Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Wonder of Your Love - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Wonder of Your Love - eBook

Katie Ann lost the love of her life to another woman. Now God is offering a new beginning. Settling into her new life in Canaan, Colorado, Katie Ann Stoltzfus gives birth to a beautiful baby boy. This child comes to her late in life following the death of her estranged husband. She resolves to play the role of both mother and father to the child. Ivan was her one true love and despite his infidelities, she mourns his loss and vows never to trust another man.

Eli Detweiler arrives in Canaan from Middlefield, Ohio, to attend his niece's wedding. Back in Middlefield, he raised his kids following his wife's death fifteen years ago, and with each of his children married and beginning their own lives, Eli is looking forward to living a less structured life, and eating shoofly pie for breakfast every morning. There's no one to be responsible for except himself. But when a meddling--but good hearted--Englisch woman plays matchmaker for Katie Ann and Eli, can they restructure their expectations of the future and step onto the new path God is paving for them?

Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
32 out of 3494%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Review 1 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The wonder of your love

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another beautiful story of love and hope by Beth Wiseman. My heart really went out to Katie Ann when her husband walked out on her. I have to be honest. I lost my patience with Eli a few times not knowing what he wanted and giving mixed signals but it worked out in the end. As usual the blend of supporting characters was great. This book is a definite read and recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The Wonder of Your Love is a good book and I enjoyed reading it. It is very easy to read and if you like Amish fiction/romance you will probably enjoy this book, too. The story line was pretty interesting and it carried you through the book wondering what would happen next.
I would have to say my favorite thing about this book was the character Martha, who is an Englisher. Martha is full of one liners and humor. I definitely think her character pulled the book together and made it fun to read.
I loaned this book to my mom and she loved it so much that she is looking into more books by Beth Wiseman. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. It would make a great summer read, light and refreshing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Ann finds much joy and peace with her baby boy and is determined with God's help to build a life for her and her fatherless child. What a great story, second chances and faith in this wonderful story. This is not just a book the, but can be read as a stand alone, although after reading this one, I can't wait to go back and read it again. This is a charming story of faith, friendship, and love. It's my favorite book of Beth Wiseman and I love this novel. I highly recommend reading...
They can not come out fast enough. It is just one of those stories that you wish never ended. After actually reading the entire book, it is clear that Beth Wiseman promotes a loving discipline that allows children to feel loved and accepted with a perfect combination of freedom and safety. What I like most about this book is its focus on nurturing imperfect yet cooperative and loving children.
This is must read book in any way, and Beth Wiseman makes that very clear in his book. To suggest that these claims are made is simply pure fallacy. I will definitely recommend and plan to pass my copy on to other moms who are raising these young woman of the future.
Life happens. The unexpected can occur in any of our lives at any time. Most of us are very cognizant of that fact, so much so that we may easily fall in our enemies trap.
loved the short chapters with meaningful stories. I enjoyed the scripture verses and author's comments at the end of each chapter. This book was easily read but putting into application all of these thoughts will take time, my time. t's easy to relate to the authors as they openly share.
I got a free copy of this on booksneeze, just for a review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book!

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wonder of You Love is the second book in the Land of Canaan series written by Beth Wiseman about Amish folks living in Canaan, Colorado. This second book follows Katie Ann Stolzfus, a recent widow and new mother who is trying to figure out what God's plan is for her, and Eli Detweiler, who raised his six children alone after his wife's death.
Katie Ann and Eli meet at a wedding in Canaan, and although they hit it off quickly, soon find that they are at different places in their lives. Katie Ann is forty years old and a first time mother to baby Jonas. Her husband left her, then later died, and she is left hurting and bitter. Eli is around the same age, but his children are grown and married and he is ready to be free from the responsibilities of parenthood and looking forward to a long vacation. Despite these obstacles, their friendship grows as they spend time together. Even when Eli returns to his home in Ohio, they keep in touch through letters and eventually cell phone calls.
The love that Eli and Katie Ann find growing in their hearts makes them reevaluate the plans and ideas that they have each made. In the end, what will they choose? What will be most important?
I enjoyed this book as much as I did the first in the series, and would encourage you to read it. Whether you are a frequent reader of Amish fiction or just discovering it, you will enjoy the Land of Canaan series. But start with the first book in the series-- these books do not stand alone but tie in characters and plots from previous books.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Series!

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moonstar
Location:Missouri Ozarks
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was more than expected. Another great Amish fiction that is worth the read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another wonderful book by Beth Wiseman

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was anxiously waiting to read this latest book from Beth Wiseman from The Land of Canaan series. I have loved reading about what was happening with each family. I was curious to find out more about Katie Ann who had moved to Colorado.
Katie Ann Stoltzfus is a widow, living in Canaan, Colorado, raising her first and only child. She seemed to have adapted well in her new area within the new Amish community. She gets a letter from Lucy Turner, the woman whom her husband left her for. She's none to please about what was written in it though.
The Detweilers are preparing for the wedding for their daughter Emily. A cousin from Middlefield arrives. Eli is a widower and is now done raising his family; all of his children are married. He is also a handsome man and many people think that Katie Ann and Eli should get to know each other better and maybe even get married. Is this a possibility? Can Katie Ann trust another man ever again? You must read and find out what happens.
At first I found it a bit hard to get into this book. That was probably because I had just finished reading a different Amish book and my mind was a bit mixed up in who was in what story. One quarter of the way through The Wonder of Your Love, then it started getting really interesting and couldn't put it down. I laughed, I felt sad or frustrated at some of the characters. I really like all of Beth Wiseman's books and suggest you start reading one of her books soon.
I received this book free from the publisher in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our plans are often not God's plans

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both Katie Ann and Eli thinks they know what God wants
them to do with their lives, but still there are questions
once they meet. Could they have not heard God clearly?
Where will their friendship take them?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wiseman rocks it again!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this series! Beth Wiseman should play baseball ... 'cause she keeps knockin' 'em outta the park!
Wonderful continuation of the lives of these memorable characters who have migrated to Colorado to make better lives for themselves and more so their children.
You can not find a better setting for stories nor a better story teller and creator than Beth Wiseman.
Do not miss this unique Amish story, set near Monte Vista, Colorado. I really don't think it gets any better than this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding love and healing in unexpected ways

Date:December 26, 2011
Eli Detweiler went to Colorado for a family wedding. This would be the first of many trips. He just married off his last child and he was free to do as he pleased. He planned to travel a lot. He still had his farm in Ohio, but he would travel as much as he could. Although it was the Amish way to marry soon after the death of a spouse, he had been a widower for 17 years.
Katie Ann Stolzfus lived in Colorado with her infant son, Jonas. She and her husband, Ivan, were married for twenty years before she had Jonas. She was a recent widow. But she lost her husband months before he died. He chose to leave her and the Amish ways. He had lived in Lancaster county with Lucy Turner, an Englisher. Katie Ann never told him she was pregnant.
Martha, an older English woman helped Katie Ann care for Jonas. Martha was outspoken and a bit of a hypochondriac but she was Katie Ann's best friend. Martha's heart was broken because her boyfriend, Arnold, had left town. His son became sick so he went to live with him. After he died, he stayed on with his daughter-in-law to help her out.
Eli and Katie Ann met at his cousin Elam's house. Before they know it, everyone was trying to get them together. Neither Katie Ann or Eli were looking for love. Katie Ann felt she couldn't trust a man again. Eli wanted to be free to do as he pleased. They were attracted to each other but refused to admit to themselves or anyone else. They decided to be friends - friends that have shared more than one kiss.
Lucy showed up at Katie Ann's door asking if she knew about a house in a picture she had found in Ivan's belongings. Lucy was pregnant and had no money for her and the baby. She had hoped Ivan was going to surprise her with the house. Katie Ann knew nothing about the house.
When Eli returned home, he and Katie keep in contact with letters, calls and even a few visits.
Martha had surgery and she was sure she was going to die. Arnold surprised her with a visit at the hospital. While in the hospital, Martha reached out to Danielle, her teenage roommate and got more than she bargained for. She saw her steal money from her purse. She also found her in her house after she returned home.
Katie Ann received notice that she had to go to the lawyer to deal with Ivan's will. She discovered that he had a house built - the one in Lucy's picture. A nursery was all set up in the house. Lucy had told her Ivan didn't know that she was pregnant. Katie also found a letter from Ivan for her explaining about the house.
This book has four different stories within it that are all woven together nicely. It's about finding love and healing in unexpected ways. You have to read the book to find out what happens with Katie Ann and Eli, Lucy and her baby, Martha and Arnold, and Danielle and her situation. I really like this story. I would recommend this book for anyone who believes that love doesn't always come to them in a way they are looking for. The Wonder of Your Love is the second book in the Land of Canaan Series
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Hate the Waiting...

Date:December 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Land of Canaan series has got to be one of my favorite Amish series...ever. If you don't believe me, I dare you to compare them to some of the other Amish books on the shelves and see what you think. If they don't have you glued to the pages like they do me...well then, we might have to have a little chat to change your mind (just kidding, I promise). :o)
I don't know how she does it, but Beth Wiseman has got this incredible way of getting me emotionally invested with all of her stories. I find myself cheering for their successes, and empathizing with their heartbreaks like they were real people. And if those things weren't enough, then she goes and writes these stirring romantic scenes between her male and female lead characters that literally set my heart to pounding...as in out-of-my-chest pounding! There are only a handful of authors that are truly gifted when it comes to writing romance into any story, and by golly, Beth is at the top of the list!
But now that this visit back to Canaan has come to an end, it's like anguish...horrible, gut-wrenching anguish. I know I make it sound like my dog just died, but I usually feel this way after I read one of Beth's books. How in the world can I make it until I know what happens next in this close-knit community?! I want to know what will happen with Danielle--is something on the horizon for her and Levi? Will Eli's children be happy with the changes they are about to make? Will Martha continue to be her ornery old self now that her relationship status has changed? See what I mean...there are just too many questions!!!
So, while I patiently wait, I guess I'll have to be satisfied that this particular story ended just how I wanted it to--not a cliff-hanger in sight. :o) Still, a return trip to Canaan is on my radar, and I hope Beth won't make us wait too terribly long before we can go back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not authentic.

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie M
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
"The Wonder of Your Love" by Beth Wiseman, is a story about an Amish woman, Katie Ann Stolzfus, whose husband left her to go to the modern world. Her husband, you find out, has been living with a modern woman, and does not know his wife is expecting their first child. He is killed in a car accident. Enter Amish Eli Detweiler, a widower of many years, who had remained single, and raised his family of 6 children by himself. They meet at a wedding, and really like each other, but realize that they are at different stages in their life, he is done raising his family, she is just beginning. This book has a few twists and turns, and some of it is rather predictable.
I did enjoy the book, as it was easy to read, but I did have a few problems with the book, and authenticity. Because where I live, there are quite a few Amish people around, as well as ex-Amish in our church, I know a little of their life. My first complaint, is that Katie Ann being Amish, has an "Englisch" best friend, Martha. They see each other quite often, and the "Englisch" friend is even allowed to attend the Amish services. Next, Katie Ann has a refrigerator and freezer in her house. Also, both Eli, and Katie Ann are allowed to fly in airplanes. Pretty much unheard of. So, if you can overlook these discrepancies, you would probably enjoy the book.
The statement I disliked the most, was that, Martha said, "it didn't matter what religion you were as long as you were fully committed to the Lord." YIKES!! It doesn't matter what Religion you are?? I would be happier if she said it didn't matter what denomination you are, but Religion?? It was just a small statement, but I really have a problem with it.
So, if you can overlook the authenticity issues, as well as not mattering over which religion you are, the book was interesting to read. After the book, she did give some recipes, which were fun to read through.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this e-book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beth Wiseman Classic

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Azusa, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wonder Of Your Love by Beth Wiseman is an Amish fiction novel aimed primarily at a female audience. When Katie Ann Stoltzfus is abandoned by her husband for another woman, she is heart-broken, but when she delivers her beautiful baby boy only months after her unfaithful husband dies, will she be able to play the role of both mother and father to their son? Eli Deteiler has just married off the last of his six children whom he had raised alone after his wife, Sarah, passed giving birth to their youngest daughter. For seventeen years, he has dreamed of traveling the world without responsibility for anyone but himself. He could never abandon his dreams of freedom for the love of a new mother, could he? When a pushy neighbor and several in the Amish community attempt to play matchmaker, the plot thickens.
I received this book in exchange for a review from BookSneeze.com and thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it from the wit of the neighbor lady to the tug of the desired romance which seems to be impossible and unrealistic for either of them. Beth Wiseman is a master at weaving tragedy, romance, faith and humor into the storyline!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Different Perspective on the Amish

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Wonder of Your Love” is the second novel in the Land of Caanan series. The nice thing about this series (at least these first two books) is that they are not sequential books about the same character. The first book, “Seek Me With All Your Heart,” was about two different characters who live in the same community of Caanan. You can read them independently without feeling like you are missing part of the story.
This book centers around Katie Ann Stoltzfus, a widow raising her late-in-life first baby. She meets and forms a friendship with Eli Detweiler, a relative of a family friend. They are attracted to each other, but neither one wants to start a relationship due to their very different stages in life. He has finished raising his children; she is just beginning.
This book was unlike many other Amish books that I have read. It provided a different portrait of the Amish. Granted, most Amish fiction seems to be a bit romanticized and idealized – but this book did a good job of portraying the Amish as real people with real problems. Despite living apart, they go through tough times the same way anyone else does. For example, Katie Ann is reeling from her deceased husband’s infidelity and the unanswered questions about his feelings and commitment to her.
I also enjoyed the character of Martha in the story. She is Katie Ann’s English friend who has been accepted into the Amish community. Martha is almost a second mother to Katie, a woman with a somewhat gruff exterior but a kind heart. She considers herself to be honest, forthright and a “snappy dresser.” I thought she was a hoot and added humor and liveliness into the story.
Overall, I enjoyed reading this book and liked the different perspective the author brings to Amish fiction.
Note: I received a copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Wonder of Your Love

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Wonder of Your Love, Book 2 in Beth's Land of Canaan series, was a wonderful return to Canaan, and the characters I've come to enjoy. I've like Katie Ann in Beth's other books, and I'm glad to see this is her story. I found Eli charming, though his insistence on traveling was a bit odd for an Amishman. It sounds like something an Englischer would do, though. I enjoyed Martha's story sandwiched in between Katie Ann and Eli's too, though I did not like the teenager introduced into the plot. Maybe I'll like her more in the next book.
With thanks to NetGalley and Thomas Nelson for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phenomenal

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Larry K
Location:Northeast Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me tell ya...This is a read that is so much more than just good. I have read all of Beth Wiseman's books and they just keep getting better and better! In The Wonder of Your Love, every character is REAL! This book is so romantic, yet mysterious! Eli is this strong Amish man with such gentle qualities. Katie Ann is beautiful inside and out who cherishes her son Jonas. Martha is a tremendous addition from Beth's last Canaan Novel. I love Martha! Can't say enough about her! You have got to get this book! Yes, this is definitely one where you want to be in the story! 5 stars is not enough for this one! Thank you for reading my review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winning Amish fiction book!

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Wonder of Your Love"
By Beth Wiseman
Just when you think that Beth has written the BEST book ever, she does it again!!! "The Wonder of Your Love" is the second book in her Land of Canaan Amish Series and is as marvellous as the first, "Seek Me With all Your Heart".
The ability to appeal to your heart and soul is one in which few authors excel in every book they write, but Beth is the exception. Every one of her books has had this quality evident within the characters and the plot . Her characters are alive - they are REAL people with REAL problems and challenges in which you cannot help but become involved , as you make your way through the story. They become part of you. Beth's faith and sincerity shines through each and every one of them.
" The Wonder of Your Heart" is the story of Katie Ann, who also was in the first of the "Land of Canaan" Series. Katie Ann Stoltzfus , living in a small Amish community in Colorado, has lost the love of her life and now must carry on, at forty years old and with a young child to raise. The baby boy will never know his father, and Katie struggles with
this fact. Has her Heavenly Father left her too?? Why would God expect her to be a capable single parent??? Katie Ann's faith is challenged to the max!! As a reader, I could feel her anguish, as she pondered what the future would hold.
Eli, a widower, has raised six children by himself and comes to Canaan for a wedding. He is enjoying his peace and quiet after a busy lifestyle of being both mam and dat to his family. HOWEVER, when Katie Ann and Eli meet, there is an instant connection- they feel the attraction- that becomes a real problem. They are at opposite ends of their parenting- she has just begun and he is done- and feeling somewhat relieved.
How can this relationship flourish when their goals and lives are so different? Does God have a plan for them that differs from their own?
Martha, from the first book, is again, a very important presence in the story. You just have to love her unique personality and quips and frankness and how she is woven into the story. Danielle is another character who stirs your emotions. I certainly hope that Beth continues her story!! I just have to know what life has in store for her.
Each and every character plays a very special role and you grow to love each one as you feel their challenges as well as their happiness, and sometimes cry with them as they experience heartache.
Beth, in her usual style, keeps you wondering throughout the book- her plot becomes deeper and just when you think you know what will happen next, she throws in another twist. This book is full of deep emotions teaching us to trust God even when times are difficult. It is definitely a book of renewal and redemption and you feel that throughout , as you encounter a variety of wonderful characters.
This is a MUST READ!! An author like Beth Wiseman inspires all of us to become the best we can be. No, we can not all be an author, but we can follow God's plan for our lives and that is what this book is all about.
YAY, Beth!! You did it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Book!

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Ann Stoltzfus is a 40-year-old Amish widow with a new baby to raise alone. She lives in Canaan, Colorado, which has a small Amish community. She has several close friends and family there, but wonders how she will raise Jonas as a single parent. At her nephew's wedding, she meets Eli Detweiler, an Amish widower who is in town for the wedding. He has already raised six children as a single parent, and now as an empty-nester, is looking forward to this new, slower-paced time in his life. There is an instant, strong connection between Katie Ann and Eli, yet neither of them can imagine that a relationship would ever work out. They both question whether their own plans are the same as God's plans for them.
The Wonder of Your Love is the second book in The Land of Canaan series by Beth Wiseman. I read the first book, Seek Me With All Your Heart, earlier in the year and just loved it. So I was quite excited to receive The Wonder of Your Love to read and review. Beth Wiseman is one of my favorite Amish authors, and she did an outstanding job once again with this novel! I enjoyed reading about the Amish in a different setting than they normally are in back east. The characters in The Land of Canaan are genuine and well developed, and the story line kept me from wanting to put the book down! The Wonder of Your Love is an excellent book, and I hope Ms. Wiseman will be coming out with a third book in The Land of Canaan series soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
purplemama47
Location:New Columbia PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the book very much made you think you were right there in the story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just finished reading "The Wonder of Your Love" by Beth Wiseman. This was my first time to read one of her books. I enjoyed the book, but there were a couple of things I didn't care for. I don't want to spoil it for anyone who hasn't read the book yet, but I thought the comment about the mailman was inappropriate and a couple of times I actually felt as if the author was mocking the Amish.I could be wrong though. When I read a Christian novel, I want to know that it is clean and not at all crass. But besides those couple of comments, the story line had me glued. You will grow to love Katie Ann and Eli and wish you were there to knock some sense into them. You will be annoyed with Martha, the overbearing friend. This is a story filled with many different emotions. It's a story of love,romance, betrayal, friendship, trust, and much more. I recommend this book as a good read. I will be looking forward to reading more from Beth Wiseman in the future.
Thank you to booksneeze for my complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to give a positive review.- Bethany Chancey
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Wonder of Your Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Misty
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is the 2nd in the Land of Cannan series (I never read the first but have it now to start reading). Reading the first is not necessary, the book does a good job of letting you know the back story. It is about Katie Ann and Eli to Amish folk determined to stay on the paths they chose for themselves.
Katie Ann is an Amish woman who is a recent widow and new mother. Her husband had left her in the previous book for another woman, then was killed in a tragic accident. This has left her feeling like she cannot trust men. She is determined to stay single and raise her child alone.
Eli was widowed at a young age left to care for 6 children on his own. He just married off his youngest child and plans on spending the rest of his life traveling and living care free. He is attracted to Katie Ann, but is determined not to spend any more time raising children.
The two are at different stages in their lives, but their paths keep crossing and they build a deep friendship. They are determined to not let the relationship get any deeper than that.
I really enjoyed this book! I normally take about a month to finish a good book and read this one in about a week. The author does a great job of drawing the readers in and getting them involved in the lives of the charachters. I look forward to reading book # 3 in the series, and of course backtracking to #1.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>