Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled

Compiled by James Stuart Bell, Love Is a Flame is a compilation of 43 true stories from everyday people whose love was rekindled after growing dim. From a marriage restored after adultery to a husband realizing his family was more important than his career, these stories just might inspire you to create a new spark in your own marriage. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Review 1 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is great tool to minister to all couples

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Don Cummings
Location:boston,ma
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Job!. I enjoy your published markdowns of books that my wife and I use to minister to Christian couples locally and internationally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alim
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a beautiful testimony of what can happen to couples who allow God to move in their lives. It was such a blessing to read about redeemed marriages. God still moves today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The stories are true - deliverance is available.

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thomas Gombarcik
Location:St. Petersburg, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each true story, three to five pages long, keeps reinforcing the fact that deliverance is available and that open communication is a very important key to become "one flesh". It is very inspiring!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jona
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Love is A Flame” by James Stuart Bell
This is a book of short, sweet love stories. These are true testimonials of marriage and its ups and downs. When love is rekindled and The Lord is the center of your life, it is an amazing thing. I would recommend this book. This book was given to me from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ligia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful help especially for those families facing hardtimes in their relationships. The personal testimonies presented in the book are very encouraging. Only God can heal hurting marriages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
smasters
I just finished reading Love is a Flame. I really enjoyed the book. It’s really light reading. The book is made up of short, true stories about real-life marriages. The stories bring encouragement and hope for marriages, whether your marriage is struggling or going perfectly. I found that I could identify with quite a few of the authors that contributed to the book. Whether you’re still a newlywed or have been married for many years, this book will encourage you to keep fighting for the marriage that God intends for you to have!
This book was sent to me free of charge from Bethany House publishers in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hope Marshall
Love Is A Flame, compiled by James Stuart Bell, contains story after story of actual marriages transformed, some in small ways and and some that seemed beyond repair. It is an easy ready, and by the time you are finished, I'm convinced you'll come away with at least a few ideas that would add a spark to your own marriage. If you are facing difficulties with your spouse, you will be encouraged in your efforts to remain faithful. Some of the stories related in this book are of couples who face seemingly insurmountable difficulties yet find the answers to remaining faithful to their spouse and the ability to fan those flames once again. Hardened hearts, love gone cold, anger, bitterness, sin, even boredom...there are many reasons marriages aren't what they could be...or even end. Yet these stories give hope in a divorce-ridden world. The only complaint I have with this book is the short application/lesson section at the end of each chapter. Perhaps some would appreciate being told the "moral of the story." The stories truly speak for themselves. I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers as part of their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
This is the "been there done that book" for marriages and a great encouragement to anyone that has been married for 1 day or more. I love the truth that was revealed in all of these stories of marriage struggles and victories. When curve balls are thrown our direction, expectations are not met or circumstances change our marriages take a hit. These are stories are just those experiences and how these couples made it to victory in marriage. If you need a refresher on the importance of keeping your relationship with your spouse a priority than you will be encouraged by this book. I received a review copy of this book through Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda
In Love Is A Flame by Gary Chapman and James Stuart Bell, you will discover how to rekindle your marriage back into the fire it once was when you got married. It will teach you ways to do this through real life stories of couples and people just like yourself that encountered issues in their marriage that would have caused most people to walk away and show you that you can save yours if you are willing to try.This book is wonderfully divided into unique chapters that address the common issues like the ones mentioned above so you can go directly to the source of conflict within your own marriage or perhaps help another struggle couple out of their mess with strong biblical insight coupled with real true stories.I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review and truly believe that every married couple should have this book in their home for review and for a great resource. You may never need it but it's nice to have to provide sound biblical advice to so many marriages that are going through these issues around us. A great resource to share with hurting people that you may encounter at church, in your own family or at work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTanya
Love is a Flame is a compiled book of stories of marriage and how love can be rekindled in a marriage even after the most difficult situations. We all have this concept that if we love each other that marriage will be easy. If only marriage was that simple. The truth is marriage is hard and there are many disappointments that go along with the vow to love and cherish. You might never have expected your spouse to be a workaholic or to have that affair. You probably didn't expect your spouse to struggle with sexual sin or to simply not communicate his/her feelings. How about unreasonable expecations you have for your spouse or expecting your spouse to meet all your needs? How do you restore a marriage after you've been hurt by your spouse? Is it even possible? James Stuart Bell tells the stories of couples who have been through some difficult situations and had to deal with some major hurts. Most importantly, he tells the story of how that couple was able to restore their marriage and rekindle the love. I think that part is so important for people to know. That it is possible. It might not be easy, but the marriage can be saved. And what happens after restoration is a marriage that is even stronger and even better than before.This is a great book of stories of the real struggles that real couples face. At the end of each story, the author ends with a few words of his own. I really think that this is a great book for all married couples to read and probably to read on a regular basis. There is so much wisdom that can be gained from hearing of other's struggles and how they overcame. Most importantly, I think this book will really give encouragement and hope to marriages that are currently struggling and possibly thinking of the "D" word.This book was sent to me by Bethany House Publishers as part of their book review program. I was sent a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Gary Chapman has done it again...I have just finished reading his new book, Love is A Flame, stories of what happens when love is rekindled. I took this book with us on vacation, and as we were driving tears streamed down my face during some stories, and I laughed to myself during others, and all the while I reached over to my dear hubby and gave his hand just an extra squeeze. The stories, compiled by James Stuart Bell, give varied examples of marriages that are going through some sort of difficulty, some of them sad, others funny, each one has one thing in common..heartfelt truth. These stories are real, and the people make it work. I really enjoyed this book, I think that I have to give it 4 1/2 stars. Perfect to read before your anniversary, or valentines day...thank you to Bethany House for providing me with this complimentary copy, for purpose of review. I was under no obligation to provide a positive review, the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather Gillstrap
I recently received two books from Bethany House Publishers. The first one I received was "Love is a Flame" compiled by James Stuart Bell with a Foreward by Gary Chapman. I was excited about this book because I love hearing stories from other people who have "been there, done that." The books cover states that these are "stories of what happens when love is rekindled." That statement gave me high expectations about the stories in this book.The short stories are written by individuals in completely different situations who all find a new love with their spouse. The stories are all pretty short, so I read a couple every night before bed. The stories definitely met my expectations. I enjoyed reading every one of them! They each showed a different way the couples learned to "deal" with their spouse and find new ways to show love by focusing on God first and foremost. Many of the stories told about how turning your life over to God and changing yourself helps you show your love for your spouse even more. These stories were so uplifting! At the end of each story, Bell sums up how everyone can learn from the story whether you are in the same situation or a different one. This was a great book! I think it would make a great book to read along with a couples devotional, or just to read and learn from! If you have been there already, it will help you see that you aren't the only one, and if you aren't there yet, this book may help prepare you a little more. **I received this book in exchange for my honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashley
I'll be honest: I judged this book by its cover, selecting it because the name Gary Chapman was on it. In the end I wasn't disappointed. "Love is a Flame" is an inspired composition of candid anecdotes, all of which touch on the pain of lost love and the joy experienced when it is rekindled. My favorite stories were: "Encouraging My Dream", about the blessing a wife can be to her husband through encouragement; "True Confessions", the uplifting story of a couple burned by sexual sin and how they recovered to use the experience to the glory of God; "The Shoes No One Can Fill", about a woman's new-found appreciation for her husband and the unique roll he fills in her life; and "Where's the Bread?", about personality differences and learning to accept your mate for the person they are.An excellent illustration of how God can (and will) work any situation for the good of His children, I recommend this selection for couples at every stage. For newly married or engaged couples, this book sheds light on the reality of marriage that is so often ignored amidst the romance of the wedding. For those who have been in the game for a while and are stuck in a rut, "Love Is a Flame" will awaken in you the desire to start fresh with your spouse and work toward the kind of love that God has planned for your marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
We are used to thinking of a happily ever after deal when considering marriage; seldom do we realize that marriage vows also include words like poor or sickness. Death, triumphs, financial difficulties, sacrifice, illnesses, addictions and affairs are just some of the circumstances that several couples have faced. This is a compilation of their stories and about love that endures despite anything; they share how their life had to change radically, and how a new purpose for marriage was found. Because of the depth, and even though the stories are short, I generally had to pause after each one. I laughed and cried more than once. After each story, the person who compiled the book gives a short insight about the situations exemplified, along with biblical principles to learn from.There is nothing fancy about this book. Its just mere reality and an eye-opener. Its what any one of use might face one day but would never like to. And in that sincerity, it is also one of the best books I have read. Any couple, whether engaged, married or separated should read this book it is an excellent counseling material. We will all learn about what the real deal is true love.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Godspoetic1
The book, Love Is A Flame, is a surprising heartwarmer in itself! You will not be disappointed with this happily ever after, that love is not just in fairy tales, but it really does happen in real life! You will be inpsired at how throughout these stories, they show how love may have gone steady for many years, then taken different paths in life, and all of a sudden only through Gods Grace, it is once again rekindled! You, the reader may discover just a little bit of yourself, your spouse, or maybe even another couple you know, throughout one of the 40 stories in this book. There was Jan, whose marriage was restored despite adultery; Marsha, who fought pornography and won; Bryan, who realized his family, not his career, was his most important responsibility; Emily, who learnes that real love overcomes unrealistic expectations; and Jeff, who went from dissatisfaction and boredom, to falling in love all over again.I liked how the author included not just some very simple every day examples, such as being bored in life and marriage, but he also included the hush, hush examples of adultery, and others too! We know its out there, and with Gods Mercy and Grace, people can be restored and not be destroyed, as the enemy would see fit! Although all of these stories had great depth, and without Faith, Love, Courage, Grace, Mercy, Forgiveness; and the list goes on, without a doubt, without these things, these couples would not have had their love rekindled!All in all, I thought the book was a good read, though it was a bit bland in areas. I myself, would have liked to see more Bible scripture applied throughout than there was. This book would make a great gift to any couple working on restoring their marriage, or even for a small group study of couples, with the same purpose, either to rekindle or restore their marriages. As per FTC Guidelines, I must state that I was given a review copy of Love Is A Flame, to read from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Love is a Flame (compiled by James Stuart Bell) is a collection of stories written by many different people who tell about their marriage experiences. Each chapter tells a different tale of renewed love. There are stories of restored marriages, struggles with misplaced priorities, adultery, determination, selfishness, and never-failing love. Each chapter has a happy ending and highlights the lessons learned by the couple.I really enjoyed reading this book. It was positive and uplifting, but at the same time made me think. As I read, I though about how each situation might apply to me and my experiences in marriage.Each chapter ends with a short synopsis by James Bell that summarized the lessons learned by the couple. Frankly, much of the time, I felt that this part was unnecessary, since I had no trouble picking out the nuggets of truth and applying them to my life as I read.With so many struggling and failed marriages in our society, I found it refreshing to read story after story of those who have made it. Thank you to Bethany House Publishers for providing me with this free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Love Is A Flame is the compilation of true stories written by real people who have seen transformation take place in their marriages. These stories cover a variety of difficult topics such as grief, loss of a child, terminal illness, adultery, pornography, etc. Each story is a tale of testing, renewal and ultimately comitment all great examples of biblical love. At the end of each story, author James Bell shares insight and wisdom which compliments the point being made by the contributing author. In the back of the book there is a section about the contributing authors, including contact or website information if youd like to learn more about them. I like that this book shares the true day to day struggles that all marriages face and didnt sugar coat the issues. I appreciated the honesty of the contributing authors and their willingness to share their struggles and triumphs with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Love is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love is Rekindled is a collection of true stories about married life written by couples, or one of the spouses, and compiled into a this collection by James Stuart Bell. It is not a how-to manual, but rather a compilation of stories about the joys, sorrows, troubles, and trials of marriage. It is the "sickness and health" and "richer and poorer" of a marriage. As stated in the foreward by Gary Chapman (author of The Five Love Languages), "none of us were prepared for the real world of living in covenant with a spouse who is more human than divine," and in many ways, this book and its stories are the result of that ill-preparedness. The stories will make you laugh, cry, wonder, and shout. The book is easy to read and would be possible to read cover to cover in a day's time, but in doing so, the reader will likely miss out on the true value of this book. Read story by story followed by a time of contemplation, the stories may actually serve to identify strengths and weaknesses in a marriage as well as steps to be taken to fortify a marriage.While not set up specifically as such, this book, could, in fact, serve as a basis for a couples devotional time. I would suggest individuals read the short stories on their own and then come together to discuss the summary and any implications in their own lives. From there, they may choose to turn to God's Word to add His insight into their discussion, thus not only identifying ways to build their relationships with one another, but also searching out paths toward strengthening their individual and joint relationship with the Lord.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House. It is book of true life stories about relationships and struggles. My favorite story is My Mentors in Caregiving. I will warn you, have kleenex on hand, some of these stories are emotional. It is a wonderful book and I think no matter what stage your relationship is in, you will learn something.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love Is a Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kara
The subtitle of this book is "Stories of what happens when love is rekindled." This short sentence encapsulates the essence of this book, a collection of stories about marriages that for one reason or another, struggled and through the grace of God, were renewed.No matter what kind of marriage you have -- good or bad -- you know that it can be hard. There are so many things, forces and attitudes in our society that can draw a couple apart, putting the sacred covenant of marriage at risk. Each of these stories were inspirational, stirring up something inside of me. I could relate to these people. They'd gone through many of the same struggles I've gone through, and even though things may have been hard for awhile, their marriages came our stronger. Their faith was stronger. And they were stronger as people. What an encouraging book!I'd like to thank Bethany House Publishers for providing me with a free copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>