Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regal Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook

Regal Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook

Most believers know about fasting, but few really understand the wonderful benefits that come when we fast with purpose and direction. Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough gives the why of fasting, rather than just the how. Towns avoids a glut of techniques and schedules; instead he provides a probing look at Isaiah 58, often called "the fasting passage," and introduces nine biblical fasts---each designed for a specific physical and spiritual outcome. Learn how fasting can strengthen your faith and draw you closer to God, helping you to be a true overcomer in Christ.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Review 1 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
mike
Location:ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked this book, it made me think of different situations in my life where fasting might be useful but it did seem a bit unorganized.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's concise

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Mike
Location:Chicago
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's concise! This book lifts up the layers of the subject of fasting for a breakthrough.It explains in detail the various fast, with scholarly precision, but in easy language for understanding in any level.
It is a resource book that one can refer to for many years to come.
It is a great teaching tool for small groups, and sermon preparation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book on fasting!

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Roger
Location:San Angelo, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was introduced to this book through a seminary class and found it to be a very helpful book in understanding the biblical purposes of fasting. It also challenged my heart to become personally involved in this spiritual discipline. It would benefit anyone who wants to pursue more teaching on this subject.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phillystean Miller
This book has encouraged me to go back to my spiritual roots. To have a hunger for God, you must feed your spirit(the Word) and not your flesh(physical food). This book gives you guidance on which fast and how to fast.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maritza Diaz
The book was helpful in that it gave me direction on how and why to fast. I did the disciples fast a few months ago to break the addiction food had over my life. Praise God! I also did the Esther fast a few weeks ago for protection for my family and granddaughter. I enlisted the help of others who fasted with me. God is good! It was a difficult fast but Praise God for His faithfulness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amelia Jones
I have found this to be a very useful tool for improving one's understandiing and application of the discipline of fasting. I enjoyed the format showing the definitions of the different fasts, how to complete them and the expected goals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Williamson
This book looks great. I'm anxious to read it and then begin to fast and see spiritual results.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Yoko Takagi
I sincerely hope that more books written by Towns' will be available at CBD. I read his daily devotional message almost every morning (highly recommend!). The topic of fasting is very essential in our Christian lives and I am glad that Dr Towns wrote about the subject.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tina Price
I found the book to be very enlighteninggiving me a better understanding of what it means to fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Camellia Capitelli
A wonderfully explained look at fasting. A great tool in your prayer life and for those who are intercessors. I highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
m.morales
This book is good...especially if you have never fasted before or have done so without instruction. I saw the different categories and it was easy to choose. I'm not saying it was just casual reading because it filled a need I had. Yes, I recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Randolph Jackson
During a rather lengthy stay in the NYS prison system, I fasted one day a week for about a year with only health benefits in mind. I eventually realized, however, that fasting should have a deeper, more profound and spiritual purpose. A friend asked if I could use any spiritual-oriented material that might help. I chose Elmer Town's book. It really appealed to me because it is also full of the practical aspects of fasting as well as the longed for spiritual connection - making it a widely acceptable guide for all students of fasting. *****
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2002
Customer Avatar
Annie
People who find excuses NOT to fast or whose impaired health makes them think they CANNOT fast, this book is a light shining through the darkness. EVERYone CAN fast - and this book will help ANYone make that breakthrough to clearer spiritual communion with God. Get the companion workbook too - and GOD BLESS your efforts to know Him better/closer/deeper!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2002
Customer Avatar
Steve Eckhardt
If you see God as a Cosmic Vending Machine (Drop in a 5 day fast - kaching! - out comes a saved relative) then this is the book for you. If, on the other hand, you believe that God is Lord and wish to fast to be more sensitive to his leading, I'd suggest looking elsewhere.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2000
Customer Avatar
Cindy Kirby
This book is extremely helpful for anyone who has wanted to fast for a spritual breakthrough or direction but just didn't know how to start. Coupled with the study guide it gives you a wonderful step by step plan that you can personalize to meet you specific needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2000
Customer Avatar
mary nunnally
I led a Bible study group through this book, and it changed our lives. It isn't about food, it's about your relationship with the Lord. Read this book if you are serious about drawing closer to the heart of God, and learn how fasting can increase your love for Him!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2000
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Billie D. Thompson
This a great book to utilize as a fasting resource and as an inspiraton tool to encourage your fasting discipline. I borrowed this book from a friend; she wants it back, so I must have this in my library, well on my nightstand. It is a must have!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fasting for Spiritual Breakthrough: A Guide to Nine Biblical Fasts - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jenni Elmore
Fasting is not a subject often taught in today's church. When one begins to get serious about Seeking God's face, questions arise about the practice of fasting aimed toward this goal. I found this book very helpful and inspirational. I would highly recommend it to anyone desirous of a deeper and closer walk with our Lord, Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.