Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A River to Cross

Bethany House A River to Cross

Texas Ranger Jake Nelson patrols the U.S.-Mexico border, protecting the settlers from cattle rustlers, outlaws, and bandits. Sparks fly when Manuel Diego stirs up a revolt against the government, which leads to the murder of a newspaperman, who is the son of a U.S. senator, and the kidnapping of his sister, Elizabeth Madison, a journalist in the making.

With Elizabeth's photograph in hand--a dark-haired beauty with smiling eyes--Jake rides over the border to find her. After the Rangers defeat the marauders and rescue Elizabeth, Jake is surprised to learn she's not the spoiled daughter of a senator that he was expecting. In fact, he finds himself taken by her. And she by him.

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 1979%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A River to Cross
Review 1 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was a very good read, would like a sequel

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Barker, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much, it was an easy read and held my attention till the last page. I would enjoy a sequel and other books by this author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An excellent read

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
gmom9
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was filled with action and intrigue, yet courage, compassion and confidence in the lives of the main characters. It was good to see that faith in God was woven throughout the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am so disappointed with this book, because I adored Yvonne Harris first book Vigilante's bride and was so excited about finally getting to read her second book.
Texas ranger Jake Nelson was written as a good Texas ranger, but there was a glaring lack of "cowboyisms" with his character and the only time I felt like I got to know him was in his conversation with Elizabeth about is ex-finance Audrey. Elizabeth's character was decent, the villains though were two dimensional and the author left Gus and Suzanne relationship hanging. (unless she's going to finish their story in another book.)
Also I found that there seemed to be to many modernism within the book for my taste. Elizabeth's comment " let's go check out" the beaver dam sounded like something my teenage would say, the florist who wrapped the flowers in "tissue paper" (was tissue paper even invented?) when wrapping flowers in newspaper would have been more believable, and the hospital with the "emergency room". I had to go back to the front to look at the date that was printed at the beginning of chapter one to make sure which century I was reading.
The best thing I like about this book was the research on the history of the Texas rangers. I did enjoy the way the author incorporated this into the story. Most of it I did find fascinating.
If none of the stuff that bugged me, would bug you, then go for it. By far not the worst book I've ever read but not the best either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A River to Cross
This review is fromA River to Cross, eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best book I have ever read!!

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
yaya
Location:Elkins, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has got to be on of the best books that I have ever pick up, I have read it at least 10 times already. Yvonne Harris has a way of writing that makes you fall in love with characters and the story line, each page just leads to a new discovery of their personalities. I can't wait for her next book, I'm definately a fan!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every now and again you come across a good Christian Fiction novel that you can read and have finished quickly due to not being able to put it down , A River to Cross by Yvonne Harris was just that which I had expected due to liking her first novel The Vigilante's Bride. In A River to Cross we meet Elizabeth Madison , a journalist in the making and the daughter of a Senator. Home for the summer she decides to work in her older brother Logan's newspaper business rather than be an intern for her father's campaign and office. Though, little does she know that she will only see her brother for a few days before he is dead and she finds herself kidnapped. When a big story breaks out about the Mexican's and Manuel Diego it seems that a button has been pushed and Elizabeth's brother finds himself assasinated and Elizabeth kidnapped ? Will she be the next to go , leaving their father childless ? Enter Jake , a Texas Ranger and a friend of Logan's - he is making it his mission to safely return Elizabeth but what neither of them counted on was falling in love with each other. However , before any of them are actually ready to open up their hearts and love fully they must battle some relationship demons and move on completely from the past. For Elizabeth , a widow of three years -it means leaving behind and moving forth from her dead husband Carl and for Jake , love made him jaded and difficult to keep as for Jake - an Army Ranger - it's the army first and relationships second. Can the two of them find common ground and love be re-ignited in both their hearts or will their past experiences be too much to handle ?
Find out in A River to Cross by Yvonne Harris.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful Story

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
KnittedintheHeart
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This delightful story written by Yvonne Harris, is a great historical fiction set in late 1800's. This is a story that felt like it could continue forever. The best part of the story is the undercurrent theme that life is to be celebrated today. Tomorrow is uncertain, so enjoy and celebrate the gift of today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good plot.

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lazuardi
Location:Milwaukee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the character developmemt and plot of this story. It was hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Really easy read

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
A River to Cross by Yvonne Harris was an incredibly easy read for me. I finished it in 2 nights. Elizabeth Evans visits her brother in Texas to help him raise his daughter after his wife died. Elizabeth is the daughter of a US Senator and she has been living with her father in Washington. She moved to Texas to also help run her brother run his newspaper, which he was in the midst of trying to bring down a Mexian rogue general - Manuel Diego. Elizabeth is kidnapped by Diego's men and taken back to Mexico in hopes that Mexico and the US will start fighting each other. Diego wants to take over for President Guevera.
However, Diego does not anticipate this kidnapping done by his men or the fact that Texas Rangers hunt this group of men down and rescue Elizabeth. Elizabeth doesn't expect Texas Ranger Jake Nelson to come into her life and sweep her off her feet. She swore she was done with men in the military since her husband had died in service. Jake Nelson, having gotten burned by his fiance a few years before closed his heart off to women. Can they both look past their pasts and find love brought only by God's timing?
I was a little disappointed with the lack of God being involved with the book. Harris is a great writer keeping the book moving. I was also a little disappointed with the suspense in the book dealing with the Mexicans. I kind of got the sense that Diego and his right hand man were rather foolish. I would not recommend this book to any of my friends.
I received a complimentary copy from the publisher.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good Western

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vanessa of HHCreations
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grew up watching old-time Westerns, and if there were a list consisting of books that could be turned into good Westerns, then "A River to Cross" should be on that list. Written by Yvonne Harris, "A River to Cross" is a casual read that kept me interested from start to finish.
Set in the late 1800′s, this story of love and trust takes place in Texas along the Rio Grande. Elizabeth Evans, daughter of a U.S. Senator and sister to a newspaper editor, finds herself kidnapped by a Mexican general and taken away across the United States – Mexican border. Fearful for her life, Elizabeth’s prayers are answered when she is rescued by Jake Nelson, a Texas Ranger. But the story doesn’t end there for the general, Manuel Diego, isn’t about to let her go without a fight. Not to mention, while Jake is busy keeping Elizabeth safe, he finds himself remembering his past and starts trusting in Elizabeth and in the possibilities of the future — something he had not been able to do nor would have considered doing previously. And he’s not the only one. Elizabeth finds herself gaining the strength to move on from her past love and fears of falling in love again with a man of the military. Read this book to find out how love and trust are regained by both of these heartbroken and guarded Christians.
I found this book to be an enjoyable read — the kind of book that I can curl up with in a comfy chair and read while enjoying a cup of hot chocolate. Classified as historical fiction, "A River to Cross", made me feel like I was watching an old-time Western rather than reading a book. The setting, characters and plot were easy to digest and didn’t contain a lot of unnecessary “fluff” like some books have. So if you are looking for a quick and enjoyable read, I’d recommend adding this book to your list!
Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

a river to cross review

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received "A River to Cross" by Yvonne Harris for free from Bethany House Publishers. "A River to Cross" is a Historical Christian Romance. The lead character, Elizabeth, is a DC socialite who has come to Texas to help her widowed brother raise his child. While there she has gone to work for him at his newspaper and managed to get herself kidnapped by Mexicans. Her knight in shining armour is Jake, a Texas Ranger, who comes to save her and accidently falls in love with her.
This is a pretty pradictable and sappy love story. Elizabeth is what one might call fiesty. Which is a synonym for dumb, angry woman. She's always taking offense and though she can't seem to do much that is worth while in the desert, thinks she should be valued and admired. Remember: she can't even feed herself. (can't cook) Anyway, I didn't really like it. Didn't like Elizabeth. Not much of a romance novel kinda gal. However! I left this book lying around and my 15 year old daughter picked it up and started reading it and she loves it. Sooooo, I guess this is for the young at heart and the romantic notioned.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great old west Texas story

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Sears
Location:Sherman, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read Yvonne Harris's "The Vigilante's Bride" amd really enjoyed that book so I was thrilled when Bethany House Publishers contacted me with the opportunity to read another of Ms. Harris's books "A River to Cross".
This book had my attention from start to finish. There was never a moment that was dull. I am a book reader and like to read many things but this book only took me a day to read. Some times books are dull and take me months to read but this book and its characters had my attention from the start.
I am a fan of Western/ Texas Ranger/ Military books and this had all the parts. Jake the Texas Ranger who was willing to risk everything to rescue Elizabeth a woman he had never met. Reading about their loved blooming through heartaches of the past and how they were able to break down walls together and find true love and happiness made this book an enjoyable easy read. Although there is lots of mystery and conflict and adventures along the way Jake and Elizabeth cross the river together and find happiness in life.
God is not a strong charcter in this book and if you are looking for lots of scriputre refences you will not find that, but you will find a book with character and morals and those kind aren't easy to find today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Held my interest

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbie
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book it held my interest. The way Jake treated Elizabeth was so romantic with him being such a tough guy that he needed to be as a ranger. It was a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A River to Cross is a nice, light read, a historical fiction/romance by Yvonne Harris. I enjoyed reading this book, set in Texas in the late 1800’s. The main characters are a woman, Elizabeth, who has come to Texas to help run a newspaper and a tough Texas Ranger. As you can imagine, a love story emerges quickly amidst killing, kidnapping, political unrest, etc. I don’t want to give away pieces of the plot, so I’ll leave it at that.
And I do mean plot. The book is not “just” a love story—there is a definite story line that keeps a reader’s interest, the romance is kind of secondary. I’m not sure how historically correct it is, especially in a few instances, but the story remains entertaining. It is fiction, after all.
I’d recommend this book as an easy, fun read to enjoy!
I was given a copy of this book for free as part of Bethany House Publisher’s blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Definitely a western romance.

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annies Inklings
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Yvonne Harris is a new author to me. I haven’t read a book like this since I was the age of being bright-eyed and believing that there was a good looking, hunk of a man who was both tough on the outside and tender on the inside just waiting to sweep me off my feet, and we would live in sweet wedded bliss ever after. However, if you’re wanting a bit of time to let your mind waltz you away from the ordinary things of life, then this book will take you dancing through a dream-come-true romance.
Set in the Texas frontier of the late 1800’s, Texas Ranger Jake Nelson begins a two-fold secret mission into Mexico to rescue Elizabeth Evans, the daughter of a U.S. Senior Senator from Texas, and to apprehend and bring to justice the rogue general, Manuel Diego. Once Elizabeth is snatched from captivity, Jake, his men, and Elizabeth begin the long run for their lives back to the border at the Rio Grande River. Adding to the difficulty, Elizabeth had never ridden a horse, having only recently moved from city life in Washington D.C. to the frontier town of El Paso. Amid the danger and turmoil encountered along the way, Jake and Elizabeth find that they are extremely attracted to each other - not good. Romance and attachments are not what either of them wanted in their future. Elizabeth was recovering from the death of her husband and Jake was still trying to overcome his bitterness at finding his intended fiance with another man.
This book was tagged as Christian Fiction and Historical Fiction. I found little evidence of it being Christian fiction other than a quick reference to prayer here and there. However, I was extremely pleased to find no swearing or immoral behavior. Historical information was a little more plentiful.
All in all, there was a good story line. My disappointment was that the characters and the story were not more fully developed. But with only 275 pages, how deep could it get? Definitely a quick read.
*This book was received free in exchange for my unbiased review through Bethany House Book Reviewers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fast Paced Western

Date:September 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Naomi Rawlings
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I've read by author Yvonne Harris. The novel resonated with rich, historical detail,and I found the plight of the heroine very intriguing. I also found it interesting that even 100 years ago the US and Mexico had border problems, albeit of a different making than the problems that plague that section of our country today. The book moves quickly, with a hold-your-breath kind of style as you move from one conflict to the next. Readers who enjoy westerns and fast moving plots will appreciate this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Didn't love it, but I liked it

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I’m of a mixed opinion on Yvonne Harris’s “A River to Cross.” The book started off well with fast-paced action and plot development. Harris did a great job creating a believable and enjoyable romance between the two main characters, Elizabeth Evans and Texas Ranger Jake Nelson. The plot remained interesting throughout, yet the book began to lose its hold on me, the difficulty I’m having is putting my finger on exactly why. I believe one reason is that there’s a certain expectation for a flavor of “old-fashionedness” when reading a book set in the late 1880’s, yet “A River to Cross” frequently felt much more modern. Heroine Elizabeth is a college graduate and soon-to-be newspaper editor in an era when less than one percent of American women ever went to college and when those that did attend (and later sought employment) generally faced a substantial amount of social criticism. Yet, Elizabeth is greeted only with enthusiasm and awe when she steps into her late brother’s newspaper office to officially begin taking over. Another instance of too much modernity was when Elizabeth- an upper class Senator’s daughter of high reputation- stayed the night at Jake’s quarters because she was too agitated to stay home alone. There were a number of other places where the story didn’t quite seem to fit the era, and to a certain extent this detracted from the quality of the book. The occasionally awkward narrative and delivery also bothered me, and it seemed to become more frequent later in the story. For example, Elizabeth’s and Jake’s internal dialogues about their doubts and feelings for one another grew redundant after awhile, and the description of a dark alley fight scene with a group of Arroyos was terribly stilted. Also awkward was the climax, when bad guys Chavez and Diego arrived in Texas and acted more like buffoons then cunning or skillful soldiers.
On the positive side, I did genuinely enjoy the romance, the humor, and the characters. Despite my somewhat negative critique of “A River to Cross”, I am looking forward to reading another of Yvonne Harris’s books in the next few days, “The Vigilante’s Bride”, which I hope conveys that my overall impressions of this book, though mixed, have not turned me away from her writing.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

If you love to read about the Texas Rangers

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
El Paso, Texas, August, 1886 as the story begins, Elizabeth Evans a widow and the daughter of a state senator and had come to help her brother with his newspaper. This part of Texas was so close to the border of Mexico that even then they were having trouble with this country. Some of the leaders in Mexico did not like what Lloyd wrote in his newspaper and killed him soon after the arrival of Elizabeth. Then she was taken with them and that is where the Texas Rangers came into the picture.
This book is so full of romance, suspense and history that I could hardly lay it down, I finished it in two sittings. I have read the first one in this series also and it was just as good. Yvonne Harris has a way to tell these historical stories.
Thanks so much to Bethany House for sending me this book at no cost to me and I chose to review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good historical romance

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Mpls, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a well-written, fun story. I liked how the characters interacted with each other. I enjoyed the Ranger/Mexican path the story took. I felt it was a little too 'romancy' for my tasted but it is a romance story.
I really enjoyed her first book and was really looking forward to her next book. This didn't disappoint but I am not a huge fan of too much romance that doesn't seem realistic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A River to Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure is Bigger in Texas!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves the old west and Texas Rangers! A River to Cross gives us a glimpse into the history and life of the Texas Rangers in the late 1880's while weaving a sweet romance between a ranger and a senator's daughter.
Neither Elizabeth or Jake are looking for love. Both use being a Texas Ranger as the reason. It was a demanding and dangerous life. Elizabeth already had a heartbreaking experience and didn't want a repeat. Jake knew there was no room for domesticity in his life. Or so he thought. Their story is chock full of adventure, from murder to kidnapping to rescue to falling in love. You don't want to miss this one. It's a real treat!
Learning about the Texas Rangers was my favorite part of this book. I have always loved law enforcement (my great grandaddy was a southern lawyer then a judge back in the late 1800's – early 1920's) so the law aspect of this book was the most interesting to me. My favorite character is Jake. He's everything a girl dreams a man would be. He's intelligent, tough and strong, yet with the right woman he is gentle and compassionate. Even though Elizabeth was raised in Washington, DC she has a stern character and determination to forge her way into a man's business world all while staying the genteel bred woman she is. The myriad of secondary characters are a pleasure to be introduced to and I certainly hope Ms. Harris is planning on continuing with another book...perhaps about Gus!
I received this book unsolicited from Bethany House for free. I was under no obligation to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.