Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1

Bethany House Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1

Johanna Ilg has lived her entire life in Main Amana, one of the seven villages inhabited by devout Christians who believe in cooperative living, a simple lifestyle, and faithful service to God. Although she's always longed to see the outside world, Johanna believes her future is rooted in the community. But when she learns a troubling secret, the world she thought she knew is shattered and she is forced to make difficult choices about a new life and the man she left behind.
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Review 1 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
This review is fromSomewhere to Belong - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gwen
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Have not read the book yet. Going away for a couple of weeks soon and was just lining up some reading material.
Thank you again for supplying so many good free books.
God bless you
Gwen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
This review is fromSomewhere to Belong - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jools
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have read several books set in Amish communities, this one was something different. The community is set out like a communist country and as I figured out some time into the book back in history, not present day.
Interesting story, good characters (most of them anyway) flawed people but I guess realistic enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
This review is fromSomewhere to Belong - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing. No value in its content at all.

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Storyline pathetic! Has no real spiritual impact. Does give some insight to a particular way of life though, which is quite colorful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
This review is fromSomewhere to Belong - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed the unique setting of this story.

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marie
Location:Manhattan, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found myself wondering how I would have responded to being thrust in to a very different living situation. I enjoyed reading this book and will be interested to read other books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
This review is fromSomewhere to Belong - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great book!

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this story about the Amana community interesting and very well written. Berta is a most interesting character and does a good job of keeping the reader entertained. The story is very true to life and deals with family secrets and the importance of being truthful in all circumstances. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
This review is fromSomewhere to Belong - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thumbs up

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reisi
Location:Johnstown, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This was one of my first e-books and though bound to my computer I much enjoyed the story line, the attitudes, and life of the characters. The main character(s) didn't live a soap opera life but dealt with real issues in the situation she was in and dealt with them realistically (more or less). One situation did escape me for a bit and jarred my (up to then) reading enjoyment but hey, it is a book- expect things that normal life wouldn't usually contain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:Dallas TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I collect all the Amish genre books that I read, so I needed Somewhere to Belong, but they were like $15 to $20, but I received the book much lower that that. The value for your dollar was great, as well as the other books I purchased at that time...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
This review is fromSomewhere to Belong - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sadie7
Location:Hubbard, Ohio
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book and didn't want to put it down. The characters were very real and you felt you knew them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
This review is fromSomewhere to Belong - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product was a test product for me.

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Basically, I read this book because it was a free ebook. The story was interesting but not riveting. I discovered that I still much prefer a book in my hands to one on the computer. I snuggled up on the couch with my laptop and a blanket but it still doesn't give me the pleasure of a book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
This review is fromSomewhere to Belong - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
ILUV2READ
Location:Bethel Springs, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was my very first e-book. It was very easy to read...and it seemed like the reading was faster than a regular book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting history....

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the history behind the Amana’s interesting. In 1930, they ceased from communal living, but I guess there are still operational churches of this sect that continues to this day. Both Johanna and Berta had to face questions that plague many of us even this day. We don;t have to face judgement for wearing a pink skirt, but I wonder if we thought it would save our family, would we do drastic things to bring a family closer together like the Schumacher family tried to do?
Can we be content with what we have always known, or is the grass always greener on the other side?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alissabeth
Somewhere to Belong by Judith Miller is the story of two young women who are brought together in an unusual way. This is the first book in the Daughters of Amana series.Berta comes from a privileged family. She is uprooted by her parents, who desire a more simple life, and moved to the Amana community. Berta is a rebellious young woman, who becomes even more rebellious when she realizes Amana will be her new home. Berta experiences many challenges and brings disruption and chaos to the peaceful community.Johana has always lived the simple life in Amana. However, she has always longed to view the outside world. When Berta joins the community, she becomes even more intrigued by the lavish stories of the outside world. Many secrets lie ahead for Johana that cause pain and frustration. Can she work through them to find out where she truly belongs?This book was hard for me to get into. Each chapter flips to either Berta or Johana's story, so I had a hard time following. After several chapters, it finally started flowing better for me and I thoroughly enjoyed it.Judith Miller creates twists and turns throughout the story that keep you captured and you are drawn to the characters and the challenges they face.I have heard of communities such as this before, but have never read any books. I can't wait to read and learn more about the community.I received a copy of this book courtesy of the Bethany House blog review program. All opinions stated are my own and are not swayed by receiving this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2010
Somewhere to Belong is the first time I have heard about the Amana Colony and I was really looking forward to traveling back in time and enjoying the peace and tranquility of this community. While life in Amana was exactly what I was expecting, the story that Judith Miller told, far exceeded my expectations. I have a couple of Judiths books prior to this one and I have always enjoyed her writing, but Somewhere to Belong really captured my heart. Johanna and Berta were two young women from very different worlds who, surprisingly, had a great deal in common. Their lives intersected at the exact moment they needed each other. While I could not relate to the desire to live the way those in the Amana Colony lived, this book did remind me how wonderful it is to be home. We all want to feel at home and we all have different ways in which we want to live and this book served to remind me how much I appreciate the idea of home. This is a warm story and full of Christian inspiration. It is a relaxing and fast read that proved very difficult to put down. The next book in the Daughters of Amana series, More Than Words, is releasing soon and I am very excited about returning to Amana. Judith Miller is becoming one of my favorite authors because of her warm and interesting storytelling. I highly recommend Somewhere to Belong. It is a real delight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Aranka Balog
Great story, and insite of our christian history and chalenches that peole did face in progress.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jona
I liked how Judith Miller brought two different life styles together. Johanna Ilg has so much patience with Berta Schumacher as she tries to teach her the ways of Amana Colonies. This book also shows how important it is to be open and honest with each other. I also like the fact that both girls learn to lean on the Lord and forgive others of past mistakes. I'm looking forward to the next book in this series! This book was given to me from Bethany House to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley
On July 4th I read a review of the book in the Cedar Rapids Gazette and immediately started my search. Living close to the Amanas and having visited there numerous times I just had to read it. I couldn't put the book down, it was a wonderful story about the two young ladies. I have just ordered the next two books in the series "More Than Words" and "A Bond Never Broken" and am anxiously awaiting their arrival.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maureen Gerhard
I finally enjoyed this book.I thought it dragged for the first 100 pages or so but it did did improve the longer I read it and I look forward to the following books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
I really enjoyed this book. But, in my opinion, the writing was good, not great. I just wasnt wowed by it. It IS a good book, and I loved the characters and seeing them grow and change. I also really liked the message or theme of secrets. I liked how the author portrayed how secrets can potentially destroy relationships and how wonderful it feels to just get everything out in the open. I would recommend this, just not highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Somewhere to Belong by Judith Miller is the first book in the Daughters of Amana series. Johanna Ilg has always been the ideal daughter for her parents in Amana, Iowa. Living on a religious commune that focuses on work and prayer is often a austere existance, and Johanna has long desired to see the world outside of their small community. When Berta Schumacher moves to Amana, she's in for a rude awakening. The spoiled and petted daughter of a Chicago doctor and his wife has been forced to give up her big city life for the hard life in Amana because of her out of control ways. Johanna is both intrigued and angered by Berta, especially after the elders force her to teach the young woman about their community. Berta is free-spirited and has no understanding of the rigid life of rules of the town, despite who it hurts. The two girls become friends, despite their differences, and both just may have something to teach the other. While this book is ostensibly a romance, it is in truth a novel of friendship. Berta and Johanna are both of the cusp of womanhood (Johanna more so), and are both incredibly sheltered. It's only through their leaning on each other and God that they will be able to manage the terrible secrets their families have been hiding from them. I hope in the next novel Miller demonstrates more of the Amana lifestyle and introduces characters outside of the kitchen. But I look forward to reading about what Berta is up to next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Somewhere to Belong, Daughters of Amana Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2010
The story follows two girls, Johanna Ilg, who has grown up in the Amana colonies. She enjoys her life there, and although she does having desires to see more of the world, she follows the rules and tries to live a life that would please her elders and the Lord.Berta Schumacher has just moved to the colony from a pampered lifestyle in Chicago. She resists all aspects of life in the colony and gets into any and all kind of trouble!These two completely different girls have been thrown into each others path and as Johanna is given the responsibility to train Berta, the girls from an unlikely friendship, though it's not without its' frustrations! When troubling secrets are exposed, the girls face the question of where they really belong.I will definitely say that I liked this book a lot more than I thought I would. Nothing in the plot is hugely dramatic or climactic, but it's the characters themselves that drew me in and kept my attention. Seeing the same story from two different viewpoints was a great way to get to know the girls better. A great story of family, friendship and the things that are really important in life!I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of reviewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.