Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3

Bethany House Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3

The body was an undercover agent working to bring down Mexican drug cartels. The feds want the case closed rather than risk exposing other agents in the field, but March can't abide letting a murder go unsolved. And he doesn't have to dig long to figure out something isn't right. Someone is covering something up, and it seems that everyone has something to hide. Maybe even March, as the case soon intersects, unexpectedly, with the murder that led him to become a homicide cop, all those years ago.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Review 1 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nothing to Hide: A Mixed Review

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laundry Lady
Location:Bethlehem, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nothing to Hide is a well written book. The action is compelling and the tension ebbs and flows in the way that makes you want to keep reading. That being said I had a really hard time getting through this book. I’ve never been someone to categorize fiction based on the gender of the author but this book felt very male to me. It was written a bit like an action movie. Lots of things happening but I didn’t feel like I had nearly enough information about the people it was happening to. The dialogue was mostly between male characters and while they spoke very much like most men do, it wasn’t enough for this reader. Dialogue is a major opportunity to learn about characters but in this case the dialogue was very typically male in that it was utilitarian. I’m used to more nuanced characters with rich back story that is slowly revealed through dialogue and character development.
I realize that Roland March is a recurring character in J. Mark Bertrand’s books, but I had the constant feeling that I was missing important information because I hadn’t read any of his previous work. I also found the amount of violence and the gruesome descriptions of it to be shocking, both in a good and a bad way. I wasn't a fan of the descriptions but they were well written and compelling. In some ways I was pleased to see this in a book labeled Christian fiction. While it may offend some readers, as a Christian author myself I've almost feared that publishing under a Christian fiction label would require me to completely sanitize my books, thus losing authenticity. This is a well written book. It just didn’t appeal much to me. Maybe I have more girly taste in books than I realized.
I was not compensated for this review but I did receive a free copy of the book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A book with twists and turns

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sare
Age:25-34
Gender:female
" What do you say to a fallen partner? What do you say to a man you started off despising and came to grudgingly respect, whose death is on your conscience and whole absence you're only beginning to feel?"
Detective Roland March is a complex character who is trying to put together the pieces of a grisly murder case. A man is dead. His head is missing and his finger seems to be pointing at something, but what? The deeper he digs, the more dangerous and confusing the investigation becomes. While analyzing the clues Roland finds himself reflecting on his past which forces him to not only work through the current case but through buried issues from his past.
"Nothing to Hide" by J. Mark Bertrand is a suspense story that ties in present with the past in a fresh and exciting way. Its plot twists and turns until it reaches an end that I did not see coming. I have not read very many police suspense stories and I must admit that this was not my favorite read. Some of this is probably because this book is part of a series and I kept feeling like I was missing something, which I probably was. I am guessing that this book is geared more towards middle aged men then it is to young moms, like myself.
Despite it not being my favorite, it was well written and I very much enjoyed the conclusion. The characters were deep, even the secondary ones. I also thought it tied in deep spiritual questions in a thought provoking manner. I received a free copy of this book to review from Bethany House publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not for the faint-hearted!!!

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is not for the faint of heart! It’s gruesome and torturous in places. But within the world Roland Mark finds himself in, these horrors become the norm to the men and women who work to get drugs and illegal arms to the cartels when they want them.
Bertrand’s characters are well-developed, but there are definitely some you would not want to get involved with. The camaraderie between Lorenz and Roland as partners is genuine as police officers. The interactions between the police department, the FBI, and the CIA are true to form–no one wants to give up information that might hinder any of their activities that are ongoing. It’s a book of secrets, manipulations, and betrayal all within the confines of the main characters dealing with the murder and the cartels. The multiple twists and turns that take place seem monumental at times. There’s confusion as to who is on whose side.
If you are the thriller type reader, you will find that Bertrand’s book delivers and then some! The gruesomeness of the headless victim portends to what is to transpire as the book progresses. Though it’s grueling and gruesome, the author overrides some of the horror and hardships of the job by depicting Roland’s loving marriage relationship. And you’ll need it for a respite!
This story will make you wonder if you really want to contend with a job in the police department, CIA or FBI. Are you the gritty type to find the truth regardless of the consequences or one to let some of the evidence slide by as requested by your chief in charge? These are the people who put their lives on the line to keep our lives safer.
Though I did find some references to faith, it’s was not as well-defined in the context I’m used to. It is tested to the max in the heat of the action, however, but in a wondering way of what’s ‘out there.’
Because this book was inspired by a true life story, it made the book even that much more interesting to me, as I enjoy working through the criminal mind. But do be prepared for the gruesomeness of the story. It’s unfortunately real life for some people. I found that the innocent ones who are trying to do their job are the ones that my heart goes out to.
This book was provided by Noelle Buss of Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A flawed character seeking the truth

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In book three of his Roland March Mystery series, author J. Mark Bertrand continues to develop a believable character that struggles to find answers - not just as a detective solving crimes - but as a human being seeking answers to wrongs he has seen in his own lifetime. As he has done with the first two books of this series, Bertrand manages to seek this answers in a manner that does not come across as 'preachy' - as is the danger in writing soul-searching Christian fiction. Roland March is a likable character, full of flaws, but ultimately struggling to make sense out of his job and his life. He's a bit past his prime, but still always manages to come out on top ... sometimes barely.
Another interesting fact about this mystery is that even the author admits that it's inspiration was a true story about a man who was pulled over claiming to be a CIA agent, but the additional storyline regarding the selling of illegal arms to Mexican drug cartels was written prior to factual news about operation 'Fast and Furious'. Any similarities are a coincidence ... but as a reader I also felt that it was testament that the writer did his homework. The story was fiction, but the scenario was something that could be all too true.
I believe this book, and the earlier two in this series, will appeal to both men and women who enjoy murder mysteries, cop shows and similar. It would also not be offensive to non-Christian readers.
*This book was received for review from the publisher. Further information about the author and the book has been furnished below by the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fitting end to a great series

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing to Hide continues the story of Detective Roland March, as begun first in "Back on Murder" and then "Pattern of Wounds", and it does so in a tremendously satisfying manner. Now, as I've warned with other similar suspense books, not all readers will be comfortable with the occasional grisly scene. However, readers who enjoy a good suspense novel are going to find this book to be completely entertaining, well-written, and sure to leave you thinking as you ponder the ethical dilemmas March finds himself in. The conspiracy underpinning this book makes for an absorbing read, and I greatly enjoyed the occasional "Interludes" which take the reader back a couple of decades to where everything began for Detective March, providing valuable insight into who March is as a character and what he stands for. The plot is full of twists and turns that will keep you riveted to the pages, and I honestly found the book impossible to put down. And I have to say, I was completely surprised when the murderer was revealed, something that doesn't happen all that often! Well done Bertrand!
I highly recommend not only Nothing to Hide, but the entire series, which is definitely one I will be reading again in the future. Bertrand has earned a permanent place on my "must read" list. 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

grisly, hard boiled detective novel

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A headless corpse is found in a parking lot in Houston and Detective Roland March is on the case. The victim's hands are skinned so there are no fingerprints. (You have probably already figured out that this is not a “cozy” mystery.) But DNA evidence identifies him as a FBI agent.
When the case agent tries to keep March under control, he knows there is more to the murder than the FBI is admitting. March refuses to let the investigation go and does some deeper digging.
As March and his partner pursue the gun smuggling aspect of the case, March watches in horror as his partner is gunned down. He grabs an automatic from the recently discovered stash. One pull on the trigger and his partner's killer is down. But there were so many bullet wounds, March is put on administrative leave and is under internal investigation.
But he cannot let the investigation go. The deeper he goes on his own time, the more he finds the FBI has something to hide. He follows the guns to Mexico where it all goes bad.
Nothing to Hide is the next in the series featuring the hard boiled detective Roland March. This serious is not for the weak stomached. There are lots of gun fights and slicing of flesh. Roland March is not a Christian but his wife is. Christianity and Christian beliefs pop up here and there but are not central to the plot. This would be the kind of novel you could recommend to your unsaved detective mystery loving friend with a view to discussing it.
The plot is very complex, with hidden personalities and many subplots. Sometimes I got a bit impatient with the complexity of the whole thing.
There were a few places in the book where I felt the action wasn't quite right. I was most disappointed in the ending. As in a B western, the calvary comes over the hill and saves March from what appears to be an impossible situation. Ugh.
If you like hard boiled detective stories, you'll probably like this one. While it is not the first in the series, this novel can be read on its own. There are allusions to earlier novels but this plot reads well by itself.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Read the first two

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Roland March is gritty without be annoying. He had the qualities you look for in someone you want to root for. As a women reading this I did find it refreshing that there was a small portion written about his relationship with his wife and their struggles. As a detective for the Houston Police Department he did have trouble trusting his fellow officers during all the changes at the precinct which forced him to go rogue.
I did enjoy the plot and story line involving the gun trafficking and Mexican cartel. The story itself was well written and easy enough to follow, despite it jumping back twenty years every few chapters. I did like the supporting characters in the book as well, they were intriguing without over taking the main character.
The only negative about the book was, I felt, at times I needed to read the previous two books. I felt as I was missing something I should have read and kept double checking. Where as I think the author meant it as a stand alone novel in a series at times it felt more like a continuation. Despite that, due to its action and mystery I may have to go back and read the first two.
I would recommend this book to a friend but only with the disclaimer of read the first two in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good read for fans of CSI

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gringa93
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Roland March is a detective for the Houstan Police Department. The crime scene has a victim that has been decapitated. The FBI and Mexican cartels are somehow involved with the case. Will March be able to solve the case without losing his life? Read this "CSI" thriller to find out.
This is the third book in the Roland March mystery series. I hadn't read the other two books, so I was a bit confused. While you could read this as a stand alone book, I think I would have understood the plot better if I had read the other two books. Bertrand is gritty in describing the crime scene. He also jumps back in time for a chapter, but it doesn't seem to flow with the story. If you have read the other books I am sure you would enjoy this book. If you are a "CSI" fan this author may intregue you.
Thank you to Bethany House Publishers for providing me with this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Murder Mystery

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momma2Boys
Location:Pacific NW
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nothing to Hide is the newest Roland March Mystery by J. Mark Bertrand. It is categorized as Christian Fiction, but there isn't really much Christian about it at all. The plot centers around a homicide cop, Roland March, who is called in to investigate a murder that takes place in the Houston area. The investigation reconnects him with his past, through lots of choppy back and forth chapters that I found difficult to follow. It actually took me quite a while to get into the story because of this. The main character, Detective March, is very likable and the text is very clean. I didn't particularly enjoy reading about drug cartels and the military aspects contained in the book, but maybe someone who is into those things would like it more. Would I recommend this book to a friend? Probably not. It wasn't bad. It just wasn't that good.
**I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great police suspense -- ala Alex Cross

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The moment a Mark Bertrand novel arrives, it jumps near the top of my TBR pile. I love the sarcastic edge to his detective novels. Detective Roland March has an edge mixed with a craving for the best in humanity. Yet he's a homicide detective in Houston who is constantly confronted with the worst in people. This isn't the first book with Roland. For people like me who've read the prior books, the prior characters are woven in -- just enough to tie the books together. Yet if this was your first encounter, those characters and hints don't distract from the full force action in this novel. This is a gritty police detective novel that will appeal to readers who like a novel that doesn't preach yet has heart. A great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great Roland March mystery! I'm enjoying the character more and more as the series develops. I'm excited to see what else Bertrand has in store for March.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Page-turner

Date:July 11, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Detective Roland March follows his hunches even in the face of probably losing his job. Twists and turns dominate as March follows lead after lead. Until he realizes he can trust no one. When he takes things into his own hands he finds himself so deep into the chain of command of the villains he can’t turn back. His plan will either make him the hero or the dumbest cop in town. Memorable characters, great mystery plot and descriptions, a fast-paced page-turner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
JTWade
Location:Waycross, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this character and I love a great plot with many twists and turns. I could hardly put this down once I started. I can't wait until the next Roland March Mystery comes out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3rd in Roland March series is powerful storytellin

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing to Hide by J. Mark Bertrand is the third book in the outstanding Roland March murder mystery series. When Roland is called to investigate the murder of a man who was decapitated and de-gloved as a way of keeping his identity secret, at first he considers the involvement of the Mexican cartels. With Houston's proximity to the border, his guess wouldn't be too big of a stretch, but what he uncovers instead is a shocking mix of political machinations, secret agents and double agents, and a connection to his past Roland thought was long buried. Bertrand's writing is hard-edged police procedural mixed with the inner workings of a man tortured by his desire to right wrongs, even at great personal cost. The story is complicated, fast-paced, action-packed, and always, always intelligent. By the time Roland begins to uncover the truth, the reader can barely keep track of who is betraying who and just who the real bad guy is, and when the murderer is revealed, I was just as shocked as Roland. Bertrand excels at keeping me guessing (and as a frequent murder mystery reader, it's hard to surprise me). Some police procedural series go on far past their expiration date, but with Bertrand writing, I will always keep coming back to see what he's put March up against next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nothing to Hide, Roland March Mystery Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great murder mystery!

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nothing to Hide is the latest novel from J. Mark Bertrand where the reader is once more following the detective Roland March who has been called to the scene of a grisly murder. This time its a decapitated body where all visible signs of identification have been removed, no tattoos, no skin left on either hand and no head, with any possible dental record identifications long gone. Only one clue remains on the body, a finger pointing into the woods. Is that where the head is? Is that the direction Detective March must begin this investigation? Or is there something someone really wants to hide?
As he launches into a confusing investigation that turn up more questions than answers, Detective March injures himself while trying to cross a gully and resolves to self medicate himself over seeing a doctor, even though this injury seems to cause him immeasurable pain. A meeting with FBI leads him to Agent Bea Kuykendahl who informs him that she knows who his John Doe murder victim is, but insists on keeping his identity a secret to prevent another undercover agent from being murdered in the process of an ongoing sting operation.
She provides him with a folder filled with false information she requires him to investigate to ensure whoever has murdered John Doe, feels that they made a huge mistake. She believes it's only with March's help, that together they can bring this case to a close. However when the information that March begins to uncover doesn't make sense, he can only conclude that someone else besides the murderer has something to hide, something they will do anything to prevent from being revealed.
I received Nothing to Hide from J. Mark Bertrand compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. This one was a bit confusing for me to understand. Having read the prior Roland March mystery's, I was determined to follow this one through to the end. I have to say however that this one did not resonate with me like the ones before, and with so many various leads that Roland spent chasing, encounters with the FBI, people from his past with ties to the Mexican cartel, and the time spent at the Gun Club, left me wanting so much more from this one. I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars and for those of you who love crime/mystery novels, then you will undoubtedly will want to pick up this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.