Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Beguiled

Bethany House Beguiled

Rylee Monroe, a dogwalker in Charleston's wealthiest neighborhood, never feared the streets at night. But now a thief is terrorizing the area and worse, someone seems to be targeting her. Reporter Logan Woods is covering the break-ins with the hope of publishing them as a true-crime book. The more he digs, the more he realizes this beguiling dogwalker seems to be at the center of everything.As danger draws ever closer, Logan must choose: Chase the girl, the story, or plunge into the shadows after the villain who threatens everything?
Average Customer Rating:
4.068 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beguiled
Review 1 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
DeniKB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't read mystery books, but, I wanted to read this Deanne Gist book. I loved it!!! I would like to read more mysteries from Deanne.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Successful Suspense!

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea Cox
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suspense is a genre I wish more Christian authors would undertake to perfect. Though difficult to master, this category holds us captive from page one and only very reluctantly releases us at the end of the story . . . unless it sneaks under our skin and invades our dreams. It's one of those genres we love to hate. It sets our nerves pleasantly on edge and we jump at shadows for days or weeks afterwards. If written well, suspense novels allow us to feel as though we live, breathe and solve the mystery right along with the hero or heroine.
Beguiled by Deeanne Gist and J. Mark Bertrand is a thrilling example of a brilliantly written romantic suspense novel. It contains numerous twists and turns destined to keep you guessing until the very last page. The character depth and creativity add to the mystery, which grows with each fresh incident. This tale and its fascinating characters will swiftly capture your interest. It will not easily be forgotten once finished and reshelved.
Taking place in Charleston's wealthiest neighborhood, Beguiled is the suspenseful story about dogwalker Rylee Monroe who finds herself mixed up and targeted in a series of unusual thefts. Logan Woods, a reporter with hopes that the Robin Hood Burglar will be the key to getting his true-crime book published, must decide to chase the story, the girl or the villain, all while avoiding the one thing he's most afraid of: dogs. Will Rylee and Logan risk trusting each other in order to uncover the truth of the Robin Hood Burglar's identity?
Authors Deeanne Gist and J. Mark Bertrand apparently brought out the best in each other. Many a night I found it nearly impossible to put down Beguiled as I wanted to know all the secrets at once. As the story unfolded, my heart was more and more invested . . . and I was less and less eager to flick off my light at night. I look forward to reading more novels by Deeanne Gist and J. Mark Bertrand in the very near future.
What do you consider a must-have for a suspense novel to keep you riveted?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspense, Romance, Deeanne Gist...

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, as I am on a Deanne Gist craze, I read this novel, and like all her books, I was hooked. The plot was good, and I really wish there was a 4 1/2 star rating on here. I thought the characters were believable and exciting and since I usually read historical fiction, this was a nice switch into contemporary Charleston. For all of you who enjoy romance, suspense, and Deanne Gist, don't miss this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lauren
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book was ok. It was kinda confusing. But I'm 12 years old so it would probably be better for someone older. But over all it was was a good book. But it does have suspense. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
J Kramasz
Location:Mpls MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mystery, suspense, romance, intrigue, and double-crossing make this a read-in-one-sitting thriller.
Rylee Monroe is a dog walker in a wealthy Charleston neighborhood. She loves her job and her clients trust her. However a string of burglaries begin to plague the neighborhood and Riley seems to always be at the wrong place at the wrong time.
Reporter Logan Woods is investigating the story and is intrigued but suspicious of Rylee. Though she claims to be innocent, she sure looks guilty.
This book is beautifully written. The neighborhood and the characters are described in rich detail. It is fast-paced and keeps you hanging on until the very end.
I must mention that I received a complimentary review copy of this book from Bethany House, but that in no way influenced my opinion of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mystery & Crime - 4 Stars!

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Craig
Location:Metro Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A case of burglary, crime and love. Is Rylee the innocent dog-walker, in the wrong place at wrong time, as you appears or she is the master mind behind high-profile thefts. Logan, a local reporter must find out.
I give this story 4 stars! The authors makes Charleston, SC come alive. As a past resident it felt like I was back in the Navy walking the streets. The authors did this by giving acute descriptions and vivid scenery. The area that I feel this book could be improved in is it's christian message. Honestly, I didn't clearly see one. As well as I felt that they way the authors described the physical characteristics of the characters was a bit over the top. In the end if you want a fun story filled with mystery and intrigue with romance thrown in and you are not looking for a deep christian message this is the book for you!
*Disclaimer: I received this book courtesy of Bethany House Publishers. I received no other compensation. The above opinion and rating was written of my own accord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grace
Location:Virginia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book!!!!! It far exceeded my expectations! It's one of those books you hate to put down until you finish it. I would gladly recommend this to anyone who likes a good mystery!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beguiled

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is another book I took with me on my trip to Red River. This was a book with filled with suspense. And if you like a good mystery, you'll like this book.
Rylee Monroe is a girl living within modest means while she supports a grandmother in a nursing home. Her grandmother is afflicted with alzheimers, but holds the key to so many things in Rylee's past. And Rylee is a dog walker for the wealthy families of Charleston. The only problem is that the people she works for are being terrorized with break-ins. And as you can suspect, Rylee ends up in deep trouble. There's a love interest in the form of a reporter thrown into the mix who begins to show Rylee the stick-to-it-iveness that she's not known in men.
The end of the book was a total surprise to me. I never suspected the real perpetrator. I can recommend this book to you---I think if you like a good mystery, you'll certainly enjoy this book!
I give it 4 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Carter
From the picture on the front cover, I thought I was getting ready to read a story set in the 1920's or 1930's set in Charleston. I know, I know, if only I had read the back cover, I would have known, but very rarely do I read back covers preferring rather to be surprised by the story. Surprised is a pretty accurate term when I started reading about Rylee Monroe as she unclipped a leash from a dog collar. Wait, this story is about a dog walker? Did they have dog walkers in the 1920's. As I kept reading, my dog walker had roller blades, so I finally figured out it was set in present day. The story is set in a wealthy neighborhood in Charleston, South Carolina. Rylee Monroe is a sweet, caring dogwalker who's only ambition is to make sure the needs of her ailing grandmother are met. She surrounds herself with her family of dogs and is quite content until she becomes unintentionally involved in a string of robberies committed by an unusual burglar. Who the burglar is and why he/she is doing what they're doing is the premise of the book, and just where does the mysterious newspaper reporter, Logan Woods fit into the whole picture.I must say that this book had me guessing a couple of times, which is a good thing and most books are not able to do. I have to say, though, my favorite part of the book was the Authors' note at the end. It was very charming and actually made me want to visit Charleston even more than the book did.I would highly recommend this book. I am looking forward to reading more books from each of these authors individually and hope they will collaborate again.This book was provided to me to review by Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Engaging whodunit; I stayed up late finishing this novel as I just had to confirm who the villain was. Loved both the hero and heroine as they displayed realistic qualities such as determination, fears and spunkiness. Loved the dogs and the setting! Not overtly Christian, could easily give this book to anyone who enjoys a mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Rylee Monroe could safely say she is content with her life. Sure, things haven't been easy, but she has a great job, with even better clients, and their owners aren't too bad either. Even though a string of mysterious burglaries have been occurring, she still feels relatively safe in historic Charleston. That is until she encounters two mysterious men lurking in the shadows of her favorite walking spot. Logan Woods is the local crime reporter, with his sights set to loftier goals, and the Robin Hood Burglar is just the edge his book needs to solidify his lucrative publishing deal. But when his path crosses with Rylee's, and her involvement in the Robin Hood burglaries becomes undeniable, Logan must decide where his loyalties lie, even if he must decide against himself. This story was completely engaging from beginning to end. I was halfway through before I knew it, and pages from the end desperate for more. Gist and Bertrand's collaboration was brilliant and seamless, with a nearly perfect blend feminine driven romance with masculine commentary, and the excitement of a great mystery that will keep you guessing until the final chapters. The characters and plot were consistent, the mystery and story constantly build, never becoming completely predictable, and interestingly draws small circles, often coming back to a significant idea or place. More importantly than the added mystery, Rylee is a full character, no one is perfectly nice all the time. This roundness goes for all the characters, including the ones you love to hate. No one is who they seem, not in an over the top way, but simple human nature, making the characters more realistic with every page. The Christian discussion is also presented in a much more natural way than you will sometime see in such novels. Like most of characteristics of nuance in the novel, it is subtle and merely a suggestion in conversation or a source of comfort for the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
I have all of Deeanne Gist books which I would finish in two days at the most, but Beguiled was a struggle for me to get through. I just did not relate to this book at all which is disappointing, because I wanted to like it so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
I didn't read Bertrand before, but I read Gist's other books. This one is different than Deeanne's other books, but I liked the story. I also enjoy mysteries, so I wasn't disappointed because of that, like some other readers were.It's a nice story, a bit predictable, but it wasn't annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Rylee Monroe is a dog walker on rollerblades that never fears the streets at night. But now that a thief seems to be targeting all the houses of her dog walking clients, she wonders if someone is targeting her.Reporter Logan Woods is following the break-ins and seems to be following Rylee as well.. but does he have more of a reason than simply publishing articles?This is a cute crime mystery story with a dog walker who fears nothing and a reporter who fears dogs.yet is falling in love with a dog walker. It was a little different to read a modern day book by Deanne Gist as I am used to her excellent historical fiction. She did a good job, but it was just different than what I expect from her. Since her and J. Mark Bertrand worked together on blending their genres, I think they did a good job. This book is not really spine tingling, but it is something that will keep you on your toes and want to solve the mystery and the romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Rylee is a dog walker living a quiet, peaceful existence until she finds herself walking into a home robbery in progress. The robber is deemed the robin hood thief because he steals seemingly random items and drops them at charities to be sold to benefit the poor. Rylee is the main suspect because she has a connection to the majority of the homes that are robbed. Logan is a reporter who is also writing a novel on the side. He is determined to find the robin hood thief to complete his book. This book is mystery with lots of twists and turns, just when you think you figured it out you have not. Although Rylee own apartment is ransacked, she is determined to find the real robber and clean her name. She discovers many secrets about parents and her past. The pieces all fall together to solve the case. I received this book free of charge from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Ive read several of Deeanne Gists books and I must admit I was a little nervous about this one. Each book seemed to slide downward on my enjoyment scale. A Bride Most Begrudging stole my heart, but Courting Trouble made me angry. One thing to Beguiled advantage was that it had a co-author, J. Mark Bertrand. I am glad to report that Beguiled has put Gist back in my good graces again and put Bertrand on my list of writers to watch. The first thing that hooked me in this book was the characters. In previous books, Gists characters were always well rounded, even though their actions seemed a bit inconsistent. Not in this story. Rylees girl-next-door wins you over before the end of the first chapter, but she has just enough spunk to make her stand out from other sweet characters. Logan is a mans man, but with a tender side and a very amusing phobia. Second, Gist and Bertrand manage to create a good solid mystery. Normally, I have a pretty good idea of who the bad guy is by the end. But this time, I must say I was a little surprised when the villain was finally revealed, and not in a bad way. I also loved the villains motivation for what he was doing. It was the perfect balance of credibility and wickedness needed for a bad guy. The only issue I had with the book was the setting, and I admit, Im being a little nitpicky because Im a writer. The authors never said where Charleston was (theres one in West Virginia and South Carolina), although I got the feeling it was in SC. Whether Charleston, SC or not, Gist and Bertrand nailed the feel of old southern money.Great book. I would be willing to read another book from the Gist/Bertrand team.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beka H.
Deanna's honest depiction of Christians in real struggles was sorely absent in this swtich up novel. Maybe it was the suspense aspect or partnership, but I missed the clear cut lines of faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Jackson
This was the best mystery I have read for sometime. I never did figure out "who done it" till I read the book to the end. It was a slow read. I wanted to read every word, it was so well written. I loved the dog-walker theme and character. I'm looking forward to reading more mysteries in this series by these two authors,writing together. I give it a 5 star rating
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jona
I have never read any of Deeanne Gist's books before so I had nothing to compare to. I liked this book. Poor Rylee just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. I had some else pegged as the "Robin Hood" bandit so it was a surprise to find out at the end who really did it. I would recommend this book.I received this book from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beguiled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Riveting read. A great blend of suspense and romance. I really liked the way the mystery was built giving the reader pieces of the puzzle bit by bit. I was able to partially solve the mystery, but the ending was a real surprise. A fast-paced plot that kept me reading, but I was disappointed when it was over. I wanted more! Loved the epilogue!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.