Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3

Bethany House A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3

For many years, Ilsa Redlich has helped her parents run a hotel in South Amana, but as the United States enters the Great War, she can feel her world changing. The residents of the towns surrounding the Amana Colonies used to be accepting of their quiet, peaceful neighbors, but with anti-German sentiment running high, the Amana villages are now plagued by vandalism, threats, and insults. Things get even worse when Ilsa finds out her family won't be allowed to speak German in public-and that Garon, the childhood friend she's long been smitten with, has decided to join the army.

Jutta Schmidt is shocked when several members of the Council of National Defense show up on her family's doorstep. Sure, the Schmidts once lived in the Amana Colonies, but that was years ago. She's even more surprised when the council demands that she travel to Amana and report back on any un-American activities. Not daring to disobey the government agents, Jutta takes a job at the South Amana hotel, befriends the daughter of the owners, and begins to eavesdrop every chance she gets.

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3
Review 1 for A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is very informative

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dottie
Location:Cleveland , Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so interesting and intriguing I could hardly put it down. I felt I was seeing it as a movie and hated for it to end. Judith Miller is a wonderful writter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW! what a book!

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book #3 of the Amana series and I have to say I think the very best so far! I was hooked from page 1 & never wanted to it to end. My heart broke for Jutta and her family I just wanted to reach out & take them in. Even if you have not read books 1 & 2 you will not be lost but this is SUCH a great set of stories so do yourself the favor and read all sometime to learn about this wonderful place called Amana, located in Iowa. Job well done Judith Miller! Kansas girls rock!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely fascinating and intriguing

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the unusual setting and Miller set the stage with such rich details that after reading this book I feel like I am an expert on the Amana Colonies even though I'd never heard of them before! In fact, I became so immersed that I felt like I had slipped back in time and it was jarring to 'come to' when my own life got in the way of my reading pleasure. I've spent the last two days saying "Ja" and "Gut" in conversations with the patrons at the library where I work and they are all giving me odd looks now. A teacher I've known for three years actually said, "I didn't know that you were German." LOL. I had to explain my linguistic lapses to her and now she wants to the read the book too!
Miller opens with a series of emotional punches that left me reeling . In fact, I was enraged before long. Fuming and stewing and all but cursing in parts. Yes I know this is make believe but the author has based her fiction on fact and knowing that this type of thing was an all too common occurrence during the Great War made my blood boil. And we didn't learn from our mistakes for they were repeated during World War II. I guess there will always be mean-spirited people who will leap at the chance to bully whenever it presents itself. What am I talking about you ask? You'll just have to read A Bond Never Broken to find out. It's an amazing story that you don't want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
maggie
Location:Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoyed the book alot finished in four days gave it to my sister to read she has the rest of the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT SERIES AND THE AMANA'S ARE GREAT!!!!!

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so thrilled to start this series and couldnt wait for each one to come out. I am very partial to the Amana's. My parents took us there twice each year to eat and they have some of the finest eating establishmets I have ever been too. And when I got married, my honeymoon was spent in the Amana's as my hubby couldnt get many days off. It is so romantic there. I loved reading about how the Amana's came to be from the very beginning. I did not know they had kitchens where they all went to eat at and did not know of the nitely prayer meetings. I just loved this book and the subject of wartime was really interesting and I bet things like that truly happened, as well. I love the characters and reading all the traditions of Christmas. Its a WINNER!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent series and great book to end it!

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Amana Colonies series by Judith Miller has been one of the most enjoyable series that I have read lately and definitely my favorite among what I would consider in the Amish line. I am fascinated by the history that she has brought alive in these three books. Each book takes place in a different Amana town and each one has totally different characters, but that is great. This book has a really interesting twist. There are two main characters - Ilsa and Jutta - one who lives happily in an Amana town and one who left the Amana colonies with her parents a few years back. But now it is WWI and Jutta's family is experiencing lots of anger towards them just because they are German. They are basically forced to send Jutta back to the Amanas to spy on the good people there and report back on all the unpatriotic things they do. Needless to say her deception weighs heavy on her and things get complicated. Judith has done it again - absolutely fantastic! The only negative thing I have to say is that as much as I like the cover - the darling three little girls on the front had nothing to do with the story... seemed a little odd to me. Overall a total winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3rd in Daughters of Amana series is great read

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Bond Never Broken by Judith Miller is the third book in the Daughters of Amana series, but each book is a stand alone, so you don't need to have read the previous two to enjoy this one. Jutta Schmidt is put into an impossible situation when she is forced to spy on the people of the Amana colony looking for signs of treason in the heated days of World War I when German ancestry was enough to create suspicion. If she refuses, the family bakery will be destroyed, her parents thrown into jail, and a worse fate awaits Jutta. She goes to work in a hotel run by the Redlich family in South Amana. Their daughter Ilsa is angry that her brother Albert has been forced to join the military and is fearful that her boyfriend Garon may follow him. Ilsa had prayed again and again for Albert to be able to remain home, and when her prayers go unanswered, she starts to question God. Jutta feels as though her prayers have also been ignored, so the two women quickly bond, but when pressure is placed on Jutta to provide some information, she has to decide what matters to her more: her parents and their livelihood or the Redlichs who have treated her like a daughter. Miller's Amana series gives readers a wonderful look into this enigmatic religious group who was known for their quality goods and communal property. But during WWI when sauerkraut became "liberty cabbage" and German measles "liberty measles", people began wondering about this unusual group who spoke a form of German and refused to serve in the military. Miller really brings to life the horror of people using power and suspicion to attack others during wartime. It took a bit of doing for me to swallow my disbelief at the Iowa Council of National Defense's blackmail of Jutta, but once I did, I was sucked completely into the story. Readers can't help but be outraged at the unfairness and humiliation the Amanan people face. Jutta and Ilsa's friendship is natural and the foundation of the book. This story of bravery and friendship is a terrific read for fans of historical fiction or Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Bond Never Broken, Daughters of Amana Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a enjoyable historical book!

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
librarylade
Location:Belle Plaine, Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I live in Iowa, work close to Marengo, (one of the towns talked about in the book), and have often visited the Amana Colonies. I never knew all of the local history I have learned from these books. I myself have a German heritage, and had never thought about how those of German decent, living in Iowa were treated when the Great War was going on. The book easy easy to read, and difficult to put down. This is Historical Fiction at its best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.