Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook

Barbour Publishing A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Review 1 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dodge City comes Alive

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This historical view of Dodge City is realistic and gives in depth information about photography processes of the time, and the descriptions are in fine detail. The reader feels they are walking the streets of Dodge City. The characterization is well-written and we get several characters’ points of view as it is important. We see our hero’s insecurity, yet also see him as a strong character. The heroine is someone to fall in love with and we learn more of her past as we read. We also see that she can stand up and be strong. I enjoyed that the author brought in a historical figure, Bat Masterson. This was a figure I grew up hearing about through history classes and readings, and Ms Vetsch remained true to the historical character, yet made him real.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A real page turner!

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally Laity
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas, by erica Vetsch, was a most enjoyable read. The plot was quite intricate, wth twists galore that kept me guessing up till the last page. I loved watching the relationship develop between Adeline and Miles as they grew closer to each other and to the Lord. I'd recommend this book to anyone who loves to curl up with a great story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book That Sparkles :)

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like a good western, well then grab your Stetson and run down to the nearest book store and pick up A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas!
Ms. Vetsch skillfully paints each character in such a way that you can almost see them before your very eyes. Every character was unique and had their own kind of charm. It's not often that I find a book with such good character development of such a vast array of the characters. My favorite character was Miles Carr, I couldn't help but relate to his hesitancy to speak up, and his longing to be a bolder witness for Christ. I think that everyone--if they're being honest--has felt that they should have been a better witness at some time in their life, and I liked how Ms. Vetsch put that part of Miles' character into the story.
The pages turned swiftly, and I couldn't help but be completely transported by Ms. Vetsch's lively writing style, her word choices were spot on, and fit the situations to a "T."
Overall, this book has it all action, adventure, mystery, romance, and great characters. Someone would be hard out not to enjoy this book, I know that I did :) Alot of research was obviously put into this book, with details that bring this book to life. I heartily recommend this book, and look forward to reading more books from this author in the future :D
Final Rating: 5 out of 5
I received this book from the publisher through Netgally in return for an honest review. The copy I received may not have been the final copy of this book, so keep it in mind that changes may have been made to the final edition. Thanks :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Enjoyable Historical from a Photographer’s View

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Addie was forced to move states after a relationship with the wrong man cost Addie her reputation, which impacted on her uncle’s photography business where she worked as a photographer. In Dodge City, the shock death of her uncle leaves her alone and with just ninety days to pay back the mortgage on their new photography business. But when a new businessman arrives in town, Addie fears her past might be catching up with her. Her secrets will affect her friendship with Fran, who works at the local mercantile, and her might-be-more friendship with Miles Carr, the new Sherrif’s Deputy.
Miles has problems of his own. He is a new Christian who is afraid to speak openly about his faith, and he too has secrets from his past, secrets that might affect his ability to do his job here in Dodge. These fears are confirmed when old acquaintance Vin Rutter arrives in town. Meanwhile, Fran is dreaming of the handsome adventurer who will marry her and take her away from her mundane life – if he can get past her older brothers and Jonas, a childhood friend who has ruined that friendship by announcing that he is in love with her. Fran meets Vin Rutter in the mercantile, and thinks her prayers might just have been answered…
Now, this is another one of those books where I am not sure about the title. Sure, it is about a portrait photographer in Dodge City, Kansas, but there is no bride in the story. Hmm… Ignore the title, and enjoy the book. I did. It was a fun read, and although a couple of the misunderstandings could have been sorted out much earlier if the characters just spoke to each other, it all ended happily ever after. I particularly liked the originality of the heroine’s occupation – the author had obviously researched early photography, which added to the interest of what could otherwise have been just another historical western romance.
Thanks to NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a wonderful story of overcoming the past

Date:November 22, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas by Erica Vetsch is a story about the lives of two people who are ashamed of their past; a past that binds them together in unexplicable ways. Ms. Vetsch pulls you into the thoughts, fears, and trials of Adeline and Miles with her excellent writing. We get to see how they overcome their own fears by focusing on the well being of others instead of just themselves.
Well-written books allow us to see through the eyes of the characters and this one falls easily into this category. I enjoyed the book from beginning to end and look forward to reading more of this author's work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Perfect Balance

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marji Laine
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erica Vetsch wove a masterful story set in the booming cowtown of Dodge City during it's developing years when Bat Masterson ran the county with a silver-tipped cane and a lightning-fast draw. Twists and turns abound in the story, offering not one but two potential romances, each with multiple suitors. The multiples continue with a plethora of antagonists. Some of them, oily characters that make you want to cringe and curl your upper lip, provide minor annoyances. Others, including complete surprises, create mayhem for a variety of reasons.
Beyond the intricate plotting, the characters make the story. More than realistic, they shake your hand and draw you right alongside, walking down the dusty streets and listening to the raucous music from the saloons mixed with the sounds of cattle from the pens near the rail depot. The main heroine, a photographer named Addie who has the gall to be a female, has a spunky personality and determination to build her dreams into reality. She's far from perfect, full of secrets, and usually shows restraint, hiding her emotions and opinions. Her counterpart, Miles, plays a new deputy sheriff with secrets of his own.
Those secrets seek to paralyze with assumptions of guilt and disgust. The strong characters, weakened by their internal doubt, accept their presupposed destinies of failure. Of course, the meat of the story includes how they are able to push through the insurmountable obstacles, some of which are their own making.
This story has it all! Precious romance, timely era, exciting setting, eternal message, even an intriguing mystery. Add a thunder shower and a cup of cocoa and I'm in heaven!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Mystery and Romance Equal A Great Read

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erica Vetsch in her new book, "A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas" published by Barbour Publishing Inc. takes us to Dodge City, Kansas in 1878.
Adeline Reid, once the sweetheart of a notorious train robber, is determined to keep her shady past a secret and her heart protected. Her newfound focus on her work has gained her two things: a successful portrait studio in Dodge City, Kansas, and a life free of romance. Just sworn in as a deputy of Dodge City, Miles Carr longs to prove himself as a lawman. He also longs to court the beautiful female photographer. When a shopkeeper's murder occurs, Miles's investigation leads him to the portrait studio. As he works to unravel the truth behind the murder, he uncovers pieces of Addie's past that not only threaten to expose his own secrets, but that threaten to tear him and Addie apart.
"A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas" is great fun to read. It has lots of flavors that will keep everyone interested. It is a nice romance. It is a mystery that will keep you flipping the pages and guessing who done it all the way to the end. It also has history in it as real life Bat Masterson makes an appearance along with other historical figures. As I said an enjoyable read and worth every minute spent in its pages.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing Inc.. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun-filled Old West Romance

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas by Erica Vetsch is delightful—doubly delightful in fact. Not only does the reader enjoy the tale of spunky photographer Adeline Reid and hunky deputy Miles Carr, but that of a second deputy and his shopkeeper's assistant sweetheart as well. Vetsch has crafted engaging characters I liked from the start. Addie's strength is admirable, but its her sheltered heart that drew me in. Miles is bold on the job, but he harbors doubts about his new-found faith that give him an endearing, vulnerable side. Vetsch brings Dodge City to life with her vivid imagery and does an excellent job with historical detail, weaving it in seamlessly. There's plenty of action and mystery to keep a reader flipping pages to find out whodunnit. And the touches of humor are a real treat. If you enjoy an Old West romance with plenty of heart—and a healthy dose of heart-pounding action—this is a story you won't want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charming Midwestern Tale!

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
What do you get when you have a talented female photographer, a newly-minted town deputy, and a scoundrel of the worst sort who has come back to haunt you? You get this book--A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas--and it's a good'un, too.
I was so impressed with the detail of Addie's trade as a photographer. From the darkroom, to her studio, and to the portraits taken at the Arden Palace, it felt like I was looking through the camera lens and capturing all the subtle nuances that only a portrait can show. I could smell the chemicals that were used to develop the pictures, and I caught myself mentally counting the seconds along with Addie to get the right exposure. Now, in real life, I don't have a clue about photography, but just for a few moments in this book, I felt like I knew a thing or two...and that brought a smile to my face.
Miles was an enjoyable character, too. At first, it seemed like he was going to be green as the day is long at being a deputy, but he quickly settled into his role. His reluctance to share his past was believable, especially how it related to Addie.
Then, there was the drama associated with Vin Rutter. He came to Dodge City for a particular reason, and caused nothing but trouble for Addie, Miles, and Fran while he was there. I felt sure the I had him pegged correctly the entire time, but leave it to this talented author to have a surprise or two up her sleeve. :o)
Nothing gives me more pleasure than discovering an author that I've not been privileged to read before. Erica Vetsch has created a delightful Midwestern tale that is sure to have me returning to read her future novels. Fans of Mary Connealy, Kelly Eileen Hake, and Susan Page Davis are destined to enjoy this charming story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating Read!

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Holly Smith
Location:Charleston, SC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nothing brings Addie Reid more pleasure than standing behind her Chevalier and capturing the potential of a person, and no place proves to be a more opportune locale for her portrait studio than Dodge City, Kansas--Queen of the Cattle Towns. When a dangerous acquaintance from her past steps into Dodge City, everything she has worked to build--and conceal--is threatened.
Just sworn in as a deputy of Dodge City, Miles Carr longs to prove himself as a lawman. He also longs to court the beautiful female photographer. When a shopkeeper's murder occurs, Miles's investigation leads him to the portrait studio. As he works to unravel the truth behind the murder, he uncovers pieces of Addie's past that not only threaten to expose his own secrets, but that threaten to tear him and Addie apart.
A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City is both entertaining and engaging. Erica Vetsch is careful to never reveal anything too early as she takes readers through unpredictable twists to unravel a plot with layers that will keep you hanging on every word. She constantly raises the stakes, continuing to plunge us deeper into the lives of characters who are just as much a mystery as the plot the itself.
Her careful research of the early processing techniques and art of photography is meticulous, and she skillfully takes advantage of every detail she hands the reader.
I especially loved the use of early photographic forensics in this novel. While it makes a minor appearance in the pages of this story, its use is fitting and written naturally into the plot.
The romance element isn't as strong when compared to most historical romances, but she still arouses the reader with a heart-pounding affair.
I recommend this novel to anyone who loves historicals and mysteries.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Story!

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas by Erica Vetsch ISBN 978-1-61626-506-9
Erica brings the reader to Dodge City, Kansas in 1878. We see cowboys who just brought cattle in, hear the music and ramblings from the saloons, laughter and drinking. We meet Sheriff Bat Masterson. And we meet Deputy Miles Carr, Deputy Jonas Spooner, Addie Reid & Fran Seaton and there is where the story is.
Addie Reid has a photography shop and a deep secret. Uncle Carl and Addie had to leave Adeline and start over. Uncle Carl died and Addie takes the blame for having their lives ruined and the stress of everything. She is determined to pay the mortgage and continue her photography. She has to as it is all she knows. If her secret ever is found out she would be ruined once again. And seeing Vin Rutter in town could be an end to all she has.
Miles Carr has just be deputized under the great Bat Masterson. He is going to shake his past history of being connected with the wrong people, not that he will let anyone know. He holds his secret close so he won't be judged or hung because of his past.
Fran works at the Mercantile. The more she flirts with the cowboys the more they buy and the happier Hap and Wally are. The two cousins inherited the store from their grandfather. They fight often and Hap is a great guy but he'd rather gamble then help out in the story. Fran is looking for that tall dark stranger to come and give her the adventure she craves but her four protective brothers only trust Jonas, boring unexciting Jonas.
Jonas has loved Fran and always prayed she would one day be his. Frustration and jealousy hit him every time he walks in the store to see her flirting with another cowboy. When she gives her attentions to Vin Rutter it really bothers Jonas as something about the man seems untrustworthy.
On the fourth of July a series of events changes the lives of these four people in big ways. A fire in livery causes Miles to leave his post, when he returns a man is dead. Later that evening they go in the Addie's shop to find everything destroyed and the next night her room in the boarding house is as well.
This is well written and she keeps the reader guessing on who done it.
Book received through NetGalley for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas - Erica Vetsch - September 2011
Are you on the lookout for a new historical Christian novel to read ? Looking for a new Christian author to follow ? A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas by Erica Vetsch may just be what you are looking for. Our novel takes us to the Western America , back in the times of saloons, sheriffs and train robbers to a small town of Dodge City. Meet Addie, she has just moved to Dodge City with her Uncle Carl to start fresh and help him with his photography business , unfortunately within a couple of days of arriving - Uncle Carl ends up six feet under and Addie left all alone trying her hand at running a business in a time and place where men run businesses and women become brides. Given ninety days before the bank foreclosures her business , Addie must dream up ways to find the money. When a face from the past appears , Addie becomes worried as they are after her as Addie has a dark secret- her ex-fiancee was none other than the most Wanted criminal Cliff Walker. For new deputy in town , he too becomes worried when the face appears as he too is hiding a dark secret that the criminal Cliff Walker was his stepbrother. Can Miles and Addie continuing hiding their secrets and as they do they start to find comfort in each other. Is this Addie's turn to have happiness and this time with the nice brother of the pair and is this the chance that Miles has been waiting to redeem himself and clean himself of his past ?
Find out in this awesome new Christian Historical novel "A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas" by Eliza Vetsch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.