Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Another Dawn

Bethany House Another Dawn

Grace Graham is back in Tennessee with her four-year-old son on a short unpaid leave from work, helping her father recover from surgery and spending time with her sister. Shoal Creek seems more backward than ever after her years in California, and it's hard to find organic food anywhere.

When the unthinkable happens and her son is diagnosed with measles, Grace's fears over modern medicine take a dangerous turn. Worse, the town has fallen into quarantine and its residents focus their anger and blame on Grace. She is alone and scared, until one brave woman chooses to reach out a hand of forgiveness and mercy. But when the outbreak takes a life-threatening turn, will Grace be able to forgive herself?

Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 out of 2696%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Another Dawn
Review 1 for Another Dawn
This review is fromAnother Dawn - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Graham is used to running from her problems. She has left her family, relationships, and responsibilities behind just to avoid having to deal with things. But then her sister calls her, and gives Grace the ultimatum of her life: come back home or never come back at all. Grace takes an unpaid leave from work to come give her sister a hand with their father after his surgery, bringing her four-year-old son Dylan, with her.
Things seem to be going alright until Dylan comes down with something. Unable to find the organic food Dylan is used to, Grace simply thinks it is the foreign environment and believes he will be fine in no time. But when Dylan is diagnosed with measles, all eyes fall on her for choosing not to vaccinate her son. Has Grace threatened the lives of the young children in Shoal Creek with her decisions?
This book covers a couple of heavy topics; namely the issue of whether or not to vaccinate children against childhood diseases. Grace made the decision she thought was best at the time. But as with most important things, there was a catch. It made me think twice about my stance and personal opinion, especially with Cushman's poignant portrayal of both sides. A fresh perspective and wonderful novel from one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

RATING:4.5! A MUST READ ON SERIOUS HEALTH ISSUES!

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
ANOTHER DAWN by Kathryn Cushman is an interesting inspirational
contemporary fiction set in present day Pacific Coast area.This is a story of dare consequences,autism,forgiveness,faith,second chances,healing,and speaks on the serious consequences of not vaccinating your children. This is the story of Grace,her family,her four year old son,Dylan,and how one decision effects the people around you.You can't help but find yourself caught in the family drama,the healing of this family,and of course you will love little Dylan.This story deals with serious issues,and family relationships.It also shows of both sides of the coin.It we all must take responsibility for our actions,the choices we make,and learn to forgive those around us. "Another Dawn" is a must read full of insight and it has opposing view points on childhood vaccinations and has faith unbound. This author has created another wonderful,heart wrenching story of love,family,faith,forgiveness and second chances. I would recommend this story to any and all contemporary fiction readers and any fan of medical information.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Bethany House,a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction Reviews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have The Tissues Handy

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blurb:
What Would You Give for a Second Chance to Make Things Right?
When life gets complicated, Grace Graham runs. She's left romantic relationships, friendships, and even her family after the death of her mother. But now her sister, Jana, is giving her one last chance: Come home and help care for their father--whom Grace still blames for her mother's death--or never show her face in Shoal Creek, Tennessee, again. 
With her son, Dylan, in tow, Grace returns home from California. But is she returning for the right reasons? And when costly decisions from the past suddenly put her son's life and the lives of other children in town at risk, will she have the strength to stand strong and await Another Dawn?
My Review:
Kathryn Cushman has written a wonderful story that explores how choices can affect more than the person who has made them.
After Grace was hired as office manager at the Blue Pacific Bed and Breakfast in Ventura, California. She became friends with the owners daughter, and her boss, Jasmine, and Collin, her son, who has been diagnosed with autism. Jasmine believes the autism is a result of the MMR vaccination. Grace who was expecting her son, Dylan, at the time, began to think about him and what would be the best choice for him. Her choice was not to vaccinate.
Now, Dylan is four, and Grace has been asked by her sister, Jana, to come home and help care for their father after his knee replacement surgery. Grace doesn’t really want to go home because she still harbors resentment toward him, and holds him responsible for her mothers cancer and subsequent death. His crime? He was, and still is-- a smoker.
Grace made the decision to go home after she was told that the deal to sell the Bed and Breakfast wasn’t going to happen. She didn’t want to tell Jasmine, because she was depending on the sale to be able to move to Texas and enroll her son into a special program for autistic children.
The day after Grace and Dylan arrived back home in Tennessee, Dylan developed what seemed to be a cold, and because she thought it was a cold she and Dylan went to church with her father and her sister’s family and helped out in the nursery. Dylan enjoyed helping his aunt take care of the babies and spending time with his cousin Hannah.
A few days later Dylan has the beginnings of a rash and a high fever…
Choices have consequences and now facing them both what will Grace do? Will she stay and face them or will she run when things get difficult?
I will not tell you anymore, because I don’t want to spoil the ending. I will tell say that this book is one that will tug at your heartstrings, and you will want to have a box of tissues near as you read.
Read an excerpt here.
I will definitely read more of Kathryn Cushman’s books.
Another Dawn by Kathryn Cushman was provided to me for free by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
~Tammi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Preachy

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
HSCottage
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a hard time with this book. It felt very preachy.
Don’t do this don’t do that, as in don’t feed your kids cookies, don’t give them shots (which I am partly against by the way). The messages were a bit confusing by the end of the book. I couldn’t figure out if the author was for or against the things I felt like she was pushing on us.
I hated the main character. She was very annoying to me. This book was thought provoking, but the main character, Grace, made me so irritated that I couldn’t think straight. I even complained to my husband about her.
In the book Grace was mad at her dad and seemed to harbor bad feelings about her childhood. She thought her dad was too “tough”. I actually felt sorry for the dad as I thought he had good points. I think Grace was bit of a wimpy mom who was going to raise her son to be wimpy and not what I would call a real man. And this has nothing to do with shots or eating habits.
Maybe I felt sorry for her dad so much because I felt she was way too hard on her dad or maybe it was my annoyance over the peachiness.
I just didn’t like this book. The ending was good because it did make you think.
And I do agree with Grace not giving shots to her son because the permanent damage could be way worse then getting sick. And I am all about organic foods and things like that. But I felt it was being forced down my throat.
(Thanks to Bethany House for providing me with this book for my honest review)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Often our decisions will come back to haunt us.

Date:May 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Grace decided not to immunize her son for measles,
she thought she was making the right decision based on all
she had read on the subject. Later when Dylan gets measles
and exposes others, she become a mother who is hated by
the community. But a champion, a journalist comes to her
defense, but can he help heal the rift?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting Read

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Reading the back of the book does not even hint at the true topic of this book. I found this to be difficult to read as it is a topic that is close to home for myself.
Grace Graham is known for running every time life gets a little difficult. She would rather relocate than face those things that make her uncomfortable. This has caused her to be estranged from her family after her mother's death. After be called out on this by her sister she agrees to come home with her son Dylan to take care of her father following his knee surgery.
Although there are other issues to be dealt with the main is that of vaccinations. Kathryn Cushman has written an excellent book on this very hot and very debatable topic. Grace's choice not to immunize her son leads to devastating consequences when he develops measles and exposes his infant cousin and other children in the church nursery. This sets the scene for a melt-down and the opportunity for Grace to stand firm.
I appreciate the apparent research Kathryn Cushman did in writing this story. During this trial Grace learns about love, courage, forgiveness and what she is truly made of. The story is rich and full of interesting characters.
Thank you Bethany House for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book..Really Enjoyed

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mick
Location:Redlands, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book. It was easy to relate to all the different characters. I never thought of how one decision that one makes affects so many people down the road. Grace, the main character had made a decision not to vaccinate her son due to the fear of autism.
She also had a history of running when things got tough. When she goes to her home town hoping to make a fresh start with her family, things go terribly wrong, and she becomes an outcast. OMG this gets you thinking how quickly people can be judgmental without knowing both sides. This book took you on a journey of what ifs and the suspense of what was to come next. I really enjoyed it.
I received this book free to review, it was a pleasure to read and a book / author that I would pay to read again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT BOOK WITH A SURPRISE TOPIC

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Graham’s life is in an upheaval. She is hurting from recently ending her 4 year engagement to her fiancé. Her sister is playing the guilt card, begging her to come and help with their father after his knee surgery and give her a much needed respite. This within itself would not be bad except she hasn’t been home since the death of her mother, 8 years. On top of that she and her father do not get along. She harbors resentment toward him as she believes his choices caused her beloved mother’s death. After realizing she will be the cause of her best friend/ boss’s failed business deal. Grace then does what she has always done when faced with difficult situations, she runs.
The heart of the story though is an unusual but contemporary topic. While is pregnant with her son, Dylan, now four, she sees her friend’s son become autistic shortly after his MMR vaccination. She decides then she will never risk her child by vaccinating.
Returning to her small hometown is bittersweet as she faces painful memories. Soon after arriving and helping her sister in the church nursery, Dylan, contracts the measles.
Now every child in the nursery (all too young to have received the MMR yet) and some older adults in the community have been exposed. Including her sister’s frail, long awaited for adopted daughter. Soon there is an epidemic of measles in the town. As many children cling to life, including her niece, Grace becomes the focus and center of controversy for the choice she has made and how it has affected others.
With no place to run this time, Grace is forced to face the maelstrom and put to the test not only her beliefs but her relationships with those she loves.
The author does a beautiful job of showing both sides of the subject, without taking sides. It was very balanced. I could honestly very clearly see both sides of the issue. But the book is about far more than this current issue. It is about truly standing for what you believe even in the face of great opposition and standing alone. She realized she may be alone in the flesh but in all she was facing, God stood beside her guiding and comforting her.
I saw a clear picture of when Christians turn from God because of suffering they have experienced; they will succumb to bitterness. The author shows that God can soften even the hardest heart and repair any damaged relationship, no matter how impossible it may seem, if we allow Him to.
As Grace once again opens her life to the Lord, she finds the courage not only to deal with great anger and hatred directed to her, but to have the courage to made difficult decisions. In some parts my chest would tighten as I felt myself walk through these uncomfortable confrontations.
This book is excellently written, entertaining, thought provoking and informative. Good job Ms. Cushman!
I have received this from book Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Everyone needs a second chance

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Midwest
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Another Dawn by Kathryn Cushman drives home the point that our choices affect more than us alone. Grace Graham, the lead character, has made some imprudent choices in her past; namely running away from her problems. Now, with her sister insisting that she return home, Grace’s past choices rise up to haunt her. What Grace needs is a second chance. But does she return home humbly, hoping for a chance to show that she's changed, or is she still running?
Grace is quite a character! A character, I must admit, that I did not like at first. I thought her past choices revolved around her selfish and immature nature. After all, Grace runs away from trouble rather than stand up to it. But then, most people suffer from selfishness and immaturity in one form or another. And that’s one reason I believe this story reaches out and grabs readers by the collar. Grace is vulnerable to possible ridicule for her past choices, just as we all are. Grace is the sort of character that reminds one of past ‘bad’ choices and that hope abounds regardless of our past.
I was surprised to discover—after reading the back cover blurb−that this book leaned heavily on the issue of childhood vaccination. Grace struggles with her choices involving this and her young son. Childhood vaccination is a large part of the plot, but it disappointed me somewhat. My disappointment is not in the work. My children are past the vaccination issues, so it really doesn’t interest me so much. I think this story would truly suit a mother of young children.
This is a good read. The characters are well-crafted, and if not always likable, Grace’s realness strikes to the heart. And, I love the Tennessee setting.
A fairly good read!
I received this book free from the Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breathtaking

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
shellie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Graham runs when life gets tough. She runs from home when her mother dies, she runs from her job when she’s the cause of a failed business deal, and she runs from conventional immunizations when she hears mixed reports regarding their safety. But when her son Dylan contracts a disease that puts the lives of several small children at risk she must choose between her inclination to run from the social pressure she’s under and her responsibility to see her commitment through.
Kathryn Cushman does a remarkable job weaving a contemporary hot-button into a heart-wrenching story. While the question to immunize or not is never resolved, Kathryn provides detailed accounts for both sides and sheds light on two widely varied fields of thought. Meanwhile her characters are well-rounded, flawed, likable, and engaging. I enjoyed this book immensely and plan on sharing it soon.
I received this book free from the Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thought Provoking Read

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Graham is a young single mom raising her four year old son.
She made a new life for herself in California, after high school, leaving her dad and sister in Tennessee.
She hasn't had a healthy relationship with her dad since her mom passed away her senior year of high school, as she blames him for her mom's death.
Some might say that she "runs away" from her problems.
When she is needed back home in Tennessee and life isn't going as planned in California, she takes the two week trip home.
While there, however, tragedy strikes her family due to a personal decision she made for her son- not vaccinating him.
Will Grace learn to forgive and accept her father and face her problems?
I really enjoyed this book as I found Grace to be very interesting, especially in how she was raising her son and the decisions she was making concerning him.
This book brings up many thought provoking questions about forgiveness and the different paths in life we choose.
I was intrigued by the vaccination issue. I have struggled with this issue myself concerning my child and while we do choose to vaccinate it is definitely not without prayer asking God for protection. I really appreciated how the author graciously brought forth both sides of the issue.
I was given this book by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Yep! She did it again!

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
KCPryzr
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read one book by Katherine Cushman before. Yep! She wrote it in first person, which is not may favorite, and Yep! I still liked the book, despite that.
Another Dawn tackles a couple of very difficult subjects. The first of which is who is in control of your life, and on the flip side, who is actually better to be in control of your life. (This particular subject is not one of my favorites. Possibly because it's one I struggle with frequently.) :-) The other is how our decisions affect people around us (both known and unknown), whether we want them to or not.
Grace Graham has basically been given an ultimatum. Her sister said come take care of dad or you're not in the family. The timing works outs because things are getting a little hard for Grace with her job and her fiance', and this is her M.O. Things get hard, so it's easier to run. So she packs up her four-year-old son and heads back home for a couple of weeks. However, when decisions she made years ago begin to come out and affect people in the small town of Shoal Creek, Tennessee, what will she do? Will she face the consequences and stick it out or will she run away again?
I found myself being swayed for and against the heroine, Grace, several times. I could understand this point of view. I couldn't understand why she did this or that. I love books that can do that.
There's a couple of plot lines I would have liked to see develop a little more, like her fiance's roll in the story, and her dad and mom's history within her life, but all in all, I think it's a good book.
I don't know that this book will make it to my must read over and over shelf, but I could probably read it again and still like it.
I would definitely recommend this as a read you will enjoy.
This book was provided to me for review by Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another good one

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
KHarris
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathryn Cushman seems to always deliver a story that lingers long after you finish the final page. Another Dawn is not only an entertaining read, it tackles one of today's most important medical debates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very encouraging, very uplifting

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is being done by my lovely wife, Ann.
Conflict abounds in “Another Dawn.” Hurtful words, broken relationships, unforgiveness, and the past all plague Grace. Will Grace stay and face the pain in this real-life, thought-provoking situation? Or will she try to run and avoid it all again? Every mother can relate to the conflict in this book. What would you do if you were in Grace’s position – run or stay? Running is easy – just pick up and go somewhere else where your past can’t find you. Staying is hard – there’s so much baggage in your present.
My favorite character in “Another Dawn” is Mrs. Fellows. Mrs. Fellows grounds us in God’s Word and His faithfulness to His children. God is in control of all things and He is faithful to all His promises. The Bible reference to Gilgal, which is found in Joshua 10.15, proved to be very thought-provoking for me personallyt. As I went back to the Bible to read that passage, I was strengthened and reminded of God’s faithfulness to His Word. When He speaks a promise, He fulfills it. It also brought Ephesians 3.20 to mind: “Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly than all we ask or think, according to the power at work within us.” What a beautiful reminder of the BIG God I love and worship. This was one of the better Christian novels I’ve read in a while. Thank you, Kathryn Cushman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly What Christian Fiction Should Be

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Single-mom Grace Graham’s world is changing. She and her fiancé have broken up, and troubles have come up at work that will devastate her best friend/boss. Grace holds herself responsible for the situation and wonders what to do. When her sister calls from Tennessee and demands that Grace return to help as their father is facing surgery, Grace sees a justifiable excuse to run, hoping things will sort themselves out while she’s gone.
But she’s running to the family she’s shunned. Though hopeful of mending some fences, Grace finds herself in a situation she never anticipated and facing challenges she can’t handle alone. "Another Dawn" is the beautiful story of how Grace learns to march uphill, counting on God for needed help as she chooses to do right things.
I usually read several books at a time, rotating from one to the other to another. But this story captured me. Kathryn Cushman explores themes of forgiveness, trust, cherishing relationships, seeking God’s wisdom, and taking responsibility for the consequences of one’s actions—even if those consequences may have been unintentional or unavoidable—even if they resulted from doing what seemed to be the right thing.
I loved the way supporting characters gently helped Grace through her struggle by offering insights (the next door neighbor), sharing their own experiences (the newspaper editor and pharmacist), and just modeling how to do what’s right (Grace’s son). "Another Dawn" is well-done Christian fiction, a beautiful and thought-provoking story with biblical wisdom woven in.
I thank Bethany House Publishers for sending this book for my review. I’ll be eagerly watching for more by Kathryn Cushman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply stated, Another Dawn is a great book. As the story unfolds you find that Grace Graham has made a lot of choices that she regrets, and is beginning to realize that she needs to deal with issues from her past. These choices include relationships with her family as well as personal decisions. The story line about the childhood vaccination controversy comes to life in a very real way when placed in the context of everyday situations. By viewing Grace’s actions and the consequences they bring, the reader is allowed to see how one person’s actions can affect many. A decision can be made with the best of intentions and still have devastating results.
Throughout the book, Grace grew in maturity and began to see the importance of doing the right thing no matter how hard or distasteful. I especially liked the way the author used a biblical example to reinforce the concept of coming full circle and to do over past actions. It is so easy to blame someone else for our difficulties and not accept responsibility for our actions. We all need to remember that many times a heart felt apology is what God intends instead of defending our actions to others.
My only disappointment came from the somewhat casual treatment of Grace’s unwed mother status. I kept waiting to see her acknowledge that her actions were sin instead of just bad choices and reveal that she had truly developed a personal relationship with God. However, God was still very real throughout the book. This is a thought provoking book on many levels and tells a great story. I highly recommend it.
Bethany House Publishers graciously provided my review copy—my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Emtionally Gripping Read

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Location:Templeton, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another Dawn by Kathryn Cushman is a book of heartache and healing. The main character, Grace is in a place in her life where she needs grace in her life - to make it through a difficult time, to be extended to her by others and to give to others.
Throughout the story Grace learns a lot about herself through others' observations of her and also through a woman who was her mom's best friend and lives next door to her father. The lessons the neighbor instills in her are then reiterated by others, showing that God will do whatever it takes to get His truth planted in our hearts and to cause us to act on what it is He's telling us.
Grace also learns some valuable lessons from her four year old son, who is wise beyond his years... but then again, maybe not.
This book was a bit hard for me to get into at first because I thought maybe it was a sequel to another book, but then as the story unfolds and back story is given, it was easier for me to be captured by the story and I read it quite quickly, as it was hard to put down once the story drew me in.
There is some controversial subject matter in the story... causing one to come to their own conclusions...
Another Dawn was all in all a very enjoyable read that I highly recommend.
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Balanced

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grace Graham has more problems than most people I know. A young single mother living in California, far from her family, she struggles to make the right decisions for her four-year-old son. Her first decision had been not to vaccinate Dylan, because her friend and employer’s son had become autistic within days of his MMR (measles, mumps, and rubella) shot as a toddler, and she’d found a lot of information on the internet that corroborated the story.
Another of Grace’s problems is running when things get tough. As the story opens, her sister Jana throws down the gauntlet, challenging Grace to come home and take care of their father following his knee surgery. Jana has been doing all the daughter stuff, and her baby has not been sleeping well due to chronic ear infections. Jana is at her wit’s end and demands some help back home in Tennessee.
Grace goes. Things have been nasty in California. She’d broken off with her fiance, and her employer was hitting a rough spot, and it just seems easier to go back home than stay and deal with things, even though she’s never gotten along with her dad. In fact, she blames him for her mother’s death.
A few days after she and Dylan arrive in Tennessee, Dylan becomes ill, and it soon becomes apparent that he has the measles, which quickly spreads to Hannah Rose and other babies that had been in the church nursery the first Sunday Grace and Dylan had been home–babies too young to have been immunized, whatever decision their parents may have made about it.
In no time Grace is the object of much hatred as people blame her for the outbreak. Her decision not to have Dylan vaccinated is now affecting other families. Will Grace face up to her problems, or run away again?
I had a hard time liking Grace Graham through the first part of the book. She seemed to be a very narrow-minded person, and I was disappointed that practically the first heroine I’d seen that believed in organic foods and healthful living was coming across like some kind of extremist nutcase. It took awhile to get past that and thus reeled into the story.
If you’re looking for a fluffy read, Another Dawn is not the book for you. But I do appreciate that even though the book read, at times, like a who’s who of vaccination research wrapped up in a story, Cushman resisted the impulse to make a final judgment on the topic. What she did tie up was Grace’s inner journey to healing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A thought provoking look at a volatile issue.

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy N.
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such an amazing fair look at the issue of to vaccinate or not. I kept thinking the author would take sides, but she never did. It showed the struggles on both sides making one think hard about your own opinion on vaccinations. Having a dear friend that lost a child after 20 years of seizures suspected to be caused by a reaction to a DPT shot as a baby, my opinion is strong, but now after reading Cushman's book, my opinion is wavering as I see another side to the issue. It is a complex issue and beautifully handled in Another Dawn with characters that I am sure I've met. This book will be talked about my many. it exceeded my expectations on what I thought this story would be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Another Dawn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real-life issues in fiction

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Complications in life seem inevitable and we’ve all made choices we regret. Reading about another’s struggles can often help us to put our own in perspective and to glean insights from someone else’s experiences and awakenings. Another Dawn is just such a book, one that deals with gritty issues but contains a sense of hope that things will improve—and don’t we all need hope in order to survive.
I must admit that at first I did not care much for the main character, Grace Graham, and her poor attitude. Yet I wanted to know what would happen and how she’d deal with things. The book drew me in and I couldn’t quit reading. It’s so true to life, not light and fluffy reading, but honest and heartfelt. It touches you to the core if you allow it.
This is the first book I’ve read by Kathryn Cushman but it will definitely not be the last. Her polished writing style is a joy to read. I hope she’ll continue this story with a sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>