Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1

Bethany House A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1

A fake. A forger. More than anything, Claire Laurent longs for the chance to live an authentic life, to become the woman she wants to be. And she'll be given that choice. But will it come at too costly a price?

Claire Laurent's greatest aspiration is to paint something that will bring her acclaim. Yet her father insists she work as a copyist. A forger. When she's forced to flee from New Orleans to Nashville only a year after the War Between the States has ended, her path collides with attorney Sutton Monroe. She considers him a godsend for not turning her in to the authorities. But after he later refuses to come to her aid, Claire fears she's sorely misjudged the man. Finding herself among the elite of Nashville's society, Claire believes her dream to create a lasting impression in the world of art is within reach--but only if her fraudulent past remains hidden.

The Federal Army has destroyed Sutton's home and confiscated his land, and threatens to destroy his family's honor. His determination to reclaim what belongs to him and to right a grievous wrong reveals a truth that may cost him more than he ever imagined--as well as the woman he loves.Set at Nashville's historic Belmont Mansion, a stunning antebellum manor built by Mrs. Adelicia Acklen, A Lasting Impression is a sweeping love story about a nation mending after war, the redemption of those wounded, and the courage of a man and woman to see themselves--and each other--for who they really are.

Average Customer Rating:
4.894 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 out of 47100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Review 1 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific story - highly recommend it!

Date:July 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shari Bradley
Location:Vista, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is so much about this book to love! Richly drawn characters, growing relationships, and fascinating history are in full swing as you spend time at Belmont Mansion with Claire and Sutton. Really love the emphasis on Claire's personal courage, how she grows when given the opportunity to use her God-given gifts, how she is drawn to the One who really loves her and gives her the strength to be honest in all her ways. The villains have their place in the story, but do not overwhelm the reader. I was grateful for that balance and the way the author compares Claire's painfully dysfunctional family with the loving family as led by Adelicia. The timing in the story line is just so perfect. The descriptions of Belmont and Adelicia Acklyn are riveting and inspired me to look for images. So fun to see what was inspiring to Tamera as she wrote this lovely story. Strength, courage, forgiveness, loyalty, compassion, hope, and love of all things beautiful - great or small. Highly recommend this one. Just ordered #2 in the series and cannot wait to read it! You will want to go to Nashville and see Belmont after you read this - a terrific story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was A Lasting Impression

Date:April 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cover is what caught my attention to read this book. Claire's dress is absolutely gorgeous then I read it was set at Belmont in Nashville, TN, I knew I had to read this. The description of Belmont and all it statues and art was right on. I could feel myself standing right there at Belmont looking at it. The story got long in the middle but toward the end quickly moved on. A very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claire Laurent has a great talent and a great secret.
Sutton Monroe has a goal and a grudge.
After Claire's father is murdered in an apparent robbery gone wrong at his prestige’s art gallery, Claire is forced to flee the city of New Orleans. Finding refuge in the Belmont Mansion in Nashville, Claire realizes she can stop looking over her shoulder, until she meets Sutton Monroe a lawyer who is working to recover his family estate from the Northern Yankees that he believed stole it after the war. He is also looking for the person who sold several prominent Nashville families find that they have purchased fraudulent works of French art.
Ok I have to say it, this book was a masterpiece. I applaud the author for the spectacular descriptions of the Belmont Mansion and its grounds. The reader could easily envision standing the marble steps about to enter the home, or coming down the grand staircase. I was simply swept away with all the details.
The story is set in the year following the end of the civil war and both Claire and Sutton were wonderful characters. Each had their strength and weaknesses and the author did a fantastic job of making them work both separately and together. Sutton was a gentleman in the truest sense of the word, yet he was absolute in what he believed and how he made his decisions. Claire, while not always making the best choices, did make her decisions with a good heart.
I felt that the relationship between Claire and Sutton was very real and likable which can make or break a book. There was a bit of suspense mixed in as well as a huge amount of history on French art. The author did a great job of integrating God, Jesus and salvation into the story. It’s always a pleasure to read a Christian book that actually speaks about God.
Overall this was a delightful book, and I am excited to read the second book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing work of art!

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Texas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About this book:
“To create something that will last is Claire Laurent's most fervent desire as an artist. It's also her greatest weakness. When her fraud of a father deals her an unexpected hand, Claire is forced to flee from New Orleans to Nashville, only a year after the War Between the States has ended. Claire's path collides with that of Sutton Monroe, and she considers him a godsend for not turning her in to the authorities. But when they meet again and he refuses to come to her aid, she realizes she's sorely misjudged the man. Trading an unwanted destiny for an unknown future, Claire finds herself in the middle of Nashville's elite society and believes her dream of creating a lasting impression in the world of art may finally be within reach.
All that Sutton Monroe holds dear lies in ruin. He's determined to reclaim his heritage and to make the men who murdered his father pay. But what he discovers on his quest for vengeance reveals a truth that may cost him more than he ever imagined.”
Series: “Belmont Mansion” book #1. Can be a stand-alone novel. (book #2, “A Beauty So Rare”’s review will be posted next Wednesday.)
Spiritual Content- Ephesians 2:10 in the front; Claire pray and reads the Bible; Scriptures are quoted and Blessings over food are said.
Negative Content- One or Two bloody parts, not-detailed.
Sexual Content- Quite a few (not-detailed) kisses.
-Claire Laurent
-Sutton Monroe
P.O.V. switches between them.
426 pages
Set in 1866
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
12 and up-
Three stars
New Teens (13&14) and up-
Three stars (and a half)
My personal Rating-
Four stars
(Because the size can be intimidating, Pre & New Teens may (or may not- like me. ;) ) freak out the size of the book. That's why the first two ratings are lower.)
I absolutely adore the fact that in the Preface, the Author, Miss Tamera Alexander, thanks the reader for “entrusting her with your time”. How sweet and amazing is that?! I didn’t know if I wanted to read “A Lasting Impression” or another book first, so I read the beginning of each and when I read that- I didn’t even pick up the other one!
*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A passionate work of art

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this post-Civil War novel, Tamera Alexander invites the reader into Belmont Mansion, the home of the famous, wealthy Adelicia Acklen. Claire Laurante, a gifted artist who has helped her family by painting forgeries, finds herself on the run from mysterious thieves who attacked her father. Determined to begin an honest life away from the family trade, Claire applies for the position of Adelicia Acklen's liason - an event coordinator, secretary, and confidante. Sutton Monroe, Mrs. Acklen's personal attorney, is battling to reclaim his family's land and clear his father's name, both results of belonging to the losing side of the war, while attempting to make a name for himself in a forgery case. The two of them have to work together to see that Mrs. Acklen's reentry into society is a success - a task that pushes the two of them much closer together than they ever would have dreamed. However, can an upstanding attorney (and his influential employer) handle the secrets Claire is loathe to share?
Alexander's attention to detail is stunning. Based on her writing, it is clear that she has walked the grounds of Belmont, that she has studied its inhabitants, and that she has a passion for this place. In addition to a glorious location, her depiction of the time period - the reconstruction following the Civil War - is a moving blend of hardened, embittered attitudes by those who lost and prayerful hope by those rebuilding their lives. Understandably, as a person - a woman - who profited during the war and then gallivanted off to Europe while everyone else was picking up the pieces of their lives, Adelicia Acklen is in a tenuous position. It is fascinating to hear about the struggles this strong woman faced.
In this novel and her others set in the post-war South (especially To Whisper Her Name), the author has masterfully portrayed the spirit of the Reconstruction, if not the reality. It is not about mending the heart of a nation, but about mending the hearts of people - the people who make up the nation. Until the hearts of the people are healed, the nation cannot be whole. Two or three people finding healing - it isn't much, yet every one of those hearts is crucial to eliminating the bitterness and moving on to a future of prosperity.
Alexander's passion for the setting, the characters, and the theme is palpable, even without her heart-felt author's note in the end. Her poignant statement, "Would you paint if you knew you were painting only for Me [God]?" struck a chord within me. I love the curl-up-in-front-of-the-fireplace feel to this novel; at 426 pages, it is a thick, rich, decadent read - the kind of novel I love to savor. And when an author has as much passion about their story as Alexander demonstrates, it must be worthwhile. 5 out of 5 stars!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read!

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianeh248
Location:Lake Orion, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Slow moving, but sure, this book will captivate you. Set in New Orleans and Tennessee, watch as Claire wrestles with so many questions. An art forger by trade, she yearns to live an authentic life. But, how to do that? Read the book and find out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Booklover
Location:Colfax WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Historical Fiction, I borrowed the book from my sister in law.... it was fantastic!! I could hardly put it down, this is the first book I have read by Tamara and it wont be the last!!! Cant wait to read the next book in this series!
It was also interesting to me because my mother was an artist and I spent a lot of time in Art Gallerys growing up.
Great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading; excellent writer!

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
SMCO
Location:Boulder, Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamera Alexander is an excellent writer! I have enjoyed all of her books, especially the two series about Colorado. She has excellent style and vocabulary and such well-written stories, developing her characters and their progress in the life that they have chosen. True to life, the characters have strengths and weaknesses and problems with trust issues, but their development as a person is so rewarding, with just enough tension in the story to captivate the reader's attention.
I highly recommend all of her books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gorgeous- inside and out.

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wrote this review a couple of minutes after finishing this book.
The last page has been turned with a content sigh, the book is beside me now, but as I’m writing this, I’m still back at the Belmont mansion where de-lightful characters have gotten the happy ending they oh-so deserved- which in return, thrilled this reader’s heart, because before embarking on this journey she had been just desperate to get her hands on one those rare, thoroughly engaging novels.
You know… the one where the only disappointment was that it ended?
A Lasting Impression… Oh, my word, how I enjoyed it! I finished in two days (and it’s quite thick!)
Mellifluous, carefully and richly penned, it made me laugh and at times it truly took me by surprise, while the historical details piqued by curiosity and me me want to visit Belmont Mansion!
And these characters! There were so well-developed. Halfway throughout the story, I already had in mind what to say about Adelicia, but arriving toward the end, I realized that I misjudged her. Not to mention that there were other wonderful characters: Claire Elise (love her name! And I truly wanted to hug this woman many times throughout the story), charming Sutton, graceful Eli, lovable Cordina and more.
I believe readers will take delight in watching the main characters grow in strength and beauty, while the plot will keep them turning pages and the love story will warm their hearts. Especially if you are a hopeless romantic. This is no shallow love story, it unfolds throughout the story like a precious blossom.
This one’s a keeper.
I can’t wait to get my hands on Tamera’s latest, To Whisper Her Name. She’s hinted that some of the characters in ALI might make an appearance in that story.
Tamera Alexander is a wonderful writer. Reviews have raved her books, awards have testified- and continue to testify to her talent, so if you haven’t given one of her books a try, dear reader, well, you just might be missing out on something here….
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not to be Missed!!!

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamera Alexander remains one of my favorite, must-read authors. Her beautiful language, thorough descriptions and inspiring insights are exquisite. She fleshes out her characters so that we feel as if we know them. Relationships are never hurried or unsatisfying. Hers are books that I keep. They’re that good.
A Lasting Impression is set at Nashville’s historic Belmont Mansion. Claire Laurent’s father has forced her to use her abilities to merely forge paintings for him to sell, and now he is dead. Sutton’s childhood home has been destroyed by the Federal Army and his land confiscated. Both find themselves at Belmont, with matron Adelicia Acklen. Sutton is a trusted friend and esteemed counsel, Claire is governess and assistant to Adelicia. Both have secrets that could undo them. As is historically accurate, Belmont is filled with art and culture. But there are also secrets and pain. This book has such profound insights!! The story is beautiful and sweeping, the characters are superbly crafted. But here’s what I love most about Tamera Alexander: though I love the beauty, the storyline, the romance.....I walk away with rich, fresh thoughts and lessons. In her author’s note at the end, Ms. Alexander leads us to one of them. I won’t spoil it for you. You’ll find it. It’s a “life-r”. Something to remember always. So for me, this book is more than an escape, more than entertainment. It’s actually my friend Tamera, giving me an opportunity through her characters to grow in my faith and perspective. She’s given me several nuggets worth keeping. All in the form of a wonderful, beautiful book that is a must-read. Absolutely.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!!

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lady Folk
Location:Tacoma WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes she has done it again, i can honestly sat Tammera Alexander is my favorite fictional writer in the whole wide world. Im always so sad for the book to end. It captivates you from the very beginning!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story!!!

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patti Jo
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamera Alexander continues to be one of my VERY favorite authors, and this story is yet another reminder of why! A LASTING IMPRESSION is a beautifully-written story set in post-Civil War Nashville in the gorgeous Belmont Mansion. Ms. Alexander's style of writing makes the characters--and the setting--come alive, and keeps the reader wanting to turn pages and read more. I highly recommend this book, and am eager to read the others to come out in this series. FIVE STARS!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another solid, interesting historical novel

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamera Alexander has once again written an entertaining, solidly researched historical novel, this time focusing on late 19th century Nashville. The main characters and the supporting characters are well developed, and the writing is solid. The plot is well thought out and interesting; nothing feels contrived. Claire Laurent, Sutton Monroe, and Adelicia Acklen, the main characters, have the same doubts, fears, heartaches, and joys that many of us experience, and by the end of the book they feel like friends with whom I’d like to spend more time. The setting at Belmont Mansion provides an interesting historical backdrop, and it was fun to learn more about the social mores and societal expectations of that era. Kudos also to Bethany House for the cover design – the dress and pose described on pages 332-3 are wonderfully depicted on the front cover. I’m looking forward to the next book in this series!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!

Date:January 3, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved, loved this book! Great storytelling, rich characters (Claire Laurent, Sutton Munroe, Eli, Mrs. Routh) make for an excellent story mostly set in 1867 Nashville. Claire Laurent is the main character and the author, Tamera Alexander, has done an amazing job in character development. Claire’s journey to accepting the Lord as her Savior was both realistic and beautifully done. The question I have been asking myself often since reading this book (and one that the main character asks often and has an answer for by the end of the book) is Who am I doing things for? Am I trying to please man or God? The author states at the end of the book “never underestimate who’s looking at your life and at how many people you influence”. The author continues on with “you and I are leaving lasting impressions. May we live authentic lives of faith that point others to Christ”. Thought provoking to say the least. Adelicia Acklen was a real person who built Belmont Mansion in which the story mainly takes place. The author did a fine job of researching this woman and incorporating her into the story. I am looking forward to reading another book by Tamera Alexander.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tamera Alexander is one of my favorite authors.

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hope
Location:Brunswick, ME
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamera Alexander can be counted on to write historical fiction this is accurate, compelling, and moving. She builds each character so that one feels they know each one as a person. I can see myself in the setting and imagine what it must have been like to live in that era. The romance is sweet but not overly so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lasting Impression is exactly what this book is.

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story takes place in the late 1800’s shortly after the war. The states are desperate to recover and rebuild and so is Claire Elise Laurent, a young French woman whose past is only a step behind her. She comes to war-torn Tennessee hoping for a fresh start. In the Publisher’s words:
“Set at Nashville’s historic Belmont Mansion, A Lasting Impression is a sweeping love story about a nation mending after war, the redemption of those wounded, and the courage of a man and a woman to see themselves – and each other – for who they truly are.”
I thoroughly enjoyed this story. The history is rich and vibrant along with the characters. My own knowledge on this time period is lacking but I felt the world Ms. Alexander created of Nashville is stunning. And the Belmont Mansion is extravagant in description. She has an amazing ability to string together words providing a masterpiece of the senses. I loved it.
Alexander covers many themes in this story, such as authenticity and honesty, family backgrounds and social status. Along with this she exposes a spiritual journey for the main characters that feels real and alive. The progression of the story is natural. I really loved the character Claire. She has a secret that shapes her and molds her decisions leading the reader effortlessly along her journey.
So far in every Alexander book I have read she always leaves a fingerprint on my heart; a word or phrase that changes the soil of my soul. Tamera always leaves me changed – and challenged.
A definite read ... and reread!
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good story

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
Location:ct
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book kept me glued. I really enjoyed the story and the charecters. The history was interesting,too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
jeanie
Location:Atmore, Al
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good story told by the writer without sortided sexual escapades. I really enjoyed reading a wholesome book that was well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be transported back in time

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pick up a copy of A Lasting Impression and you will find yourself transported back in time, to a country trying to recover from war, and a young woman trying to overcome the death of her parents and the shame of misusing her talents to deceive others. Tamera Alexander has written a novel that is sure to please lovers of historical fiction, and has created a unique rags-to-riches story in the character of Claire Laurent and the journey she undertakes from painting forgeries for her father to securing a highly sought-after position at the mansion and falling in love with a true man of God. The characters are deftly developed, and Claire is sure to win your heart and your affection as you follow her story and cheer her on for her determination and pluck.
I aslo greatly enjoyed the fact that Tamera set the story in a real location, Nashville's historic Belmont Mansion, a detail that helped me appreciate the descriptions of the beautiful grounds and the awe-inspiring interior even more. And most of all, I walk away from this story remembering the importance of being honest and having integrity in every part of our lives, of not presenting a false front, a forgery of ourselves for the world to see. Though Claire never set out to outright deceive, her actions of witholding information when perhaps it should have been disclosed were as harmful as if she'd outright lied. The conclusion is ultimately satisfying, and Clarie's growth in her faith is one sure to inspire.
I highly recommend this book and give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Disclaimer: Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Lasting Impression, Belmont Mansion Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engaging & Artful

Date:December 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Meghan G
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is the front and back covers a feast for the eyes, but every word inside is a brilliant stroke of genius from renowned historical fiction author, Tamera Alexander. She weaves intrigue, romance and vivid historical setting into a gripping novel set in post-Civil War Nashville, TN--the author's real life hometown.
Claire Laurent is involved in a web of lies and deceit and can scarcely find her way out. She forges paintings in her family's gallery partially in order to gain her father's approval...and carry on the artistic legacy of her deceased mother. When things go horribly wrong, Claire is sent to Nashville from the bustling city of New Orleans, Louisiana, where, after an unfortunate turn of events, she finds herself at the mercy of a local pastor, his wife...and a handsome parishioner there who just may be able to help her find a place in Nashville.
Unbeknownst to her new found friends, Claire continues to run and dodge her past at every turn--trying valiantly to turn over a new leaf amongst some of Nashville's most elite society. Along the path of carving out a new life for herself, Claire becomes the personal liason of Nashville's wealthiest widow and businesswoman: Adelicia Acklen. This real-life historical figure is accurately and creatively depicted through Ms. Alexander's words. She gives Mrs. Acklen a depth and vivid place in the story, while still staying true to this amazing woman's history.
This book touches on not only a critical time in America's Southern history, but also the journey of one young woman to find a new identity--solely her own--in Christ. Filled with mystery, romance, wit and heart, this latest offering of Tamera Alexander's to the fiction market is sure to please, uplift and excite her faithful readers, and those who are new to her brilliant gift of storytelling.
*I was given this book for free from Bethany House Publishers*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.