Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook

B&H Books Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook

Although proud of living apart from the world, Marianna Sommer's newly relocated Amish family is discovering that life in the remote mountains of Montana requires working together with the Englisch. As Marianna pours her life into helping those around her-and receiving their help-her heart further considers two directions. She's torn between the Amish man from Indiana whom she has long planned on marrying and the friendly Englischer who models a close walk with God like she's never seen before.

Who should have young Marianna's heart? What is God asking of her through ongoing family struggles and this romantic and spiritual tension? The answer is found along the wooded paths.

Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Aaron or Ben, who is God leading Marianna to marry

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marianna Sommer is still in Montana helping her family, at least that's what she says. She is really trying to figure out where she belongs, in Indiana with Aaron Zook or in Montana with Ben. Ben, an Englischer, has led her to believe differently about God but she still plans to stay Amish. Things get even more complicated when Aaron shows up in Montana unexpectedly. Marianna finds out by hearing than an Amish man was in an accident and is hurt in the hospital, his name is Aaron Zook and he's from Indianna.
Marianna's dad gets him out of the hospital and Aaron is now staying with them, his leg is in a cast and he won't be able to walk for several weeks, and taking her bedroom. Now she has both of the men she thinks she loves in the same town and finds her heart changing daily, if not more often.
Who will Marianna end up with? She feels like she really does love Ben but unless he becomes Amish it will be impossible to marry him. Then there's the days she feels that connection with Aaron that can't be broken and she's known him her whole life and has always planned on marrying him.
Tricia did a really good job keeping me in suspense on this one, and I have a feeling with the book ending as it did that things may change in the third book, "Beyond Hope's Valley". Way to leave us hanging! Anyone that likes Amish Fiction should read this series, I think you would really enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inviting book cover and description of the story

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margo
Location:lebanon, IL.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amish usually have strict guidelines, but with this story, Marianna is exposed to a free-er side of a new order Amish in a different geography & culture. Because of the area & climate
life has to change and the Amish need to rely on GOD and their neighbors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pat W
Location:Jasper, Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the convenience of reading books on my i-pad and Christian Books.com has a great selection. One issue is e-book pages with one sentence or a few words, on my i-pad, are difficult to read as they do not become focused. When a page is to turn to a one sentence (or a few words) page the page is automatically skipped going to the next full-worded page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved book two!

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am actually glad I waited for awhile to read this series. Wanna know why? Because then the rest of the series had already been released and I didn't have to wait for months to find out how Marianna's story would go.
From the description of the wonders of Montana to the tiny little details of Aaron's cabin, Ms. Goyer has a knack for painting a masterpiece with the brush of her written words.
This book takes the wonderful Amish theme, picks it up, and sets it down in a great new place filled with all sorts of colorful characters and a love story that will capture your heart.
If you enjoy Amish themed stories, this one is not to be missed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than another Amish novel

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr. Patricia A. Ennis
Location:Burleson, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blending faith, suspense, and romance, book two in the Lancaster County series is a book you will not be able to put down until your read the last word on the final page. Along Wooded Paths poignantly reminds its readers that though they may stray from their heavenly Father, if they are truly His child they are never out of His reach. I look forward to book three with great anticipation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
happy reader
Location:St.Louis,MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book 2 in the series.Every bit as good as book 1.Can't wait to read the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wavering Heart

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane A Brown
Location:Cheyenne, WY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surrounded by remote mountains in Montana, where the Amish and “Englich” mingle, Marianna’s heart is pulled in two directions. Aaron offers a secure love within the realms of the Amish faith. Ben, an “Englicher”, has shown Marianna’s new ways to draw close to God. His kindness to her family and others is deeply valued. He offers his heart and a simple life.
This is a delightful story, filled with the struggles of young love and the consequences of choice and accountability. It is one of closed doors opened to serve one another in a closed knot community. The characters are well rounded, full of emotion, and there is plenty of adventure to keep the pages turning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique Amish Fiction That's Guaranteed to Please!

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Until I got my hands on the two novels currently in the Big Sky Series by Tricia Goyer, I'll confess...I wasn't a huge fan of her work. Now, before you go bashing me on the head because I've lost my marbles, let me be clear. She's a good author, but up until a week ago, her books didn't have that "zing" or "snap-crackle-pop" that I love to experience when reading. And now....we've got a "snap-crackle-pop," a "zippa-de-do-dah," and a "wowza!" all rolled together thanks to her latest offering--Along Wooded Paths--the second book in the Big Sky Series.
I love Amish stories that take me beyond the borders of Pennsylvania, Ohio, or Indiana (where most Amish stories are set). This series just happens to take place in Montana, and thanks to the majestic mountains and the small-town folk, the little town of Kootenai is almost a character by itself. Everyone loves to stop by the little store where Marianna works so they can get a good meal, maybe a slice of cake, and some good conversation. You may even find Ben there once in awhile, participating in an open mic night of sorts. But what sets this one little place apart from all the other Amish communities is the ordinary interaction between the Englisch and the Amish. In most Amish novels, the Englisch are pictured in one of three ways: as a mode of transportation, as a trusted doctor that they visit regularly, or as a temptation to some young boy or girl during their rumshpringa. But when your car is stuck on the side of the road, or when your cabinets are void of food...everyone helps each other. That quality alone makes this series different from any other Amish series I've ever read, and ya know...I'd love to see a whole lot more of 'em.
If all that wasn't enough to really make Tricia's Amish novels unique, she's got one more little trick up her sleeve--their interaction with God. Now, if you're a regular to Amish books, you know that they are pretty much "by the book" when it comes to matters of church, faith, and their Ordnung. Just like every other facet of their lives, there is a system and order to things that has been there for hundreds of years. While I understand most of it (although I couldn't ever physically do it all), I've always wondered about the religious side of things. Why don't they believe in reading the Bible on their own? Why do they almost blindly trust every word from their bishop's mouth? Why do they believe in praying silently versus praying aloud? Do they believe that they're the only chosen group going to heaven? What about outsiders that say they're Christians, too? In Along Wooded Paths, Marianna has many of those same questions, too, and I'm on pins and needles waiting to find out how she comes to terms with her new relationship with God, and how it's so special to her.
And good grief, you'll smack me upside the head for sure if I don't give you the best morsel of all! Yep....there's a love triangle, too! And sweet mercy, it's a good 'un...one of the very best I've read in a long time. :o) Now, Marianna hasn't sided with the right guy yet, in my opinion, but I'm still hoping for things to work out the way they're supposed to...there's still hope. I just don't think she's truly happy with her decision at this point. (Oh, and there's not one triangle, but two...geez, could this book get any better?!)
Not since book 3 of Cindy Woodsmall's first Amish series have I been so impatient to read the last book in a series! How many days 'til April 1, 2012, Tricia...because I promise, I'm countin' them down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Along Wooded Paths

Date:December 17, 2011
Marianna Sommer knew Aaron Zook her whole life. She knew he was the one she would marry - until her family moved from Indiana to Montana. Everything started changing after the move. For one thing, she became friends with Englishers. Back in Indiana, the Amish didn't mingle with the English. In Montana, it was not uncommon to have English friends if one was Amish. Neighbors helped neighbors, regardless of their upbringing.
Marianna met an Englisher named Ben Stone. He helped her dad and other Amish in the area. Because of Ben, she discovered God in a whole different way. Ben believed in Jesus and knew he was going to heaven. Back in Indiana, Marianna was always taught that a person had to be Amish to go to heaven. She was also taught that dress, good deeds, and traditions were the most important things to God. The bishop never spoke of a personal relationship with God. One didn't ask God for forgiveness on their own, they went to the bishop. One didn't read the Bible on their own. They heard it in church. Marianna didn't live for Jesus because of who He was, she did it because that what Amish people do, it's their tradition. Their parents did it, their grandparents did it. Marianna discovered that traditions were an important part of Amish life but took a back seat to a relationship with Jesus.
The more time she spent with Ben, the more she began to fall in love with him. He was also in love with her. They both struggled inwardly because they knew neither one of them would leave their life as they knew it. They couldn't be together. Things got really confusing for Marianna when Aaron showed up. To make matters worse, he stayed at her parent's house, where she also lived, for six weeks because he was in a car accident and needed to recover. She struggled between loving him and loving Ben.
While Marianna was away from Indiana, Aaron started spending time with Naomi. Marianna found this made her a little jealous, which was ironic because Aaron could see she cared for Ben. Marianna's brother, Levi, also had courted Naomi..
Marianna's parents were having their own struggles. They left Indiana because their son Levi left the faith. They could not bear to see him not be following his Amish upbringing. They were still struggling with the deaths of two of their daughters many years ago. They also were hiding a secret or two. One secret is discovered in this book.
Marianna had to talk herself into loving Aaron and talk herself out of loving Ben. She wanted to do the right thing but her heart was getting in the way. At least she felt her heart is where it should be with God. She was praying and reading her father's English Bible and learning so much about God in ways she never knew.
Marianna finds out that Naomi is pregnant and Levi is going to marry her. Marianna wonders if it is Aaron's child. When Aaron heals, he returns to Indiana. Marianna also returns to Indiana to help care for Naomi and prepare for the her and Levi's wedding
The book ends with Marianna returning to Indiana. Make sure to read sneak peek chapter one from Beyond Hope's Valley, book 3 in The Big Sky Series at the end of this book. You will be surprised to find out who is not Naomi's baby's father,
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish novel set in Montana is a refreshing read

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Along Wooded Paths is more like women’s fiction than a typical Amish tale. It isn’t filled with Pennsylvania Dutch but does present an intimate look at the life and interaction of one young Amish woman and her family and their remote community. Marianna, the main character, struggles with issues of love and faith in this tender coming-of-age story. She is drawn to Ben, a kind-hearted musician, but Aaron (her first love, with whom she grew up and intended to marry) still holds a place in her heart. When Aaron travels from Indiana to see Marianna, his surprise visit ends up much different than he intended. Will he ever convince her to return to the place of her childhood and the house he’s built for them?
This is the second in Tricia Goyer’s Big Sky series. It is a complete story in itself. I have not read the first one, but she smoothly gives the details to fill in the background as needed. Tricia always provides enjoyable work, and this is a series to savor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A greater education in Amish ways

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
debhgrty
Location:Plymouth MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Along Wooded Paths A Big Sky Novel impressed me with the depth of knowledge the author had and conveyed of Amish traditions and ways. Unlike novels set in traditional locations, this one plays out in Colorado. The heroine is so believable as she struggles to find her way with her God, her life, and her way to love. A talent for description adds to the ambiance of the story and provides a beautiful setting for the characters, all of whom are extremely believable. I ached for Marianna as she searched for her answers - and loved her for her very human feelings and choices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
joyann
Location:OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've stumbled through various Amish books and had a hard time wanting to keep reading. However, Tricia Goyer has me hooked and I couldn't put the book down! She drew me right into the moment, the feelings, environment, and I couldn't put it down. Can't wait until her next books comes out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

thought provoking

Date:November 21, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Along Wooded Paths" by Tricia Goyer is unlike any Amish book I have ever read. Typically the Amish are portrayed as steadfast and unwavering, except those few who convert to the English life-style. This author gives us an inside look at the struggles of one woman, Marianna, as she tries to choose between a God-fearing Englischer or the Amish man she left behind in Indiana, who has come for a visit. It's nice to know that the Amish are normal people with normal struggles when dealing with right and wrong - or sometimes just good and better.
At first I wasn't sure I was going to like this story. Marianna comes off a bit selfish in the beginning and that kind of threw me. I kept reading, however, and am glad I did so. She realizes her self-centeredness and puts aside her own struggles to help others. I, too, sometimes focus to much on myself and forget that others have needs greater than my own. In the end, she makes the choice that is right for her (no spoilers allowed here).
It is the second book in the Big Sky series, but it read as a wonderful stand-alone novel. I look forward to book three.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shows the struggle to choose between love & belief

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dottie
Location:Sheboygan, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The struggle between loving someone outside the Amish faith and an outsider brought tears to my eyes. The story truly brought out how strict the Amish are about staying in their community or religion even though a person loves someone outside their faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotionally and spiritually deep

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH
PUBLISHER: B & H PUBLISHING
PUBLICATION DATE: OCTOBER 1, 2011
RATING: 10 OUT OF 10
Following directly on from Marianna’s decision to remain in Montana at the end of Beside Still Waters, the second in the Big Sky trilogy explores the difficulties Marianna is having not only in deciding between Englisher Ben and her beau back in Indiana, but also in her spiritual journey. Two men show her two paths she can take in her life – should she remain with her family’s Amish faith and cut herself off from the rest of the world, or is it worth joining the English world to be with Ben and experiment with reading an English Bible, playing instruments and attending prayer meetings? As she and her family get to know their English neighbours better, it is not just Marianna who is forced to answer difficult questions about the way they have chosen to live and whether this is the only way to please God. Matters are complicated further when an old friend from back home pays a visit and ends up staying longer than planned, forcing Marianna to speed up her decision making and figure out whether staying in Montana is best for her, spiritually and emotionally, or if she should finally return to Indiana.
It’s not often that I read a series of books in the Amish genre where each book picks up where the last one finished. In fact, Tricia’s Big Sky trilogy reminds me of Beverly Lewis more than anyone else who writes Amish novels, and that’s a big compliment for an author who is a newcomer to the genre! But I don’t think that Marianna’s story could have been condensed into one single book. After finishing Beside Still Waters I was itching to read the next instalment to find out what turns Marianna’s life would take next. The first book in the series rather ended on a cliff-hanger, so if you haven’t started this series at the beginning I’d recommend going back to Beside Still Waters to avoid any conclusion. While some series can be read out of order, I wouldn’t recommend this for the Big Sky trilogy.
While I felt that this story was a little more slow-moving than Beside Still Waters, and Marianna dallied over her decisions and could be quite indecisive in places, it was wonderful to read a book that was so driven and motivated by a character’s internal emotions and dilemmas, rather than the characters themselves being moved along by dramatic events in the plot. Tricia addresses many issues that are often skimmed over and avoided in other Amish novels, such as whether a prayer covering is really necessary for prayer, or whether those who are not Amish can still receive salvation through Christ. Although Marianna’s mother remains mostly stuck in her ways, hoping her daughter won’t be too influenced by her new English friends, her father finds himself querying some of the Amish teachings as he begins to read an English Bible and is given insight into some scriptures from Ben, an Englisher. We “Englishers” often enjoy reading novels in which the Amish and English get on perfectly well without ever addressing these issues, so it was interesting to read a book in which the Amish and English are forced to interact daily because of the practicalities of living in such a remote location, and in which such a situation causes them to question the lives they have been living. In particular, it was wonderful to see Marianna’s faith in God grow and change over the course of this series. I can sometimes be picky about the Christian fiction that I read, and despite being a Christian I still find some books to be verging on preaching in their attempts to display a Christian message. I had no such issues with Along Wooded Paths, and found myself becoming thoroughly engaged in Marianna’s spiritual journey, finding it far more real than many I’d encountered previously in Christian fiction. I hope that Marianna’s situation can speak to others who are having difficulties in their faith lives and encourage them to make the changes necessary to draw them closer to God.
But of course, where would an Amish novel be without a pinch of romance? Having left Aaron behind in Indiana in the first book in the series, Marianna finds herself falling for Ben, an Englisher and therefore entirely forbidden. Her father in particular is concerned about their closeness and it is in Along Wooded Paths that Marianna had to consider whether their friendship is entirely suitable. Friends and colleagues begin speculating about their relationship, particularly when Aaron comes to Montana for a visit, forcing Marianna to decide between the two lifestyles and two men, once and for all. I’m still not sure whether I was entirely surprised by Marianna’s ultimate decision, but there’s always the chance that she may change her mind in the third and final book in the trilogy, Beyond Hope’s Valley.
I’ve become entirely addicted to the Big Sky series, and like many other Amish fans, I’m wishing that time would go faster so that I could read Beyond Hope’s Valley and discover where Marianna’s life takes her next. Tricia Goyer has brought something new and refreshing to the Amish genre and I hope that novels like Along Wooded Paths will encourage new readers, particularly those who have been wary of the romance-orientated novels that the genre is often concentrated on. The spiritual and emotional depths of Tricia’s characters are something that I’m particularly fond of, and I have high hopes for Beyond Hope’s Valley in April 2012.
Review title provided courtesy of B & H Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2011
In Along Wooded Paths Tricia Goyer picks up right where she left off in Beside Still Waters. Goyer weaves a beautiful story about Marianna and her family. Marianna is torn between the Amish man she always thought she would marry and the Englisch man who is teaching her about a personal relationship with God. As she draws closer to God and her family, she becomes more confused than ever.
This series is different than any other "Amish fiction" I've read. The focus is more on each characters' relationship with God than on the Amish way of life. Through writing the Sommer family's story, Goyer really reveals that being Amish is merely a way of life, and a relationship with Christ is still of utmost importance. I also liked the way that she wrote about the Amish and the Englisch inter-mingling in the community and how they taught each other by living together.
While not generally a huge fan of Amish fiction, I love this series and look forward to the final installment so I can see how everything works out.
Note: If you missed out on the first book in the series, you will definitely need to go back and read from the beginning, as this book literally picks up where the first left off. (Check out my review of Beside Still Waters.)
I received a free copy of this book from B&H Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Continuing Journey

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second book in this series, and you do not have needed to have read the first one to enjoy this book, but I would recommend you do.
Marianna continues to strengthen her relationship with God. Her boyfriend Aaron arrives in Montana, with a broken leg from an accident that happened on his way there. He ends up staying with the Sommers, and makes Marianna questioning her relationships in both the English and Amish worlds.
I loved the heart of the people of this small town, they seem to be there for people in need.
There are some questions answered in this book as to whom Marianna will end up....Aaron or Ben? Also what happens to Levi, and what has been bothering Mam.
A very enjoyable read!
I was provided with a copy of this book by the publisher, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Continues the story of Marianna Sommer from Book 1

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Along Wooded Paths continues the story of Marianna Sommer, whom we first met in Beside Still Waters.
This is the second book in the new Amish series by Tricia Goyer. Although not necessary, I would highly recommend reading these books in order so that you get all of the background on the Sommer family and why Marianna and her family have moved to Montana.
Marianna, who is the namesake of her deceased sisters (Marilyn and Joanna), still lives in the shadow of their deaths which occurred the same night she was born. Although time is slowly healing the family wounds, Marianna still carries the weight of knowing that her parents constantly compare her to the two daughters they lost.
Just as Marianna was beginning her rumspringa and finally got the attention of Aaron Zook, her parents uprooted themselves and moved to Montana. Now, just as Marianna has begun to settle in with a job she loves and adjust to life in the beautiful Montana mountains, her heart is being drawn to Ben Stone, an Englischer who sometimes drives for her family.
Marianna’s life is turned completely upside down when Aaron Zook makes an unexpected appearance in Montana. Marianna is confused and feels pulled in opposite directions; part of her heart is drawn to the Amish man she pined years for and the other part of her is drawn to a man she cannot have, if she is baptized in the Amish church.
Marianna faces a very difficult choice that will affect her and everyone who loves her. Tricia Goyer does a great job with this second book and I highly recommend it for those who enjoy Amish fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2nd in Big Sky series is romance w/ emotional heft

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Along a Wooded Path by Tricia Goyer is the second book in the Big Sky series about Marianna Sommer who moved with her family from Indiana to an Amish community in Montana to start anew. At the end of Beside Still Waters, the previous book, Marianna had decided to stay in Montana and continue enjoying the new depth of her relationship with God, despite her growing feelings for Englischer, Ben. Aaron, the man Marianna left behind in Indiana, decides to head to Montana and determine whether she still loves him and will return with him to the house he built with her in mind. Shortly after his arrival, Aaron is in a car accident that leaves him with a broken leg and forced to live with the Sommer family and rely upon their mercy. While there, he can't help but notice Marianna's comfortableness with working outside the home, as well as her relationship with Ben. Goyer does a terrific job at keeping readers guessing in this romance. In many romances, it's obvious who the heroine should choose, but here it's not so obvious. Both Aaron and Ben are good men with genuine feelings for Marianna, but if she should choose Ben, it means leaving behind her whole way of life and family. Marianna's choice will not be an easy one, and with the shocking revelation at the end of this story, Goyer will have readers highly anticipating the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Along Wooded Paths: A Big Sky Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
purplemama47
Location:New Columbia PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the book very much made you think you were right there in the story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>