Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Love's First Bloom

Bethany House Love's First Bloom

Ruth Livingstone's life changes dramatically in 1838. When her father, a pastor to fallen women, is accused of murdering prostitute Rosalie Peale, Ruth flees with Rosalie's daughter to a New Jersey village. There Ruth lives quietly as "Widow Malloy"---until brash newspaper reporter Asher Tripp arrives. Will he discover her secret and endanger her mission? 320 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
8 out of 1267%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love's First Bloom
Review 1 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

took a while to grab me

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Sturgis, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this book. I just didn't find myself enjoying it right away. After the plot developed and more of the story was uncovered I coudn't put the book down, but it took half of the book before that happend. When it was over I felt like I had just started enjoying the story and would have loved to keep reading. I would read more by this author but wouldn't recommend this book to someone that is looking for a fast, "can't put down" kind of book. I recieved a review copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Free book from Bethany House Publishers to review

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Sears
Location:Sherman, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have joined a mailing list and received free books from Bethany House publishers to review. Love's First Bloom is one of the books I have received. Love's First Bloom is a book full of lies. Its amazing how a little lie to protect yourself and others you love can really turn out to be so harmful. Ruth and Jake lie and lie about who they are, its really for the good though, right? As they relationship builds as the outside world intrudes on them the lies continue to grow. It is not without heartache and despair that the truth is revealed and worlds are rocked. Can their love find a way through the lies and survive?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great second book by Delia Parr

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terri Haynes
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book I read from author Delia Parr. I read Heart’s Awakening last year and enjoyed the story Parr crafted. Parr gets major points for following up her first book with a good second book.
Love’s First Bloom is the story of Ruth Livingston, daughter of Reverend Livingstone. She is sent to New Jersey under an assumed name to raise a child who is not hers. Because of her father’s case, the public clamors for information about her whereabouts, and one newspaperman, Jake Spencer, is determined to find her.
I think the best part of this book for me was Parr’s exploration of clergy in the media’s eye. Even though the book is set in 1800’s, it has a very modern ring to it. It portrayed how cases are tried in the court of public opinion even back then. Parr did a great job of showing that the media doesn’t always share the whole truth.
Ruth proves to be a great character. She is tough but tender towards her Lily. And the romance that develops between she and Jake provides the perfect balance for the tragedies that Ruth faces. Jake’s drive to please his brother also adds to the emotional fabric of the story. As a reader, you feel torn between wanting Jake to be free from his brother’s torment but realizing that the only way he will hurt Ruth if he does.
The pacing of the book is good and the plot was believable and enjoyable. I’m looking forward to Parr’s next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Sadly disappointed.

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Cart
Location:Lorain, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ruth Livingstone is the daughter of the well-known and controversial Rev. Gersham Livingstone who is currently on trial for the murder of a local prostitute. In order to protect herself and the prostitute's toddler daughter Ruth must travel away from her father with the child and hide her identity behind the story of a newly saved prostitute.
Asher Tripp wants his reputation and career as a newspaper reporter for <i>The Galaxy</i> back. The only way to win his brother's trust and approval is to pose as the recently injured Jake Spencer and get Widow Ruth Malloy to confide her true identity in him.
Review:
While I loved reading Delia Parr's <i>Heart's Awakening</i> I was sorely disappointed in this novel.
<i>Love's First Bloom</i> is a tough book to review because of the story. I found this to be a good story, but I have so many ethical problems with it I'm not sure I really care for the book. This book was too easy to put down and walk away from for long periods of time. It also doesn't help that the characters got to know each other only through the lies they were spoon feeding one another. Yes, there was a turn around and there was a re-finding of God and his glory as most Christian novels do. However, I cannot in good faith recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
J Kramasz
Location:Mpls MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this beautiful piece of historical fiction young Ruth Livingstone's life is dramatically changed when her father, a minister to fallen women, is charged with murder. Though a woman of faith, her father uses the network he has in place for rescuing women leaving a life of prostitution to send his daughter away with a small child.
Ruth humbly assumes the role of the Widow Malloy, staying in the home of one of the couples who helps rescue these women, with a rambunctious two year old to care for while waiting for her father to be acquitted.
No one knows her true identity, but a few newspaper men are determined to find her, including a man known to her as Jake Spencer.
This book is a beautiful story of a daughter's love for her father, of forgiveness, and of true faith that is evidenced in good works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not for me...

Date:December 3, 2010
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I’m giving this 3 stars, not because I disliked the book, but because I didn’t really enjoy it. The writing was interesting, but I wasn’t wowed by it. However, I couldn’t really find anything to fault it for, either. (Except for a couple of places where a character’s name would be misspelled into a different name.) It just wasn’t my cup of tea. I liked the characters and setting, but the story didn’t keep me engaged. I wasn’t flipping through the pages as fast as I could to see what would happen next. I’m sure that there will be people who love this book, but it just wasn’t for me. I hope that others who read it find it more to their liking than I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

AN AMAZING INSPIRATIONAL HISTORICAL ROMANCE!

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
LOVE'S FIRST BLOOM by Delia Parr is a inspirational historical fiction set in 1838 New York City. It is well written with depth, details and the characters are enchanting,and enduring. It has romance, forgiveness, hope, faith, love,heartache, secrets, tragedy,turbulent times, injustice, web of deception,false identity, and the danger of media coverage. The characters are engaging, timid, learning to trust, and moving along with their lives ever through tragedy. The hero, Jake, is a newspaperman, trying to redeem himself with his brother, knows the true identity of the Widow Malloy and finds himself falling in love with her and her child. The heroine, Ruth, is the daughter of the Rev. Livingstone, who is charged with the death of a prostitute.She is sent away by her father with the young child of the prostitute with a false identity to protect her and the child. She is accepted into a network of believers of Rev. Livingstone's work with prostitutes. There she assumes the identity of the Widow Malloy with her child, Lily. She meets Jake, who is also leading a false identity. He is calming to be a carpenter. He soon becomes attached to Ruth and Lily. He will do want he has to to protect her and her secret. But when the truth comes to light, will she truly believe he loves her or will he betray her?This is a heart felt story of how the newspaper twists things to their own use, to sale more paper. Not really caring who is hurt or why. Along the way Ruth will learn secrets of her father she never knew of him, but she keeps her faith. Will new love survive the betrayal?This is a story to read it is heartwarming to know true love can prevail. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Bethany House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Will the Truth Set Them Free? 4 Stars!

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Craig
Location:Metro Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ruth's father is a controversial minster that sends Ruth away when he is falsely charged with the murder of one of the women he is trying to help. Ruth has to live under an assumed name with a child that is not her own. Jake is a reporter trying to earn his brother's forgiveness for a mistake made years ago. Jake is sent to find Ruth but now that he has he starts to question what everyone believes about her and her father. Will the truth set them free?
I give this story 4 stars! This book was a good read. The story's characters are likable. Overall I felt the author could have done a better job with the deception that is central to the story. I also would have liked to find out more about Captain Grant. Maybe she is writing a sequel. I hope so!
*Disclaimer: I received this book courtesy of Bethany House Publishers. I received no other compensation. The above opinion and rating was written of my own accord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ruth Livingston is the only living daughter of her father Reverend Livingstone, whose mission in life is to help those that society deems unworthy of help. Caught in the turbulent times of 1800's his life's mission is to help those women and young girls that have been caught up in prostitution, however when one of them is murdered suddenly, the city begins to cry out for justice and right now the only person who was with her last was Reverend Livingstone.
It is hard for us to understand the trials our loving God sends us, but how would our faith grow without them? Delia Bloom weaves a beautiful story of faith in God and how God uses negative experiences to bring us to a better time in life. I truly enjoyed Loves First Bloom by Delia Bloom. I hadn’t read anything from Bloom prior to this. i would be interested in reading more by her.
I received a copy of this book courtesy of Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of reviewing.I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read!

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How could a loving father, who is also a minister, send his only daughter, Ruth, away under the pretense that she is a 'woman of the night'? Not only does he send her away, he sends her away with another woman's baby.
Ruth is forced to change her name and her identity, all to protect the child, Lily. Only in this way will the child not have to bear the stain of her mother's past and sins.
News writers of the day appear to not be too different from our own – over-zealous and hungry as lions for a story, no matter whom they may devour in the process. They just want to be the first to print with the story of the moment. Asher Tripp is one of these reporters. He's returned home, however, to attempt to make amends and redeem his reputation both with his brother, and as a reporter. Will he succeed in gathering the information necessary and getting it off the press before the other papers? His brother, Clifford, will settle for nothing less.
This is a well written story. While many lies are told to protect the identity of Ruth, Lily, and Jake (who is actually Asher Tripp), the truth strives to win the day... but will it?
I definitely enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2010
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ruth Livingstone's father sends her - and a small child - to live in a small town, under a false name, with strangers. He's facing legal issues related to his work to bring women out of prostitution. In Toms River, though, Ruth finds things to be much harder than she anticipated. And when things take a turn for the worse, she must decide if she will continue to trust in God. A blossoming friendship with Jake Spencer brings a new twist as well. Can she trust him with her secrets?
After being introduced to Delia Parr earlier this year, I was excited to read another of her novels. She's a very descriptive writer, which allows you to feel like you're actually with the characters. The characters are well-developed as well. Facing difficult situations forces each of them to take a hard look at what they really believe. I did find it a little hard to get started, but once I got into the book, I thought it was great!
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2010
How strong is faith? Strong enough to be sent away from the one you love? To be given a small child to care for? To become someone you are not? To trust the one you love to do what is best for you even if you cannot understand?
Ruth Livingston’s faith has endured much. Her father’s ministry in New York City is difficult and now he has been falsely accused of a horrendous crime. For her protection; he sends her away, gives her an identity far from her own, and places in her care a young child. He promises to send for her as soon as he is acquitted yet when that day comes, tragedy follows.
Now Ruth must stand alone, keep the secrets entrusted to her, and hope no one will discover who she really is. But that becomes harder and harder to do with newspapermen searching for her. And who is the young man that lives along the river? Can she trust him? Or is he also trying to discover her secrets?
It is hard for us to understand the trials our loving God sends us, but how would our faith grow without them?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine L.
I too preferred Delia Parr's Hearts Awakening to this story mainly because the characters were far more well developed and the emotional connection with them was easier. The plot was more ambitious than character development, which is fine if you like a quick read that is not too in-depth. It would have been better to continue through their wedding and early marriage, I think, but then again way too many books end at the proposal or the wedding with nothing more to say. This book was sent to me from Bethany House as per their book reviewer program, so my copy was free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Jennings
I enjoyed this book very much. It kept me interested to see what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Love's First Bloom by Delia Parr is not her best book. I really enjoyed Hearts Awakening but found this one kinda boring and tedious. It just didn't grab or interest me at all. It was all I could do to finish the book! I'm relieved it's finished. lol This book is about Ruth Livingstone who is put on a boat by her father to protect her from all the gossiping reporters. Her father is a minister in New York City to the fallen angels. He sent his daughter away as one of the Prodigal Daughters - a fallen angel who got saved - with a child that isn't hers. The child, Lily, is the daughter of a murdered Prodigal Daughter, Rosalie Peale. Ruth's father has been accused of murdering Rosalie so to protect his daughter from the scandal he sends her away.Jake Tripp aka Jake Spencer owns part of a newspaper with his brother, Clifford. Jake left two years ago when a story he printed was found to be false. He was so ashamed and embarrassed he took up his father's old carpentry tools and traveled the country until he was ready to go back to face his brother. Clifford will only except Jake back if he finds Ruth and writes an article about her taking evidence that would convict her father of murder. Jake agrees and sets up a disguise in the town where he believes she is. They fall in love, but neither one knows how it will work out because of the lies each one has told. Like I said before, I did not enjoy this book. It had a weird plot, and it was boring. Save your money on this one. I was given this book free from Bethany House as long as I review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Delia Parr has written a wonderful book of fiction combining mystery and a touch of romance set in the 1830s.Ruth Livingstones life is about to change drastically when her father, the Reverend, places a young child in her arms and makes arrangements for them to flee to New Jersey under the name Ruth Malloy, the widow.Will Ruth ever find out the truth of who the child Lily really is? Will she ever understand the charges brought against her father? Will she be able to keep her and Lilys identity a secret even from the reporters? Will she ever learn to trust again? Will she ever find love? Find the answers to all these questions and a lot more in this wonderful story of Gods love.This was an intriguing book; I did not want to put it down. It kept me wondering what would happen next. Delia Parr has a way of placing you right there watching from the sideline. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good book of mystery, romance and faith. I am looking forward to reading more of Delia Parrs books.I received this book free from Bethany House a division of Baker Publishing Group as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Ruth Livingstone's life changes the day her father puts a young child in her arms and sends her to a small village in New Jersey under an assumed name. There Ruth pretends to be a widow with a small child while her Preacher Father is tried for murder of the child's prostitute mother. They are sent to live with some of her Father's followers. Asher Tripp is the newspaperman who determines that this case is the event he can use to redeem himself as a journalist with his brother, who owns the local paper.Ruth finds that tending a small garden along the banks of the Toms River is a place where she can find a measure of peace in the midst of the sorrow that continues to build. It is here that Asher Tripp finds a temporary residence, all in an attempt to discover if the lovely creature known as Widow Malloy is truly Ruth Livingstone, the woman every newspaper has been looking for. When Asher and Ruth meet it is anything but love, but as they get to know each other will love begin to bloom and it it does will it be strong enough to withstand the secrets that separate them?This book was sent to me by Bethany House for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Love's First Bloom by Delia Parr is a historical romance filled with many twists. Ruth Livingstone's father is a pastor in New York, well-known for his work getting prostitutes to turn to Jesus. When he is accused of murdering one of them, he forces Ruth to take the prostitute's secret toddler daughter, Lily, and take on the identity of a woman in his program to protect the child while he is tried for the crime. Ruth moves to New Jersey and lives with a family who takes in former prostitutes trying to make a new life for themselves, but not long after she disappears, the press takes note of her absence and accuses her father of murdering her as well. The hunt is on by all of the major newspapers to find Ruth, including Jake Tripp who wants to redeem himself as a journalist after making a terrible mistake two years ago and nearly destroying the newspaper he owns with his brother, Clifford. Clifford gives Jake an assignment that will give him redemption: find Ruth Livingstone and get the real story behind the prostitute's murder. He moves to the same small New Jersey town Ruth is staying in and takes on a false identity to gain her trust but instead finds himself falling for the young woman who has been forced to live away from her father and pretend to be something she's not. I had a hard time believing that a pastor would do this to his daughter, it just seemed unbelievable to me, but when I swallowed my disbelief, other events continued to be forced by the plot: a unexpected death, a letter from beyond exposing a long-lost child, and the identity of the killer both made me go "what??" Parr's previous book, Heart's Awakening was a beautiful and poignant historical romance. This one had some great characters, but they were at the mercy of a far-fetched plot that did them no favors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
I truly enjoyed Loves First Bloom by Delia Bloom. I havent read anything from Bloom prior to this. The story is set in 1838 and is a nice story. It starts with Ruth Livingstones father, a Reverend, being accused of murder. He gives her a baby and tells her she is now Widow Malloy and the baby is hers. They get on a boat and head for a small town. There it is believed she was once a prostitute that was converted as part of Reverend Livingstones Prodigal Daughter program. No one knows she is really his daughter. Ruth endures much tragedy and must rely on her faith in God to get her through this really hard time in her life. The story is very well written and keeps your interest. It flows and is true to the time period. Delia Bloom weaves a beautiful story of faith in God and how God uses negative experiences to bring us to a better time in life. I enjoyed this story tremendously and look forward to reading more of Delia Blooms books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love's First Bloom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
kcjs
Ruth Livingstones life was about to change in a way she did not expect. Her father, Reverend Livingstone, a minister to the prostitutes, puts a small child in her arms and send her to a small village in New Jersey to live a secret life as Widow Mallory. She finds comfort tending a small Garden near the Tom RiverWhere she meets with Jake Spencer a carpenter. But Jake has a secret of his own, he is not the carpenter he says he is but rather a newspaper reporter who is trying to redeem himself to his brother. He is sent to find Ruth Livingstone the pastors daughter and unfold the story of what is going on with the secrets surrounding the death of the prostitute and Ruths Father. Little did he know that he would find Ruth Livingstone wonderful and fall in love with her. How can he cover a story and reveal the whereabouts of the woman he loves?This book wasnt for me. I find it hard to image why a man would be ministering to prostitutes and entering the Brothels to do so. Im not so sure I see this as a good plot to a story. I would rather see a woman witnessing to prostitutes than a man. Other than that the book was a bit predictable and at some spots seem to drag a bit. This was my first book by Delia Parr and Id be willing to try a few more. She did a good job introducing her characters and surroundings. I received a free copy of this book courtesy of Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of reviewing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>