Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House To Win Her Heart

Bethany House To Win Her Heart

Having completed his sentence for an unintentional crime, Levi Grant plans to start over in Spencer, Texas. Meanwhile, Eden Spencer has sworn off men, devoting her time instead to the lending library. Does this couple---the blacksmith with a criminal past and the librarian with pacifist ideals---have a fighting chance at love? 352 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
48 out of 5096%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for To Win Her Heart
Review 1 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Having strength to keep your promise to God

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Levi Grant has a past, he's killed a man and spent time in prison, now he's trying to start over. He found the Lord in prison, should I say he found him again since he was raised with the Lord in his life. The only one in Spencer, Texas that knows of his past is the preacher who is helping him get started as the new blacksmith for the town.
Eden Spencer has a past that the whole town knows about, a town named after her family, and has turned from looking for a husband to running a library. She has to approve the new blacksmith but isn't sure about him because of his hesitant way of talking. Finally after he offers a one month trial period, Eden agrees to let him take over.
The sheriff 'considers' himself engaged to Eden, Eden shuns him every time he tries to act possesive. Levi is beginning to be a thorn in the sheriff's side. Eden refuses to let Levi borrow books from the library because she doesn't want him coming in regularly to exchange books. He won't even say her name, calls her Ma'am even after she insists he call her Miss Spencer because Ma'am makes her feel decrepit. Her plan backfires though because he comes in daily so he can sit and read, I mean, if you can't take the book home and you want to read that is the only way, but she can't take back the two week residency requirement now.
When the sheriff begins to feel really threatened by Levi's presence and he has found out about his past, his plan to bring Levi down is soon set into motion, will it work to get him to leave town or be reincarcerated?
I really liked this book, and would recommend it to others. I have read other books by Karen and started a new one already, Short-Straw Bride and I have Stealing the Preacher in my stack of to read books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Moving

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
smiley
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story was written so well; it moved me to love Jesus more; I was so encouraged by the Spirit of Christ.
And it was so refreshing to read of a character who had a speech impediment; I say a big THANK YOU to Karen Witemeyer for this wonderful story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Karen is an excellent Writer!

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
AJH
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can honestly say that I could recommend Karen's work for any book club or anyone who just wants a good book to read. To Win Her Heart was a cute story of people who despite their past can make a great future for themselves and possibly with a little love involved :) Again all book Karen writes are recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story of God's Mercy & Grace! Loved it

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Johnette
Location:Salem, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I really enjoyed To WIn Her Heart. It was one of those I cannot put it down or go to sleep before 5 am type of books. The story line was great. I love historical books and this one stole my heart. Especially one of the main characters loving books and being a librarian. And a man that loves to read as well? Of course I was all for it!
ALl of the characters were interesting, believable and ones that I fell in love with. I didn't want the story to end. I wish it was a series. I find myself feeling this wall with all of Karen Witemeyer's books so far.
It was an enjoyable read and also one that taught you something. My favorite parts of the book were talking about being a rock-toter. A hard thing to swallow if you realize you are one yourself. Makes you take time to search yourself and make sure you are acting the way the Lord would want you to.
All in all I think you would fall in love with this story, characters and plot. The ending is face-paced and so exciting. I think you should def pick this one up to read if you haven't already.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner by Karen Witemeyer!

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me just begin by saying that I am a HUGE fan of Karen's books. And this one is no exception. Loved it! So did my daughter. If you have not read this book, please do yourself a favor and read it.
Her characters are wonderful and she weaves a story that keeps you riveted to the book and caught up in her story. I hope she never stops writing, because I never want to stop reading her books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has definitely been my favorite book by this author! I loved it! I thought it was wonderfully written about God's grace and how we need to show that grace to others! I plan on reading this book in the future!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To win her heart has won my heart! This is my favorite of Karen Witmeyer book so far. It's a well written historical fiction that draws the reader in. Ms. Witmeyer had earned her way into being one of my favorite authors.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story... Beautifully Written!

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Okay, let's be honest here. Ever read a book and almost got in trouble, because the story just glued you --literally-- to your seat?
It's one thing to write a story and publish it -- but BOY is it another thing when that book is able to capture your audience's attention.
This is my second read from Mrs Whitemeyer, and I'm really excited about what God is doing through this new author!
If you've not read any of her books, I suggest you start with the first one: A Tailor-Made Bride.
Now that's what I call: Fine Writing. It's Funny (you'll find yourself at least smiling while reading-- guaranteed!)
and it will bless the socks off you, just like this one.
There are some "Christian" books I've read, but kept wondering throughout : where is GOD in this story?
Believe me, this is NOT the case in this one. GOD is practically mentioned in everything the characters do!
The author uses biblical example, such as: the story of Abraham, The adulteress about to be stoned and many more.
Mothers, this might be a GREAT pick for your daughter who loves everything romance. (Oh she WILL be satisfied because there are two love stories in this one :)
Any woman and every woman who loves a beautiful, CHRIST-BASED, fun, romantic story will love Mrs Whitemeyer's writting (at least, so far that's what I can say :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the very beginning of this book you will be hooked. The story shows that God forgives but it is more difficult for people to forgive. Eden and Levi come from very different backgrounds and both have had their share of hurt. They help others and in the process find that they are falling in love. The story shows that judging others often shows us things in our lives that are not how they should be. Sometimes it takes others just to point that out. You will not be disappointed with this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book Fed my Heart and Soul

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mandy
Location:Virgie, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was beyond what I could have imagined! I instantly fell in love with Eden and Levi, among other characters. I was hooked after reading the first sentence and remained so throughout the whole of the book. Mrs. Witemeyer weaves a story of forgiveness (of self and others),also shame, guilt, and the freedom that is felt when those things are shed. She writes of love between two wonderful people who unlikely fit together like puzzle pieces, and a God Who is all knowing and never fails them. This book will forever remain on my book shelf as one of my all time favorites. I hope you will read it and enjoy it as much as me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary A
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yet again, Karen Witemeyer did not disappoint! This is a beautifully written book. I loved the main characters and the unique plot. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for To Win Her Heart
This review is fromTo Win Her Heart - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a lovely story of forgiveness and hope

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lectora
Location:San Jose, Costa Rica
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first inspirational romance and I'm so happy I've found it. I love historical romances and this is one of the best I've read. The story is interesting and very well written, with strong christian values. The characters are well defined. Forgiveness and hope are showed all over. It's refreshing. I really recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too predictable for me.

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Levi Spencer is a new Christian who has a dark past. Eden Spencer is the privileged daughter of the town's owner.
Levi is new in town and acquired the position of blacksmith. He is tall, dark and mysterious. Eden is independent and has steered clear of men since her broken engagement.
Eden and Levi have the chance to get to know each other better as Levi frequently visits the library in which Eden looks after.
It's not long before Levi's dark past comes to light, thanks to a man who is jealous of the time he spends in the library with Eden.
Eden and Levi mus both choose to let go of their pasts and decide if they are meant to be.
I found this book to be a little predictable. The author did a good job of portraying Eden and Levi so that you are genuinely concerned for them and you will wonder if they make is in the end, or not. Even though I did enjoy the story I wished there were more twists and turns so that it was more predictable.
Thanks to Bethany House, I was given a copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lazuardi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought this was cute. Easy reading and intertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is one of the best in Historical Fiction!

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
KnittedintheHeart
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Readers that love historical fiction will love "To Win Her Heart" by Karen Witemeyer. It is a beautifully written novel that has pure romance. It is also a novel about redemption and forgiveness - making it a great choice for your next book club discussion!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

To Win Her Heart

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was another fun story from Karen Witemeyer, but I enjoyed her first two books better. Eden was a puzzle: on one hand so judgmental throughout the entire book that I found it difficult to like her or root for her, and on the other hand still doing good things - though sometimes requiring prodding from others. Eden was not alone in her poor attitude, as several of the townspeople were just as judgmental as she, but it's easier to brush it off in a secondary character.
I finished reading the book to find out how things go for Levi. On the other hand, I really loved some of the secondary characters, including Chloe and Duncan. I wish they had their own book so I could find out what happens to them.
If this is your first book by this author, I'd recommend reading A Tailor-Made Bride instead.
With thanks to the publisher, Bethany House, for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Fiction Novel that Teaches Life Lessons

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wordmachine
Location:Grayson, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Historical Fiction novel about a woman named Eden Spencer who is a librarian and man named Levi Grant who likes working with his hands in the blacksmith trade. Eden has had her heart broken before and does not seem to be looking for another relationship. Levi walks into Eden’s library one day and is captivated by her and continues visiting her in the library where a relationship with her starts to develop, even though Eden is cautious about allowing another man into her life. As Eden and Levi get to know each other they are not sure if their differences and their pasts will help their relationship or will cause it to come to an end.
Eden seemed like she was wrapped in God’s guidance during this story. She seemed hurt when people turned on her later in the story and stopped coming to her library because of a decision that she made but she continued to move forward with her life in spite of that happening. I liked how both Eden and Levi showed their strengths and weaknesses and how Eden allowed God to work in her mind about some moral issues and decisions that she was hesitant about at first. I also liked that some parts of this story took place in a library setting.
When a young girl was brought into the story I wondered at first if the adults were better at teaching right from wrong or if the young girl was better at that. Later I came to the realization that I think that there was a good balance between the adults and the young girl teaching each other right from wrong.
I recommend this book to anybody who likes to read Christian/Biblical Historical Fiction novels.
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic read

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phyl
Location:Bristol, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first read of Ms. Witemeyer's books. It was the best story I've read in awhile. I couldn't put it down! I'm going to try to purchase all her historical/western christian works. She's a very accomplished storyteller.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poor Blacksmith + Rich Spinster = Wealth Untold

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Witemeyer has penned another winner with To Win Her Heart. This historical romance features Levi Grant, a huge blacksmith with a tender heart, and Eden Spencer, a rich, book-loving and lovely spinster. Their lives are separated by their backgrounds and positions in society—yet they are attracted to each other. Can they overcome their differences and the pain of the past to forge a life together?
Throw in an arrogant sheriff who won’t take no for an answer in his push to marry Eden, a saloon lady’s daughter who needs shelter, and a prison record Levi hasn’t revealed. The flame of the story sparks and glows as if Levi’s bellows continue to fan it. And it never fizzles.
The main characters attached themselves to my heart and I struggled with them as they dealt with the trials they faced. I love how faith shines through the lives of the characters in realistic ways—not preachy or with pat answers, but faltering and growing as they learn to trust. The author really knows how to engage readers and win their hearts. I recommend this third novel by Karen Witemeyer. Each is set in nineteenth-century Texas but is a totally separate story and all are well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for To Win Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Witemeyer does it again!!!

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know you can't judge a book by it's cover but this one is every bit as good inside as it is pretty outside. When this book fell out of the package into my hands I said to my husband, "Oh, it's so pretty! It's embossed!"
Not only did I fall in love with the cover but I fell in love with Levi from the beginning. He's such a tortured soul with a heart as big as the sky! For all his largess he has a gentleness about him that is misinterpreted as a lack of intelligence. Levi is far from it! He has his reasons for taking his time when answering a question or making a remark. I'm not going to reveal what it is but it is a vulnerability that just makes you want to give him a hug. He's my favorite character of all.
Eden has such fine manners, is very respectable and has a stellar reputation. That means a lot to her! She is going to find out what it means to be stretched in her faith. I like how Karen takes Eden from being consumed by her own uprightness to becoming wholly concerned about a misjudged young girl. The relationship that Eden builds with this girl, even though caring for her was Levi's idea and not a role that Eden wanted to take on, is a pleasure to watch unfold.
There are a host of other characters that actually play pretty important roles in the story. You know there is one (or two) who is not so likeable and I was surprised at who it turned out to be. I kept saying it can't be...but it was. Good job, Ms. Witemeyer!
If you enjoy historical fiction you will love this one! There is never any disconnect in this story. The writing is flawless. Flow is perfect. Karen Witemeyer has once again given us an immensely pleasurable read and characters that are thought of long after the final page is turned.
I was provided a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest opinion. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.