Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House In Every Heartbeat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House In Every Heartbeat

As three friends who grew up in the same orphanage head off to college together, they each harbor a special plan for the future. Libby Conley hopes to become a famous journalist. Pete Leidig believes God has called him to study to become a minister. And Bennett Martin plans to pledge a fraternity, find a place to belong, and have as much fun as possible. But as tensions rise around the world on the brink of World War I, the friends' differing aspirations and opinions begin to divide them, as well.

When Libby makes a shocking discovery about Pete's family, will it drive a final wedge between the friends or bond them in ways they never anticipated?

Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In Every Heartbeat
Review 1 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Add To the Bookshelf!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
lesleijune
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I anticipated this book when it first came out. It's a great sequel to My Heart Remembers. It picks up where its My Heart Remembers left off and leaves no question unanswered. Highly recommend and a must-have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I enjoyed this book!

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Sturgis, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like Kim Vogl Sawyer so when I saw this book I had to read it. I was not disappointed. Sawyer did a great job developing the characters in this book. My heart was touched by the story of Petey's family and the way the Lord provided for them. I would recommend this book. I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
JenC
In Every Heartbeat is inspirational. I didn't want to put it down. It was very touching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
debbie
Location:cornettsville, ky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is interesting, so it's an easy read. I love the Christian values brought forth in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved it!

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
booklover
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was great! It was so well-written. It pulled on my heartstrings as I read about the plight of the street children, especially Petey's brother and family. Thanks for such an awesome book! I really loved it and am looking forward to more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book!

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Billie Ann Murphy
Location:Johnstown, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a nice Christian book that I would recommend to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of her Best Books :)

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : In Every Heartbeat - Kim Vogel Sawyer - September 2010
Reading Kim Vogel Sawyer's latest book , I wasn't too sure what to expect , all I knew was that due to enjoying her previous books , I was going to enjoy this one and boy did I ever . This would have to be one of my favourite books besides the Katy series by Kim Vogel Sawyer. The story though set just before World War One , it had a contemporary feel to it so that in some places it didn't even feel like you were reading a historical novel of sorts whereas it brought you back to the historical setting in other areas from the incident where a 16yr old boy was sentenced to be hanged and of course the preparation for the War which was about to happen. In Every Heartbeat it tells the story of three orphans of sorts who grew up in an orphanage together , all three have been enrolled into college and their lives are set to change. We have Libby - who wants to become a journalist but soon discovers that the only way for a woman to get her name in print is to write trashy romance short stories for local magazines, Petey who with his wooden leg was abandoned as a boy by his family and has dreams of becoming a Preacher - this novel sees Petey reunited in not nessecarily a good way with his family and Bennett - who wants to become an Engineer and for him joining a college fratenity and joining the army are on his list of priorities. When an incident occurs and separates the three with their different viewpoints , is this the end of their friendship for good or will a tragedy bring them back together and closer than ever.
Find out in this awesome novel by Kim Vogel Sawyer and one I recommend all to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Sawyer's Writing

Date:January 5, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this story very much. The sweetness of the friendships, families, and blossoming love really touched me. Sawyer has a writing voice that is unique in its gentleness. That is the only word I can think of to describe the way she writes. It is a gentle, flowing voice that weaves a story around you. I love reading her books, even if the romance is not the main theme in her them.
Libby, Pete, and Bennett were excellent characters to use together. They were so similar in circumstances and occasional reactions, yet so different in their character. One thing that I wished changed was Bennett’s story. I wish more was told about his journey. This book just seemed to scratch the surface of his story, and left me wanting to know more. But, who knows, maybe he will get his own book one day. *I do want to say that this is the sequel to Sawyer’s other book, My Heart Remembers. The main characters are not the same, but they do play a large role in this book. If you are a stickler about reading things in order (like I am) you might want to check that book out first.*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
IN EVERY HEARTBEAT by Kim Vogel Sawyer is an inspirational historical fiction set in 1914Chambers, Missouri. It is well written with depth,details and a page turner. It has love, redemptiontension, orphanage,abandonment, independance,journalist, life's journey,finding a place to belong,differing aspirations and different opinions. Three orphan friends, Pete, Libby and Bennett, goes to college together. Each looking for their own place in the world. This is during the time when on where on the brink of World War l. Each have different opinions and desires. Pete, looking for his family on abandoned him after a trouble accident left him cribbled.
Libby, who wants to be a journalist. Bennett who only wants to pledge to a fraternity. They learns true friendship, while Pete and Libby learn they are truly in love with each other. This is a heartwarming story of life's journey and how it sometimes does not take us where we think we want to go. Another story that will speak to your heart.This book was received from the publisher and details can be found at Bethany House Pulishers and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story for teens and adults

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
J Kramasz
Location:Mpls MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Libby, Bennett, and Pete all grew up in the same orphanage. Now heading off to college, life is taking them in new but different directions. Faced with the challenges that all young college students face, a rift begins to form in their relationships. When Libby makes a shocking discovery about Pete’s family, their relationships are really put to the test.
When I first began reading this book it felt more like junior fiction to me. I also found myself annoyed with Libby and her feminist attitude. That being said, in the end I loved the book. It’s a very good picture of the struggles we all have as young adults, and God’s grace comes shining through in Libby’s life in an amazing way.
This is a beautiful story of friendships, love, forgiveness and redemption. I would recommend for both teen and adults.
I must mention that I did receive a complimentary review copy of this book from Bethany House, but that in no way influenced my opinion of it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another enjoyable read from Kim Vogel Sawyer!!

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patti Jo
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Kim Vogel Sawyer continues to be one of my VERY favorite authors, and I am never disappointed in her books. IN EVERY HEARTBEAT immediately pulled me into the lives of the main characters, and it was easy to "see" their college campus and the story events as they unfolded. If you enjoy historical romance with believeable characters, you will not be disappointed in this book (or ANY of Kim Vogel Sawyer's books!). FIVE STARS !!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New favorite author!

Date:November 25, 2010
I LOVED In Every Heartbeat by Kim Vogel Sawyer!!! After living in an orphanage, the move to college life is more difficult than expected for Libby, Petey, and Bennett. Struggles with school, new friends, their pasts, and their faith cause each to look to each other for help. Libby struggles with her desire to be a famous writer and her new-found love for Petey. Petey struggles with forgiving his family. Bennett struggles with his desire to fit in and resentment about being an orphan. After drifting apart, they find that they truly do need each other, but most importantly, they need God.
I loved everything about this book ... the story, the characters, the style of writing. It was fantastic. Although the story takes place on the cusp of WWI, these college students struggle with the same things that today's college students struggle with. The story is captivating and kept me intrigued until the last page. With history, romance, intrigue, and hints of humor, this book touches on all the things I love best about books!
Kim Vogel Sawyer is definitely one of my new favorite authors!
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In Every Heartbeat by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
A J Hawke
Location:Dallas TX
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Libby, Pete, and Bennett are three friends who forged their relationships at the orphanage where they grew up together. As they head out to college together, each has their own struggles and desires. This coming of age story takes place just before the beginning of World War I at a college in Southern Missouri. As their lives ebb and flow through the current of young people trying to find their places in a world that has not been friendly. We see their yearnings, hopes, and dreams. Kim Vogel Sawyer has done a fine job of sharing a story of place and time that weaves through the lives of three young people. An excellence book to give to a young adult after you have read it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A tale of God's Will - 5 Stars!

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Craig
Location:Metro Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel tells the story of a group of friends. They have grown up in a orphanage together and our new attending college on the eve of World War I. Libby, a young girl with ambition to be a writer realizes that things of eternal nature our more important then the fleeting material world. Her friend, Pete who has felt called to be a pastor for many years still struggles with angry and hatred towards his parents for abandoning and indirectly causing him to lose a leg. After experiences and listening to the still small voice of God he finally obtains peace about his disability. Libby's and Pete's friend, Bennett faces the challenge of wanting to belong and struggles with his life circumstances and how they have determined his course.
One thing I like about this novel was that the author makes the point that we should not be reading titillating romance stories because if you fill your head with garage you can't keep what is good and holy in your head.
This message reminds me of Philippians 4:8 tells us “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” God.
I felt the way the author weaves the tale around God and his will for the characters lives was well done and realistic. Therefore, I give this book 5 stars!
*Disclaimer: I received this book courtesy of Bethany House Publishers. I received no other compensation. The above opinion and rating was written of my own accord.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Gentle Story

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Every Heartbeat explores the lives of three best friends who grew up in the same orphanage and have been granted scholarships to the same college. Libby Conley’s heart’s desire is to become a journalist. The other two orphans, Pete Leidig and Bennett Martin, have conflicting plans. Pete has always dreamed of being a pastor, while all Bennett wants to do is belong somewhere—no matter what the cost.
During the course of her goal to excel at journalism, Libby makes a shocking discovery that threatens Pete’s ambitions. This discovery sends each of the three friends down unexpected paths. The twists the story takes from this point will keep the reader engrossed.
In Every Heartbeat examines the hurts that Libby, Pete and Bennett carry within that propel them toward their diverse goals. The novel is set just prior to World War One, and Sawyer adds excellent detail to make the time period come alive. Fans of Sawyer’s historical fiction will fall in love with In Every Heartbeat.
My thanks to Bethany House for providing my review copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Wholesome Read

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
TrenchMommy
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Every Heartbeat is proof that a good novel can be written without even the "acceptable sensuality" that is in many Christian fiction reads.
I really enjoy Kim Vogel Saywer's writing style and appreciate how she is able to give us an enjoyable novel while holding to high standards. While this book is written and aimed at an audience of women, I would not hesitate to allow my teen daughter to read it. I enjoyed the overall story, and followed along easily even though I had not read the prior book in this series. While some of the story line was easy to predict, there were a few twists that kept you guessing. While some issues seemed to be resolved rather quickly, my personal opinion is that Kim did a good job to probe certain topics yet wrap up the book so it could be enjoyed rather than drawn out.
There was a lot of Biblical truth tucked into the pages of this relaxing, yet touching drama of friendship and faith.
* * * * *
this review copy was provided courtesy of Bethany House Publishing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the joy of coming home

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
ATaylor
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone older than 25 has been through the gut-wrenching “finding yourself” process (and, hopefully, has come out unscathed). This universal experience is the crux of Kim Vogel Sawyer’s beautifully-woven “In Every Heartbeat.”
Three best friends leave the orphanage in which they were raised to begin their studies at the University of Southern Missouri. Libby Conley is a feisty journalism major, determined to succeed as a “serious journalist” on her own terms. Pete Leidig, a gentle, steady young man, believes that his call is to preach. Aside from food, athletic Bennett Martin craves nothing more than the approval of his peers and a place to belong.
Through a series of unmet expectations and surprising discoveries, the friends learn that traveling the road God has planned is more fulfilling than any dream they could fathom for themselves; that there is, in fact, only one Savior who loves His children unconditionally; and that, in the end, life is about seeking God and glorifying Him -- even when it isn’t popular or easy.
Because Vogel expertly develops each of the principal characters, the reader easily accepts the invitation into their daily lives. She weaves in the yarn of a wholesome love story such that your heart hopes along with Libby’s, and the culmination of events fosters a powerful sense of the joy of coming home.
*In exchange for my honest opinion, I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine growing up most of your life in an orphanage? Imagine that each time parents came looking for a child to adopt, you were not the one that they were looking for?
For Elisabet Conley this was her life. She spent time growing up in an orphanage at a time when most people came looking for strapping young boys that they could put to work, so hers was a time spent lonely and searching in desperation for a place to fit in. She did when she made friends with Bennett Martin and Pete Leidig, both boys in the same place as her, friends she made in the orphanage.
Pete Leidig is a cripple missing a leg that was ran over by a trolley when his parents needed money and sent him out to sell papers. Now missing a leg, his parents didn't know what to do with him so they had him sent to the orphanage as a way of solving a problem.
Bennett Martin is a muscle bound boy whose hopes and dreams in life is finally finding a place to fit in. He has always had a fondness for Elisabet or Libby as the boys have affectionately named her. Yet her caring and compassion seem to be only for Pete. Perhaps she feels overly protective of him due to his injury.
Yet when all three find themselves in the same college thanks to the orphanage sponsoring all three, each one has a goal in life to seek. For Libby it's becoming a writer, Pete wants to be a minister and Bennett, wants to join a fraternity and just have fun.
Just how will the trio survive the challenges that each will face in light of the coming World War. Will they seek what they hope to find or will this be the force that drives them apart? Find out by reading Kim Vogel Sawyer's latest novel, In Every Heartbeat
I received this amazing book compliments of Bethany House Publishers for my honest review and would rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars. This book is available in hardcover, paperback and eBook formats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I'm not exactly sure what my overall opinion is

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Location:Yoder, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in the time right before the US got involved in World War I, this is the story of three childhood friends as they enter college and plan their futures. The three grew up together in an orphanage, and all three have different hurts in their past that they will need to confront.
It took me a long time to get into this book. Maybe I'm too old for this one. Libby -- the female of the trio -- mostly annoyed me. Somewhere around the halfway mark, she started to irk me less.
Pete was the first character who I actually cared about. Pete dreams of becoming a minister, but he is hanging onto a lot of anger and resentment towards his birth family.
Bennett is the third member of the trio. Always willing to get into a fight, always looking for excitement, always looking to find a place where he will belong. Not that I ever got to a point where I really cared about him.
One aspect of this book that I did really like is that the characters all definitely had flaws and imperfections, and not everything worked out perfectly. And as far as the Christian in Christian historical romance, that was far more believable than some books I have read. One character was a committed Christian and he has a turning point where he becomes even moreso. One character has a reasonable believable moment of 'finding God' and is a very different person as a result. And one character doesn't quite get there, but there is still the hope that maybe...
A puzzling aspect was that Pete has an assignment to find a wrong and try to right it (rough paraphrase), and the wrong he chooses is romantic fiction. While I totally agree with most of what Pete says about the genre, I can't help but wonder what Pete would say about this book. It seems that there is a lot in this story that is there simply to arouse, and this book certainly gives an inaccurate view of male/female relationships as well. Okay, so the arousal part is confined to racing pulses, sneaked kisses, hands brushing against each other. But still.
Overall, I'm not exactly sure what my opinion is. The book is well-written, the time period seems well-researched, and there were some minor characters who really spoke to me. My favorite are Mr. and Mrs. Branson, who don't appear until near the end. They were real. Mr. Branson says something that really made me stop and ponder:
"All that time we spent fussin' about how nobody ever raised a hand to help them kids... an' we realized we'd done nothin' more 'n fuss. We could've helped, too."
How many times have I done 'nothin' more 'n fuss"? Hmmmm.
Disclosure: Bethany House provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. No other compensation was received, and all opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for In Every Heartbeat
This review is fromIn Every Heartbeat.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

In Every Heartbeat

Date:October 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
lbcmom
Location:Henderson, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Every Heartbeat by Kim Vogel Sawyer was one of those books I took a chance on and am so glad I did. This book is about 3 young people, living during the time when WWI was about to begin, who have different backgrounds and have different goals for their lives, but have one thing in common - they are all orphans. The time has come for them to go off to college, and they choose to go together. Just as different as their backgrounds, their relationships with God are all at different stages as well. I think this is one of the elements that makes this book so good. Any reader could relate, more or less, to one of the character's relationship with God.
As the book moves on, the reader is given a glimpse into each character's background seeing how each was left alone. This comes into play on more than one account as things come up in their present lives, how they deal with those situations, and how they develop their relationship with God. When one of the characters' world is turned upside down and he has to face his past, you see each react in a different way and you see how they react to God in their lives at that point as well. One realizes that what she has been doing as an odd job for extra money now does not fit with what God wants His children to be doing. As the other one just struggles with his position at the orphanage, with his friends, at the college, with God and in the world.
I loved reading the book for many reasons, but Mrs. Sawyer does such a good job developing her characters, you just fall in love with them and want things to work out for good for them. I did not want to put the book down because I wanted to see what would happen to them and how God would work in each of their lives. I believe each reader can find themselves relating to one - if not all - of the characters in this book. We have all been "blind as to look past Him . . . (searching) so hard . . . and He'd been there all the time, simply waiting for (us) to stop running and fall into His arms." I would highly recommend this book to anyone!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>