Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover

Rose Kauffman is engaged to Silas Good, a well-liked Amish fellow, so why does she still pine for Nick Franco, the former foster son of the bishop? Especially now that Nick has left the Amish community under a cloud of suspicion after the death of the bishop's biological son? Will Rose marry Silas, even while struggling with romantic feelings for Nick?

Meanwhile, Rose's older sister, Hen, has returned to live at her parents' farm with her young daughter. Hen and her modern husband, Brandon, are separated by mutual agreement, although he is threatening to sue for custody of their daughter if Hen does not return soon. Will the judge rule in Brandon's favor? Is there any way Hen can reestablish her place among the People without sacrificing her marriage?

Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 3397%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Review 1 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
This review is fromJudgment, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose Kauffman is finally engaged to Silas Good, but she pines for Nick Franco, the foster son of their neighbor bishop. Nick disappears after the death of his brother - of which he is a suspect, but Rose cannot keep him out of her mind and heart. Engaged to Silas, but loving Nick, can she marry a man she doesn't love? Or will she forever love a man she cannot have?
Hen has returned to her parent's farm to live in their Dawdi Haus with her daughter Mattie. Separated from her husband, Brandon, by mutual agreement; Hen tries to re-establish herself among the People she betrayed. Hoping to maintain her Plain roots and keep her marriage, will she ever be able to accomplish both? Or do Plain and fancy have no middle ground?
The second book in the Rose Trilogy, this was a wonderful continuation of the intriguing story of a Amish family in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. I don't know how Lewis does it, but she always writes a book that captures your interest and doesn't let go till the end of the novel. I recommend this series to anyone who loves a good novel by this great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

over all very satisfied

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pinkie
Location:Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this to friends and family I am very satisfied with the service and the books are great reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
This review is fromJudgment, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian fiction has a strong message for today.

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Location:Carthage, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Beverly Lewis as an author. Often Christian fiction depicts the ideal family situation, yet the reader realizes that there are no perfect families simply because we're human. Nonetheless, it is helpful having quality Christian examples we may aim toward. These lovely stories are like passionate messages from the pulpit instructing us how to behave more Christ-like. Yet, the story is always better, because ones interaction with it when reading and their memory of story events later assists in assimilating godly characteristics as observed from the characters into our own behavior as a Christian individual. They are worth ones every minute and nickel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose Kauffman is finally engaged to Silas Good, but she pines for Nick Franco, the foster son of their neighbor bishop. Nick disappears after the death of his brother - of which he is a suspect, but Rose cannot keep him out of her mind and heart. Engaged to Silas, but loving Nick, can she marry a man she doesn't love? Or will she forever love a man she cannot have?
Hen has returned to her parent's farm to live in their Dawdi House with her daughter Mattie. Separated from her husband, Brandon, by mutual agreement; Hen tries to re-establish herself among the People she betrayed. Hoping to maintain her Plain roots and keep her marriage, will she ever be able to accomplish both? Or do Plain and fancy have no middle ground?
The second book in the Rose Trilogy, this was a wonderful continuation of the intriguing story of a Amish family in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. I don't know how Lewis does it, but she always writes a book that captures your interest and doesn't let go till the end of the novel. I recommend this series to anyone who loves a good novel by this great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book has good Christian values

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
dort
Location:PA.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
these books are so good that once you start you have trouble putting them down for the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book keeps me waiting for the next one

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
grandma
Location:D.L. MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading this book, I can't wait for the next one. I feel as though the people written about are friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
kathy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy this series very much. I had been trying to find this in a store but had to go to CBD to find. I have read most of Beverly Lewis stuff and this one did not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good series. B Lewis always delivers

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patti
Location:Kingsport, TN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got a little burned out on the Amish books, so I quit reading them for awhile, but when I saw Beverly Lewis had a trilogy out, I had to read them. In The Judgement, she has so many plots going at the same time. I love that!!! You can't figure out what's going to happen like in some other
Amish books. I can't wait to see what happens in The Mercy, the last book in the series. Her characters are so likeable, you get so involved in their lives, especially Hen, and Rose. There's mystery in this as well. I especially like the softness of Rose & Hen's father. Usually Amish fathers aren't as soft hearted as Sol is, especially with daughters. Be sure to read them in order, you won't be able to put them down!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Beverly Lewis' books!

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greatma
Location:Mancelona, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, I can't wait for the next book in this series. I've learned so much about Amish life from Beverly Lewis books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow what another great read! This book was wonderful and I cannot wait for the third book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One needs to follow God's lead

Date:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Hen returns to her Amish family with her daughter,
she had not idea what would be in store for her. When her
sister becomes engaged to Silas, she thought her future was
settled. Both will discover that this is not the case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best of Beverly Lewis!

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
annie
Location:dearborn, mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I tried to pace myself in reading this book, it was so interesting I simply could not put it down. Dinner was late a couple of days!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
leanie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed this book, was able to pick up where the first book ended, anxiously awaiting the next in the trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the book. Can't wait for the final book.

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Portia Butler
Location:Westfield,PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Amish series, and this one ties in some common problems in everyday life. It will be interesting to see how the series finishes, and whether the couples come together in a godly fashion. I love the simplicity and quietness they exude, while facing difficulty. I recommend this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This story is so real to life

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cornwall
Location:Devonshire UK
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a brilliant book, we have both read it and already passed it on to a friend, who like us can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved these 2 books in the Rose triology.

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eddi
Location:Crossville, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I read the first book "Thorn" and this one the "Judgement" and I loved them. I could hardly put them down. Now I have to wait till September to get "Mercy" to see what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good!

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good book by Beverly Lewis, however I do have to agree with others that it also did take me awhile to get into it since it has been quite awhile since I read book 1. I wish that when there is such a delay inbetween books such as these that there would be some type of refresher at the beginning, or maybe read all 3 or so together! But otherwise it was a great Amish read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Like it

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Boulder, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I think it is because I have waited so long for it to come out after book #1, I had forgot some of the story. Took me a little longer than usual to get into it but enjoyed it and and now I have to wait until book #3 to comes out. I still love Beverly's books and highly recommend them. I will probably read all three again after they are all published.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD BOOK

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon Leatherman
Location:OWOSSO, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good follow-up to The Thorn, book 1 in the series THE ROSE TRILOGY. I can't wait until book 3 comes out this fall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Judgment, The Rose Trilogy #2: Large-Print Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Story

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Judgement is the continuing story of Rose Ann Kauffman and her family. Loved getting reacquainted with everyone. Rose Ann is now secretly engaged to Silas Good, her sister Hen and niece Mattie Sue are living in the Dawdi House. Her Mamm is still struggling with the constant pain from her accident. Rose is still missing Nick, and the Community is morning Christian.
Mattie Sue is missing her Dad, who won't accept that Hen misses the Simple Life. Don't know what the answer is going to be here. Brandon is adamant that he wants Mattie Sue to come home. He is threatening a divorce and custody.
I can't wait for the next book with the answers...some things looks so promising. I love absorbing myself into this family. Another great book from Beverly Lewis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>