had enough twists and turns to keep it engaging. Themes of forgiveness, redemption, compassion, and love run strong in this novel.
As a big fan of Peterson's work, I was excited to pick up this book and it did not disappoint. I felt it was significantly better that her previous couple of series. I'm definitely looking forward to the next two installments of this Texas trilogy!
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Bethany House Publishers through the Book Blogger program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
This review is fromChasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charming

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
smiley
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yup, I'll read the next one in the series! It was interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
This review is fromChasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I wish there had been more spark....

Date:March 11, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When Hannah Dandridge's father came to a Texas, the Union gave him a ranch as a reward for services rendered. After his disappearance, Hannah is left to care for her younger siblings and maintain the ranch in his absence. Herbert Lockhart, Hannah's father's business partner, sympathetically offers Hannah his protection and even marriage, vowing his love for her. Meanwhile, William Barnett, original owner of the land, returns to his ranch to find it has been seized by the government and given to Hannah's family. Angered, yet drawn to Hannah's beauty and spirit, William forms a uneasy friendship with Hannah. Amid Civil War prejudices and Comanche raids, Hannah and William find themselves thrust together by outside situations, but it is the secrets of the past and questions of the future that will truly test them both.
Chasing the Sun is the first installment in the Land of the Lone Star Series by Tracie Peterson. I personally wish there had been more spark between Hannah and William. This is not to say that there wasn't conflict, tension and attraction. However, I felt their budding relationship was a little lackluster until the last two chapters of the book. The plot itself was unique and Hannah's character was well-developed. I think Peterson's writing style is just not as engaging as some other Christian author's I've read recently and therefore, I didn't enjoy the story as much as I expected. I'm aware that some people will probably love this book, but I am going to recommend renting from the library before purchasing.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Unique Beginning to a Series

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chasing the Sun
Tracie Peterson
Publicity Summary: When her father disappears in war-torn Mississippi, Hannah Dandridge finds herself responsible not only for her younger siblings but for the ranch her father recently acquired on the Texas plains. Though a marriage of convenience could ease her predicament, she determines to trust God for direction.
Wounded soldier William Barnett returns to his home only to discover that his family's ranch has been seized. Though angry and bitter at this turn of events, he's surprised to discover that it is a beautiful young woman with amazing fortitude who is struggling to keep the place running.
Hannah, desperate for help, and William, desperate to regain his family's land, form an uneasy truce. But nearby Comanche tribes, the arrival of Confederate soldiers, and a persistent suitor all threaten the growing attraction that builds between them. Will they be able to set aside their own dreams and embrace the promise of a future together?
Review: I enjoyed the characters and the basic story line. I was trouble by the business related to Hannah’s father. It could not shake the gloom concerning this point. It was a constant topic and while the characters did not know what occurred, the reader did. I had such a difficult time with this. It hung over the story at times. The story worked its way through this and the evil evident one of the character was very believable. I really liked the gritty feel of living so far from a town and how they depended on each other due to this. The reality of a war decreasing supplies and therefore making them precious was realistic. Over all the book was enjoyable very believable.
I would like to thank Bethany House Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read, love reading about older times.

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hannah D
Location:Trion, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chasing the Sun is a wonderful book. I couldn't put it down. I loved reading about Hannah and how she dealt with her life now that she was having to raise her brother and her sister. With her father missing it had to be so hard for her. She made everything work and trusted God to be with her and to lead her with all she had to do. It was interesting reading about how the war affected her family and the families around her. It was also very interesting to read about the Indians that were in the area and how Hannah interacted with them and used her faith to lead her to talk to them and help them even though her life could have been in danger. It was also wonderful to read as Hannah grew up even more while she learned about her feelings and was able to find love. This was a great book, that I will read over and over and definitely did recommend it to my friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Hannah Dandridge's father lost his second wife he made Hannah break off her engagement and take care of Andy and Marty, her half-brother and sister. He made things worse for her by moving them to Texas where he became partners with Herbert Lockhart. In return for the work Hannah's father did he got ownership to the Barnett property. The Barnett's left Texas to fight with the north so the property was considered abandoned. William Barnett only went because his father ordered him to, he didn't believe in war and wanted to stay on the ranch but did as his father told him.
Hannah's father had to return to Mississippi because his mother was ill and there wasn't any family left in Mississippi since Hannah's grandfather and brother had been killed in the war. She was left to care for Andy and Marty at the ranch as they waited for his return. Herbert took it upon himself to watch over the Dandridge children, he really wanted to marry Hannah but didn't want the children underfoot when they married.
William Barnett made his way home after being shot in the leg and losing his father and brother in the war. It took a long time as he had to travel at night by foot and travel was slow due to his injury. He finally reaches his ranch to find it doesn't belong to him any longer. Hannah allows him to sleep in the bunkhouse with the help, how can she kick him off of the property that he used to own and thinks he still has a right to.
Herbert informs Hannah that he's had news that her grandmother passed on before her father even arrived and has been laid to rest. Hannah is confused as to why her father hasn't written her or returned home and finally Herbert tells her about a letter he received stating that her father has died and included is a will stating that she is to marry him. He also tells her that she doesn't own the property because due to money problems her father had signed the land over to him before he left for Mississippi.
What is going to happen now, she doesn't own the land, Herbert Lockhart does and he's insisting the she and the kids move to town when they marry. William Barnett insists that he's still the owner and has asked a judge to look into it. Either way, she no longer has a home for her and the children and she's not ready to get married.
I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading the second one in the series. Andy has to learn to trust God after his father died and Hannah learns about forgiveness. This is the first book in the Land of the Lone Star series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I couldn't put it down...twice!

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
[As usual, when it comes to reviewing Christian Historical Romance novels, I defer to my darling wife, Ann.]
I'm not a writer, nor am I a critic. I read mostly for pleasure and enjoyment. Tracie Peterson's "Chasing the Sun" was a very enjoyable read. In fact, it was so enjoyable that I read it twice and went to the public library immediately afterward and found all the other books they had by Peterson and the series she's co-authored with Judith Pella. These also got devoured in a short period of time. Her books are very hard to put down.
History was not my strong suit in high school or college, so when I read a historical novel, I'm learning something at the same time as being entertained. However, Peterson does more than just write a pleasing love story set in historical reality––she weaves the very clear message of the gospel into her stories as well. Jesus Christ is clearly held up as the only way of salvation.
There was a character in this book that I had a great difficulty with––Herbert Lockhart. In fact, I found him so despicable and evil through and through, it came as no surprise that he'd go to any lengths to get just what he wanted. I viewed him as a total reprobate. He had no moral compass. There just seemed to be no redeeming qualities about this man. He is, perhaps, one of the most sinfully selfish characters I have ever read in a novel of this nature.
To the contrary, Hannah Dandridge is the so different. Hannah has her faith and trust clearly in Christ Jesus and uses God's Word to guide her in every decision she makes in life. She is completely unselfish, yet there are times when she makes hasty decisions without fully thinking through the consequences.
Juanita and Marietta are godly women, whom the Lord uses to speak truth into Hannah's life (and don't we all need these kind of people alongside us?). They are true friends to Hannah.
This was a compelling story and I look forward to the the sequels. I can highly commend this book to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Review of Tracie Peterson's "Chasing the Sun"

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Southern Belle
Location:New Orleans, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To be perfectly honest, this is the very first "historical fiction" novel that I have voluntary read. Of course, I'm certain that I was required to read one or more in high school, but this is not a genre which I, of my own accord, would pursue.
Not to be overly critical, but the entire book kept an "even keel" pace throughout -- a very slow pace. I kept waiting for something significant to occur, but nothing ever did. The entire book was very predictable, up until the conclusion.
On the more optimistic side, the book did portray a very realistic view of the life and times of the era in which the story was to have taken place. Also, it had glimpses of Christian values, which I noted and enjoyed. Overall, it was an easy read, but, sadly, a boring one.
This book was was provided to me free of charge by Bethany Publishers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You won't be disappointed

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
doryrose1
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah Dandridge finds herself trying to take care of her younger siblings after her father has gone missing during the Civil War. Hannah and her siblings leave to a ranch that was promised to her father during the war, while awaiting word on his whereabouts.That's when
trouble arrives when William Barnett home from the war early, due to a wound, claiming that the house and ranch is actually his and will not leave!
Hannah is the kind of character you love and imagine yourself as, Will ..is like a bur under your saddle, but oh he sure cleans up good!! This book was a all over fun read , uplifting , I cried and laughed in all the right places ! Looking forward to book 2!
Note: I received a complimentary copy for an honest review from Bethany Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book by Tracie Peterson

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Chasing The Sun" by Tracie Peterson is set in Texas during the fall of 1863. Hannah Dandridge has been responsible for her two younger siblings for several years but now it was different. Their father was missing. His business partner, an elderly man named Herbert Lockhart seemed to hold all the information. He is trying to convince Hannah that it was her father's wishes for him to take care of the little family in events of his demise, but she is not buying that. She is sure that her father would have discussed these matters with her. Of course there is another issue, the ranch where they reside, the ranch that her father recently acquired when it was seized during the war. There were several ranch hands that assisted Hannah in keeping the ranch afloat and watching out for Indians.
William Barnett returns home from war wounded only to find Miss Dandridge running his family's farm, much to his surprise. She also was quite surprised when he turned up at the door with a young Comanche boy slung over his shoulder and her brother Andy by his side talking ninety to nothing. Emotions are running high due to the circumstances but Hannah instructs Mr. Barnett to take him up to her father's bedroom. When Hannah realizes how bad the young boy is hurt, she sprang into action forgetting her fears wanting to help.
Will there be trouble with the Comanche? Will the young Indian boy survive? Will his family come looking for him? What has actually happened to Hannah's father and how is Mr. Lockhart involved? Will Mr. Barnett take control of the ranch and put Hannah and her siblings out? Or will Hannah and Will's attraction for each other develop or will Hannah end up Mrs. Lockhart? The answers to all these questions and many more are found in "Chasing the Sun," Book One of Land of the Lone Star series.
If you like westerns and a good romance this is the book for you. Tracie has done a wonderful job of developing all of the characters. I couldn't help but notice when she is dealing with the Comanche she put her fears aside and helped, something God would do, not judging but helping. This is a wonderful well-written book. Tracie's writing and the interaction of her characters makes you feel like you are right there. I highly recommend it! I am looking forward to Book 2, "Touching The Sky."
I received this book free from Bethany House a division of Baker Publishing Group as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this BOOK!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs A
Location:N. California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderfully written story of faith and love. The story takes place in Civil War era Texas and it's tell in g of Hannah Dandridge. She is a young lady who is raising her younger brother and sister while waiting for their father to return from a trip to Vicksburg. She lives on the ranch with the help of Berto, a ranch hand and his family.
Enter the villain, Mr Lockhart who has designs for Hannah and the ranch. He was a business partner, a lawyer with her father. Her father brought them to Texas after the death of his second wife, the mother of Marty and Andy.
The ranch is owned by Hannah's father who gained it after the previous owner's left to fight in the union army. The Confederacy took it and gave it to Mr Dandridge for his contribution in the war effort.
William Barnett is the lone survivor of the previous owners. He returns, injured, disgruntled with God  and tired of the war he wanted to part of only to find his ranch given away. If this is not bad enough, there is always a threat of Comanche attacks.
With this dramatic backdrop, is a story of a young lady who holds onto her faith, even when her future is uncertain and frightening. A story of intrigue and love and I highly recommend it.
I picked up the book, and I was immediately drawn into her heart and  her love for those around her. I admired her strength and willingness to just follow God no matter what the people around her thought. Her determination was inspiring and I had a hard time putting down the book! I will be reading part two!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Strong Women Facing Challeging Times

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m thankful for the review copy of the first book in Tracie Peterson’s series. Hannah’s father is missing and she’s left with the responsibility of her two younger siblings and the task of keeping a ranch on the Texas plains going.
Mr. Lockhart, her father’s partner was the one to deliver the news! He offers to marry Hannah so her siblings and her will be taken care of.
Hannah doesn’t feel right about that, but she’s determined to trust God for direction and His provision! She turns Mr. Lockhart down. William Barnett, a wounded soldier returns home to discover his family ranch has been seized! He’s also surprised a beautiful young woman with amazing strength and determination is running the ranch in her father’s absentness. He sees she needs help and he needs a place to stay. Maybe they could work something out. He offers to help on the ranch for a place to sleep in the bunkhouse!
Hannah feels she can trust William and she’s thankful for the help. She’s desperate to keep the ranch running; she didn’t want to consider a marriage of convenience just to pay her bills. She wanted to marry for love. Mr. Lockhart was as old as her father. No love growing there. Both Hannah and William agreed to work together until ownership of the ranch could be settled. Neither one would throw the other to the street now matter how it all worked out.
The ranch was near Comanche tribes. That’s another reason William is willing to help out on the ranch. He was fond of Hannah and her siblings and felt the need to protect them from the Comanche tribes and confederate solders.
I admired Hannah and how she applied God’s word to her life. She expected others to do the same as she did. Treat them the God would. Hannah reminded me of a missionary, Elizabeth Elliott, and how she interacted with the tribe that killed her husband and others when they came to show God’s love to them. Elizabeth went on to complete the work her husband and friends started. So she went in to live with the tribe and brought her small daughter with her. She learned their language and shared Jesus with them. The Tribes people and Elliott’s lives were never the same.
Hannah does the same thing when asked. She is summoned to go into a Comanche tribe to help with the sick. She goes out of her comfort zone (leaving her siblings behind in the care of friends) to show the love of Jesus to this tribe.
Juanita Hannah’s friends says to her, “…we all were so afraid. Why you go out there?”
Hannah said, “I felt God telling me to go. I was only trying to be obedient to God. The Bible says in Romans eight, “If God be for us, who can be against us? I believe that God surrounded me with angels of protection.
…I believe our business is to know Him better, and that the right thing can only be determined by studying His word.”
Hannah is feisty and loyal to her family lays into Mr. Lockhart who won’t stop pressuring her to marry him.
“Good, Hannah thought. Its better that he realizes here and now that I’m a woman of determination. I won’t be ordered about anymore. From now on, the children are my only concern.”
I loved Tracie’s humor too. Marty, Hannah’s little sister tells her, “He’s losin’ all his hair, Hannah. You can’t marry a man who doesn’t have any hair.”
Hannah smiles and says, “Marty, it doesn’t matter as much what a fella looks like, but rather what’s in their heart- if they love Jesus and if they are trustworthy.”
I loved the spiritual thread naturally woven in this story and I enjoyed the characters. It gets suspenseful at the end when Mr. Lockhart turns into a stalker and won’t take no for an answer from Hannah. He’s also good at stirring up trouble with the Comanche. I liked how Tracie showed all sides of the Comanche issues.
This was the first historical I’ve read by Tracie Peterson. Her love of history spills out into the pages and her characters keep the reader engaged and staying up late to see how it all turns out.
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network CEO
www.bookfun.org
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Learn your history in an entertaining fashion!

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beca
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will give my one negative first. It took until about chapter 3 for me to get into the book. Personally, I like it when I can get into a story from chapter 1. Other than that, I enjoyed the book.
One of the parts I really liked about the book was the fact that it gave me a history lesson as I read. Set during the Civil War time, the division between the North and South was made clear. Friends became enemies. This was brought to life in the story.
Another thing I liked about it, was the emphasis it put on salvation through Jesus. Here's a quote I really liked:
A friend to the wounded soldier, William: "You think He doesn't know that you're angry with Him right now. You think you're somehow keeping God in the dark- that He hasn't a clue what's in your heart, but He knows it all, William. He knows why you're fighting Him and He knows just what it's going to take to bring you back in line. And, in time... you're going to know it, too."
If you like historical fiction, definitely check it out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging and Easy Read

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
ShelbieShue
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chasing the Sun is a twisting and turning romantic adventure. Steeped in the rugged Texan territory of 1863, our heroine triumphs over the pitfalls of the day: gender equality, political unrest and societal propriety.
I found it an engaging and quick read, full of moral dilemmas and acts of courage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momtothree
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book from Tracie Peterson that I have read, and I was NOT disappointed. The book drew me in from the very beginning and never slowed down or stalled out like some books do. The character development was great and I felt like I really got to know the main characters. I also love the historical setting and references to events and places that were part of the Civil War Era.
There were also a few twists and turns in the book that I didn't see coming. This kept me reading and engaged in the book. Overall I thought this was a wonderful book and I will definitely be seeking out other Tracie Peterson books in the future. I received a free copy of this book to review from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Story

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denette
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was given "Chasing the Sun" by Bethany Publishers to read and give a review. I had previously never read any of Tracie Peterson's books...but I'm now a fan!! You will not finish this book feeling disappointed. Such a sweet book that will leave you wanting more and a smile on your face! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tynea
Hannah Dandridge finds herself caring for her younger siblings in Texas while her father has gone to Mississippi, but he ends up missing. The ranch they’ve been living on actually belongs to William Barnett and his family, but William’s family abandoned Texas to fight for the Union. Therefore, the ranch was given to Hannah’s father because of his work with the confederacy. William returns to the ranch after his father and brother died in the war only to find it inhabited by a new family. William and Hannah need to figure out how to make this new reality work. Who does the ranch really belong to?
I found this book to be an enjoyable read. It was light and heartwarming. There were some tense scenes, but I didn’t feel like I was on the edge of my seat with each chapter. In fact, this book was great to read before bed. It was easy to put down after each chapter because that author did not leave you hanging. The religious themes in this books were not too overwhelming or preachy.
This book was reviewed for Bethany House Publishers. A review copy of this title was supplied free of charge through the Bethany House Book Reviewers Program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very inspiring

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
trouble
loved this book from the time I started reading it. Could not put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good read.

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Erica
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Set during the time of the Civil War, "Chasing the Sun", by Tracie Peterson is about a young woman left to care for her siblings after the death of her mother and disappearance of her father. As she struggles to provide for her family and protect her family's ranch, she must make a decision of marrying for convenience or holding out for love, while trusting God to provide for their needs. I am a fan of Traci Peterson's novels, but having just read a book of similar nature to this one, it did not stand out in my mind as something I would want to re-read. However, it did leave me looking forward to a sequel. I did appreciate the focus the book had on living by faith, and obeying God when He speaks...even if it does not make sense to the rest of the world. I received this book free for review from Bethany House Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chasing the Sun, Land of the Lone Star Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Adventure with Values

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyMrsO
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hannah is desperate for help..
William is determined to regain his family's land...
When her father disappears in war-torn Mississippi, Hannah Dandridge finds herself responsible not only for her younger siblings but also for the Texas ranch her father recently acquired. A marriage of convenience could ease her predicament... but is it the true desire of her heart?
Wounded soldier William Barnett returns home only to find out that his family's ranch has been seized. Though angered at this turn of events, he's surprised to discover that it is a beautiful young woman with amazing fortitude who is struggling to keep the place running.
I would want Hannah as my friend. Her determination and the commitment to her family were strong messages as I read "Chasing The Sun", the first book of a new series, Land of the Lone Star. Basing the story in Texas, near the end of the Civil War, gave this Christian romance the ingredients that made it easy to read during my weekend. I would recommend this book for readers looking for a historical adventure with value-based themes.
THE AUTHOR
Tracie Peterson is the award-winning author of over eighty novels, both historical and contemporary. Her avid research resonates in her stories, as seen in her bestselling Heirs of Montana, and Alaskan Quest series. Tracie and her family make their home in Montana. Visit Tracie's Web site atwww.traciepeterson.com and her blog atwww.writespassage.blogspot.com.
Disclaimer: I was sent a free copy of this book by Bethany House Book Reviewers so that in return that I would give an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.