Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regal Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Regal Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook

Winning Him Without Words is for the many Christian wives who attend church week after week without their husbands by their sides. They are married to men who do not share their enthusiasm for God and the church. Their mismatched spirituality causes them to feel out of place, often causing them to pursue their faith less than wholeheartedly. Authors Donovan and Miller speak from experience and understanding, offering 10 keys to thrive by creating a loving home where God can work. Designed with group study in mind, the book includes discussion questions and a leader's guide. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Review 1 for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gazelle Simmons Moore
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book! It came at just the right time and brought insights I hadn't considered. I highly recommend this book for any Christian wife doubting God's plans for your marriage. Take care and God bless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic resource!

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I may not be in a spiritually mismatched marriage myself, but I know lots of women who are and this book could be a marriage saving tool for so many of them. It could also be the tool that eventually turns that spiritual mismatch into a match. This book is easy to read and full of real life examples that make it very engaging. Lynn and Dineen really bare their souls as they go through their personal experiences and what they have learned. I personally found it wonderful just as a refresher on important things in a marriage (your husband needs and deserves your respect...) for me personally as well. Though this book may seem to have a limited audience who will really be able to appreciate it, every marriage could learn a lot from this little gem.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dianne Rogers
Location:alberta, canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i really enjoyed this quick read very informative and confirmation for me and my situation of being married to an unsaved husband...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not Just Another Christian Self-Help Book

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Campbell
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unequally yoked marriages are something all counselors encounter in session. We are trained to bring up the "hot button" issues like children, finances, and faith during premarital counseling because differences in key areas like these can lead to marital disharmony. In essence, therapists operate on the assumption that it's better to know ahead of time if you and your partner don't see eye-to-eye, so you can get a head start on resolving the issues instead of being blindsided by them later.
But what if faith wasn't an issue when you first married? What if you came to a saving knowledge later in life and your spouse didn't? Or what if you shunned your faith values for a period, got married, and then came back to your faith?
Authors Lynn Donovan and Dineen Miller wrote their book Winning Him Without Words in an attempt to answer questions just like these, because they found themselves in the scenarios mentioned above.
Both authors are so candid throughout the book that I never felt like this was just another Christian self-help book. These are real women, struggling with real issues, who don't claim to have all the answers. They do, however, claim to know the One who does. Despite years or praying for their husband's salvation, both Lynn and Dineen found certain principles to help their marriage thrive instead of wither and die.
As a counselor, I wanted to take note of the 10 keys that helped them, and I'm so glad I did, because now I have a book to whole-heartedly recommend to clients facing similar life circumstances. Women everywhere will be able to relate to the yearning both women disclose they have for their husbands to accept Christ, because if we haven't prayed for our husband's salvation, then we've prayed for a change in our husband's attitudes or actions. All married women feel alone in their marriage at some point, and these principles Lynn and Dineen offer are solid ways to bring about real connection.
In fact, one of the keys presented was to Stay Connected. In order to do this, Lynn joined a fantasy football league with her husband, even though she knew nothing about football. Dineen started playing disc golf. Yes, it required sacrifice of time and maybe even some of their own desires, but both marriages enriched from it. This is a great takeaway for women everywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every church should have this book!

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave a copy to my church for the pastor who counsels on marriage. What we both loved was that these women are talking from the trenches. They give practical ways to love their unbelieving husbands. Good solid Biblical teaching, encourages, inspires, and give hope those in mismatched marriages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surviving and Thriving in a Spiritual Mismatch

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
DrFrisbie
Location:Del Mar, California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book about a topic that needs our attention:
Women in marriages that are a 'spiritual mismatch' -- she believes
and practices her faith, he does not or will not believe.
Churches across North America are filled with women --- attending
solo despite being married --- who need this book! Many of these
faithful women bring their children to Sunday School and worship,
teaching and training their kids about God and His precepts.
Meanwhile, the husband and father in the home does not contribute.
Where do we go from here?
Writing with honesty, transparency, and real-life drama, the two
authors of this book share their own journeys and give practical,
wise advice to women who are living in this same situation.
As family counselors who often work in church settings and with
believing couples, we affirm the usefulness of this book.
Buy one for yourself --- and for any wife you know who is
living in a spiritually mismatched marriage.
Dr. David & Lisa Frisbie
The Center for Marriage & Family Studies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Doldrums Buster for Any Marriage!!!

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
patti lacy
Location:Normal, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We are ordinary women and ordinary wives just like you. And, just like you, we believe that Jesus is the Son of God and our redeemer. OUR HUSBANDS DO NOT."
With that sentence, Lynn Donovan and Dineen Miller hooked me on an exciting new read, one that had me examining--and improving--my marriage, though I'm in a thriving believers' union. Did you hear that? THIS BOOK WILL improve your marriage...whether your husband presently believes or not.
In concise yet poignant prose, Lynn Donovan and Dineen Miller have written a book to yank you from the doldrums of a mismatched marriage...or a marriage that needs the Living Water of Jesus Christ.
Would you rather thrist and claw in the sand land of he said, he won't, he can't that marriage often becomes? If so, DON'T read "Winning Him Without Words!"
Armed with the Living Water, Christ Jesus, the Great Counselor, The Holy Spirit, and God's scriptural sword, Donovan and Miller trumpet you to victory through a part how-to guide, part Bible study, part fascinating memoir of their own unique faith journeys. In fact, Lynn and Dineen share from desert times so you can drink deep from the oasis that God intended marriage to be.
Ten thought-provoking chapters probe at marital battlefields and answer those questions you were afraid to ask, then ask you the questions you really need to answer. I LOVED this discovery aspect and chapter-ending prayer of commitment.
It's not often I put down novels or research material to venture into personal growth or women's issue books, but this is one venture that was well worth every minute!
I do have one suggestion: I would purchase the paperback version rather than the Kindle (learn from my mistake, okay?) The resource materials, chapter-ending questions, and the study group nature can be more easily shared and set near your prayer chair. Believe me, you'll be flipping back through THIS book time and time again.
GET READY for an extraordinary trek, folks! May this only be the beginning of a great ministry!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement shared from the heart

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
eph2810
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Donovan's/Miller's book “Winning Him Without Words” is an encouraging book that will help not only unequally yoked couples, but all couples. The book is written from the heart, which you can feel in every word. God is in the center of the authors' marriages and they trust God for their husbands salvation. Donovan and Miller not only talk the talk, they walk it in obedience to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Winning Him Without Words: 10 Keys to Thriving in Your Spiritually Mismatched Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
This book is an invaluable resource--but it's more than that. It's a source of encouragement and inspiration as Donovan & Miller share from their passion, their hearts, and their own lives and mismatched marriages--a beautiful example of Christ's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.