Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson There You'll Find Me - eBook

Thomas Nelson There You'll Find Me - eBook

Finley Sinclair, hotel heiress, is on her way to Ireland for an exchange program where she hopes to find the inspiration she needs to finish her audition piece for school. She is looking to walk in her deceased brother's footsteps in order to find the peace she needs to finish her song and to move on. From the get-go nothing seems to go right-starting with her being placed next to teen vampire heartthrob Beckett Rush on the plane over. Will Finley discover what she is looking for? She is convinced that God abandoned her the day that her brother was murdered-will she learn to listen to Him again?
Average Customer Rating:
4.893 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for There You'll Find Me - eBook
Review 1 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Here's a book I read straight through.

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael Kenney
Location:Lachute,QC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here's a book I read straight through. It first interested me just from reading what it was about: a teenage girl goes to Ireland on an exchange to find peace following her brother's death, and on the way over is seated next to "teen vampire heartthrob, Beckett Rush". As she seeks to hear God's voice again after her devastating loss, God puts in her path just the people she needs to bring her back to Him.
What I really liked about the book besides the great dialogue (especially between her and Beckett), was how difficult issues weren't wrapped up with a tidy little bow. The book takes a deep, honest look at how people deal with problems like loss--often covering their hurts with difficult persona, or by developing other serious problems. I appreciated that this book was not the kind that went "girl with issues meets boy with problems and their love heals all wounds". It took several different types of people and friends to help point Finley in the right direction--from an insightful nun, to a cranky old lady, to simply a friend that cared enough to say something. It was amusing and riveting, and a book I would recommend even to those over the age of thirty...after all problems don't go away just because you cease to be a teenager.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Spiritual Depth and Heart Moving

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just discovered Jenny B Jones a few months ago and I love her work. She writes with such humor that it's so refreshing, but when she delves into the spiritual aspect of her novels, it's heart shatteringingly deep. Moves me like no other.
This book touched me in such an enormous way that I've tears in my eyes typing this review. I was sobbing at the end. Out loud.
She touches spiritual depths that I rarely see in a book. Never like hers, anyway. Just blows my mind.
Please read Jenny B. Jones. You will be enormously blessed. ( )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I am literally at a loss for words right now. I just finished this book, and it's been a long time since I've been this impressed with every aspect of a book like I was with this one. Jenny has managed to write a witty, sassy, yet quite painful, novel that had me on an emotional roller coaster that I didn't want to end.
From the beginning, I knew that Finley was a hurting soul. Her life was in shambles--the death of a brother, a stint in therapy, a semi-public image tainted--and God had never felt more distant. On top of her personal turmoil, the stress she was under to complete a musical piece for a prestigious audition was intense. But then she meets a boy. And not just any boy, either. This one was Beckett Rush...THE hottest young movie star on the Hollywood scene. And the funny part? She couldn't be less interested in him, which threw him for a big-time loop. Gradually, they become friends, then more than friends, and he slowly starts to break down her walls. Before too long, each one of them realizes things that they'd rather not face, yet know if they don't, their lives won't go any direction but downhill.
I've said it before...I wish books like this had been available when I was in the young adult stage. I found this story to be so honest and real. It was not a book I could wrap in a box with a fancy bow. There was no fluff. Instead, it was a brilliantly told, coming-of-age story that I will never, ever forget. Yes, there was wit, sass and snark, but there was also pain, loss, and deep emotional hurt. I found myself laughing along with Finley as she verbally sparred with Beckett (considering he had met his match there), and on the flip side, reaching for the Kleenex when Finley succumbed to her lowest point and realized that God had been right by her side all along. She had just filled her life with so much noise that she couldn't hear God's voice. That was my "aha" moment right there because I have done that very thing more times than I can count. Like Finley, I think that if I can just do this one task, or wrap up this one commitment, or help this one person, I'll have accomplished something really great. It becomes all-consuming, and I lose sight of the things that are eternally important.
But...
Leave it to a novel to bring my focus back where it needs to be. Thanks for that, Jenny. :o) Thanks for using all those editors and going through all those rough drafts (as you mentioned in your acknowledgments) to get this story just right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is so inspirational

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is so inspirational!! I loved this book.... The plot line behind it was incredible. I would recommend this book to anyone... I got so many verses from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meet the Christian Sarah Dessen

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayy
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was more than I would've ever expected from a Christian author-I've read many Christian teen books that seemed too preachy and which lacked a solid story and this one completely changed my outlook on Christian YA books. It was witty and romantic all while having a deep-rooted story to back it up. As a Sarah Dessen fan, I was delighted to find an author that could write a strong coming of age story while appropriately incorporating a great message of hope and faith with amazingly believable characters that could relate to anyone. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to both Sarah Dessen fans as well as Young Adults looking for a book that has just the right amount of realism, romance, wit, as well as an encouraging message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glad I found this author... I'm left speechless

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lord have mercy.
I just finished this book and to be quite honest, this is not the type of stories I read.
But it would be wrong not to give this 5 stars. Jenny did an exceptional job.
Mind you, this is no light read. It runs deep. It exposes raw emotions, Finley's emotions that is.
The story is told from her point of view and even though I've not walked through her problems, while reading, my heart just ached for the girl.
I'm sure that someone will pick this up and find it life-changing. Jenny combines humour and more importantly the Truth of God, to beautifully deliver a story that is sure to reach your heart.
Young girls out there feeling like no one understands you, I challenge you to pick this up and take a step to find healing.
This story is sure to stay with me for a while now. Jenny, you've left me speechless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Made me laugh, cry, and think

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bookmfrom this website because I had read all of Jenny's books and have been a fan of hers for a long time. I knew There You'll Find Me would be a good read.
But it was more than that-it was life-changing.
Finely reminded me of my own struggle. She couldn't hear God. But she wasn't listening. She and Beckett (I love Beckett!) were both afraid of the truth and it was hurting their relationships with God. A bitter old woman, a quest to find a cross, mean girls Irish style, vampires, love, humor, and truth make this book my absolute favorite book ever. I cried at the end. And every time I read it, it tugs at my heart strings. This book is amazing and it revealed a truth to me that I never thought about.
Nothing, not life or death or anything, can separate me from the love of God. Please read this book-you won't be the same when you set it down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read....not just for young adults!

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite thing about Jenny Jones’ books is her fabulous humor. She really does funny better than most anybody. Rarely do I find a book that makes me laugh out loud, but this author can and does. Love it! This book was no exception, but from the dedication page forward I knew it would be different. Ms. Jones has gone through some pain, and the insight and tenderness from that is evident throughout this story. It added a beautiful component to her writing. Though this is categorized at juvenile fiction, I am by no means a juvenile and I loved it! The characters are young but they deal with mature issues in a sweet, profound way. Finley, the main character, has suffered the loss of her beloved brother. Along with his death, she has lost her will to pursue her music career. Instead, she decides to study abroad in Ireland, her brother’s journal in hand, to learn about the place where he felt so close to the God he loved.
Beckett Rush is a teen idol, who is finishing filming of his most recent vampire movie.....in Ireland. The two characters meet on the plane ride, and from their first encounter sparks fly. Though for Finley, they aren’t fond ones. Throughout the pages, these two people struggle to progress beyond their personal pain and find clear direction for their lives. Ms. Jones keeps things interesting with her typical one liners. We witness a beautiful friendship, coping with and moving on from loss, and God’s ever present shadow of love. Beautiful. Not an easy task to infuse a story of loss and confusion with laughter and plenty of romance, but Jenny, you did it girl! Another satisfying read from this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely story, excellent setting, wonderful writing

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
princesseilonwy
Location:Singapore
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
While I'd love to primly announce that I'm reviewing this for my youth, in all honesty I can't - I grew up on hokey Sweet Dreams novels, and after trudging through more than a hundred of those paperback teen romance novels, I can smell a good story a mile away. Jenny B Jones' There You'll Find Me is not only well-titled, it's tightly written as well.
Story in brief: Finley Sinclair, bereft after the loss of her brother, visits Ireland as she follows in his footsteps using his diary to guide her. Meet cute on the plane with a guy, who happens to stay at her host family's B&B. She works out her life issues (and there are many), helps an old lady leave life well, and - of course - finds love.
It's a Christian book, so I expected a lot of teachin' and preachin' to be going on through bad prose. But Jones surprises me there (the same way that Fireproof surprised me with its professional production) - Finley's struggles are universal (insecurity over looks, boys, weight etc) and her prayers are reminiscent of prayers which I've prayed myself as I grew up feeling around my faith in God.
My issues with the book are fairly serious ones though:
(1) Jones concocts an absolutely ridiculous scenario of rich heiress and movie star which does nothing for the plot - Jones shouldn't have done this; it adds nothing to the story, and instead removes the reality of the situation even further away from the average girl-at-home. Not everyone's a poor little rich heiress a la Paris Hilton, and no 18 year old hunky male movie star would be left unattended like that.
(2) Absolutely irrational behaviour from boy - the sensitive sweet 18 year old boy does not exist, and should have been written out completely, or portrayed more realistically. But I suppose nobody wants to read about 18 year old jerks. I'm on the fence whether such portrayals of guys are more damaging than aspirational, but since more girls than guys are likely to read this YA novel, I'm leaning towards the "bad for girls to dream about this completely fictional guy".
Jones is an excellent writer - I'll be looking out for more balanced and mature works from her as she grows as an author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Read

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great surprise this read turned out to be! Not at all the "light-n-fluffy" teenage romance I thought it was going to be. I admired Finley Sinclair right from the beginning--her biting sarcasm, her sassy attitude, her protective walls, her deep grief, her struggle to find her way and faith; I could relate to it all.
In There You'll Find Me, Jenny Jones has crafted a wonderful story full of genuine characters who are living life in the midst of complex circumstances. (Aren't we all?) Finley Sinclair is finding her way in life and faith after the loss of her brother. Beckett Rush is asserting independence from an overbearing father/manger. Cathleen Sweeney is dying of cancer a bitter, old lady with secrets eating away at her.
It is a credit to Jones' brilliant talent that she is able to weave all these issues seamlessly throughout the novel in a way that kept me engaged (hooked ... slightly obsessed, if I'm being honest) from start to finish. There You'll Find Me is as humorous and fun as it is serious and contemplative. And that's a welcomed treat.
In addition to a great independent read, I believe this novel to be a valuable book group selection as the story-lines provide a natural launching point to discuss many pertinent topics: eating disorders, loss & grief, bullying, first crush, rediscovering faith, peer pressure and fulfilling family expectations, finding one's path, to name a few.
Overall, a delightful and charming read. Well done, Jenny B. Jones! Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There, You'll Find a Great Read

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
M. Pieper
Location:Mount Dora, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found plenty to love in THERE YOU'LL FIND ME(Thomas Nelson, 2011) by novelist Jenny B. Jones. But I also loved it for what I didn’t find. Please indulge my explanation.
WHAT I FOUND:
Winsome Characters: I loved even the ones I didn’t like. From bit players (Sister Maria, piano teacher and part-time philosopher) to superstars (Finley Sinclair, exchange student and wounded heart) and Beckett Rush (vampire-portrayer and Hollywood hot topic), all added value to the story and helped keep me reading.
Humor: If Jenny B. Jones writes it, I’ll laugh at it. Awkward-but-true things happen to her characters. Because awkwardness overflows my own life, I can’t help but smile. I bet you will, too.
Compelling Plot: Finley’s on a journey that takes her further than her planned destination of Ireland. After the death of her beloved older brother, Will (read Save the Date for his story), she retraces his steps in search of personal healing. And somewhere in the process, she finds much more.
Layers of Meaning: This book reveals Jones’ growth as a writer. Perhaps no one would label it “literary fiction,” but the bursts of beauty that shone from its pages left me longing not only for my own trip to Ireland, but for more from this gifted author.
WHAT I DIDN'T FIND:
Preaching: Throughout the book, Finley carries on a constant-but-interrupted dialogue with God. The faltering nature of her faith makes it all the more real. And in faith as in writing, real is good.
Lectures: Beckett, Finley, and the other characters have choices to make. Sometimes they choose wisely. Other times, not so much. Believable, real, and right. Period.
Final Answers: At the story’s end, Jones leaves us with more questions than answers. This again displays her skill as a novelist and sets the stage for what I hope will be more of Finley, Beckett, and the God they’re learning to love.
Artificial Sweeteners: Christian YA can come across as pablum-bland or sickly sweet. The challenges addressed in THERE YOU'LL FIND ME make it anything but. Any honey-like elements contain enough ants to make readers choke (and giggle).
I urge you to grab this and all things Jenny B. Jones. Then watch for more—because there, you’ll find some great reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Yourself in Ireland

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finley Sinclair has come to Ireland to retrace the steps of her murdered brother. She has had a rough time and wants to find peace for her soul in being where her brother found such contentment.
Finley arrives on an airplane seated next to a movie star...she is not impressed. Becket is not what he appears, and you will learn to love him!
This book has so much packed into it, there are mean girls in the form of the Principals daughter Beatrice and the Posh girls. Her haven is her host family Sean & Nora Callaghan and their children Erin & Liam. Erin and Finely are the same age and become good friends.
She is very musically talented and is trying to finish a song to honor her brother and gain admission to a great school. She and Becket do become friends and he has taken her to some of the places her brother Will visited.
There is also Cathleen Sweeney, whom was assigned as her service project. Cathleen is dying of bone cancer and is very cantankerous. You are going to come to love this old woman!
There are a range of feelings in this hard to put down book! Some very sad happenings...have the tissues handy. I do recommend this read!
I received this book through Netgalley and Thomas Nelson the Publisher, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ah… very well done

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Finley Sinclair leaves home to study abroad in Ireland, her goal is to follow in her brother Will’s footsteps, using his journal as a guide. She wants to see the places Will saw, feel what he felt when he traveled through Ireland before he died. She’s hoping for closure, and an ending to the song she is composing.
But she meets Hollywood heartthrob Beckett Rush on the airplane—the last thing she needs, another guy who’s full of himself and drawn to trouble. But her lack of interest intrigues Beckett, and he makes her his assistant in exchange for his help as a tour guide in finding all the places in Will’s journal. But the pressure is too much on Finley. Why won’t God help her heal? Isn’t Ireland the place where she should find him?
Ah… very well done. Jenny B. Jones is a wonderful authors. I say it every time I read one of her books, but it’s true. This book hooked me in with its characters and its country (Ireland). It made me want to visit Ireland. It reminded me that everyone was young once, and we all have a past. I loved Finley and Beckett’s characters. But as this was a Jenny B. Jones book, I wasn’t surprised to find that I loved just about every character. This is a wonderful book. Highly recommended for all girl readers, no matter how old you are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read for young adults & for older ones too!

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet Sketchley
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There You’ll Find Me is a young adult novel, and I’m hardly the target audience. But I’d heartily recommend it for teen girls and women of all ages. An unexpected bonus for me is that Finley is Alex’s younger sister from the Jenny B. Jones' adult novel, Save the Date. I’d forgotten Finley's name and was part way through the novel when I put the clues together, and I was so pleased to see her again and to get some news of the rest of the family.
Teens would enjoy Save the Date as well, but it’s not required. Each novel stands alone. Where one follows the other time-wise, reading There You’ll Find Me first would give away one or two key aspects of the first novel’s ending.
Jenny B. Jones is one of my favourite authors. Her characters come to life with a mix of spunk, sass and wit. There You’ll Find Me is funny, touching, and real. And the Ireland it portrays is beautiful.
[Complimentary electronic review copy provided by the publisher through BookSneeze®]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There You'll Find Me....reading another Great Book

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some people have this uncanny ability to get you laughing quite easily, and isn’t that a wonderful thing? Laughter just makes everything better, you’re happy, you’re comfortable, and you really don’t want it to end. Those are pretty much my feelings about books written by Jenny B Jones. The thing that is really a fascinating combo though is that right along with the laughter in that place where you are happy and comfortable, Jenny introduces you to characters that have “stuff” that is pretty serious to wade through, you know stuff like complicated family relationships, grief, perfectionism and parental approval to name a few. You find all of this stuff, along with the laughter and much more in Jenny B Jones latest book There You’ll Find Me.
Finley Sinclair, little sister to Alex Sinclair from Save the Date (for loyal Jenny B Jones fans) is on her way to Ireland when she lands a free upgrade into First Class where she just happens to sit next to none other than Beckett Rush, up and coming teen movie star . With his Vampire franchise of films with such titles as Vampire Boarding School and Friday Night Bites, he has developed quite a following of teens and tweens alike. Unfortunately, his reputation precedes him as that of a Mr. Hollywood Party Boy and as Finley is on a personal spiritual renewal trip to get a fresh start after making some poor choices, she wants as far a berth as she can get from the guy that every other girl would die to be around. As luck would have it, Beckett is staying at the very Bed and Breakfast, while filming his latest Vampire movie, where Finley is staying with her host family during her study abroad program, so their paths do keep crossing. Finley finds that maybe all those paparazzi reports on Beckett weren’t really that accurate and Beckett can’t help but be drawn to a girl that seems to be real and not cookie-cutter Hollywood. As they get to know each other all of that “stuff”- good and bad starts to come out as they help each other to find what they truly are looking for.
This story while having the usual humor that Jenny B. Jones always dishes up so well ,also has some real characters dealing with real issues in their lives. I love how the journey progresses for both characters with regards to figuring out what path God has for each of their lives and that it isn’t always what they naturally thought would happen. But God’s ways are always better than our ways and a whole lot of growth takes place during the process.
This YA book is charming, lovely set in Ireland, and a pleasure to read. I like reading good YA stuff that I can pass on to my daughter’s with confidence that they will be read , enjoyed and even have a great spiritual message in between the laughter and the tears. Thanks Jenny B Jones once again for a great book! Well constructed plot, loveable characters and a story that tugs on your heartstrings while filling the reader with joy and hope!
5 stars
A free digital copy was given to me by the publisher through the Netgalley program. I was not obligated to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Find More Than You Bargained For

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18-year-old Finley Sinclair has been struggling since the death of her beloved brother Will, a CNN correspondent in Afghanistan. When Will had been her age, he'd spent a glorious year as an exchange student in Ireland. Now Finley is armed with her brother's journal and is determined to follow in his every footstep, certain that she'll find meaning for her life in Abbeyglen...or at least the ending for her musical composition which will certainly get her into the New York Conservatory, which will provide meaning enough.
But life in Ireland is more complicated than she expected. Teen heart-throb Beckett Rush is not only her seat-mate on the flight, but turns out to be staying at the bed-and-breakfast owned by Finley's host family while starring in his current vampire movie. No stranger to wealth or the tabloids, Finley is strongly unimpressed by Beckett, which only intrigues him the more.
Life in a Catholic high school where her worst enemy turns out to be not only the principal's daughter but a minor (jealous) actress on Beckett's set is not as fun as Finley had hoped. Add in an assignment requiring her to spend twenty hours playing granddaughter to a caustic old woman dying of cancer. And the fact that every time she shows someone the final photo in her brother's journal-that of a single Celtic cross-they tell her it could be one of thousands.
But it can't be. Finley is driven to find the one exact cross in the photo, and Beckett is willing to help her, so long as she'll keep rehearsing his lines with him. Against her better judgment (because the tabloids say he's involved with his co-star), Finley is falling for his Irish charm and discovering all is not well in his vampire empire.
One of the things I enjoyed about There You'll Find Me is the vivid Irish imagery in it.
This is, in a way, a coming of age story. Finley is a girl most anyone can identify with. How many times have we felt our lives spiraling out of control? Finley is determined to find peace with God, and her journey has the expected bumps along the way, but the author's humorous voice lends an ease to the tension and melodrama that Finley finds herself in. Taking a minor character from Save the Date, Jenny B Jones weaves a story of a young woman finding more than she bargained for on Irish shores.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book Has Take Home Value. I highly recommend

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
I love Jenny and her writing. She is so funny and snarky. Her characters are too. However Finley is one troubled young girl searching for answers. Searching for God. Why doesn’t He talk to her anymore? I enjoyed watching her grow and mature as I read the book.
I started reading There You’ll Find Me November 2, 2011. I had to take several breaks while reading this one and post my delight on Twitter.
Twitter Nov 2~ I am reading Jenny B. Jones: There You’ll Find me~~Her best book ever. You have got to read it!!!
Twitter 2 hours later:
I love it when that happens!!! I guessed part of what happened. But I am not telling. Jenny B. Jones There You’ll Find me Love the book!
Twitter: later
Jenny B. Jones does it again!!! There You’ll Find Me.
Twitter: Even later
Just read the last page. I did not expect that last twist. You have got to read this awesome book by Jenny B. Jones. There You’ll Find Me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
book lover
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book. It was easy to read. Great story line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible story

Date:October 25, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finley embarks on a journey to Ireland, armed with bitterness and grief over her brother's death. And questions. A lot of questions. She wants to find God again, but she feels completely lost.
She has the journal her brother wrote during his visit to Ireland as a guide, but nothing seems to go as she hoped it would.
I absolutely loved this book. I saw Debra from Debra's Book Cafe raving about it on YouTube, and was curious to read it. I am so glad I did. Wow.
This book is about anyone who has even questioned the bad things that have happened in their lives. It is about anyone who has ever been angry at God and ready to give up on everything, Him, themselves, life. And it is about finding hope again, and the will to live and answers in the most unexpected places.
The characters are so vivid, it's like they are leaping off the page. If only they would...
There is a vampire actor who is a heartthrob, but who also has a tender heart and a mind to find the truth. There is a bitter old lady, who is of more help to Finley than all the pastors combined. There is a whole cast of characters to relish while to read.
The descriptions of Ireland I found just mouth-watering and the romance... It was real and sweet and deep. No instant love at first sight here. Instead there is humour and friendship and sharing. I loved it.
But most of all I loved the messages of this book, about grief and anger and decisions, and even about eating disorders. I cried after I had finished it, not because it was sad -it isn't- but because it spoke to my heart.
I think it will speak even to those who are not Christians. It is not preachy at all. Instead, it is just plain real.
And just plain good.
I read it via the NetGalley, but I have already bought it and can't wait to delve into it again.
Rating: 5/5
BLOG bookshelfstories dot blogspot dot com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for There You'll Find Me - eBook
This review is fromThere You'll Find Me.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book has a strong heartbeat!

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a more emotional YA read than any of the other books I have read by Jenny B. Jones. There was a lot to like about it. Cute snark, endearing dialog, and love pursuing and ordinary girl who doesn't think her life is worth much. Enter an unexpected inspiration that stirs up things in her life she isn't ready to deal with, but then provides a shoulder to lean on that is unlike any other person she has ever known.
I loved how the author showed the characters struggle with wanting to control life because she felt so out of control and stressed. Her need for perfection took over her life but happened in such a subtle manner that at first it slipped by unnoticed. Thankfully people cared enough about Finley to not let her issues slip under the radar.
Her pursuit of God was inspirational and realistically shown. The journal her brother left her was a treasure indeed. I loved the ending and how things all came together for her. But the author didn't make it easy. She had to deal with death again and learn to take her eyes off her self long enough to help someone else who needed hope and forgiveness. That was beautifully done.
The style of this book was similar to other YA books by the author. I found that interesting. I suppose it's good to know what to expect, though sometimes I like to be surprised a bit more. Nevertheless, this one is a keeper due to the power of the message and the deeper look at a real-life teen issue that hurts many young ladies. Hopefully someone with this issue will see themselves in Finley and ask for help. That alone makes this book a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>