Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Hidden Affections

Bethany House Hidden Affections

Betrayed by her husband, Annabelle Tyler attempts a fresh start. But unexpected circumstances find her married again---this time to Philadelphia's most eligible bachelor. When Harrison Graymoor tries to secure an immediate annulment, he's unaware that the constable has already informed the press. Will they have second thoughts regarding the marriage forced upon them? 320 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 1788%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hidden Affections
Review 1 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful story

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
linda
Location:Starkville, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Someone wrote in another review that this book bogged down in the middle. I never saw a slow moment in the story. Someone also wrote that the story was too incredible to believe. That's why it's called fiction.
Most of us, I believe, enjoy stories like this with situations that would never happen but are fun to imagine. As improbable as it was, it made a good story. Sam and Annabelle were totally opposite in financial situations, background, and in their hearts.
Annabelle's example of unselfish giving of herself taught Sam to begin to empathize with the poor and quietly help them.
Delia Parr will become a new name to add to a list of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hidden Affections

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In Hidden Affections, the reader is introduced immediately to two people in the 1830’s who are getting married under some strange circumstances: they are in handcuffs.
Annabelle Tyler and Harrison Graymore find themselves forced into marriage after the sheriff of a remote town in Western Pennsylvania finds them in a compromising (although untrue) situation. They plan to quietly have the marriage annulled once they go back home to Philadelphia, but word gets out too quickly. They are left to figure out what to do next in a society that scorns those who are divorced.
In addition to the marriage situation, all is not as it seems with these two. Annabelle has a secret of her own, while Harrison has not dealt with some things from his past. Will this couple reveal their ‘Hidden Affections,’ or will they go through with their plans to end their marriage?
From the beginning of this book, I was hooked to the story. I enjoy reading ‘marriage of convenience’ plots, and this one was even more interesting since the characters were basically forced to get married. The development that Harrison ended up being the most eligible bachelor in Philadelphia was a huge boost to the story, too. For the most part, I knew where this story was going, but there were a couple of little surprises along the way.
I really enjoyed the character of the housekeeper, Irene, in this novel. She was fun and caring and had a no-nonsense attitude that was endearing. As for the main characters, I thought Annabelle was a little too perfect, but that did kind of ‘set up’ Harrison’s character, who was flirtatious and a little over-bearing.
The thing that bothered me most about this book (and I don’t think I have ever said this about a Baker Publishing Group book), but it seemed as if it needed to be edited again. There were so many run-on sentences and misplaced modifiers that it made the book extremely hard to follow.
For me, this book had a great beginning and an interesting ending, but I got a little bogged down in the middle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

history tends to repeat itself

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annabelle was looking for a fresh start, not another
husband. Due to compromising circumstances, she
is forced to marry Harrison with only one outcome -
annulment, which later becomes a divorce. This is
last thing she wants to face again. Yes, it seems history
is repeating itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2011
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is often said that the truth is more fantastical than fiction. This is true – you should hear the story I heard in the office last week! – but in the case of Delia Parr’s Hidden Affections, I have to wonder…
The novel is about two young people from two entirely different walks in life (one filthy rich, the other poor as dirt) who are coerced into marriage. No, not for any of the typical 19th century reasons of morality, but on account of thieves, handcuffs and pay-back. And, I think, because this is Christian fiction. Which is why the heroine has a faith in God that is convenient at best and her womanizing husband she is forced to marry no longer womanizes the moment he’s married to this woman who is known to him by name only. Of course both characters have “dark” secrets neither cares to share, and they can’t help but change their lives within a few months and fall madly in love.
I have truly enjoyed Delia Parr’s Love’s First Bloom and Heart’s Awakening, but I found the characters in Hidden Affections to be unbelievable and the plot a bit fantastic. But then I like books that are at least somewhat realistic – and being handcuff to a handsome, filthy rich man so I am forced to marry him is NEVER likely to happen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ENGAGING FROM THE VERY BEGINNING!

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hidden Affections
A new novel by Delia Parr…
Annabelle Tyler and Harrison Graymoor are forced at gunpoint into a marriage quite unexpectedly during the year 1831. Both are determined to not fall in love but to endure for the required length of time deemed necessary for the circumstances. Annabelle who carries her own secret of a previous week long marriage to a man who stole her inheritance and ran off to marry another; finds her dependence on her faith in God strengthened by looking at the blessings instead of the trials. Harrison, who has already lost much in his life which has left him distant towards God, must learn how to trust God again.
What a wonderful book! 5 out of 5 stars for Historical Christian Fiction! Delia Parr has put an extensive amount of research into the time period of 1830’s as well as the area of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and it is evident throughout the book. The characters, both main and supporting characters are well developed. I couldn’t put the book down! It was engaging from the very beginning! This is the kind of Historical Christian Fiction that is easy to recommend to a variety of ages, high school through adult, not silly romance but a delight! I am curious to see if Delia other books are just as enjoyable!
I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers
Delia Parr, pen name for Mary Lechleidner, is the author of 10 historical novels and the winner of several awards, including the Laurel Wreath Award for Historical Romance and the Aspen Gold Award for Best Inspirational Book. She is a full-time high school teacher who spends her summer vacations writing and kayaking. The mother of three grown children, she lives in Collingswood, New Jersey. Visitwww.deliaparr.com for more information.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 Stars for Christian Romance Fans!

Date:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Downes
Location:Broken Arrow, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hidden Affections was my first Delia Parr novel, but it won’t be my last! I loved it! The plot was fun – girl and guy handcuffed by thieves during a robbery and then forced to marry in order to protect her “honor.” From there, it only gets better. They plan to hide their marriage and secretly get an annulment; but somehow the news gets out that the “rich bachelor” in town has finally married. Now, they’re stuck with each other until they can figure out a way to get “unhitched.” In the meantime, romance begins to bloom and trouble comes in the form of past secrets.
This is the way I like my romances: clean, fun, entertaining, romantic and inspirational. You can’t get better than that! I’m so glad I got to review Hidden Affections because now I’m off to find more of Delia Parr’s books to read. This one is 5 stars!
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House with no expectations of a positive review. The opinions I expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very entertaining historical romance book.

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol S.
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annabelle Tyler has been betrayed. She has lost her parents and the scoundrel that she married has taken her inheritance and divorced her. The year is 1831 and divorce is a terrible mark against a woman in society. Because she is divorced, she can no longer teach and the people in the area where she was living, are not kind to her. On a trip to Philadelphia to start a new job in a candy store, the coach she was riding in is attacked by robbers and she is handcuffed to a male passenger who turns out to be a very rich man from Philadelphia named Harrison Graymoor, a known playboy type person. They spend the cold night together waiting for help to come. The local sheriff and other men from the area take them to a minister insisting that they are doing the right thing to force them to marry.
I enjoyed this romance story very much. I could almost imagine this fictional story actually happening way back when. It is a bit difficult to accept that anyone would be forced to marry a stranger under threats from the sheriff, but once I got past that idea, I just enjoyed reading the story and learning how love developed between Annabelle and Harrison. There are a lot of twists and turns and interesting characters in this book. Historical romances give us a chance to see how different things were in the past. This book is a worthwhile read and another fine story from Delia Parr.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers to read and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better Not Love Me!

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Allison
Location:Belton, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An unlikely couple faces the challenges love throws their way and in the end, love prevails. A great summer read that shows true love will show up when you least expect it. You can't run and you can't hide when God has love on the mind.
Copy was sent to me to review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An unlikely couple!

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Annabelle Tyler may have hoped she would marry again someday, but she never dreamed she would be wearing handcuffs during the ceremony when she did.” Ah I love a good opening line to a novel and I would say that Delia Parr’s Hidden Affections delivers that attention grabber opening line pretty well. I also might add that the cover is quite lovely as the model looks a lot like Kate Hudson! Anyway, on to the book- Annabelle Tyler and Harrison Graymoor find themselves in a bit of a pickle. Because of a rather awkward situation and because proper society demanded it-the time is 1831- they are forced to marry. Since neither one is interested in marriage particularly to each other, most of the novel is figuring out how to “undo” the marriage.
Annabelle is looking to start over and 36 hours after leaving Hanover Pennsylvania, her starting over hasn’t been the fresh start she was hoping for. She meets Harrison Graymoor- a man whose reputation especially with the ladies, precedes him. What is not expected by either one is that they start discovering that the other is not as bad as they originally thought. Throw in a secret or two for both of them , a rival suitor and you have a rather nice romantic story. Harrison has a pretty rogue-ish reputation and I might have made his character just a tad more likeable and the built the romantic part between he and Annabelle just a tad more because when the end came, I felt they all of a sudden came together.
However all in all, it is a sweet romance with a fun opening scene for sure and I think the majority of Christian fiction romance aficionados will enjoy this book.
Disclosure- A free copy of this book was graciously provided for me by the publisher- Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderfully touching romance

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Countrysunset
Location:Bloomingdale, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Will their "Hidden Affections" be revealed in time to keep them together?
From being married at gunpoint in handcuffs, to being forced into staying in a high society, spotlight marriage, Annabelle and Harrison Graymoor weave a touching tale on how they came together with love and faith.
They both had previously suffered tremendous losses in their lives, but Annabelle holds true to her faith as Harrison struggles immensely with his til the bitter end. Will the shadows of their pasts continue to haunt them? Will their tender feelings for one another ever be revealed? Come on their journey as they try to deny their growing attachemnt to each other and eventually must give in to their basic needs of hope, faith, and love.
This is a very touching and inspirational story. I thoroughly enjoyed Annabelle as a gentle character but with a little spunk and ingenuity thrown in. Delia Parr writes her as such a giving and faithful living soul too, and that really comes through. The story itself is written very smoothly and you really want to turn that page to see where it leads you next. And last, but certainly not least, I loved the cover on this book. I know you aren't supposed to judge a book by it's cover, but I really felt drawn to this one.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a touching and inspirational romance!
This book was kindly provided to me by Bethany House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun and enjoyable story

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary B
Location:Western New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How could you not want to read a book with a first line like... “Annabelle Taylor may have hoped she would marry again someday, but she never dreamed she would be wearing handcuffs during the ceremony when she did.” ? Annabelle’s story is this – she marries a man , who after a week, leaves her only to return months later with the news that while he was away, he had divorced her and married a wealthier woman. She is left with no option but to leave her hometown in disgrace and look for employment elsewhere. This is where chapter one begins. Through a series of unfortunate and stressful events she again finds herself married to a man who has no interest in marriage. This time, it is she who keeps her past a secret. As they spend more time together, Annabelle and Harrison form a guarded friendship.
There are many interesting characters in this book, and I think for me the most memorable, other than the two main characters, was Irene, the housekeeper. She dispenses wise counsel, offers a shoulder to cry on and at times is comically manipulative, in her own loving way. Her faith is evident in her life.
The setting was also very intriguing as most of the story takes place in a country home inspired by an historic home now located in the Philadelphia Zoo.
I won’t give away the outcome, but I will tell you that many times while I was reading , I wished I could reach into the book and grab these two folks and give them both a good shaking!
This was a very enjoyable and easy book to read. If you’re looking for a book with deep, profound lessons and doctrinal statements, this isn’t for you. But, if you are looking for a book with enjoyable characters, interesting historical settings from a Christian fiction point of view then you will want to read this.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a way to begin a book!!

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book starts off in high speed! Two strangers are in handcuffs and being focused by gun point to get married? What!? I’ll encourage you to read on… which you’ll want to anyway! Harrison and Annabelle are now married but both have baggage from their pasts they are dragging around. Will this marriage remain “in name only”? Will they be honest enough to listen to each other? Will they be willing enough to take a chance at love even though they open themselves up for pain?
The author, Delia Parr, did an awesome job of drawing me into the story!! There were a few responsibilities I put on hold to finish Hidden Affections! This is the first book I have read of hers, but now she’s on my list of authors to check out more. The set up for the relationship was new and interesting. The action was continual, but I couldn’t believe that everything occurred in only two months – It was a whirlwind! {Spoiler Alert} I knew (or assumed) that Harrison and Annabelle would end up together, but I didn’t know how it would work out. I enjoyed the ride and suggest you hop on board this summer!
Disclosure: I received book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers’ program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Very Good Read

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen Lange
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handcuffs? Seriously? How archaic! This is 1831 after all. Annabelle Tyler was dismayed when forced to wear handcuffs during her wedding ceremony. The sheriff, however, had his own way of doing things. He doesn't take too kindly to men like Harrison Graymoor, the groom linked to Annabelle by those pesky handcuffs.
Graymoor's days as Philadelphia's most eligible bachelor are over. Or are they? Neither Annabelle nor Harrison want this union, so they make plans for an annulment. But what seems so simple and obvious quickly turns into something complicated.
Annabelle holds a secret from her past, and Harrison wrestles with his own tragic memories. Sprinkle in a liberal helping of Philadelphia's society's expectations and a legal conundrum, and you have an interesting and tangled mix of events. Meanwhile, Annabelle and Harrison find themselves forming an unexpected friendship. As if they didn't have enough to deal with!
I've read a few books by Ms. Parr and enjoyed them, so naturally, I was curious about this one. I was hooked immediately. The characters and the unusual circumstances held my attention, and I read it in record time. Delia Parr mixes up a great recipe with action, emotion, and an intriguing plot. If you are a fan of historical fiction, I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but predictable

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hidden Affections by Delia Parr begins with Annabelle Tyler, a recently divorced woman (unheard of and quite scandalous in those days) and Harrison Graymoor, a cad and wealthy, confirmed bachelor (although a womanizer), handcuffed together in Western Pennsylvania in 1831. They had been robbed as they traveled on a stagecoach. It began to snow after they'd given it their best to remove the handcuffs, so they huddled together to stay warm. And that's the way they were found by the sheriff. The sheriff, knowing of Harrison's reputation and wanting to protect the honor of Annabelle (not knowing she was divorced), took them to the minister's house and forced them to marry--with a shotgun in Harrison's back.
Neither Annabelle nor Harrison wanted to be married. Harrison assured Annabelle he would go to his lawyer when they returned to the city and have the marriage annulled. He could well afford it. But in the meantime, both would have to give the performance of their lives, since an announcement of their marriage preceded their arrival to Philadelphia in the city's newspaper.
Annabelle was given her own room in Harrison's country home outside of Philadelphia and a new wardrobe befitting the wife of one of the wealthiest men of the city. But they both had to convince the godly housekeeper, Irene, that they were truly married--and living as husband and wife. Annabelle and Irene were to become the best of friends.
Annabelle's ex-husband and his new wife appear in the city and the scoundrel begins to cause trouble for the new couple. Eric had only married Annabelle to get to the money her dying parents possessed. Once he had the money, he left her and divorced her promptly. And he was in the process of repeating the same thing with his new wife.
Through the story, you begin to see a change take place in Harrison. And you begin to see a change take place in his relationship with Annabelle.
I'd give this book 4 out of 5 stars. It is a very easy book to read. Delia is a craftsman with her words. But the story line is pretty predictable. In fact, the conflict in this book had me shaking my head and saying, "No! Don't go there!" But she did. All in all, it was a good book and an easy read.
Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hidden Affections by Delia Parr

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thursday, June 2, 2011
Hidden Affections by Delia Parr
I recently received this free copy of Hidden Affections from Bethany House Publishers. I had never read anything by Delia Parr, but found that I liked her writing style. The setting takes place around Philadelphia in 1831. Annabelle and Harrison find themselves forced into marriage after being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Harrison is an elusive bachelor who does not want to go through the pain of loving and losing, since he has experienced this first hand in his own family. He feels that God has forsaken him and has become self-centered and cynical as well as very wealthy. On the other hand, Annabelle looks for God's blessings everyday and for ways to help the unfortunate, even though she has nothing after being cheated out of her small inheritance. As they go to live in Harrison's mansion, she makes friends with the servants and has a way about her that changes Harrison. He looks for ways to please her, yet is still determined to not love anyone because of fear of being hurt. The storyline flows smoothly and kept my interest. The characters seemed to come alive and made me wish I had lived in this time period with them. I would definitely recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys historical Christian fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging Plot

Date:May 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hidden Affections has a plot which pulls the reader along so well that I had to finish the book in two days. The dialogue is wonderful. Secondary characters are well developed, perhaps more well developed than the main male character is--this is unfortunately the only weakness in this story. The character of Harrison could have been more well developed throughout the story, not just toward the end. I was disappointed at the abrupt ending which seemed too happily-ever-after; I would have liked to see the characters together AFTER they finally shared each other's love. At the very least an epilogue would have strengthened the story. Thank you to Bethany House for providing me this book free as part of their reviewers' program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hidden Affections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book. Excellent

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Location:Old Bridge, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was fantastic. Loved it. Will enjoy reading it again many times. I enjoyed the mystery, intrigue, adventure, the romance. I so enjoy the books CBD provides for their Christian readers. Many thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.