Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)

Bethany House Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)

The year is 1835 and Carolina Adams finds herself enchanted by an unlikely suitor... the railroad. Frustrated by society's expectations upon her gender, she longs to study more masculine subjects and is thrilled when her father grants her a tutor.

James Baldwin arrives to serve as Carolina's teacher, but of more importance, he is to court Carolina's beautiful older sister, Virginia. Will expectations--and Virginia's southern charm--elicit the hoped-for proposal? Or will James and Carolina dare to acknowledge the mutual interests and feelings growing between them?

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
4 out of 667%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
Review 1 for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
This review is fromDistant Dreams - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lori Z
Location:Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I was disappointed to find, after I had downloaded this e-book, it was not available for download to my e-reader. I have not read it yet because I am still unable to transfer it to my Nook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
This review is fromDistant Dreams - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joybell
Location:TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author is very good writer. Great story. Clean reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
This review is fromDistant Dreams - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toots
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interesting story especially for the year when railroads were coming in. It would be unheard of a woman having interest in this modern invention. Keep ones interest to the end. Then felt it dropped, and left you with questions, He breaks off with older sister and leaves. Do they get together ? Does she continue ?
Didn't notice a sequel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
This review is fromDistant Dreams - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great E-Book

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannette Claridge
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only problem with this book was that it is the first of three and doesn't really stand alone. After buying the next two in the series I was finally satisfied, but would have liked that information before purchasing. The rail road history was fascinating and the story was well told.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elsie Fitzpatrick
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first inpact was to much history but they did a wonderful job of mixing history with fiction. I would definatly buy more of this type of book. My Husband is also reading them and if I don't get his atention first He dosn't hear me that is how much he likes them. good job on all three books in the series.
Number 1 in my opinion.
the other thing I like is that you can buy the whole series and get them cheeper by doing it that way THANKS
Elsie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great, literature, great conviction

Date:April 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
aryanprincess1488
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the romance was engaging and exciting, had me griping the pages. this is an example of a great writer with a truely great racial conviction who is not afraid to depict the true south as it really was, without the taint of liberal lies about the horrors of slavery. its refreshing to see authors with great biblical views, and truely this should be an example to all proud true american christians.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
spken82
I must be honest, it took a good third of the way into the book for me to get into this one. But once I did, WOW! The second and third books are amazing. I have LOVED this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mindy
I thought this book was very interesting full of life expectations of women back in the 1830s. I loved that the father wanted to allow his daughter the chance to be independent in thinking of on all topics even if it was the "railroad". I grew to really enjoy Caroline as the main character in this story as you see that she is so very protective of all her family, even though in ways she is not the typical women, wanting to be married but to be educated. I am very excited about the next book to come out in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Distant Dreams, Ribbons of Steel Series #1 (repackaged)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean Munson
You know, I loved all of Tracie Peterson's books, and I even somewhat liked this, but I really thought the parts telling about the locomotives got too lengthy. I kept with it, because the story about the sisters and family was very interesting and that's the part that held it together for me. I pretty much have rated all of Tracie's books with a 5 star. Found them excellent. But none-the- less, I am purchasing this entire series, because I do want to see how things develop in the story. You're keeping me interested enough to do that. I should also mention Judith Pella who is involved in this story. I haven't read much of her works, so I can't rate her part that much, because I really don't know what her input was. Keep up the good work in writing historical romances. Your detail to tracing history is quite informative in all your books, but this one wasn't all that interesting to me on the makings of a locomotive. Jean from Connecticut
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.