Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Sweetest Thing

Bethany House The Sweetest Thing

The Singleton family's fortunes seem unaffected by the Great Depression, and Perri--along with the other girls at Atlanta's elite Washington Seminary--lives a carefree life of tea dances with college boys, matinees at the cinema, and debut parties. But when tragedies strike, Perri is confronted with a world far different from the one she has always known.

At the insistence of her parents, Mary "Dobbs' Dillard, the daughter of an itinerant preacher, is sent from inner-city Chicago to live with her aunt and attend Washington Seminary, bringing confrontation and radical ideas. Her arrival intersects at the point of Perri's ultimate crisis, and the tragedy forges an unlikely friendship.

Average Customer Rating:
4.88 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sweetest Thing
Review 1 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book all its own

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well done Elizabeth Musser! This book was well written, engaging and filled with everything a good book should be. At first I wasn't sure what to expect, because it doesn't exactly qualify in my usual repertoire of historical romance, but in it's pages I found characters that became my friends. In the lives of these two young woman, innocence and virtue is tested, death and pain becomes a reality and life's prejudices and differences are realized. It's a story that rings true for us all whether it's in the 20th century or not.
Highly recommended to those who love to get lost in a good, memorable piece of fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:September 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
raison
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was such a pleasant surprise. I could hardly put it down. One of the best books I have read in a long time. I only paid $2.99 for it . What a gem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Veewin
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book absolutely blew me away. I'm really not into the cheesy christian romance novels, and am very picky when I read christian fiction. However, this book was absolutely flawless. A definite must read! The thing I really appreciated about it, was that the romance was really sweet, but not cheesy, partly because that wasn't the main focus of the book, and I like that. I like it that it had a little bit of everything. Friendship, Faith, Romance, mystery. It was great. It also really made you think, it wasn't superficial and light, it really got to the heart of things. By far my favorite book ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing.

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
keepin it real
Location:Kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book changed my life. If you love to read, need a good book to read, hate to read, or even if you don't know how to read and need someone to read it to you (in that case you wouldn't be reading this now...), buy this book! Elizabeth really rocked it with this book. So buy it now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sweetest Thing
This review is fromSweetest Thing, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love even when it hurts

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
cheri
Location:CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes we're afraid to relive the pain of the past because it just hurts too much and we are afraid of how the people around us will react if they know the truth. I'm glad Mary Swan decides how important and healing telling the whole story to her daughter will not only help her but has life changing effects on her hurting daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:August 10, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed The Sweetest Thing by Elizabeth Musser, and highly recommend it. Set in 1930s Atlanta, this novel explores faith and friendship during the Great Depression. It’s the story of the unlikely friendship that forms between Anne “Perri” Singleton and Mary “Dobbs” Dillard. Perri comes from a wealthy family and is used to a life of comfort and privilege. The individualistic Dobbs is the daughter of an itinerant minister…very much Perri’s opposite.
The story begins with a tragedy in Perri’s life. Shortly thereafter Dobb’s arrives in Atlanta to stay with her aunt, and becomes a close friend and confidant of Perri. Unknown to Perri, Dobbs is no stranger to tragedy, which helps her relate to and understand Perri in ways her other friends cannot. Family secrets, jealousy and their very different backgrounds threaten their bond … but in the end each girl comes of age a stronger and more confident person.
I was initially drawn to this book because it takes place in Atlanta. I'm very familiar with the city, and recognized many of the neighborhoods, streets and landmarks mentioned in the book. It really made the book come alive for me in vivid detail.
Note: I received a copy of this book from Bethany House publishers in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Read

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! Should be made into a movie! The title of the book hits it right on the spot!
The book begins when Mary Dobbs Dillard arrives in a new world. She had been to Atlanta before, but many years ago, and before the depression. What a whole new life is about to open up to her!
Mary Dobbs...or Dobbs as she is called has come to stay with her Aunt Josie and Uncle Robert, she is coming to attend a wonderful Private School..Washington Seminary.
When she arrives in Atlanta she is met by her Aunt and soon to be best friend Perri. This day is also President Hoover's last day in office, and President Roosevelt's first Fire Side Chat. It also turns out to be Perri's worst day of her young life. Her Father takes his own life!
Dobb's is an unlikely friend for Perri, but they find joy through the turmoil in their young lives. Dobb's father is a Preacher and she has gone to bed numerous times hungry, as her folks give away their food to those more needy. She arrives to opulence, and food!
I loved hearing the stories she told the girls in her inner circle. This is such a great read that I never wanted it to end....love that there was an epilogue at the end of the book. Thank you Elizabeth Musser for sharing your gifts!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the sweetest thing review

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received "The Sweetest Thing" by Elizabeth Musser for free from Bethany House Publishing. This is the first Elizabeth Musser book I have read. I have heard of her and seen many of her books, but this is my first. I am now a fan. I really liked this book. It is a mystery/romance/faith book. That would describe it best. It isn't really much of either of the descriptions on its own. I figured out the villian right away, so the mystery won't keep you on the edge of your seat. The romance was pretty obvious they would wind up together, so that wasn't riviting either. The faith was a reoccuring and well written story line however. It was so.....human. Every thought the girls had had relaying to God, was one that most humans would have thought at some point.
The Sweetest Thing is about two high school girls who become friends despite their differences and the experiences they have during senior year in the 1930's in Atlanta. They fall in and out of love, they fall in and out of faith, and of course they save the day. I will be reading more of Musser and I think you should too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith and Friendship in the Great Depression

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Sweetest Thing is a touching story of friendship and faith. Musser’s characters are as real and as unforgettable as the friends I grew up with.”
–Lynn Austin, bestselling author of While We’re Far Apart
My Review:
Elizabeth Musser, in her book, The Sweetest Thing, gives you a very personal, bird’s-eye view of life during the Depression years in different parts of the country in the early 1930s.
It’s a book of contrasts: Anne “Perri” Singleton’s wealthy socialite family and Mary Dobbs Dillard’s poor family whose father is an itinerant pastor; Anne who has a well-ordered, busy social life and Mary who is an outspoken individualist; and the possibility of polar opposites becoming friends.
When disaster strikes Perri’s life, Mary is there to encourage her with her faith in God. When sickness and secrets strikes Mary’s life, she questions and doubts her faith. Jealousy, betrayal, and family secrets eventually causes an estranged in their friendship. But it’s faith that comes from the least likely source that will surprise you through the end of the story.
The ups and downs of the girls’ friendship are typical for the circumstances and age of the girls. They seem very familiar. The descriptions of the calamities that befall some of the families are well-developed and so very real. The destitution during the Depression is palpable and realistic. The mystery that is woven into the story keeps the pages turning!
God’s intervention stands out in ways that shouldn’t surprise a believer, yet in ways it does. God is faithful, just not always in how we expect. Trust in God is the main emphasis that comes to my mind in the midst of trying circumstances in Elizabeth’s story. Along with the faith, love and help of people when desperate times hit those they have come to love.
Friendship and the faithfulness of God are The Sweetest Thing.
This book was provided by Jim Hart of Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Sweetest Surprise

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
TaraW
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure I would like this "coming of age" novel - but I was repeatedly touched deeply by the honest portrayal of those spiritual battles we all go through in the midst of disappointments in others, life and in ourselves. Faith is a journey and sometimes it's not always pretty or simple. I would especially recommend this for late teens or college students - I am sure they would identify with these girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

That is one fiiiine book, Missus Musser!

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
readdpatty
Location:Buffalo, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another wonderful novel from one of the South’s best.
This is not chick lit! It has depth in character development, detailed historical research, realistic spiritual experiences and page-turning plot twists. Using her grandmother’s diaries, written during the Depression, Musser creates a fascinating friendship between two young women from opposite ends of society. Through their life changing experiences they mature in their faith, develop deep relationships and learn life lessons that are still applicable today.
Musser’s attention to details draws you into Atlanta in the 30’s—the sights, sounds, tastes and climate. You will enjoy her cast of multi-generational characters with their unique quirks and endearments. The author includes mystery and surprise which adds to the complexity of her work.
I have been privileged and delighted to have read all of Elizabeth Musser’s books and have been a fan from her first. She is one of the most consistent writers I have ever read. Her stories not only entertain, but bless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A sweet story that steals your heart!

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Come take a journey through Georgia and into the heart of Chicago during the time of the 1930's and meet the sweetest girls ever. Friends, I could not put this book down. The characters in this book were so real you simply fall in love with them. We follow the lives of two girls, Perri Singleton and Mary Dobbs, so different, but yet so alike. The come from two different worlds, but their hearts bond quickly.
Perri comes from a wealthy family. She has everything, where as, Dobbs, has very little in material wealth, but a vast supply of wisdom and heart. Their lives totally turn upside down. We see these precious girls go through loss, trial, separation, and most of all growth.
We see just how powerful God is through their lives. I just loved, Dobbs. This humble girl, has a passion for the Lord and wants to see everyone come to know Him. This is that girl that is wild about Jesus and ready to stand and shout the truth. The problem is, not everyone is ready for Dobbs.
Perri, is a sweet heart. She has had the life of privilege, but even wealth cannot keep tragedy from touching her life. Perri, finds what is really important. Friendship, love, romance, suspense, hope and faith. Through reading this story you will find out what the sweetest thing really is.
Brilliant, poignant, and sweet. This book makes you look deep into your own heart at where your treasure is. These girls have what it takes to change the world around them. This is a journey I promise you will love and treasure. This would be one of those of books to share with your daughter. I feel so blessed to have held these pages within my hands. Musser, has that gift. That special gift to bring you to the heart of each character. Through them you are able to see deeper into your own heart.
This book was a gift from Bethany House for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poignant story of friendship & faith in the South

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sweetest Thing by Elizabeth Musser is a beautiful story of friendship between two young women in 1930s Atlanta, Georgia. Perri Singleton is the most popular girl in Atlanta, gaining the nickname of "girl of a thousand dates" for her beauty and charm. Mary Dobbs Dillard doesn't quite fit in like Perri when she moves from Chicago to stay with her aunt and attend school in Atlanta to help out her financially strapped family. Dobbs' father is a pastor who often gives away his own family's food to others in need, and in the midst of the Depression, there is always someone in need. Dobbs and Perri make an immediate connection, one so deep and rare that they become inseparable. But when Perri's father commits suicide after terrible financial losses, it plunges her family into their struggle to survive, removing her from the social circle she's always occupied and pushing her into the arms of Spaulding, a rich college boy who could return Perri and her family to the lifestyle they are accustomed to. Dobbs left Chicago with an understanding with Hank, but the allure of living comfortably makes her question all that she knew and held to be true, especially when illness threatens the life of her younger sister. There are some books that you read that don't pull you in because of the story: Perri and Dobbs' friendship is not an unusual story, especially with the Southern hook; you read them because of the writer, because of the beauty and elegance of the writing. This is that book. Musser pulls readers completely into the world of Perri and Dobbs, both facing terrible choices in their young lives and trying to figure out just where God fits in. Narration alternates between the two girls, and Musser does a remarkable job of portraying them through the actual writing styles. Dobbs' words tumble out almost on top of each other, bouncing from topic to topic with no warning or breath. Perri's chapters are more restrained, much like the young woman herself, she tries to portray a certain image of herself, even to readers. There's also a mystery here with stolen jewelry, but the real story is that of Perri and Dobbs growing up together. It's compelling and poignant and feels very, very real. With this novel, Musser has placed herself on my "favorite authors" list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED IT.

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristina150
Location:Las Vegas NV
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This beautifully written, so well-informed novel transports you to the early 30’s and brings Atlanta to life. A truely touching story of friendship and faith that with characters as real as the ones I grew up with.
I felt that the author provides a cultural glimpse into the southern aristocracy but also the ways in which the depression ended up affecting the highest of highs and lowest of lows in society. It painted a picture that showed that while the affects were quite different- the emotional story and end results almost leveled the playing field.
This isn't a Christian fiction novel where everything stays neat and tidy and everyone lives happily ever after. There are hardships, trials and heartaches that are very easy to relate to in todays world.
I was given a free copy of this book to review by Bethany House. I am not required to write any positive or negative reviews. Just my own humble opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ROMANTIC SUSPENSFUL INSPIRATIONAL!

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be a VERY enjoyable read. It was so well written. I found many spiritual lessons to be learned that I could apply to my life.
The setting is the 1930’s during the depression in Atlanta, Georgia. Mary Dobbs was the daughter of a very poor but dedicated evangelist. She had her family had little to spare and often times not enough. Instead of this being a negative, their poverty had strengthened her faith in God and her focus was on sharing Christ and living for Him. She was a very happy vivacious young woman, untouched by their hardships. Her family sends her to live with her wealthy aunt and have the opportunity to receive an education they cannot afford.
When she moves to Atlanta, she meets Perri Singleton, the exact opposite of Mary. She has only known wealth and privilege all her life. She is unappreciative, intolerant, and petty. At first the two girls do not like each other then tragedy brings them together and they become fast friends.
Mary is strong in sharing her beliefs and living by them, but the longer she lives in affluence the more she begins to stray from her strong faith. As her faith wanes and weakens she becomes more shallow and worldly like Perri. At the same time her sowing of the seed of God’s Word has taken hold in the hearts of the other socialite girls and Perri and they grow in faith.
I found such a lesson in this about how the focus on worldly things can crowd the Lord out of one’s life, and the more we have the more discontented we will become if we not careful. It also showed the strong influence of one’s peers on personal choices and beliefs.
Both characters face many heartaches and struggles, yet the author always brought Bible principals into dealing with their problems. Some parts made me really think about accepting my circumstances as God’s will and asking “what” He wants me to do, not “why”. My thoughts were also directed to the fact that what we think is best for us may not be God’s best no matter how things appear or our feelings.
I like the way the author went back and forth between Mary and Perri, sharing each girls thoughts a view point of the situation. It was fun being able to see both sides of the story that the other character wasn’t privy to knowing.
This book was like driving an Arkansas road; lot’s of twists and curves when you least expect it. It was hard to put down! There was definitely romance in the book but it was handled so tastefully.
I really liked the ending, it was complete and I felt very satisfied, not like with some books where you are left hanging or expecting more. I highly recommend this book! I was sad when I finished it!
I have received this from book Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Sweetest Thing is a sweet read

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Momof2Boys
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I started reading this book, I could not put it down and devoured each page. Not only does Elizabeth Musser wind a beautiful friendship between two girls in Depression era Atlanta, GA she winds faith, life, mystery and tension between the characters exquisitely. I highly recommend this book!
Mary Dobbs (Dobbs) and Anne Perrin (Perri) are two teenage girls in the 1930s in Atlanta, GA. Perri is native to Atlanta, Dobbs moves to Atlanta to live with her aunt to attend high school from Chicago where her family continues to live, along with her beau, Hank. This is a beautiful story of their blossoming relationship to becoming fast friends, to the struggle that many relationships battle through, with a mystery thrown in which makes this book such a page turner. You will not be disappointed with this book!
**I received this book from Bethany House Publishers free in return for my review of this book. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions expressed in this review are all mine**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyfull
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book that moved me through so many emotions. It takes place around the depression and follows the families of two teenage girls. It gives great insight into what times were like back then and even how it can be shockingly similar to our economy today. I found myself close to tears a few times at certain situations that were faced. This is the first time I've read one of her books, and I will definitely be reading more! I started the book and finished it in 2 days, I could hardly put it down.
This is a book that must go on your to read list, it is a story that stays with you long after you read the final page.
I received this book from Bethany House publishers for free. The review is my own opinion about this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely Story

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah Jane
Location:Alabama
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Sweetest Thing a novel
by Elizabeth Musser
Overall
A sweet, memorable story, although some content is not for younger readers.
Plot
This book had a little bit of everything. Suspense, some danger, a little romance & history. But most of all, friendship.
I found the plot to be very satisfactory. Most of the time, I did not know what was coming next, but when it did, it made sense.
Characters
Mary "Dobbs" Dillard, the outspoken daughter of an iterate pastor, meets Anne "Perri" Singleton, an elite society girl. Despite their radically different pasts & personalities, they bond when tragedy strikes, and throughout the book their friendship grows, is tested, and matures.
Although I, as the daughter of a pastor myself, understood Dobbs better than Perri, both of the characters - indeed, all of the characters - seemed very real and human. They both encountered various difficulties, both struggled with what the believed, and both learned much throughout the book.
Undercurrents/Warnings
My main complaint would be that there were several instances of pre-marital kissing.
There were also some things which were presented in a biblical way but might not be appropriate for younger readers. They are as follows:
* A suicide, discovered by one of the main characters
* An attempted rape
* Veiled mentions of prostitution
These were not described in detail, but they are there.
My Rating
8 out of 10 stars ★★★★★★★★☆☆
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House publishers in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Summer Read!

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a really enjoyable book. Set in depression-era Atlanta, it tells the story of two girls, their families and the very real struggles of faith and life. Perri, a socially adept Atlanta girl meets Mary Dobbs, the daughter of an itinerant minister when she comes to stay with her aunt. Mary Dobbs doesn’t fit in, and Perri has her own issues to deal with as the Great Depression suddenly becomes a very real event for her.
As the daughter of a church planter, I related extremely well to Mary Dobbs, and anyone who grew up in a devout Christian family will too. Her initial certainty of conviction is gradually challenged as she lives anew in the very real world of society. Elizabeth Musser’s characterizations of the struggles inherent in the coming of age of someone who has been sheltered in a ministry environment are incredibly astute – and timeless.
From the personal recounting of historical events, to the real discussion of racial realities, to the exploration of doubt and faith in the midst of personal tragedy, the story was engaging, entertaining, and encouraging. The romance was sweet without being cloying, and the overall plot moved along nicely, and kept me turning pages. This is a great book to take to the beach, and when someone asks you what you are reading – tell them, and then tell them about Jesus. Mary Dobbs would definitely approve!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Sweetest Thing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Highly recommended!

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sweetest Thing is the saga of two friends, who endure heartbreak and trials beyond what most teens ever face. 1933 Atlanta showcases the wealth and poverty of the era. Elizabeth Musser is a master storyteller, who weaves her magic into characters that come alive on the page. It reminded me so much of my childhood friends, that I didn't want it to end. Novel Journey and I give The Sweetest Thing a very high recommendation. A perfect summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>