Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pleasant Word The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Pleasant Word The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook

When Susan Moore's father brings home a sad stranger named Paul Maniford, Susan finds herself intrigued by his story. As a widower, he is incapable of caring for his young daughter and farm alone. Normally reserved, Susan finds herself able to converse easily with Paul. She becomes unexpectedly concerned about his needs. Believing that love is a choice rather than simply an accident or emotion, Susan encourages him to remarry, even if it is a marriage based more on need than romantic love.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
7 out of 1258%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Review 1 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chantelle
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Started well but started to loose interest as went along
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

interesting story line, poor writing

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
clancy
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The book was contrite. The characters were not real, you never felt engaged with any of them. The dialogue was very scripted and the conversations between the characters felt very fake. I believe the author had very good intentions, the story line was good but she didn't know how to capture her audience. I finished the book only so I could write a review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jools
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted more, I wanted it longer, Really easy to read and the characters captured me. Great story telling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reader
Location:Niagara Falls, On
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book. It was good for a fiction book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Just couldn't get into it.

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anna
Location:Melbourne, Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm almost finished & I've got to say that I'm really struggling to read it. I normally find I don't want to put the books down & they have me hooked by the 1st or 2nd chapter...but for some reason I just couldn't get into this one. I'm finding the language poor & there's no point of interest. It's unfortunately really dull & I won't be buying anymore ebooks by this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

one of the best ever

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
lynn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thank you so much for the book that you have, i value a good christan book, once i started reading this book i couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't bother!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jocar
Location:St. Louis
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Storyline is sluggish, flat, dull... And it doesn't help a bit that this e-reader cuts off the lat 1or 2 pages of each chapter, and you don't even get to read the end of the book. A BIG WASTE OF TIME and MONEY! Ipurchased 3books and they were all that way!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming story with family values

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mojo
Location:Pekin, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book starts out with rather stilted language. However you soon are able to get into the story and understand the way it is written. It shows family life in a simpler era and is a refreshing change from many modern day novels.
This is a relaxing book to read, and leaves the reader with some different ideas about love and life to mull over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
mcharki
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. I loved it. I didn't want to put it down, and it was easy to pick up where I left off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
caribbeanlady
Location:Boise, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very interesting story about a quiet but wise daughter who finds a few surprises in what God has in store for her. Interesting reading and very good outcome.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a favorite

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
DC*B fan
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really wanted to like this book - especially because of the price, but I just couldn't get into it. I didn't find the characters or story line believable or interesting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Trust

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
fungardener
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading stories from past centuries. We could benefit, today, from their way of life; their total belief that God knows best for them and they took the time to listen and obey. I found this book very enjoyable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
This review is fromThe Quiet Daughter Speaks.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patty
I was quite disappointed in this book. The writing didn't seem professional. It sounded like an interesting story but it just didn't deliver.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Quiet Daughter Speaks - eBook
This review is fromThe Quiet Daughter Speaks.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Anderson
A sweet book, with characters I wish I knew! Very peaceful and insightful to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.