Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press God Gave Us Christmas - eBook

WaterBrook Press God Gave Us Christmas - eBook

Settle in to another heartwarming story about the polar bear family from the author who brought you God Gave Us You, and God Gave Us Two! This time, the bears are getting ready to celebrate the most special day of the year: Christmas. In this enchanting picture book, you can help young children celebrate the true meaning of Christmas, and it offers the perfect opportunity for little ones to discover the awesome truth of how much God loves them.

In the midst of all the Christmas preparations, curious Little Cub asks one day, "Who invented Christmas?" Mama's answer only leads to more questions, like: "Is God more important than Santa?" So Mama decides to take Little Cub on an expedition to discover how God gave them Christmas. As their journey unfolds, the pair finds signs that God is at work all around them. Mama's gentle guidance helps Little Cub discover that Jesus is the best present of all! Recommended for ages 4 to 8.

Average Customer Rating:
4.73 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
Review 1 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Yes please.....

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kelli
Location:Salem, Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My family and I really enjoyed this book. Its a perfect book for Christmas time and for remembering what this time of year is really about. And the illustrations are amazing!! I look forward to purchasing more of these books.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for the little ones!

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linnie
Location:San Diego Ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written, and great illustrations. It is a sweet and lovingly written story that children will enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Story!

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
1kyteacher
Age:35-44
Gender:female
God Gave Us Christmas is yet another book by Lisa Tawn Bergren in the God Gave Us Series. I was so excited to read this book, and I was not disappointed in it!
Little Cub is so excited about Christmas and Santa. However, Mama explains that Christmas isn't about Santa. It is about Jesus. Mama takes Little Cub on an adventure to show her God. They find God everywhere.
I love that in the story, Bergren stresses the importance of the celebration of Christmas, the birth of Christ and adds that Santa just reminds us of giving. Mama points out in the story that Jesus was sent for all people.
For parents who want to help their children understand the true meaning of Christmas, this is the book!
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Press for the purpose of an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not great

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kay Ohio
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's just OK- story isn't attention holder. It is isn't well written; sorry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story that children can understand

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these for my grandchildren. Such a simple story with such truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChristalC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this book for my 4 year old grandson who doesn't attend church, I wanted him to understand that 'Santa' isn't the real reason for Christmas.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful addition to your Christmas library

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
memyselfandi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"God Gave Us Christmas" is beautifully written and beautifully illustrated. My kids (ages 4 and 6) have asked me to read this many times to them. This book does an excellent job of bringing our focus back to God at Christmas time, and the wonderful gifts he gives us not only at Christmas, but all year long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandmother
Location:Fletcher, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for one greatgrandchild and after reading it wnet out and bought more for other grands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judi Gambino
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. It is a great story and it is perfect to explain to your children the true meaning of CHRISTmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Christmas book

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julieblue
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for my sons, ages 2 & 4, and a couple more as gifts. I was very pleased with the way the story was written and how the emphasis was on God's gift to us! I would definitely recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patrick Defoor
Location:Austin, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mimi read this to our 4 year old granddaughter. It was simple and very easy to understand. Granddaughter already knows about Jesus and true meaning of Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
teacher lady
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book for the first time. The pictures and story line are cute. This is a great children's book and is a good way to introduce "The True Christmas" to young ones.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story!

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice story, where the author tires to explain Christmas to our children. It is a beautiful story, but it is more appropriate for children ages 4 and older. The book is hard for my 3 year old to understand, but she loves the pictures! Overall, a great book!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lou
The description given of the book is exactly what you get. David Hohn's art is delightful! The message is right on target. The 25% off after Christmas is appreciated. I can hardly wait to give this book to some little friends next Christmas
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Moore
This is an absolutely wonderful book for children both in the darling illustrations and in the content that explains the true meaning of Christmas as being the birth of Jesus Christ and that He is the greatest gift a person could ever receive. The book does not denigrate the legend of Santa Claus but does stress the importance of placing God's gift of His Son to all mankind as the true reason to celebrate Christmas. The book also describes God's enduring and profound love for all His children. I was extremely pleased with everything about this book and highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marge Mcintire
This is a beautiful book. I bought it for our 3 1/2 year old twin boys and they continue to ask for it at bedtime 10 days after Christmas. The illustrations are heart warming, bright and colorful. As a Christian family we love the question "Is God more important than Santa?" The book handles it beautifully. It will remain a Christmas Treasure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
This is a beautiful book! It made me cry when I read it to our daughter. Its a classic and I highly recommend it. You will want to read it all year round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn Groeschl
Very sweet book with the correct Christmas theme! Gave it also as a gift and they were thrilled!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Allison Thompson
Story is sweet and easy to read. Love the emphasis on Jesus rather than Santa while still acknowledging the good things Santa teaches us -- generosity and kindness. Great bedtime story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God Gave Us Christmas - eBook
This review is fromGod Gave Us Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sara Masarik
Sweet little book that is entertaining and on target. My 2 1/2 year old loves it and I love reading it over and over again to him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.