Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing

Bethany House Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing

What do you think of when somebody says "wait"? Killing time? Counting the days? Timms challenges you to turn away from toe-tapping impatience---and embrace God's presence and service to him as a spiritual discipline. Biblical examples, liturgical traditions, and everyday illustrations illuminate how and why we must wait; and reveal transforming truths. Includes discussion questions. 160 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing
Review 1 for Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
amazed
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is amazing! It surpassed my expectations and has helped me grow in my understanding of the Lord. It was easy to read with a good balance of humour, personal story, Biblical reference and general facts.
I highly recommend this book to everyone! It is good for people who are new to the faith as well as those who have been walking with Jesus a long time.
I could hardly put it down!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learn what it means to wait upon the Lord

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
PEGLEG
Location:OXFORD PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Again another execellent by book by David Timms. This book has changed the way I pray and the way I wait upon God...I have given The Lord's prayer to many people ,now I will be giving this book also. I want my friends to draw closer to God, and I believe this book will guide them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging in an excellent way.

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has the absolute best explanation of what it means to wait on the Lord. Good for individuals and small groups. Could also be an excellent sermon series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal
What a book! This was a convicting book to say the least! The line under the title on the cover of the book says it all Waiting on God in a world that waits for nothing. So true! We have become so used to all things instant in our society from pay-per-view on our TVs to internet access that takes us all around the world, with every time of information at our finger tips. You would think that a society that has instant everything would have lots of time left over, but we add more and more to our plate. And so, we think that even Gods answers to our prayers must be instant as well. Well hold on there! God doesnt work like that! As we see in this excellent book, there were great periods of waiting in the Bible for us to learn from! We get to see this in the lives of Noah, Abraham, Moses, David, and Jesus. Each one received directions from God. They all obeyed and to do so, they had to wait in one form or another. We all benefit greatly from hindsight! It is an encouragement to say the least!We are also treated to chapters on times of the year that emphasize waiting; Advent, Lent, Easter, Pentecost, and Kingdom. I liked all of these chapters as each one provides history for that time of the year, and other information about how each are celebrated. Each chapter is followed by questions for a group discussion. All in all, this was an excellent book, full of inspiration, information and encouragement to wait on God.I would like to thank Bethany House for the opportunity to review their books and for the free copy I received.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jolene Wilson
I am only 1/2 way through the book, but am already ordering for friends! Our church culture is so preoccupied with "doing" for the Lord that personal relationship with Him has taken a back seat. This book puts things in order.... first be acquainted with God and have an intimate relationship with Him, and He will guide with anything else. In the meantime, WAIT til He sends, instead of rushing headlong into our idea of being helpful! Challengingly vital!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
One of my favorite topics in the Christian life is waiting. I love to read books that help teach us and show us how to wait on God. It is something we all must do and in order to have peace, we must learn to do it the right way.David Timms is an impatient man. Those are not my words, they are his. He knows all too well how difficult it is to wait on God and he is passing along what he has learned to the reader. He tells us the importance of using our time of waiting to learn from God and to listen to God. He helps us to understand that God does not move at the same pace that life moves. I especially liked his example of the text messages and how quickly our society can communicate today, but God does not work that way. His timing is perfect. If we have to wait for something, God has a good reason for it. David Timms uses several key figures from the Bible, such as Moses, David, and Abraham, to show how God made them wait and taught them all through their time of waiting. This is a very well written and informative book, one I enjoyed very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
This book is a good reminder that all things happen in God's time, no matter how impatient we become. David gives examples from bibical text pointing out the need for us to wait on God and how doing so is being in service to Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sacred Waiting: Waiting on God in a World that Waits for Nothing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kevin Sorensen
I must confess, that when asked to review this book, my initial thoughts at the description were, Id love to review this; Ill probably be able to tear it apart. The reason behind these sentiments were due to recent reading in the area of spiritual transformation through meditation & emptying oneself. Ive about had it with Christians who want to be Buddhists.Now that Ive read Mr. Timms work, I stand rebuked and chastised before the Lord. This was truly a beneficial time of reading for me. As the pastor of a small church, I dont face the extreme pressures of large church pastors, but I do face the pressures of a small church pastor. And, since I still live in this present world, the pressures of our culture are constantly gnawing at me, hoping to keep me from waiting on the Lord especially in a still, slow, quiet manner as laid out by Timms.The first half of the book is worth the purchase and reading time. Covering Noah, Abram, Moses, David and Jesus, Timms shows how each learned the lifelong process of presence and service: resting in Gods presence and serving Him. In the second half, the author shows how the major events on the church calendar Advent, Lent, Easter and Pentecost can be used to help an entire congregation learn to wait on the Lord.This book is solid, concise and very helpful. A much needed balm to the hurly-burly, frenetic pace of our lives that seem to cry out God! Hurry up! Read it and then wait.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.