Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics

HarperOne The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics

Now in one portable, affordable anthology. Here are seven essential works by one of the greatest literary and spiritual writers of the 20th century---Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Problem of Pain, Miracles, A Grief Observed, and Lewis's prophetic examination of universal values, The Abolition of Man. 1088 pages, softcover from HarperSanFrancisco.
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Review 1 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
becky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what we were looking for for a young Theology student....great quality, great shipping time, and value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the book

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
gracek
Location:toronto
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In all honesty, I'm not too big of a fan of CS Lewis. But, this book just blew me out of the water. Absolutely love it!
Just a word of caution: some of it is written as though he were speaking it so don't expect too much of a traditional book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Birthday gift that was extremely well received.

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
forest
Location:Alberta, Can.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Lewis collection is a superb compilation of some of his best writings. Our copies of some of the individual books were time worn or "on permanent loan" to friends - so grand to have these replaced in a well bound, easily read print.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic Lewis works in one convenient volume.

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daniel Buckheister
Location:Pickens, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This softcover compilation of C.S. Lewis's spiritual classics is the perfect 'portable Lewis'. Nicely printed and bound, it would be a valuable addition to any reader's collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Complete C.S. Lewis Signature Classics

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Polly
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is a great fan of C.S. Lewis and I wanted to give her something that would last. She was so excited and her friends want a copy. The book is well made and will be something she will have for years to come.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a beautiful book--CS lewis is a great author-

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
sewladysew
Location:Essexville, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a huge surprise! I bought this as a birthday gift for my daughter. She requested Mere Christianity, but I saw this edition and then was hugely surprised at the beauty of the book itself. I know the contents are awesome, but such a large book makes a beautiful gift and the price was amazing!! Thank you CBD for helping make my gift look so good! I expected a normal sized hardcover, but this was absolutely lovely----she was delighted!!! Look forward to hearing what she has to say about the writings!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
MikMackMom
I've always planned to read these books and never gotten to it. I assumed they'd be too dry or difficult. I couldn't have been more wrong. C.S.Lewis writes in an approachable, appealing manner that I find irresistible. It's hard to put the collection down! I am eager to share the books and plan to use them as part of an 8th grade literature curriculum in our homeschool. Don't hesitate. Order them now!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry Rohach
Wow, what a brilliant man he was. I really enjoy his work on Christianity, though not being a brilliant man myself I needed to read some stuff more than once to understand it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fr. Carmen Scuderi Ofm
C.S. Lewis stands as one of the literary Giants of the 20th century! These works are testimony to that truth! The text, binding and jacket are superb and elegantly bind the writings within. A wonderful collection of the essential C.S. Lewis, a must for anyone seeking to understanding God and Christianity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robby Hall Jr.
C. S. Lewis is my favorite author. And his books are fantastic! Mere Christianity is a wonderful apologetic. The Great Divorce is a really awesome novella. The Screwtape Letters are wonderful. All of them are a great way to find new insights about Jesus and Christianity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mrs. E. Good
Great price! Excellent turn around time. The literature is still being read, but is very laudable. Thank you Christian Book for the great service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Carpenter
I love the fact that I have all of Jack's most popular works all in one volume.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Curtis
This is a very well done and nicely presented compilation of Lewis' most famous works.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eric
This is a wonderful collection. C.S. Lewis is one of the greatest Christian thinkers of all time. Mere Christianity answered many questions that I have long carried with me as a Christian. The Screwtape Letters does a great job of explaining how the devil tricks and confuses us every day and raises awareness to these tactics. I have not read The Great Divorce yet, so I cannot comment on it. However, I have not seen any of the typos that the previous reviewer mentioned. Lewis was a very learned British man who wrote in the early to mid 1900's, so some of his words may be confusing or be spelled differently than a modern-day American reader would expect. He also uses the occasional abbreviation followed by a period that the reader could mistake for the end of a sentence. I have been confused on both accounts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Scott
Regarding the Great Divorce solely. One of my favorites. I've read over and over. I will probably have this book on my death bed for good reading. The design of the book is amazing. It starts out unbeknownst to the reader what's happening. You're oblivious, as much as the character narrating. It unfolds to a wonderful work of fiction, that after several reads is hilarious. I still find it near impossible that he wrote this so long ago, he died before I was born. The characters in this book, the ghosts, are so stereotypical, they could be your next door neighbor. The wonderful spirits in the book are jolly, mirthful, unafraid, and full of joy. They aren't intimidated, don't waste much time, and will not be held hostage or ransom by the ridiculous ghosts with all they threaten, desire, and we much painfully can relate to. It's honest, and hilarious. This version has several other books, this version also has many typos so if you are forgiving while reading you hopefully won't get caught up in that or annoyed. I have only reviewed one book in the group as room permits for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Will Li
All the classics of Lewis in one collection! One thing to note is that this is a humongous book! It is a coffee table book, not something to be carried around.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Radford
I love this book, and was delighted to find that it was a hardback. I was expecting much less.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jose A Perez
I have completely read only Mere Christianity as of this moment and it truly was an excellent book written simply but with deep thoughts behind every word which I must say is excellent, (he uses everyday words which we can actually understand, the few times he uses 'big' words he quickly explains his meaning)I have started reading The Screwtape Letters and am already half way done with it, different in tone from the first book but just as profound.If the other books are as profoundly written as these I will highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The C.S. Lewis Signature Classics
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Johan Nuyens
It is great to have these 7 volumes in one book.The content is as fresh today as it was in the time it was written. The book gives the reader a rest from todays cofusing world and brings the focus on the things that should be important too all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.